BBB Accredited Business since

Topside Roofing & Construction

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 752-2220 Fax: (360) 752-0398 View Additional Phone Numbers 161 E Horton Rd, Bellingham, WA 98226 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.topsideroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and residential roofing services including composition, wood shakes, shingles, metal, tile, torchdown and vinyl siding.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Topside Roofing & Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Topside Roofing & Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Topside Roofing & Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2001 Business started: 12/01/1993 Business started locally: 12/01/1993 Business incorporated 12/11/1995 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Philip York, President Steven Allen, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Philip York, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Gutters & Downspouts

Alternate Business Names
Topside Construction Inc

Additional Locations

  • 161 E Horton Rd

    Bellingham, WA 98226 (877) 318-1900 (360) 752-2220

  • PO Box 30618

    Bellingham, WA 98228

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wrote a review on 04-07-2014 when Topside finished my roof. It looks beautiful on the outer side of the roof. Within six months of Topside finishing my roof we found mold in the attic once again. The installer's placed the baffles upside down similar to the way the original roofers had done. Also Topside talked me in to going against the engineer's recommendation of putting in appropriate ventilation, as topside assured me that their system would give more that enough ventilation. When the mold came the owner and manager insisted that this was not their issue and that work was well done. We also have a leak they could not find, but my brother did. They still have not fixed it. We spent endless tiring hours and days for more than 3 weeks and three guys fixing their work and mold re-mediating while the owner and manager stood and watched and continued NOT to take any responsibility. At one point the owner offered me two hundred dollars to replace the baffles, which was one of the main causes for all the problems. This was one of the biggest insults I had ever received in my life and of course I declined. I have spent thousands since trying to save my home. I called Topside's insurance Co. and they brought in an engineer who who inspected our home from top to bottom. The final conclusion was that Topside's work was responsible for the condensation problems and biological growth in the attic that occurred after their work. Subsequently, Topside was contacted and still failed to discuss this with us. Our next step is to take them to court. I would strongly recommend not having any work done by Topside Roofing Co. as they do not stand by their work. This has been a nightmare and thanks to my brother and son, we were able to salvage my home, unfortunately while the Topside Owner and manager stood in my garage and home denying that it was there work. I wouldn't wish what we went through on anyone. Avoid this happening to you. (I had to give them one star to complete this review, but they should not have any

Desired Settlement: I want the roofing job I was promised. My roof sheathing is compromised and aged beyond it's years. I will let the attorney decide.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/24) */ We were hired to remove all rotten fungus infested plywood from the customers' home. At that time we sprayed all roof rafters that had been in contact with the rotten plywood and any that showed signs of mold growth. We then installed the baffles alongside the homeowner who had purchased them because they wanted to source their own material for this. Upon a final job inspection, the baffles were found to be sufficient for providing intake for roof ventilation. The homeowner later called to say that all venting in the house was inadequate. In order to try to appease this worry, a calculation based on square footage, intake and exhaust was used to determine if the venting was indeed inadequate; this calculation showed that the roof was more than adequately vented. Six months later, mold was found covering the newly installed sheeting. This was puzzling because the roof was not leaking and the roof was adequately vented, so we attempted to discover why the mold once again covered the sheeting. To test the humidity of different areas in the house we installed weather sensors in the basement, outside, attic and living room. We found that the humidity outside and in the attic was the same; however the basement had a higher humidity than the attic and outside. This is odd and unusual for houses. We then walked the property and inspected the foundation. We found that the foundation was allowing moisture into the basement of the home and it would account for the higher level of humidity. In conclusion to the research we conducted, we found that the new mold growth was probably caused by mold spores in the insulation that had not been replaced in the attic and started to grow on the inside of the replaced plywood. We have not heard anything about any decisions or conclusions drawn by engineers, lawyers, or insurance companies that may have been brought in to find a cause for the new mold growth. We have completed everything in the contract to code and we will let other inspectors try to determine what they think the cause of the mold growth is; we have not heard anything from them as of yet. In our opinion, the insulation was already rotten and molding and that was the cause of the new mold growth on the plywood during the six months after the work was completed.