BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers hot tub and fireplace sales, service and installation. They also sell barbecue grills. This company offers spa and hot tub sales, as well as wood and coal stoves. This company offers hot tub and fireplace sales, service and installation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aqua Rec's Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aqua Rec's Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Aqua Rec's Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 09, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1975 Business started locally: 01/01/1975 Business incorporated 05/01/2001 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Caleb Shamp Mr. Rick Fortin, Operations Manager Mr. Chris Kovacs, President Mr. Bruce Shamp, President
Contact Information
Principal: Caleb Shamp
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Stoves - Wood, Coal Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Barbecue Fireplace Equipment - Retail Fireplaces

Alternate Business Names
Aqua Rec Inc Aqua Rec Pool & Spa Aqua Rec's Swimmin Hole & Fireplace Shop Aqua Rec's Swimmin' Hole & Fireplace Shop

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Aqua Rec's Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1221 Regents Blvd

    Fircrest, WA 98466

  • 1407 Puyallup Ave

    Tacoma, WA 98421 (800) 358-3537 (253) 682-1792

  • 6824 19th St W Pmb 181

    University Place, WA 98466


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: my wife put $1000 down on a hot tub while we were looking for a new house. She told the associate it would not be available for delivery soon he said that was fine. She took longer than expected to get back with them to complete the deal so they sold the hot tub she ordered. She signed another contract act for a different tub and again she took to long so they sold that tub. She asked if it was possible to get her money back until we get the new house then redo the process they said no. They told her they sold the tub she ordered and now she was responsible for the commission paid. We didn't consign the tub with them or get any money on the sale. They mitigated their damage by selling the tub and want us to pay the commission allowing them to keep the profit and commission unacceptable. The only thing they were willing to do is credit us $500 in store credit. My wife is and I are not interested in doing business with a company who treats their customers in such a scandalous manner but we needed work done on a tub of a house we are selling. So we tried to schedule a service as to finish doing business with this company and they had us check and email them model numbers, pictures, and see if the tub holds water which we did at our own cost. Finally we tried to schedule a service again and it took another week before we were able to do so as they wouldn't return our numerous phone calls. We are bout 4 days away from the sale of our house and we cant proceed because the soonest they can get to us is on the 9th of this month. I asked if they would make sure the tub was working before they left and they said they couldn't guarantee that because they may need parts ordered. I said your about 20 min from my house send someone after hours if needed to evaluate the tub which would take less than 20 min so when they arrive on the 9th they have everything they nee* because its holding up the sale of my home. They wont do that. I just want my money back and ill hire someone elsed

Desired Settlement: I don't want anything further to do with this company. They have no compassion or respect for their customers and their situation. If they are willing to rip me off by charging me commission on a sale they transacted they will rip others off as well and Im sure they claimed they paid the commission on their taxes which is false if they charged me. Their sales manager Rich needs to learn the concept that they don't survive without customers as well as conflict resolution and a course in business law wouldn't hurt. If I had $1000 of a customers money and hadn't provided a product or a service I would do anything in my power to fix the situation. Even if I had to pay an extra hour of overtime to make sure my service guy would be set up for success when he arrives in a contentious situation. I just want my money returned as we have not received anything nor do we want to do business with this company.

Business Response: Mr ********,
In my last response I asked for the name the order was under, I cannot locate your name in our system, nor the address above in Rochester. Please provide the requested information so I can look into this.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The details are very specific and we have contacted the business many times to resolve this matter. However to answer their question the original deal was signed by my wife *** ******** at the fair when we lived at **** * St ********** ** ***** and our phone was ***-***-****. We never cancelled or received anything for our $1000 deposit. The only response that would satisfy me at this point is a return of our $1000 dollars and we go our separate ways


***** ********

Business Response:

Good afternoon, the customer purchased a spa back in 2011 and we held a floor model spa they purchased  for them. When they purchased the contract had info on the 3 day right to cancel  and then we go one step further for all our sales and  give them a second sheet that we had them sign regarding the 3 day right to cancel. Because they did not cancel we paid commissions on the purchase. We offered to work with them on the service on there existing spa about a month ago and they were fine until there house was closing and we did not have a service tech available right away.


Aqua Rec's Fireside Hearth N Home

Operations / Installs

**** F*****



Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They are not being truthful. First we did not buy the hot tub we put down a down payment so to say they paid a full commission based on a down payment as compared to a final sale is bad business. As they mentioned in their reply ** state has a 3 day rescision period and I would love to see a copy of our contract that we were given stating such. Secondly they didn't store the hot tub we had a deposit on they sold it and we had to choose another hot tub. And third they sold the hot tub therefore mitigating any potential damage to there business so why would we be responsible for any commission they paid their employees when Im sure they charged full price to the next customer. They are trying to get a bonanza at the expense of their customers. Im in high end sales myself and to try to have anyone with a brain believe you pay an employee on a deal before you are paid cash in full or by a financing institution is insulting. We did ask for a little help from this company to fix our hot tub at a house we are listing on the market but we were listing 7 days away and not only could they not be bothered to send a representative to do a 10 min preview of what they would need to get my tub working but they said if they come by and don't have the parts which is likely it would take even longer. This company has multiple locations and they couldn't find a repair man to help us settle this issue. To get a good example of how well they take care of their customers just look at the ratings on their own site 2.8 out of 5 stars horrible. We have never cancelled or refused delivery of product so they have no basis to keep our money and definitely have no right to charge us for a bogus commission they say they paid. Because of their untruthfulness and lack of customer service I don't want to do business with this company and just want our money back so we can go our own separate ways.  


***** ********

Business Response: I am writing in regards to the response/rejection from ***** ********, as the response to the comments made are as follows:

I will state Mr. ********'s comments and then follow with a response:

1.  "they are not being truthful"
      response:  this is simply not true, as Mr. ******** statements are based on his feelings and not liking the reality to what he/they agreed to.

2.  "First we did not buy the hot tub we put a down payment so to say they paid a full commission based on a down payment as compared to a final sale is bad business"
      response:  It is apparent that Mr. ******** knows nothing about the "3 day right to refusal" for outside sales in the State of Washington and when that passes, we are required to pay commissions to our salesman, period.  Which we did (those are REAL expenses) and for someone to call us unethical for not refunding their deposit (because they want us to feel for them) is a bit ironic in that they are not caring about our expenses.  They are the ones that signed the contract.   In essence, Mr. ******** is stating that we are bad business people for not caring about them losing out on money when they are obviously not caring about us losing money?  Does it work both ways?  As far as saying it is bad business, again that's just frustration on his part.

3.  "As they mentione* in their reply Wa. has a 3 day rescission period and I would love to see a copy of our contract that we were given stating such". 
      response: NO PROBLEM.  If you (the BBB) want to see HARd COPIES of their signed contract, just let us know and we will send them right over.  We not only have the original signed contract, we also have another signed copy showing the customer that they have a 3 right to cancel (we are the only know company I know in the spa industry that goes above and beyond to EXPLAIN to the customer their rights on another sheet.  Most just put it fine print on their contracts, but we have always felt we wanted to be very upfront with our customers.  I can send BOTH of those if you like, along with the two other contracts they signed when they moved from the original spa to different models.  We keep our paperwork tight and have everything you need.

4.  "Secondly they did not store the hot tub we had a deposit on they sold it and we had to choose another hot tub"
      response:  it's been over 3 years since this sale, and while I/we cannot recall the reason the customer change* models, it's irrelevant as we paid commissions on the original sale.

5.  "and third they sold the hot tub therefore mitigating any potential damage to their business so why would we be responsible for any commission they paid their employees when I'm sure they charged full price to the next customer.  They are trying to get a bonanza at the expense of their customers".
      response:  they signed a contract, they agreed to the terms, and commissions were paid on the original invoice (to that salesman).  If the customer doesn't want the spa and tries to get out, we are not going to keep that particular spa forever.  The spa was probably sold at a later date and then commissions were paid on that for a different salesperson.  My main answer to his question of why would he be responsible?  Answer: because HE signed a contract and we were VERY clear on the contract about what happens if he cancels, period.  As far as his comment about a "bonanza", I am not sure what a "bonanza" is an* what he means, but it's just another apparent jab of frustration.

6.  " I'm in high end sales myself and to try have anyone with a brain believe you pay an employee on a deal before you are paid cash in full or by financing institution is insulting"
       response:  Simply put, that's just not the way outside sales are done at events like the Fair.  Not sure what they do in his high end sales, but it is obviously different.

7.  "We did ask for a little help from this company to fix our hot tub at a house we are listing on the market but we were listing 7 days away and not only could they not be bothered to send a representative to do a 10 min preview of what they would need to get my hot tub working but they said if they come by and don't have the parts which is likely it would take even longer.  The company has multiple locations and they couldn't find a repair man to help us settle this issue" 
      response:  I am not sure how to respond to this....The ********'s agreed to have their money down (as were trying to help) apply to a service call, which we tried to schedule but it was not quick enough for them.  We run a fairly large service department an* our schedule is what the schedule it (if we have prior calls scheduled before the ********'s wanted to be scheduled, then we are not going to cancel a prior scheduled service call in order to get him done).  The fact that we have multiple locations is irrelevant, as ALL our service technicians are scheduled out of the Tacoma Store.  and YES, if we would have come out to assess the situation, it would have been highly likely that we would have had to return given the age of the hot tub (if the ******** would have agreed to the costs of any repairs that would have had to be done.   really, this is irrelevant to the complaint, as it's just further jabs at our company and integrity.

8.  "To give a good example of how well they take care of their customers just look at the ratings on their own site 2.8 out of 5.0 stars horrible".
      response:  I always get a kick out of these type of statements, as when you look at the thousands of customers we take care of in any given year, I am proud of the people we have in our business, and we are very blessed by our employees.  Yes, we live in an age where customers (and other businesses) can EASILY state whatever they want and bad mouth businesses with a "flick of a keyboard" rather than rationally getting their way.  Yes, we live in a world where very few people want to take responsibility for their actions (as is in this case with ******** not taking responsibility of the contract THEY signed).  And unfortunately on top of that, not only do people not want to take responsibility, they will then take their anger on the internet inflicting pain that way.  Now, have we ever made mistakes or stubbed our feet:  yes, BUT we make things right.  This is indicated by our A+ rating with the BBB.  Again, this is another irrelevant jab and has nothing to do with the complaint, but rather another attempt at taking a jab because they do not like the answer.

9.  "We have never cancelled or refuse* delivery of product so they have no basis to keep our money and definitely have no right to charge us for a bogus commission they say they paid".
      response:  "wow".  How can someone make a statement when they have no clue of the truth.  We did pay the commission (as we should have).  The ******** are the ones who have decided to break the contract terms, not us.  This is plain and simple.

10.  "Because of their untruthfulness and lack of customer service I don't want to do business with this company and just want our money back so we can go our separate ways".
       response:  The customer signed a contract, agreed to the terms, decided to cancel the deal, and we are the ones being untruthful?  They don't want to do business with us because we are not honest business and we lack customer service?  This is the complete opposite!

The facts are we have tried to work with the customer, we have explained our side of things and explained the "costs" we have incurred.  The customer wants us to care about their loss, but they don't want to care about ours.  It's funny how that works, as you would think someone in high end sales would have the perspective of both the business and the customer.  The contract is clear that they signed.  If you (the BBB) want copies of the contracts, just say the word and I will have **** scan and e-mail them to you at your request (if you don't already have them).  We don't want any of our customers upset, but we will also not let a customer take advantage of us either.


***** ******
Aqua Rec's, Inc.             

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Once again this company is twisting facts to try to make themselves look righteous. Before getting into high end sales I was a sales associate for a company that sold a product that is subject to the 3 day recision as we advertised in similar fashion to aquarec. The recision says nothing about paying a sales associate after 3 days it is a right of refusal for the customer who changes their mind. To attack their customers and claim their statements are based on anger instead of fact is again insulting and very presumptuous. They believe they are smarter than everyone else which is far from accurate. I wrote up many deals that I didn't get commission for because you don't pay an employee commission until the deal is done and the company gets paid first. I had many deals that applied for financing and were refused or a down payment was originally made and the balance was not paid in full in both cases you don't pay a commission to a sales associate or you would have to pull it back when the deal fell through. So if your a company who claims to pay just after days passes even though the deal is not fully complete you are an idiot that will be out of business soon. That's like saying I pay my realtor for writing up an offer on one of my houses that is under contract. The truth is you don't pay commissions until the deal is complete. If this company paid someone prematurely for a deal that isn't finished that's their stupidity that's why I say we are not responsible for their bad business practices. The worst part is this company doesn't realize they are dealing in luxury items not necessities, moreover we have a large following on social media that looks to us for contractors and businesses to deal with in the housing community. Needless to say we wont be referring this company. The real tragedy for these guys is they could have had a consistent business partner as we put a new hot tub, sauna, pellet stove, grill or patio furniture in every house we do as a perk for the new home owner. But these guys don't care enough about their customers to attach our name to their company. Just an fyi for the idiot who thinks the customer should care about his company. We don't need you their are other companies that provide the same services. You need us to keep your doors open so you should do whatever it takes to keep them happy if you want to stay in business. The phase is the customer is always right not the company is. All I want to know is if we are getting a refund or if we should let our lawyer take care of it as we obviously are not going to agree on anything else. And yes I would love to see a copy of both of the contracts we signed with you. Just for your clarification you sold the original tub we ordered out from under us that's why we chose another tub. You can scan the contracts and send them to *********


***** ********   

9/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used the Pierce County wood stove replacement grant to purchase a gas insert on 6/6/14. I was told that an install crew would call in a few days to schedule an installation. They never did. After two weeks, I called the salesman Jim S****, who I had dealt with, and he was able to get them to call me the next day. It was installed on 6/27/14, however I had requested that they install the fireplace several inches above the floor, as I intended to raise the hearth in my home. When the installers came, they had not been notified of this, and did not have any materials to install the fireplace in the manner that I had arranged at the store. They requested to use bricks from a walkway outside of my house to raise the fireplace. To expedite the installation, I agreed, but did call the business again and complain about the installers not being properly informed of what the salesperson and I agreed on. During installation, the installers scratched the black paint on the face of the insert. I took pictures and again contacted the business via email to complain about the horrible service I was receiving from everyone except the salesperson. The fireplace was inspected by the City of UP on 7/7/2014, and AquaRec finally brought the last piece (a metal surround that had to be fabricated) on 7/25/14. They were supposed to bring touch up paint for the scratch from the installers, but again, the field crew had no idea of my complaints, so they did not honor this request of mine either. I was contacted 2 days after this via phone and was asked if everything was to my satisfaction. I voiced my frustration with everyone except the salesperson I had dealt with, and the line of broken promises the business had made to me. This was the last contact I had with aqua rec until on 8/31/15 I received a letter from Dawn S********* alleging that I owed Aqua Rec 200 dollars from a *** rebate. They want to collect that from me now, 14 mo later, and tell me to apply for the rebate.

Desired Settlement: Stop trying to collect $200 dollars out of my pocket from a *** rebate that expired 90 days after installation. They indicated that I requested this rebate at the time of purchase, but I had no idea what rebate they were talking about until I looked it up after receiving a collection letter 14 months later.

Business Response: Mr. *****,
The information regarding your *** rebate had been requested from you several times. We could not have applied for the $200.00 rebate until you provided the requested information. You failed to provide us with the request information, therefore, you are responsible for the $200.00 balance on your stove. If you feel you did not ask for this rebate, there is still a $200.00 balance on your account. Please forward the $200.00 to us as soon as possible.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have had many back and forth communications with Aqua Rec due to several complaints.  No information has ever been requested from me regarding this rebate.  I have no doubt the salesperson may have included it on the original invoice to try to alleviate some cost to me, but I was not made aware of it, and neither he, nor anyone else at aqua rec has ever contacted me via email, on the phone, or in writing requesting information regarding this rebate. And in fact, to this date, I have no idea what information it is that I didn't provide.  The first and only notice I received was the letter from Dawn dated August 29th of 2015 and received by me on August 31st 2015.  How many times, and by what method was I supposedly contacted?  What information was supposedly requested of me that I did not provide?  Perhaps I can write Aqua Rec an invoice for the materials they used that were mine to install my fireplace over 14 months ago, and then say that I have been repeatedly trying to contact them.  My invoice for my materials, time, and inconvenience also come out to an even $200.  


******* *****

Business Response: Mr. *****,
I will gather more information and get back to you.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I was contacted today by Rick from Aqua Rec. He resolved the issue over the phone, since he was one person familiar with my purchase/install. This resolution in reference to complaint ID ******** is satisfactory to me.


******* *****

1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wood stove that I bought has not been working right so I called Aqua Rec and talked to **** who is the Operations Manager, **** sent out two men to come and fix the fire place and see why my fire was not burning right, the guys took the pipe out and put it back in place when they seen that smoke was still coming out from the pipe. The stove was still smoking and techs sealed with some black calking and sprayed with black can of spray while the fire was going, my daughter asked do not use airesol can around flame, flammable. I said yes you are not using that in my home and ask to stop and take it out of my home and the tech did. Later when they left I called **** explained everything and I also called the fire department since the tech called me back and told me to ask **** to send the other two guys to come out and check the fire place cause he was in Seattle.

Desired Settlement: Pay for the fire station being called and replace my stove fireplace and install correctly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2015/01/12) */ We installed the new wood stove to existing venting the way the customer requested at the time of the sale in Nov 2014. The customer called Dec 2nd and said she was having issues with the wood stove, we sent a service guy out and he recommended adding more venting to the existing venting because it is not drafting properly. We gave the customer a quote (almost at our cost to help her out) to have this done and she still has not decided to have this done. we also told her that we could fix the fresh air inlet because it was not done correctly. we told we would include this when we install the additional venting. The stove is working correctly but would work better if we added this venting.

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a hot tub from AquaRec and it was delivered on October 20th. It has never worked properly. I have made numerous phone calls and a technician came to my house to evaluate the problem. The filter does not work, the jets pop out, and there is a leak in one of the valves. In addition, the salesperson told me the spa would have something called Micro Silk and aromatherapy but when it was delivered that was not included. I was later told that those items were "optional".

Desired Settlement: I want the spa replaced and I want the Microsilk and Aromatherapy included.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/13) */ When the customers purchased the spa it was it was a standard Marquis Spirit, She had looked on line and saw another spa and thought that her spa was coming with the option Micro Silk. After the spa was delivered the customer had realized the spa did not have this product included, she was also having difficulty getting the chemicals balanced. I went out and met with her and explained the Micro Silk was an option and was $1,500.00 upgrade and had gone over the spa with the customer. She was have difficulty getting the chemicals balanced to I told her we would have a chemical tech go out and balance and show her how to balance herself, I set it up at no cost to the customer. The customer was still having a problem with the spa because it did not have Micro silk and demanded we order her a replacement spa and includes this at no cost; we also have ordered a replacement jet for the one she was having a problem with. On Dec 13th I did call the customer and went over everything about the spa and proposed that if she was willing to pay for the upgrade we would order her the new spa. We did come to an agreement to give her the upgrade Micro Silk Option at a reduced cost of $1,100.00 plus tax and order her a new spa. So we are ordering a new spa and will make the swap out when it comes in. I have also asked her to contact the BBB and let you know we have taken care of her.

10/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I winterized closed and covered my pool in September of 2013, the pool cleaning person uncovered my pool which let leaves and debris into the pool. I called and told them the pool is shut down and to clean the debris, re-chemical and re install the pool cover clean the mess they caused. they came and cleaned the pool, did not recover and I got a bill for around $ 400.00 which I disputed. I called again and told them to stop coming to my house, I would call them back after winter in the summer. They kept billing for cleaning, even after I put my winter pool cover on and when pool was Iced over, I never saw anyone their. I tried to work this matter out in person with their pool service manager ******* with no luck, he returned none of my calls. Not a professional pool service. Their were other problems also. Product_Or_Service: Pool cleaning service

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Dismiss their charges from *** for service they say they have done after I have told the to stop.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/09) */ Since 2010 When customer signed up for pool maintenance he has had year round service. Customer called and informed AquaRecs that his pool was dirty in October of 2013. We provided an extra visit for the service and cleaned at no additional cost and continued monthly service as agreed upon when service was setup. No phone conversation took place to cancel. The pool cleaner made numerous attempts to contact customer because the pool was getting out of hand. The cleaner wanted to suggest a higher maintenance plan. AquaRecs Did not receive notice from customer to cancel until Jan. 8 2014. Service was then cancelled and all service performed prior to cancellation is billable.

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: on August 17th Aqua Rec was to send a service person to install a pre-purchased part in our hot tub. The person arrived without the correct part and laughed at us when we told him that we would not accept something hand made but we had already paid $68.99 for a complete assembly that they had to order from a different company. I also had to pay for that part to be sent, instead of to me as they originally promised, to their store. I went to the store on main street in Tacoma to pick it up after it had arrived and upon inspection of the complete assembly decided I wanted them to send a technician out because I didn't believe it was going to work. The technician called twice to find out where we were at the end of his 2 pm to 6 pm window. He pulled a part from his truck that was completely different from the part I had seen taken out of the shipping box at the store and was indifferent to our concerns, offering to rig something up right then and there to fix the valve. Well I had already paid almost $68.99 for a complete assembly and didn't want to pay for more parts. He said he could drop off our part in our mailbox the next day and laughed at the fact that my husband had taken the day off from work to make sure everything went smoothly with the repair. When calling the service manager to try and rectify this, he refused to listen to our concerns, talking over us and repeatedly saying he didn't like the way the conversation was going. He did apologize that they did not bring the correct part out and then tried to lay blame on me saying that "When I was showing your wife how the part worked, she refused to listen to me." I listened, I just didn't believe the part they ordered from a different company was going to work. Even their own tech said he could make a replacement piece up right then and there out of what he had on the truck. The end of the conversation with management was that I was to receive a full refund of my $68.99. That has not happened. I protest the high handed demeaning attitude and feel they blithely dealt with me to git rid of me and had no intention of following through on their promises to fully refund my money.

Desired Settlement: A full and complete refund on my card for $68.99 as well as a letter of apology for the extremely poor customer service attitudes of both their technician and supposed manager. I believe his name was ****** but am not sure.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/18) */ *************** *******, The diverter valve you purchased from Aqua Recs was correct. After Mrs ******* looked at part, she didn't feel comfortable installing this part so I let her know we could come out there and install it for her. The day of the service, my technician made a mistake and did not grab the Diverter valve that was labeled with your name on it but rather grabbed a very common diverter valve. This was a mistake on his end. He apologized to Mr ******* at the jobsite and offered a number of different resolutions (come out tomorrow to install or he could show Mr ******* how to install himself to save money). Shortly after my technician left the jobsite, I spoke with Mr ******* explaining the error on our end and apologizing for the mistake. I offered the same resolution as my technician but each attempt to get resolution was not agreed upon by the customer. Mrs ******* then made it clear she wanted a full refund for the part and to cancel the service order. I immediately ran a return on the card for the special order part and cancelled the order. Mr and Mrs *******, Again I apologize for the mistake made by Aqua Recs and we still have the correct part here for your Clearwater spa. This is a unique part and would hate to see you try another company without success in matching. Either way, we put it back in stock but Im sure it will be used in the next few months (parts from it) So let me know soon if you want me to hold for you. Thanks and again sorry for the mistake. ***** Service Manager

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I contacted Aqua Rec for a gas fire place. We met with the salesman (***** *****)on 9-22-13, we signed the paper work and had to schedule for appointment. We scheduled the appointment for the installation which was 10-22-13.I followed up with a call to verify our appointment date on 10-21-13, I was told it was scheduled and they would see us then. Shortly later they called and said they had to reschedule for the 29th which was fine with us. We'd make that work. The tech was scheduled to be out between 12-1, our tech showed up at 2:00ish and worked until 6:30 They informed us that we needed to get the gas line inspected and signed off by the City, "This was their responsibility" per our agreement that they would contact the proper people and have all the inspections done. After several calls the Service manager called back and said he got an inspector lined up and they would be out. The inspector came out on 11-5-13 and did his inspection and signed off on everything. I proceed to call Aqua Rec and let them know that he signed off and everything was a go. I was informed they would try to fit us in..So needless to say to date I still have an open fire place, with boxes stacked up in our living room awaiting to be installed.This is 2 weeks after the initial install that was suppose to take approx "4hrs to install" I have made several attempts to resolve this issue over the phone with **** the service manager as well as ***** ***** the salesman by email and I seem to be running into a brick wall. This type of performance is unacceptable. Now as the Holidays are approaching we still have boxes in our living room, and a 1/2 put together fireplace with no schedule in site.

Desired Settlement: All I want is a completed job,and the mess out of our home. The idea of a fire place was to enjoy the looks and appearance of it not to view an opening in the wall with boxes throughout the house.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/05) */ we had been working with the wife on scheduling after the inspection was done. We did finish the completion on 11/14/2013. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/12/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Their comment regarding they'd been working with my wife to schedule a time is false. As my wife is a stay at home mom that runs a business out of our home. Scheduling on our part was never an issue. Once the inspection was done we called to let them know and we never heard from anyone until we called BBB! It really saddens me with as much money as we spent with this company this year that the quality of service we received was so poor. The installation was completed as stated on the 14th with a different crew from the original start up date. The guys that did the work were well mannered and address any and all concerns at that time and worked in a professional manner. It's just to bad it had to get to this point. We will not return as a customer. we will take our money else where from now on. Thank you for helping in resolving our issues with this company~ lesson learned always check the BBB before hiring somebody, as well as check reviews on their performance.

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service