This business is not BBB accredited.

Med Workshops LLC

Phone: (360) 243-3911 Fax: (360) 243-3266 View Additional Phone Numbers 1429 Avenue D # 263, Snohomish, WA 98290


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers online vocational training for medical transcription, medical coding, and medical billing.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Med Workshops LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Med Workshops LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 25, 2003 Business started: 03/01/1997 Business started locally: 03/01/1997 Business incorporated 05/30/2006 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Richard Roberts, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Roberts, Owner
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Schools - Business & Vocational

Alternate Business Names
TNI Workshops, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1429 Avenue D # 263

    Snohomish, WA 98290 (360) 243-3911 (805) 245-9433

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in MedWorkshops to further my career and work from home. They advertise as being the only med transcription school that offers job placement. They charge a lot more for the course due to the promise of job placement upon course completion. I have been in the course, done very well, and somehow they make sure you fail the testing to get placed with a company for a job. I am not young, I was not looking for something easy, I worked full time and did my studies at 3:30 am EVERY day and took care of a family in the process. My grades were very good. Once it was time for the testing they tell you it is common to fail the first test. I was not ok with that and told them at the time. I took the test and it was nothing they had prepared me for. I failed the first test after doing so well in the whole class and immediately contacted a counselor to get help. I was told if I could not handle it to drop out. I stated I handled the entire course load and did not understand why I did not pass. They then told me to review "everything from the entire course" and see what I could do. This is not instruction or teaching as MedWorkshops advertised. I believe they enroll too many students for the money and only let a few through a year for the internships they promise to all who pass. They make sure no one passes. I believe they need to be audited for their functions. They cost me a lot of money and a lot of time that I did not have to throw away. I will be filing a civil suit against them and I would like BBB to investigate only so nobody else loses their money and time to this scam. Product_Or_Service: education

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my money refunded for the course and books. No amount of money can replace the time it took away from my family while I was doing this course. That is all gone, regrettably.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@medworkshops.com I will answer in the order ****** submitted her complaint: We do not advertise job placement. We advertise our graduate placement rate which is approximately 95% since 1996. This means from 1996 we have graduates of Med Workshops finding a job at a very high rate of success- 95% approximately. "They charge a lot more for the course due to the promise of job placement upon course completion. " We do not charge a lot for medical transcription training. We do charge more than some schools because we always try to offer an internship to those who pass the final testing. If ****** truly thinks she was offered job placement it is no wonder she is upset. I've read our brochure and class curriculum for many years. I have never seen job placement offered as a standard option. ****** did well on the open-book quizzes. She did not do well on the final tests. The test ****** mentions is most likely the simplest of chart notes- a soap note. We give the simplest final tests first. This is because of test phobia that many students feel at first. All of our final tests are easy compared to the practice medical transcription typing. "I failed the first test after doing so well in the whole class and immediately contacted a counselor to get help. I was told if I could not handle it to drop out. I stated I handled the entire course load and did not understand why I did not pass. " This is a common statement from a student who doesn't pass the final tests. The responsibility for failing is placed on the school. Some students do not take responsibility for their own grades. "They then told me to review "everything from the entire course" and see what I could do. This is not instruction or teaching as Med Workshops advertised. I believe they enroll too many students for the money and only let a few through a year for the internships they promise to all who pass. They make sure no one passes." ********* instructor was instructing only 10 students when ****** said she was withdrawing. This instructor had trained several hundred students over the years. So many had passed and almost immediately got a job. The instructor had been instructing for several years. ****** did try very hard to do well. After failing too many final tests we offered her a time to review with an instructor OR we would refund ****** $1000.00 even though she had no refund due per our enrollment agreement. To review: We offered ****** more time to study at no cost to her except the time spent; then retaking the same tests a second time. If ****** felt she shouldn't continue we offered her a $1000.00 refund even though she is not due a refund. I don't know what else we could do. Unfortunately, not everyone graduates from medical transcription training. This is especially true with the new electronic medical records which are rapidly being implemented in healthcare. We would still take ****** back. We understand frustration and we want to see ****** graduate and be happy. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They admitted the instructor and the school did not do as much as they should have and offered only a 30% refund. That is unacceptable and I responded to them this morning that I would not accept that. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/01/07) */ NOTE - We made a mistake and called this student ******* The reason is a ****** had withdrawn at this time because her husband had a brain tumor and ****** couldn't finish the course. Sorry. I had a hernia operation on 12/17 and was on pain pills while still trying to work. I also got a bad cold - I made a mistake with the name. I also wasn't supposed to mention the name. Sorry again. So except for the name ****** our response above is correct for *****. Answer - We must reiterate this first - we do not promise job placement upon course completion. We simply state what our rate of employment success for graduates is. It was just updated on January 1st and it is approximately 90% since 1996. This is a very high success rate and it is because we get the graduates thoroughly prepared for immediate work requirements. The complaint also says, "somehow they make sure you fail the testing to get placed with a company for a job". Why would we fail someone when it is so easy to pass a good student? This student did fail her final tests and therefore failed the training program. We can't pass everyone simply because they want to pass. Med Workshops only goal in testing is to fully understand the student's grasp of the study material. We can't avoid testing. Frankly we have seen a few people fail and so many of those want to blame the school instead of taking responsibility themselves. This is a difficult area to fully understand and do well in. We don't blame the students for failing. We try to encourage them to try a second time. The student said, "I failed the first test after doing so well in the whole class and immediately contacted a counselor to get help. I was told if I could not handle it to drop out. I stated I handled the entire course load and did not understand why I did not pass. " I have looked over all of the student's emails and nowhere do we say her only option is to drop out. We suggested she let us help her review the material she was having trouble with. Here is an example from my email to her: Email note: "I looked up your records and saw we didn't use every effort to bring you up in scoring. It would have made you late to finish however. I'd like to offer you a chance to go back through that with another instructor. I'm almost 100% certain we can get you into mentored internship. We've helped sooo many students like you who struggle at the testing phase. We get these students to pass by going over and over the subjects being missed during testing. It takes longer but each student is so important. Because we've helped so many before it is easy to see a plan of action. It has worked many times before and I have confidence it will work for you." End of email quote. This student is not accepting a helping hand. It is offered to her. If she was so determined to finish why not move forward with us and why exaggerate her claims? The unfortunate fact is she failed the final tests. I'm afraid she must feel she can't graduate no matter what the help. It seems she wants to back all the way out and get all of her money back. Maybe she feels she made a mistake and she is not suited for medical transcription. We have no way of knowing. We do know we have offered her everything possible to finish. The only thing we can't do is pass her when she failed the final tests. She would have to redo those and pass this time. If I attend college and fail final tests for the class I took, do I have the right to blame the teacher, school, etc. and ask for all my money back?

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The class was unfair in the way that we were provided with a CD that had 191 assignments on it to complete. However, after completing the assignments and learning the methods described in the answer key on the CD, when we were scheduling our tests, it was made clear to us that we were expected to do things differently on the test than the way we had learned on the CD. This made it confusing, and in addition, in some instances, there were 3 conflicting instructions on how to do things, between the CD, the medical transcription workbook we were provided with, and the hand-outs we were given. I found it very difficult to decipher which way was expected. Why have students learn the technique with 191 assignments (that took several weeks) then change the methods afterwards? The educational methods were not clear or presented in a fair way. When taking quizzes during an earlier part of the class on bookwork and grammar, students were expected to "figure out" the mistakes they made on tests, rather than the teacher clearly explaining the errors and the proper way. Sometimes a quiz would have to be redone 3 times, before the teacher would provide the correct answer to me. I expected more instruction from this class than I received, since I paid $3005.00 for it. The website stated that typing tests could be taken over if a student did not pass the first time, however, tests were not allowed to be taken over in this instance. During the typing tests at the end: I made an error on test #1 which the teacher provided me with the proper way of doing it. In a previous test, when a similar instance came up, and I did it the way I was told to do it on the corrected version of my first test, I still got it wrong. I feel if the school had provided uniform instruction across the board, rather than conflicting instruction between the hand-outs, assignment CD/answer key, and the workbook, I would have been better prepared and had a greater chance in passing the typing tests at the end. Product_Or_Service: Medical Transcription Class and Books Account_Number: enrollment agreement

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund for the money I paid for the class and books ($3005.00) because I do not believe the education provided by the school was done in a clear manner that would best prepare students to be successful in the testing at the end of the program that is necessary to enter the mentored internship and graduate, due to conflicting instruction between the assignment cd/answer key, the workbook, and the hand-outs.