BBB Accredited Business since

Tacoma Roofing & Waterproofing

Phone: (253) 472-3484 Fax: (253) 476-1547 7006 W. 27th St. Suite E, Tacoma, WA 98466

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential and commercial roofing and waterproofing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tacoma Roofing & Waterproofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tacoma Roofing & Waterproofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tacoma Roofing & Waterproofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 27, 2012 Business started: 03/01/2011 Business started locally: 03/01/2011 Business incorporated 03/22/2011 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Steven Bobman, President Ms. Sally Bryan, Office Manager Mr. Bruce Hunter, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Bobman, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Bruce Hunter, Manager
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Waterproofing Contractors

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8am - 5pm
Alternate Business Names
Tacoma Roofing Inc

Additional Locations

  • 7006 W. 27th St. Suite E

    Tacoma, WA 98466 (253) 472-3484


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year we had new flashing installed onto our chimney, we paid $962.72 and when the rain arrived it started leaking water all around the chimney. We called the company, the guys came here, wrapped a plastic around our chimney and said they would be back to seal our chimney during this summer. We tried to call many times to schedule the service and they say they're 2 weeks out and that they will call us back to schedule and appointment and they NEVER DID. Our chimney is still wrapped with a blue plastic, nothing was done and they don't seem to be concerned about it.

Desired Settlement: Refund of our money so we can hire another company to do the job.

Business Response: Mr. *******,

I think, you have a lot of involvement in the failure of this transaction.

You hired us to come out and replace the deteriorated masonry flashing on your chimney last January.  When the technician was onsite, doing the work, he told you that the chimney was in dire need of fixing and only a chimney mason could do this work.  You told the tech, that you didn't want to spent the money and wasn't there some Band-Aid we could do.  The tech said he'd have a sales person come out and give you a bid for coating the chimney.  Due solely to the fact, the tech knew the chimney would leak when he left the job and he explained this to you, he offered to tarp off your chimney for free.  You accepted and he did so.

Adam R******, our residential sales person, did come out and did give you a proposal to coat the chimney.  It wasn't until, the very later part of this past August, that you decided to do the work that Adam had proposed to do.  You'd elected not to send in our Acceptance form or write on the proposal you accept, you decided to call Adam.  Unfortunately, Adam was called into active duty by the National Guard to fight fires in Eastern Washington.  You'd tired several times and got very frustrated, so you decided to call the office.

When you called the office, the person who takes the calls for scheduling, was on vacation.  The person who answered the phone tried to help you and explained to you, that the person who takes the calls for scheduling was out on vacation and that all of your information was on Adam's computer which we didn't have access to.  You became rather rude to her.  She transferred your call up to me.  I got you calmed down and explained to you that it'd be two weeks before we could get out there and we'd call the day before we'd show up to do the work.  I also explained to you, how the weather could change things.   I transferred you back to the original person who took the call to get your information.

A week after our phone conversation, you called wanting to know when we were going be there.  You were told the following week.  The weather changed a bit and you were called twice by my staff.  They left voice messages for you.  Your wife called back first and it was explained to her we'd be out a week later, due tot he weather.  You then called yourself and jumped down my bookkeepers throat for he delay and demanded to speak to management or the owner.  She tried to explain to you that no one was in and she'd have someone call you.  She states, you were becoming abusive and making all sorts of threats.  She said good-bye and hung up on you.

Mr. *******, you don't have a contract with us to do your work.  Because you verbally agree and want us to do the work, doesn't make a contractual agreement.  You've never sent in the Acceptance form, for us to do such work.  I'm willing to do your work, but you have to send in the acceptance form.  If you don't have the form any longer, I'm attaching one for you to sign and send in.  I do have to be very clear with you Mr. *******.  I will not tolerate you being rude and belittling my staff - that's wrong and I won't put up with such behavior.  Also, I need you to remove your false statements made on Face Book about us, which are slanderous.  Failure to do so, could have legal retaliations against you.  It's up to you, Mr. ******* on what you want to do and the out come of it all.

Bruce H*****

Consumer Response:

I will remove this complaint, I have a lot better things to do than to figure out why a company has bad service.  And to let you know I was hung up on, 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


**** *******

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company never completed the work, failing to clean out the gutters after new roof installation per the agreement with the previous homeowners. Contractor was not paid and has filed a lien even though they have not completed the work.

Desired Settlement: Company to complete the work by cleaning out the gutters as they agreed to do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/05) */ We were hired to replace the roof and install a new roof. We were promised our down payment, the day we would start. We started and completed the job in one day; the day we started. We never did receive our down payment - in fact, we were never paid for this job we did 2.5 months ago. We are now suing for our $11,500.00. Once we are paid, we have no problem cleaning the gutters again. The gutters were cleaned at the completion of the job - I have photographs. But until we are paid, we are doing nothing more.