BBB Accredited Business since

Rainier View Construction & Roofing

Phone: (253) 329-2212 Fax: (800) 670-1913 View Additional Phone Numbers   View Additional Email Addresses https://plus.google.com/+Rainier-view View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing, siding, windows, solar installations, additions, remodels, and custom decking service. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rainier View Construction & Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rainier View Construction & Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Rainier View Construction & Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 16, 2011 Business started: 05/01/2011 in WA Business started locally: 05/01/2011 Business incorporated 04/26/2011 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Tracey Prociw, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Tracey Prociw, Member
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs Remodeling Services Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Windows Windows - Wood Windows - Repairing Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractors - Solar Energy Solar Energy Products Service & Repair Contractor - Interior Trim Kitchen Remodeling Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Patio & Deck Builders Deck - Repair Roof Decks

Products & Services

Rainier View Construction & Roofing sells the following brand(s): Azek, Classic Metal Roofing Systems, GAF, IB Roofing Systems, James Hardie, Kassel & Irons, PlyGem, Taylor Metal, TimberTech

Rainier View Construction & Roofing offers the following product(s): Aluminum Roofing, Composite Decking, Composition Roofing, Fiber Cement Siding, Flat PVC Roofing, Metal Roofing, PVC Decking, Standing Seam Roofing, Steel Roofing, Vinyl Windows

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, VISA, Discover, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal, Salal Credit Union, 1st Security Bank

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rainier View Construction & Roofing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two phone calls and one letter to this company for customer service to fix problems has not resolved this issue. The owner responded by phone but no one has been here in the 5 months to fix the problems. They claim good customer service. One gutter guard missing, two gutters' ends leak heavily, two gutters leak. One soffet was sagging when roofing crew was here and they promised someone would be back to fix it. No one has come to fix it, we hired the soffet fixed at our expense as our house was being painted and couldn't wait any longer. We are senior citizens and cannot do the repairs and shouldn't as this was the contractors job. We file for poor customer service, all talk and no action.

Desired Settlement: Fix the listed problems,it has been five months since our roof was installed by this contractor and we are still waiting. We will be getting into the rainy season!!! Waiting 5 months is not good customer service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/04) */ We feel really badly about this, and it boils down to a ball being dropped - and, regardless the buck stops with Rainier View Construction & Roofing. The client had contacted us about a small issue with their gutter system. We had contacted our gutter partner to make the service call accordingly. Our gutter partner is a great company with whom we have worked for years, and does a great job and really works hard to keep our customer service goals in mind when they service our customers. Unfortunately, due to a private emergency which took the lead man out of the office, the service call request was not relayed properly and it never got taken care of for our customer and we feel simply awful. Because of our close relationship we had no reason to question that it had been taken care of, so we made the mistake of assuming it was all handled. When I learned about the complaint yesterday afternoon, after a call from the BBB (long before we even had a chance to respond online), we immediately got to the bottom of this. Our gutter partners called the client, as did our project manager. Our client was so very nice and understanding, and all will be taken care of today or tomorrow. I appreciate the opportunity to respond and learn from issues as they arise. It is a positive thing, we can take from a negative situation. From this, we certainly learned that we should have followed up and that was our bad. This is our client who put their faith and trust in us, and I hope by responding quickly we have restored that faith and trust. We are not perfect, but we certainly do try to learn from our mistakes and always work hard to make the client happy and do the right thing. Thank you for allowing me to respond and take care of this issue. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They'll promise you the world and deliver nothing! Extremely poor communication, planning, and project management. They started off trying to sell us a product they later told us they weren't approved to sell. We selected another shingle type. Ordered it and scheduled the installation, no show, no call, constantly had to call them to find out the status of our project. We were then told product was stuck in transit due to a mud slide. I know you can't control Mother Nature, but you sure as **** can make a phone call and let your client know you're not going to show up! My wife and I were told that we were harassing them, because we were calling them to get a status on when they were going to start, what a joke. Later found out that the project manager was at a conference in Kansas. How do you manage a roofing project from another state? We cancelled the project. Very poor service.

Desired Settlement: none. This complaint is more for buyer awareness. They claim they don't have any complaints and use the BBB as a selling point.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (12210, 5, 2013/04/26) */ I cannot say that I am surprised to have to respond to this, but I am saddened that the client feels compelled to continue this further. This is just being spiteful. We (the Company) cancelled the project with the client as this was just not a good fit - the email outlining our stance is below. If they had cancelled as they state, then there would be contractual liability for payment for the materials - but as you can see in our email we waived that as we cancelled the project, and this was a substantial amount of special order materials to absorb, but in my opinion we could have done the roof for free and there would have been something.... The email I sent the client on Tuesday afternoon 4/24/2013 is below. Of course, we received a less than pleasant response and a demand to never contact them again; now this further attempt to malign us to the BBB (and perhaps elsewhere)and injure our business seems unwarranted, but not unexpected. We have tried to turn the other cheek and move on without hassle or bringing anymore negativity into the situation, which I hope can be the stance we can stick with and this business has now concluded. I would hate to have to spend more time regaling something that is over. There is no further response to the client from us except that we hope with this exchange this will be done and we need not take any further action. And, as I stated in the email from the 24th (below) "Finally, regardless of who said what to whom - I feel genuinely badly about this situation. Not because of the loss of revenue, but because you would have had a lovely roof and a company who truly cared. Sometimes, however, for whatever reason things do not work out. No money has changed hands and the materials we will simply put in inventory - I hope with this we can part on amicable terms." To: ************@*********** Cc: ***********@****************; **********@****************; ***************@****************; *************@**************** Subject: Cancellation of Project Importance: High Mr. & Mrs. *******: It is with great regret that we feel the need to cancel our involvement in your roofing project. While occasionally we will have a cancellation here or there for financial reasons, I personally have never felt compelled to cancel a contract; however, I also feel strongly about never doing business with a party who is not happily involved - and this certainly does not seem like the case, and was clearly causing you great stress; and for that we are sorry.   When the contract was first signed there were some challenges with your financing and we worked together quite well to move past these hurdles and secure the finance package you had wanted. I do understand there was a change order facilitated regarding the actual roofing product and we had given you an anticipated start date of 4/22/2013. Once the change was approved we immediately special ordered your roofing package. Each metal job is a SPECIAL ORDER. As I explained to Mr. ******* on 4/22 the transit time is generally 5-7 days from date of order to date of receipt. Your particular roofing product was manufactured in Iowa, shipped to Ohio for packaging and QC, and then put on the rail to Seattle. We generally use *** which was the carrier for this particular order. I was notified late Friday night that the shipment was delayed due to a slide of some sort which had cut the available rail to one lane - somewhere between Chicago and Seattle. As I told Mr. ******* I should have called over the weekend, but our company was involved in a move to a larger location and it simply slipped my mind - that and with phones and internet still coming up Monday morning I was behind on my calls. When we did discuss all of this Monday morning - I did explain this. In addition, I also clearly explained that depending on the rail it could be Tuesday or at the latest Wednesday when we could pick up your materials - it is all dependent on the release of the freight by **** (On a side note, I feel badly that I did not know I needed to communicate this all to Mrs. *******, as I just found out she was managing this project in Mr. *******'s absence.) Since the roofing package contains all the underlayment which protects your home it would be remiss of us to begin any tear off without the underlayment to protect your home in the roofing process. I had thought when Mr. ******* and I spoke on Monday the communication was quite clear. Our installers were on the dock this morning and waiting for the materials - working for you - on your job, but even then we received a barrage of threatening phone calls. Since we could not receive the shipment until after 3 PM per **** schedule - something I was clear in our conversation on 4/22 could happen, after being threatened repeatedly, our guys went out to the job site to review the job, introduce themselves, and explain in person what was going on. They were met with a very angry situation. In addition, our Administrative Manager in our office also felt threatened and contacted me in tears. I have been told that ******* ***** was grilled as to the status of our employees and our accounting like something illegal was going on, and that Mrs. ******* wanted the installation team to produce to her tax documents - something that no one carries. If that was something you felt you needed to prove that we pay our taxes which we do, all that had to happen was to simply contact the payroll department in our office and we could go from there. You can also check with L&I online and see we are completely current. Our installation team felt they were being attacked because of their ethnic origin - both are documented and have the right to work in this country and are citizens regardless of their birthplace. These two guys are amazing installers and would have given you a roof of beauty and lifetime duration. I have to say that as an owner I am able to take abuse, but I have to protect my employees and that has to be balanced with customer service - and, in this case, I did not feel I could do this, so in the spirit of customer service, I am cancelling this contract because obviously that is what you really want. Finally, regardless of who said what to whom - I feel genuinely badly about this situation. Not because of the loss of revenue, but because you would have had a lovely roof and a company who truly cared. Sometimes, however, for whatever reason things do not work out. No money has changed hands and the materials we will simply put in inventory - I hope with this we can part on amicable terms. I truly wish you the best of luck in your search for a contractor who will be more compatible and meet your needs fully. I am sorry that Rainier View Construction & Roofing could not be that contractor. Respectfully yours, ****** *** ****** Rainier View Construction & Roofing, LLC Business' Final Response /* (-10, 6, 2013/04/26) */ Please see our stance and response. This client was abusive to our employees and very upset regardless of what we did to try to work with them. Our contract covers acts of God which delays a start which was the case here; in addition, we communicated fully with the client. We cancelled the contract with them. If they had cancelled the contract far out of the 3-day right, there would be 25% of the contract due and payable for the special ordered materials - we do not want their money and were very clear about that. This is unfortunately a client that we were not able to please and rather than belabor a situation we walked away. I am concerned about their further attempts to malign us. Thank you.

9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service