This business is not BBB accredited.

ascertEd LLC

Phone: (541) 207-1221 340 SW 2nd St  Ste 5, Corvallis, OR 97333 http://www.emtprep.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers test preparation for EMT students who will be taking the NREMT exam.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ascertEd LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ascertEd LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 19, 2009 Business started: 08/01/2008 Business started locally: 08/01/2008 Business incorporated 09/23/2008 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Williams, Member Mr. Bryan Gassner, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Williams, Member
Business Category

Scholastic Prep Courses, Books & Materials Online Education


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    340 SW 2nd StSte 5

    Corvallis, OR 97333 (541) 207-1221

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The site is falsely advertised as a site to use to study and prepare for your NREMT PARAMEDIC exam with 100% pass rate guarantee. This site has NO working phone number listed, and when I inquired about this in an email they replied telling me to look it up on the BBB website if I wanted to call instead of including it. When I voiced my concerns via email with the materials on the site being outdated and the fact that none of the materials(which were limited) were on the exam I was told that I had been a paramedic too long, had too much experience, and that was the issue... When I contacted them yet again, this time for a refund, they waited 4 whole business days to reply to me. Refusing my request because even though their study materials were not even close to sufficient enough to pass this exam and they claim a 100% pass rate GUARANTEE, they state that their guarantee is that if you fail you can continue using their site until you pass... This site should be investigated for fraudulent advertising, their materials for studying and preparing for a PARAMEDIC NATIONAL REGISTRY EXAM are more than lacking and a total scam.

Desired Settlement: Full refund, which was refused by this company. I have filed a fraud claim for false advertising of services rendered with my bank against this company and have received a full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/25) */ Hello, I have attached our email correspondence with the customer. The customer was not pleased with our responses to her because we would not allow her a refund of her money. She routinely refers to our 100% Pass Guarantee, please see our attached file that outlines what that entails from our website. As you can see in the emails, we have tried to settle this dispute amicably. When a customer fails their test, our company extends their time on our website free of charge and works with them one-on-one to help them pass their exam. We have an excellent track record of customer service and ******** received the same treatment that we offer to every student. We pride ourselves on our very high pass rates with students who use our website and we know that we could help ******** out as well, if she was willing to take our help. We cannot offer this customer a refund for the following reasons: 1) Our company allows refund to be given when someone has used our website for less than 48 hours. 2) She used our services routinely from her purchase date of 03/18/2014 until the time she began to email us on 04/17/2014. As you can see from her login information she logged in 33 times. 3) Our websites terms and conditions can be found here: (http://emtprep.com/terms/) You will see that nowhere does it state that the customer will receive their money back if they fail their exam. When a customer struggles to pass their test, we offer them one-on-one services that include answering any and all questions they have by phone/email, private tutoring, and assigning homework to help them pass their test. You will note that in our email correspondence with the customer we offered to work more closely with her to help get her through this exam, and she denied that help. Our offer still stands with her and we're more than willing to extend her time on our site as well as provide her with private tutoring free of charge. If you have any questions, please let me know. Thanks for your time. ******* ** ******** Co-Founder Note: There are 4 files I need to attach and the system will only allow one. I will send in the other 3 files after this is submitted. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/05/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have already been issued a refund, and reported this company to the fraud center at ******** ***** They are falsely advertising this site as having substantial testing and studying material, they are more than lacking in this claim. In order to access any of the material you have to pay the monthly fee first, which I did, once on the site I studied almost 400hrs preparing for my National Registry Paramedic test. I have been a firefighter paramedic in the state of FL for 10yrs, never failed any test prior to this one. This company repeatedly came up with excuses of me having "too much field" experience as to why I failed. I failed because I studied materials on their site that pertain in no way to the NREMT-P. I was more than ill prepared when I sat for the exam. I recognized none of the materials I studied almost 400hrs of on this exam. They claim to be a test prep site for this exam, THEY ARE NOT. There is no way I am the first customer with this complaint. When I googled test prep sites for NREMT-P they list themselves as a site specifically for this exam. I've been issued a full refund through my banks fraud center, I will not be using this site EVER to study for any exam. I am currently taking my NREMT-P so I can relocate from FL to Texas. This site should be ashamed at the materials they lack, its very disheartening to know that scam sites like this exist to rip off people who save lives everyday. Also, this business went 4 business days without replying to my request for a refund, very unprofessional.