BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing contractor services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TriState Roofing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TriState Roofing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on TriState Roofing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 2010 Business started: 11/01/2007 Business started locally: 11/01/2007 Business incorporated 10/01/2007 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Holum, President Mr. Rafael Gonzalez, Superintendant Mrs. Jackie Lewis, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Holum, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Tile Roofing Siding Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Doors Doors - Installation Doors - Vinyl Doors - Commercial Storm Windows & Doors Windows Windows - Vinyl Contractor - Flat Roof Gutters & Downspouts Contractor - Roofing Spray Foam Insulation Deck Builder

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Tri State Roofing
Business Management

According to Washington Secretary of State, John Holum is also the president of Seattle's Best Home Improvement Inc and TriState Exteriors Inc. For more information on Seattle's Best Home Improvement Inc, refer to its BBB Business Review at http://www.bbb.org/western-washington/business-reviews/windows/seattles-best-home-improvement-in-fife-wa-7055474. For more information on TriState Exteriors Inc, refer to its BBB Business Review at http://www.bbb.org/alaskaoregonwesternwashington/business-reviews/contractors-general/tristate-exteriors-inc-in-tacoma-wa-22682988.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TriState Roofing Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1901 Center St

    Tacoma, WA 98409 (800) 270-7544 (253) 363-8280

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tri State was a nightmare from the start of my roof install. The install crew was disrespectful and messy. When I called Tri State with my issues I was all but ignored. The Owner, **** ******* did not return my phone calls or honor my request for a sit down meeting with him. The #2 for the Company, ******, came to my home was rude and disrespectful and told me that it was my fault the Crew was late to another job. The #3, **** ****, did not address my issues at the beginning of the install while the Crew was still here working on my roof. I had to call my sales person *** *** and let him know what was going on before any action was taken. After the install was completed we found damage that had been done to the roof above the attic by the install crew. I brought this to the attention of Tri State and it has now been over 2 weeks and the damage still has not been repaired. I spoke with **** **** today and he is not sure when he will be able to get someone out to do the needed repair. The install crew did not arrive on my first day of install until after 2 pm because they had to go fix another roof. Yet my roof needs to be fixed and I have been told I will have to wait until someone is available to come fix it.

Desired Settlement: I want my roof repaired now. I also want to be compensated for my time in having to drive to Tri State's office to have a sit down meeting, the undue stress this entire situation has caused me and all of the time and phone calls I have had to spend and make regarding the issues and the needed repair to my house. Not to mention the constant follow up I have had to make with the Company in regards to the needed repair to my home due to the damage their Company caused. I have a warranty which obligates them to make the repairs and they are acting like they are doing me a favor.

Business Response: This roof job was sold as a recover. Meaning we go over existing shingles we do not replace sheeting. She was given this option at the time of sale and before we started the job, but she didn't want to spend the money. The job was loaded by the distributor and at time of loading caused an old light not screwed down correctly to break inside the home. We offered to replace that and gave her money for a replacement unit. She called after the job was completed because apparently there were a couple cracked boards in her attic. We didn't go in the attic nor replaced sheeting so who knows if this crack had been there for years or not. We let her know we would go ahead anyway and tear off off the shingles we just had replaced to go ahead and replace this minor issue. It would not have compromised the roof nor caused leaking. We mentioned we would call her back by next Wednesday as everyone was tied up working at other sites. That was not quick enough I guess as she filed this BBB complaint in the meantime. We called her back as promised, scheduled the minor repair and completed the work on Friday September 12th 2014 that week. We had offered to do the work on a weekend but she didn't want it done than. I called her personally to make sure she was satisfied and she said yes, completely. We even had her sign a letter to this fact, which if needed can show. When on the job her mood would swing from day to day. Very difficult personality to deal with due to these drastic mood swings. Again who knows who cracked the boards but we stepped up and fixed them anyway at no cost to the homeowner and again the work had been completed back on September 12th 2014.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is completely unacceptable. This Company does not stand behind what it says. I was told by my Salesman, *** ***, that two areas of my roof that were damaged would be repaired during install at no charge. *** did not mention anything about doing a Tear Off install, he sold it to me as a recover. The crew did go into my attic several times during the install. If **** **** and **** ****** had listened to me when I called at the beginning of my install they would not have had to tear off anything. They could have taken care of the work promised to me by *** before any new material had been put on. The repair work was scheduled to be completed almost 3 weeks after Tri State had been told about it and only after **** ****** had his Lawyer call me. I never said that I was completely satisfied with the work done. I said it was ok. This is just another example of the dishonesty of Tri State and **** ******.

8/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have canvassed my neighborhood 2 times the month. They have made multiple door knocks and do not take no for an answer. I called the police after their latest visit!

Desired Settlement: Stay out of our neighborhood. No means no. It does not mean come back later.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/08) */ Canvassing is not illegal in Olympia. As far as canvassing and knocking on your door I have provided our marketing Manager with your information to pass to all our drivers which I hope will stop them from knocking on your door in the future. You may also want to have something posted on your home or lawn to prevent other companies from knocking on your door. Thank you,