BBB Accredited Business since

Western Pacific Roofing LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 659-7663 View Additional Phone Numbers 8145 SE 6th Ave, Portland, OR 97202 http://www.westpacroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial roofing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Western Pacific Roofing LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Western Pacific Roofing LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Western Pacific Roofing LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 28, 2006 Business started: 06/01/2006 Business started locally: 06/01/2006 Business incorporated 05/15/2006 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alan Freeman, Managing Partner Ms. Amanda DeMarre, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alan Freeman, Managing Partner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 10824 SE Oak St # 350

    Milwaukie, OR 97222

  • 8145 SE 6th Ave

    Portland, OR 97202 (503) 659-7663 (503) 296-7663 (360) 737-7663

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Western Pacific was hired to replace our roof and skylight replacement also. The work order outlined replacement of metal flashing, installation of ice and water shield also. Western Pacific was given a check for a down payment of $5,470.00 to start work. After work began, they informed us that the skylights were custom and the quote was inaccurate - this item was removed from work order and quote adjusted. Site observations: 1) The employees hired to complete the work were not provided a portable toilet and worked over 8 hours a day on site, 2) dumpster was placed in front of house resting on only 3 legs and posed a hazard. After the roof was replaced we noticed that the water diverting cricket, new metal flashings and ice/water shield material was not installed. Western Pacific stated they made a mistake and had a new crew replace 1/3 of the roof after installation of the cricket and ice/water shield. They did not replace the old metal flashings indicating that to do so would require removal of the siding. They did not adjust the work order with this change and that is when I complained about not trusting their work and requested an invoice of the products delivered for completion of the job, Western Pacific stated they do not usually provide this. After 3 requests, they did provide the invoice. I was given 2 dates for the walk through/invoice review and chose June 19 but there was no response by email to my meeting request. When I sent an email about the no-show on 6/19/15, there was no response. I called the office on 6/22 and spoke with Joe and told him that we have now discovered that where the roofing material was placed under the siding, the siding boards are split lengthwise. I requested a call back on 6/22/15 and did not receive that call back. In summary: my complaints are : 1) false work order invoicing, 2) poor customer service, 3) inferior work performed and company caused siding damage

Desired Settlement: Request that an independent inspector of my choosing inspects roof work to 1) inspect damage to siding from roof replacement, 2) assess how many metal flashings were not replaced and determine if they require replacement, 3) determine whether ice/water shield material was applied correctly, 4) inspect skylights to determine if they are in good condition, 5) assess that water diverting cricket was installed and is sufficient for sidewall water volume, 6) determine if the 2 roof areas there was a leak require plywood replacement and 7) determine whether the roof was installed correctly. Request that my down payment is refunded so that I may apply that toward an independent inspector and then if the siding repair/replacement cost is over the amount refunded, Western Pacific will cover that cost.

Business Response: I would like to address the complaints submitted by ***
***********.

In regards to the skylights, the ***********’s opted out of
them in order to save money.

The siding on the house was previously damaged prior to our
beginning work.

The drop box is delivered by a third party, the ***********
property has limited access as it is positioned on a hill and is very difficult
to get to, it was in fact resting on 3 legs due to the fact it was on a slope.
As these drop boxes are very large and very heavy, we felt it did not pose or
present a risk and was deemed safe by our foreman.

Metal flashings were not replaced but rather painted as they
did not need to be replaced and were a savings to the customer.

Our industry is a seasonal industry, we have a small window
of time to complete our work, for anyone that works longer than 40 hours a
week, they are compensated in compliance with Oregon Labor Law.

The water diverting cricket in the dead valley area was not
installed initially due to an oversight and failure to communicate by our
installer. One we were made aware of this it was taken care of and is now
installed correctly.

Ice and water was not installed initially due to lack of
communication on our part between the estimator and the roofing installers, it
was corrected and installed.

A 3rd party inspector was chosen by the
***********’s and according to the inspector, all work was completed
satisfactorily.

All issues have been resolved and homeowners have stated
that they are happy.

7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Western Pacific Roofing in July 2014 to replace my entire roof (due to worsening discoloration from a contractor using Moss Out on it). They were informed that the garage roof was connected to my neighbor's garage roof with no seam in between (one roof over both garages). I specified that I wanted the roofing material to match the neighbor's and that it needed to look like one roof. (Previous garage roof replacement companies hired by myself and the neighbor at separate times was able to do this.) When WPR was done I notified them that I was not happy with the garage roof. It was not laying flat between the two garages and the tiles did not match the neighbor's. I was told that the tiles would even out over a few months, and that they HAD used a different tile. I paid the deposit up front and after talking with the owner about my concerns, and being assured 'they would make it right' I paid the balance. They came out a couple weeks later and it appeared they replaced the roofing material, but after calling a few different times, to find out exactly what they did, and to let them know it didn't look any different, no one ever called back. It is still very noticeable that it is different, and the tiles in the middle have not laid down flat. This not only affects my house, it affects my neighbor's also. They were also throwing/dropping the tiles hard, even after I asked them to be more careful when a vase fell of one of my shelves and broke. This created/worsened cracks in my walls & ceiling.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $3000. (It previously cost me $3761 to have the garage roof replaced by Sears in 2012, a year prior to the discoloration.)

Business Response: Western Pacific Roofing was hired and contracted by Deby Roberts, to tear off ½ of her garage roof and install and tie in 3 tab charcoal shingles to match neighbors garage roof, it was a shared garage structure.  Work was completed on July 23, 2014.  Once work was completed, customer was concerned that there was a hump on the roof, which was actually a structural issue, not a shingling issue.  Due to the age of the roof, the roof had actually sagged on both sides of a beam which gave an appearance of a hump.  Customer also stated that the shingles didn’t match her neighbors, which once again, due to age and condition of the roof, new shingles are not going to look exactly like old shingles.  Our proposal is to replace the entire front side of customer and neighbors garage roofs with new GAF Timberline HD Charcoal shingles to match **** ******* shingles on her house, so there is a complete match with her existing shingles, and to do this at no cost to the customer.  We will need written permission from **** ******* and the neighbor to perform this work.  This will not fix the structural un-eveness of the "hump" in the gargage roof.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: There was no 'structural sagging' of the garage roof prior to Western Pacific Roofing replacing the roof. The garage roof was replaced two years ago. My neighbor had his side done first. His roofing contractor was able to tie in the two sides of the roof without any 'hump'. I had my side replaced a few weeks later. My contractor was also able to tie in both sides without any 'hump'. I have pictures of the roof prior to WPR's work which I showed to them. See attached - the red arrows, and difference in house paint color show were the two sides are connected. There is no 'hump' I don't see why two different contractors, doing the work at separate times, could both get the roof sides tied in with no problem, and WPR can't.

WPR also told me, prior to the job, that they could get the color between the two sides to match with only a slight variation in color. This is not the case - it is different enough to be noticeable at first look. (In the attached pictures, the brownish discoloration on my side is due to a contractor using Moss Out on my roof - this is the reason I had my whole roof replaced.)

Having the complete front of the garage roof replaced to match would be a good resolution for the color, but it doesn't resolve the issue of the hump.
 
Sincerely,

******* *******

Business Response: In response to ****** rejection of our offer.  We feel that we have gone above and beyond with our offer to replace the shingles on the entire front side of the garage for both her and her neighbor free of charge.  We can not and will not take responsibility for the structural defect that was a pre-existing condition.  The roofing process had nothing to do with altering or having any impact on the structure.  Our offer to replace the shingles on the front side of the garage for her and her neighbor free of charge still stands.