BBB Accredited Business since

Global Security & Communication Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 446-2400 Fax: (360) 906-9692 3212 Main St, Vancouver, WA 98663 http://www.global4security.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers security system, entertainment and home theater system, vacuum system, fire protection and medical alert services. This company offers security system, entertainment and home theater system, vacuum system, fire protection and medical alert services.

This company offers security system, entertainment and home theater system, vacuum system, fire protection and medical alert services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Global Security & Communication Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Global Security & Communication Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Global Security & Communication Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1988 Business incorporated 09/24/1991 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater NW, Salem OR 97310
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/bcd
Phone Number: (503) 378-4133
bcd.webmaster@state.or.us

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. AJ Gomez, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. AJ Gomez, President
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Security Cameras Access Control Systems Card Access Control Systems Shoplifting Prevention Devices Fire Exit Devices Fire Protection Equipment & Supplies Medical Alarms Medical Alert Companies Vacuum Cleaning Systems Contractor - Low Voltage Systems Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems Auto Alarms & Security Systems Home Theater Smoke Detectors & Alarms Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service


Additional Locations

  • 1502 Pike St NW STE 1

    Auburn, WA 98001

  • 3212 Main St

    Vancouver, WA 98663 (800) 446-2400

  • 412 Lincoln St

    Eugene, OR 97401

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I decided to put a security system into my company in April of 2014 due to the area I was in and the fact we had had previous break in attempts. When I was signing their contract I told them that I was going to be moving my company and may not need their services when that happens. They MADE me enter into a 3 yr. contract after they had already set up my security system. When I called to let them know that I was moving my company sooner than expected, and that the facility that I would be sharing already had a security system they said that they would not let me out of my contract. I have no need for their services and cannot use them at my rental house. I do not feel that they should make me pay for services that I CANNOT use.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to let me out of my contract with no penalty due to the situation. I would have gladly transferred their services if I was able to, but unfortunately I cannot use their services anymore.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/25) */ To Whom it may concern, I am sorry about the delayed response. For some reason your email was blocked in the spam filter and we did not get it. We originally spoke with Ms. **** **************** on 4/21/2014 to schedule an appointment and confirmed the appointment on 4/22/2014 for 4/23/2014 at 10:30 am. Ms. **** **************** signed the contract to have a system put into her business on 4/23/2014 and the system was installed on 4/30/2014 a full week later. She is stating that we did not have her sign the agreement until after it was installed which is not correct. She called us on the 7th of August and said that she was moving and we offered to move the system for her and told her that she still had time on her contract. She did not tell us that she had not agreed to a 3 year but at that time told us that she was told she could get out of the contract if she moved in the first year. The sales rep would have no reason to say this because he is charged back for sales that do not go the full 36 months. We install systems at no charge based on a 36 month agreement with no upfront charge to the customer and we would not tell her she could cancel at any time. I have attached a copy of her agreement dated 4/23/2014 and the completion certificate dated on 4/30/2014. Please let us know if you have any questions. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm complaining about Global Security's lack of concern or response to my multiple requests for help and education in operating the equipment they installed in our house and completing the installation. I've spoken with ****** who purports to be their Service Mgr and assures me that because "he" is now on my case everything will be taken care of promptly. (It's over a month now). ****** apparently didn't stay on my case too long because a few days after speaking with him and listening to his promises I did receive a call from **** who purports to be the Operations Mgr assuring me he was now on it and has developed a plan to get my equests/complaints taken care of. (It's been a month since the last call). My first complaint is about the thermostat they installed on my furnace that is not user friendly and does not seem to have automatic control to provide heating and cooling without manually selecting either the heat or cool mode. The thermostat has an Auto setting but it does not seem to be active. They have failed to provide the instruction and education necessary to make it happen or to replace the thermostat if it is defective. My second complaint is about the security system itself or its control or the software that operates it. It mostly seems to work although I've had to go online to learn if it will do certain things and get instructions how to program it. Simple things like turning off the sound from the keypad in the master suite and dimming the light on the same keypad so its not like daytime in there during the night. Then there is the problem of the alarm going off at 0200 when daylight savings time starts. Not only does the alarm sound but the alarm resets itself to the off or not monitoring condition. It not only wakes you up thinking there is an intrusion or other problem but it turns off the system. The inconvenience is bad enough but if we were out of town our house would not be receiving the alarm monitoring protection and service we pay them to maintain. The third complaint is about the AV equipment they installed. They installed two locations where we can mount the equipment and we moved the equipment from the one they used during the Parade of Homes Showcase to the other location but there is no cabling there to hook it up. We have asked that the cabling be installed and that we be shown how to use the equipment. ****, in the phone call mentioned earlier, assured me that ***** would call me within two days to set an appointment to install the cabling. (That still hasn't happened in a month). The other part about the AV equipment is being taught how to use it. We have been able to determine how to watch a movie but not how to use the sound system and speakers installed in parts of the house and patio - of course we would need the cabling for that with the equipment in the present location. The following is a complaint about their advertising. It's a shame and misleading to the consumer when companies use all the flowery words in their advertising but then don't live up to what they promise. Examples from their web page include:"it's the customer we had in mind" - in reference to starting their business, "pursuit of excellence and dedication to customer service", "always get a real person who is ready to help" and the corker is their mission statement... Our mission = products with 100% customer satisfaction and treat every customer as we would friends and family. It seems like they need to review their own purpose and educate within their own company about their goals.

Desired Settlement: Be responsive when I ask for assistance by actually doing something rather than make idle promises. Provide education about how to operate the thermostat, replace it if it is defective or at my discretion reinstall the original fully programable thermostat (or equal) provided by the heating/cooling company during construction. Fix the problems with the security system going into alarm and sounding the alarm just because the clock resets to daylight or standard time at 0200 and assure that the security system remains in "set" mode when the clock does change and at my discretion refund my equipment and monitoring fees because the system is defective and they have failed to attempt to solve the problems in a timely manner. Install the cabling necessary to operate the AV equipment at either of the locations provided. Make sure all AV equipment is compatible and provide training and education about operating the equipment/system to my satisfaction. Live up to the words and phrases they use in their advertising or remove those elements from their advertising so as not to mislead consumers into thinking they will get service from this company that is not available.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/10/11) */ I contacted customer as soon as I read his complaint and apologized for Global for overlooking his needs. I let him know that we would call Monday morning to set up a time to meet with him in his home to review all of his concerns.

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Global security system false alarms due to faulty devise installation. Company protocol regarding alarms was not followed. We made numerous calls and wrote letters requesting partial early release from 3 year contract as we could not trust the security system. We also requested reimbursement for alarm fines from Police department. The company technician,*****, told us the company was having a lot of problems with the devise and they were having to replace them. Nothing was resolved to our satisfaction. We only received an eventual letter from a company rep saying esentially they had done nothing wrong. Now after nearing the end of our contract, Global Security is not only not reducing the length of our contract, but says we have a 6 month extension. We have now been under contract with Global Security for over 5 years because we used their company at a previous address in Welches OR. We are utterly dissatisfied with Global Security; would never use this company again, nor recommend them. They are in it for the money but do not provide quality equipment or customer service despite our length of history with them.

Desired Settlement: As requested, release from contract and reimbursement for false alarm charges and for the company to contact the Portland Police to clear our name.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/07/03) */ The customer had a 42 month agreement, 36 months had been completed when they moved. They had intended to assign the balance to the new homeowner. The new owner did not have a phone line, so in order to monitor the home, we asked for a new 36 month agreement, which the new owner declined, leaving a six month balance. We have talked to the customer and explained the situation. If we could work something out with the new owner, we would gladly assign the balance of their agreement Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 7, 2013/06/14) */ Thank you. However we have spent a great deal of time and effort writing letters and making phone calls to Global and have never received a just or honest response from them. We certainly do not expect one now, but it felt appropriate to lodge a complaint to the BBB since Global Security claims to be AAA+ rated. We certainly do not believe that is deserved. Regards, **************

3/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues