This Business is not BBB accredited

Jorve Roofing

Phone: (206) 933-8275 View Additional Phone Numbers 3211 MLK Jr Way S, Seattle, WA 98144 http://www.jorve.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing, siding, carpentry, windows, decks, gutters, masonry and sheet metal services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jorve Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jorve Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1984 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Charities Program
PO Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/charities
Phone Number: (800) 332-4483
rsherrell@secstate.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Theodore Jorve, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Theodore Jorve, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Handyman Services Sheet Metal Work Roofing Materials Carpenters Gutters & Downspouts Contractor - Insulation Mason Contractors Deck Builder

Hours of Operation
Monday-Friday
7:00am-5:00pm
Service Area
King County, Parts of Snohomish & Pierce Counties

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3211 MLK Jr Way S

    Seattle, WA 98144 (206) 933-8275 (253) 854-7165 (360) 698-8383 (206) 782-4890

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (206) 782-4890(Phone)
  • (253) 854-7165(Phone)
  • (360) 698-8383(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2014, Jorve employees came to our home to give us a bid for siding our house. We accepted their bid and it was agreed that the work would be scheduled to start on May 27th. On the evening of May 27th, we came home and Jorve hadn't done any work that day. We called and emailed our project manager ***** ***** at Jorve to ask why the project hadn't started yet. **** was extremely hard to get a hold of and claimed he had no idea why his crew hadn't shown up. He said he would look into it and let us know by the next day. For a week or two, we tried to work with him to understand what the hold up was (meanwhile, the project still hadn't started). Throughout this time, **** was often unavailable by phone and would not call us back. He also stopped responding to our emails. It was so bad that we had to contact the corporate office and talk to *** ****** (lead project manager). He did some research and discovered that our project had never been put on the company's calendar nor had our materials ever been ordered, even though we had a signed contract along with a credit application which I had personally delivered to their offices. He explained that he didn't know how it happened and was extremely apologetic saying he would do what he could to accommodate us. He also told us that they had several members of their crew who had recently quit and 1 who was hurt so they were short on staff. We traded a couple phone calls with *** over the course of a week and a half where he repeatedly told us Jorve would resolve the situation. No resolution was found and *** put us in contact with **** ********** (general manager). **** was very apologetic and said they would figure it out ASAP. We have been working with **** for an additional 3 weeks trying to figure out when they will be able to start our project. We have exchanged numerous emails with **** where he states they will have it resolved within a day or two; a solution is never actually presented and we continue to get strung along. We had a layer of asbestos siding removed from our house in May by a professional abatement company because we had Jorve lined up to reside the house the following week. Now it has been exposed for 5 weeks and we still don't have a date set for the start of the project. Lead based paint was discovered on the cedar shakes underneath the asbestos that was removed so this added a layer of difficulty for Jorve in that they would have to find someone who was certified to remove that as well. However, this siding was exposed on the back of the house and known to Jorve since April when they visited the house and gave us the initial bid. In our latest email to Jorve: ****, I'm hoping we can get some traction here. Your last email said you would get back to me "by tomorrow at the latest", that was 4 days ago. I understand the constraints with labor availability and the unforeseen scheduling challenges you're facing. However, we must be able to get something firm down on the calendar. Jorve originally committed to starting our job over a month ago, and we booked that start date over a month before that. Our house is sitting unprotected from the weather, and looks terrible. We scheduled the old asbestos siding removal to coincide with installation - that siding has now been gone since mid may. Jorve must have more than one crew, if they're busy with another job, maybe another customer can be delayed a few weeks... we've already been delayed over a month. See what you can do, and let me know if you'd like to chat. If we can't get going immediately, perhaps we schedule something firm for 8/4. Thanks, ***** In an earlier email we explained that we could look for someone to remove our lead paint siding so they don't need to have someone who is certified to do that. The response from **** was, "Lookin for some traction tonite with another guy ... Barring that, we may be out, " (**** has been looking for subcontractors since they are understaffed) I assume meaning they won't do our project. We have a signed contract with them and it is too late into the warm months to get another contractor on the calendar to do our project. Throughout the whole process, the communication has been poor and often they say they will call, "tomorrow at the latest," then don't call and we have to contact them 5 days later to figure out what's going on. The customer service has been quite poor and they are not honoring their contract with us that says they will side our house. The only disclaimer for the start date on their contract says *Tentative start date is weather dependent and may change if the project preceding yours requires additional time.* I don't think our project has been delayed 5 weeks so far because of weather or another project that has gone 5 weeks over schedule. It has been delayed because of poor communication and organization within the company.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking for Jorve to honor their contract stating they will reside our house starting no later than the 2nd week of August 2014.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/22) */ Response is to the written notification received by Jorve July 17th 2014. In recognition of the fact that Jorve was unable to deliver on the siding installation referenced (due to staffing challenges that occurred after the agreement), an effort was agreed upon by both parties to allow the ******* to move forward with the project on their own without Jorve; ******* ****** met with Jorve on July 14th and together we terminated the agreement. The paperwork has been cancelled and the ******'s deposit has been credited/returned. It is our impression, and understanding, that the complaint has been resolved. *****

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I signed a contract entitled: JORVE HANDYMAN SERVICES on 3-7-14 for the Repair sliding (interior) door or 3 doors to functional. The Handyperson arrived he worked for about 15 to 20 minutes on the 27th of March 2014. He made my sliding door (1) between the kitchen and the living room into a swinging door by removing the trim which stopped the door from swinging out. The Handyperson did not charge me for his time. The Accounting person from Jorve called to request payment for their services. This person tells me that the Handyperson was not authorized to tell me his time was free. I told the Accounting person from Jorve that I did not get 4 hours of work per the contract nor was I satisfied with having a Swinging Sliding Door. It defeated my entire purpose of having the work done in the first place. I wanted to keep my cat in the house instead of having him run out the door. On the 6th of April a Manager arrived to evaluate my complaint he was to have gotten back to add a piece of wood on the 17th of April 2014. It was Spring break for a variety of schools also, Good Thursday he did not arrive. Nor did he come the following thursday April the 24th, 2014. I was told when I called on the 29th of April by the Accounting Jorve person that the Manager had a full work week from the 21st to the 25th of April. On his time when he had a free moment would stop by with the part to fix my sliding door. It is May 3, 2014 thus far my sliding door that is now a SWINGING DOOR has not been repaired. My cat got out on Easter Monday night April 21, 2014 for 2.5 hours from 10:30pm to 1:00am. That is too late and I did not want my cat outside at night. I am not happy. I was orginally referred by a relative to Jorve they did a good job on my gutters and repair of my facial board. When, they damaged my paint on the side of the house they came and fixed the problem. I thought that they would do a good job when I signed the contract for a Handyman Service. That was not the case and my SLIDING DOOR IS STILL A SWINGING DOOR. By May the 5th it will be almost 2 months from the time I signed the contract for their service. I am not going to pay $346.00 when I did not receive 4 hours of work nor my sliding door totally repaired to like it should be.

Desired Settlement: I want JORVE to fix my SLIDING DOOR between the kitchen and the Living room to be a SLIDING DOOR not a SWINGING DOOR. My cat can push the door out so he can get into the kitchen and then when I open my front door get out side. I DO NOT WANT THAT. It defeated my whole entire purpose. I wanted to get a puppy to keep in the kitchen and then when it was potty trained it could go safely in the living room. My SLIDING DOOR IS NOT REPAIRED. Having a SLIDING DOOR KEEPS THE HEAT IN THE LIVING ROOM. It keeps my cat safe. None of this has happened. Its frustrating. Jorve does not care at all when they complete this job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2014/06/06) */ The door has been repaired, we are not billing the customer for the service and I spoke with her this AM and she is very happy. She asked me to let you know that "this has been resolved very nicely" Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 22, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) My wooden swinging sliding door was repaired on 5-21-14. It is now a wooden sliding door. I spoke with another manager **** **** and he told me on 5/21 that he was going to speak with his upper manager. So, finally, the Jorve's Upper Level Manager did call me on 6-6-2014 it was only three months from the orginal date of 3-7-14. But, it is indeed true that my wooden sliding door is fixed. I am happy I again have a wooden sliding door tha my cat cannot get out of it. I am happy that the ***** Corporation will not charge me any additional money for their work that took so long for my project to be completed. The issue has finally been resolved. Although, I have not received an invoiced stating: it is paid in full or that they are not going to charge me:$346.00 + 3.96= $349.96. So, therefore, with the statement of the Jorve Representative not charging me for the service: I did pay a fee of $85.00 for the Handyman Contract. I will just let this matter rest. Finding a puppy that can be raised with my cat is a much harder issue. Oh I did contact the Consume Protection Division for the State of Washington. They turned it over to *** which was not the issue at all. This was done while, I waited for the BBB to get back to me. When, I receive the actual INVOICE STATING THAT JORVE IS NOT CHARGING ME FOR THEIR SERVICE- then the matter will be really put to rest. Either way I will just TRUST THAT IT IS SO. SO BE IT. I will think really hard before again contracting to have work done by any HANDYMAN SERVICE. BUYER BE WARE EVEN A LICENSE AND BONDED COMPANY YOU JUST HAVE TO BE WACHFUL. My sliding wooden door is fixed. It only took 3 months to do. Such a little project to take so long. 6-9-2014. Respectfully, ******** **** ******

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I informed jorve roofing that I wanted to cancel my contract on 10/3. On 10/4 I rec a new and forged contract that had my signature and the date of 9/27, since Jorve had a six day canceling policy. I originally called Jorve on 10/3, to inquire about the canceling policy and was told that the customer has six(6) day, from the time that they sign, to cancel the contract. Although, the contract was dated 9/27, I actually signed it on 10/2/2013. However, after I called the office on 10/3/2013, and inquired about the canceling policy, I rec'd a contract w/my forged signature, which would have voided the 6 day rule. Also, the contract was dated 9/27/2013, but I actually rec'd the contract on 9/30/2013, via email, so there is no way I could have signed it on 9/27/2013. Also the deposit, roofing supplies, and fees have increased on the forge contract. I was originally quoted $4880, and was charged $488.00. However on the new forged contract the deposit amount is $500.00. Also, the contract is dated 9/30/2013 on the top right of every page, so how could I have signed it on 9/27/2013. Also, I was told that Jorve could fix my roof w/in 3 weeks. However, once I paid by deposit, Jorve called me and told me that my roof was scheduled to be fixed the week of November 25, which broke the verbal contract between **** **** and myself.

Desired Settlement: I would like my deposit of $488.00 back, and my contract w/Jorve canceled and for this complaint to list listed by the BBB. In addition I would like for BBB to investigate and prosecute the Jorve Corporation for forging a potential customer's signature. I would like this illegal act reported to L&I, and the prosecutor's office. Lastly, I would Jorve to place a tarp on my roof, as promise, until I am able to find a legit company to replace my roof, on the grounds that I turn down bids, assuming that my roof would be fixed within the next three weeks, in addition to 15% interest per day on $488.00, since that is the amount that I was charge my the credit card company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/07) */ Communication issue was resolved internally. Today, Jorve performed repairs to the potential customer's home/roof free of charge, voiding service agreement and refunding the deposit. The customer seemed pleased this AM ... She is going to keep an eye on the problem area. Note: this is not a Jorve roof currently. The existing roof is stapled in place and some vents and protrusions were cracked and leaking. Some staples were observed backing out of the roof.

6/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service