This business is not BBB accredited.

Bruce & Dana Inc

Phone: (800) 653-5144 View Additional Phone Numbers 2204 Simpson St SE, Salem, OR 97301 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers sheet metal and roofing materials.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Bruce & Dana Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Bruce & Dana Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bruce & Dana Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 21, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1964 Business started locally: 01/01/1964 Business incorporated 07/06/1976 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Wayne Helms, President Ms. Mary Helms, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne Helms, President
Business Category

Roofing Materials Building Materials

Alternate Business Names
Bruce & Dana Wholesale Inc

Additional Locations


    2204 Simpson St SE

    Salem, OR 97301 (503) 364-5274 (800) 653-5144


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



12/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the process of building my house in 1997/98 I hired a roofing contractor ( ****** ****** ******* ) to install a metal roof on my house. For this job the contractor used material from Bruce and Dana. The contractor installed the roof as planned. Approx 2 years later we did an addition on the house and hired the same contractor and used the same material. Looking at the roof now, there is a lot of color fading between the original roof and the addition. The roof actually looks like two different colors. I contacted the contractor about this and he came out to inspect the roof. He verified there was a lot of fading and said he hadn't ever seen that material fade near that bad. He said he would recommend that we try pressure washing the roof to see if that would help restore the color. I hired them to do this. After the pressure washing was done there was no difference in the faded color. At this point he said I would need to contact the manufacturer about a warrantee claim for the fading. He told me he thought the warrantee was 25 or 35 years on the fading. He also pointed out that where the gutters drained on to a different part of the roof that the surface paint was completely gone. I called B&D and asked who I could talk to about this. I was told ********* handles the claims so I left my contact info for her on 12-10-12. After not hearing from ********* for several days I called back to B&D. over the next 5 weeks I continued to leave her messages with no call back from her. She finally called me back on 1-16-13. I told her about the fading. She asked me for a copy of the invoice for my roof showing B&D as the material supplier and for pictures of the roof. I asked about the claim process. She told me about a lengthy process that involved her contacting "****" and showing him the info. **** would do an inspection on the roof "if needded" then they would contact the metal manufacturer "if needed" to inspect the roof. At that point they would issue a "report" with their findings. On 1-22-13 I email ********* pictures of the roof and on 1-23 my copy of the quote of the job using B&D material from the contractor showing the material used. She confirmed the info but, told me she needed a copy of my invoice. On 2-4-13 i was able to locate my invoice and emailed it to her. On 2-7, 2-20 and 3-6 I emailed her to confirm she got the info. On 3-11 after not getting a reply from her, I called her to try to get confirmation. She told me that my emails for some reason had started going to her junk mail. I resent the info that day and she confirmed she got it. At that point she told me she needed a copy of the invoice from B&D to ****** ******* (which I would never have been given) or a copy of the warrentee (which she says is usually kept by the contractor). Over the next 7 weeks I was able to finally get out of her that without a copy of their invoice to ****** or a copy of the warrantee she could not do anything on the claim. I asked if they would have a copy of this info she is looking for. She told me that they would except they had an accident and all of their records from that time frame was lost. ****** ******* changed ownership a few years back and all of their records from that time period have been lost or thrown away. It's not my fault that these files are lost. I have my copy of my invoice showing I purchased B&D material and paid for it. I have a faded roof that has faded within the warrantee time frame. They have lost the info needed to proceed, not me. This is very clear to me that they should stand behind their warrantee.

Desired Settlement: Replace the faded portion of my roof.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 20, 2013/07/18) */ This is regarding **** ****** claim. All material claims need to have proper documentation in order for us to proceed to our mill supplier for any claims. Any steps I mentioned to ** ****** regarding sending someone to do an inspection of his roof would be based on if he supplied to needed information. A coil number is needed to initiate any inspections. The mill supplier will not accept any information without that coil number. I did express to ** ****** that the coil number would be either on a work order, an invoice, or a warranty.He would need to go to the contractor who installed the roof for that information if he didn't have it. Our files older than 7 years were destroyed by accident. We did look through our remaining files to see if we could locate any paperwork but were unable to find anything. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 47, 2013/10/30) */ As of 10-29-2013 I have not heard from Bruce and Dana about scheduling the inspection on my roof. I was told on September 17th that they would be contacting me to inspect the roof. Final Business Response /* (1000, 40, 2013/09/23) */ Good afternoon ******, We will schedule to do an inspection of the roof. Our Product Specialist will get in touch with *** ****** to schedule a time. Thank you, and if you have any questions, please call. Respectfully, ***** Bruce & Dana, Inc. **** ******* ** ** Salem, OR 97301 XXX-XXX-XXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX fax *****