BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential and commercial roofing, siding, windows, gutters, insulation and related carpentry.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Interstate Roofing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Interstate Roofing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

14 Customer Reviews on Interstate Roofing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 11
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 14

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 27, 1993 Business started: 12/31/1987 in OR Business started locally: 12/31/1987 Business incorporated 12/31/1987 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mrs. Shelley Metzler, President Jyla Moton, Director of Human Resources Mr. Brad Satran, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Shelley Metzler, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Contractor - Flat Roof Gutters & Downspouts Contractor - Insulation

Products & Services

Interstate Roofing Inc sells the following brand(s): CertainTeed, GAF, James Hardie, Owens Corning

Method(s) of Payment
Financing available.  Credit cards.  Personal checks.
Service Area
Portland Metro and Vancouver WA
Products & Services

GAF - Master Elite Contractor
Owens Corning - Platinum Preferred Contractor
CertainTeed - Five Star Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Interstate Roofing Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 15065 SW 74th Ave

    Portland, OR 97224 (425) 337-1686 (503) 858-3400 (503) 858-3401 (503) 858-3402 (503) 858-3402 (503) 858-3403 (503) 858-3404 (503) 858-3405 (503) 858-3406 (503) 858-3407 (503) 858-3408 (503) 858-3410 (541) 485-7438 (541) 485-7638 (800) 766-3270 (877) 974-3377 (888) 766-3270 (503) 684-5611


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/11/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In our apartment building *** *** ********** we had a new roof installed on the western building in 2012. this roof is covered by a warranty and is now experiencing leaking every time it rains. tenants are threatening to move and not paying rent. Br** ****** of Interstate came out and look at it and said it's not a roofing issue and is due to condensation. We have had roofing experts and consultants prepare reports that demonstrate that Interstates installation was negligent and did not follow best practices or proper workmanship. These experts also state that the leak is a roof leak and not condensation. We have not been able to get Interstate to take any kind of corrective action and are losing money due to their negligence in the initial installation and in serving the warranty. We are considering legal action unfortunately as this seems to be our only recourse.

Desired Settlement: Fixing our roof so it does not leak

Business Response: This all turned out to be a big misunderstanding. *** ****** received some incorrect information from his staff. I spoke to *** ****** this afternoon (2-25-2015). He was very happy with how everything turned out. He said he would remove the complaint today.

11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sept 11th at noon I Placed a call to Interstate roofing company on to replace a leaking corner gutter section, and nail in a loose gutter. I was instructed that this would not take up the full hour, but that they had to charge me for an hour. I was also instructed I would hear back in 24 hours with a appointment time. That call never came. ************* call placed from work) On Sept 18th - Received a call from ***** ****** Got a call in the morning saying he was heading to my house - This was not planned ahead of time. On the call he warned me since it was raining he would try to fix the leak, but if it still leaked he would come back out on another day and repair it then. XXX-XXX-XXXX On Sept 26th we received an invoice from interstate roofing for the first call out. On Sept 26th It rained and my wife and I noticed the gutter was still leaking. On Sept 29th I called Interstate and was directed to their service coordinator ***. She scheduled to have the crew come back out the next day. On Sept 30th I Received a call from the roofer saying he would just come out and measure to replace the piece since his first attempt to fix the gutter didn't work. On October 1st - I received a NEW roofing proposal from *** ***** for work they failed to complete the first time??? On October 1st - I contacted *** *****, who sent me the proposal, letting her know about the confusion I was experiencing receiving a new proposal, when they have not fixed the leak from the first visit to the house that was the whole purpose for contacting them. On October 2nd - *** ***** wrote me back and told me she would forward my inquiry onto *********** (different from the guy who did the original work). On October 3rd - I contacted *** ***** and let her know I never heard back from **** ******* On October 3rd - *** ***** Instructed me to contact **** ****** and that she couldn't help me. On October 3rd - I wrote an email to *********** explaining the situation. From: ******* <********> Date: October 3, 2014 at 8:23:36 AM PDT To: "*******" <*******>, ******* ***** <********> Subject: In regards to our broken gutter Good morning ***** I had been working with ***, but she asked me to contact you. This is in regards to **** ** ******** I'm confused about the estimate for a new section of gutter. Could I see the estimate broken down in terms of material vs other charges? I was also confused because I just received a bill for the first time you were out to fix the gutter and were unable to fix the leak. When we spoke on the phone you had said if it still leaked to just call you and you'd come back to fix it on another day. When I initial called and placed the order for work to be done I assumed the hours work would be to replace the gutter then. Since the first effort was unsuccessful I'm assuming I shouldn't pay that bill for $300 and instead pay the $400 once you have replaced the gutter. Do you agree with that? Is the new piece of gutter $100 for the material? Thanks, ******* On October 6th - I contacted the service coordinator *** ***** and let her know I STILL have not heard back from **** ******* On October 10th - I called interstate roofing to talk to someone else and they told me that I'd have to wait until Tuesday October 14th when **** was back. On October 13th - I called the original roofer ***** ***** to see if this issue could be addressed. Left a message at (XXX-XXX-XXXX) On October 14th 10:30 am - I called the original roofer ***** ***** to see if this issue could be addressed. Left another message at (XXX-XXX-XXXX)

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to come out and repair the gutter that is leaking over the back deck. This was the entire purpose of their original visit, and what we agreed to for 1 hours worth of work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/06) */ Interstate completed work as per our repair policy (see below and on our website). All Interstate staff that take repair calls first inform the customer of the policy. If somehow this policy was not communicated well, I sincerely apologize for the confusion. An Interstate service technician sealed five holes in the gutter and reattached the gutter in several sections. This service was billed out at $300 and a report with pictures was provided. On our second trip out, our service technician evaluated the repair and decided that gutter section should really be replaced, as the repair efforts were unsuccessful. He measured the gutter for replacement (no charge for this visit) and provided an estimate to replace the gutter section. *** offered a $100 discount on the new gutter as we had already attempted a repair. Although we were working within our repair policy, we truly want our customer's to be pleased with our work. We will waive all charges for the first repair. If Mr. ***** would like to move forward with the gutter section replacement, we will do it for the $400 originally charged. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/11/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am sad that it took this long to come to a resolution. I looked through all my existing documentation and I can find no record of *** offering a $100 discount at any time. That said, I feel like having the replacement of the gutter completed for a total cost of $400, with the first $300 fee waived is an acceptable solution. However, It is unclear from this proposal who has he next step for scheduling the gutter replacement activity? Is this an activity that Interstate roofing will complete? Thank you, ******* *****

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Improper venting in the roof has now caused mold throughout the attic. and I have lost a sale of my house because of this. Also they cut thru the vinyl-like material on my upper decks when they cut the shingles causing it to leak and compromising the integrity of whole upper decks.

Desired Settlement: $359000 for the loss of the sale of my home due to the mold in the attic, due to lack of proper venting when they put the new roof on. $5000 for new vents and baffels and mold eradication and additional costs in taking the house off the market and hiring an attorney to get this co to do the right thing and fix the problem approximately 10-20K. I have written to the owner and to date received no response.

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/21) */ Gretchen, I know you are unhappy about the walking deck, but it has nothing to do with us. The "lacerations" you speak of are not lacerations at all, they are grains of the underlying plywood. During my visit on 3-28-14 you said that the deck coating was about 15 years old. Unfortunately, it has reached the end of its useful life and is starting to peel away. Ed Hanson pressure washing the surface did not help matters. He peeled off the top layer of coating in many areas, and exposed the blue primer layer. Also, the coating patches that you did yourself are not sticking. The "patch" coating you installed was done with old material. The coating that was used has a shelf life and needs to be stored in a temperature controlled environment. You mentioned that you had a "special" method to making the coating last longer, but that has proven to not work, as the "patch" coating is peeling up and allowing water infiltration on the underside of the deck above the hot tub. While onsite, I tried to be very reasonable and explain that the deck coating was not damaged, it was just old. The three of us (Gretchen, Ed, Brad) also agreed that to stop the immediate leak, Ed was going to install sealant over the small (approximately 3" x3") bubbled area in which water was coming through. To do so, Interstate Roofing, Inc. would pay Ed $20. At the time we all agreed on the deal, and before we left you and I shook hands on the agreement and parted ways. Now you are saying the agreement was "inadequate, insulting and inappropriate." Apparently the agreement was executed and carried out as the check we sent to Ed was cleared on 4-25-14. As far as the alleged mold in the attic space, this is the first we have heard about this. Would you allow us to visit your home and investigate? If what we did truly caused a problem, we would like to fix it. Gretchen, my intent with this email is not to be confrontational. I want to be honest and fair. I feel we have gone above and beyond to make you happy. We have returned to your home many times to address your concerns that did not directly involve our contracted scope of work. I know the deck coating has left you unhappy with us, but I truly believe that has nothing to do with the shingles we installed. However, we will stand behind our roof. I would very much appreciate an opportunity to look in the attic and see what the issue is. Involving lawyers and litigation will cost us both unnecessary time and money. Can we please make an attempt to work out your concerns with the attic between us, and before we involve lawyers? Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) there has been no responsibility taken for the damage done to our decks and attic. No verbal,physical monetary or tangible effort has been put forth to provide satisfaction of the complaint. The owners own employee came out and admitted that the deck issue was something that they fixed all the time, but the owners response was " oh well don't pay attention to that and forget what he said"....Not appropriate...on all levels! Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/03) */ Gretchen, Our offer still stands. We would like to visit your home and investigate. If what we did truly caused a problem, we would like to fix it. We feel we have gone above and beyond to make you happy. We have returned to your home many times to address your concerns that did not directly involve our contracted scope of work. I know the deck coating has left you unhappy with us, but I truly believe that has nothing to do with the shingles we installed. However, we will stand behind our roof. Again, please allow Interstate an opportunity to look in the attic to properly address the issue. Consumer Response /* (-5, 15, 2014/06/18) */ I am still very unsatisfied with Interstate roofing and their lack of reponsibleness to the damage that have caused me. I am in the process of getting bids to repair the damage...I wish to persue this matter with you...sincerely Gretchen Consumer Response /* (-5, 16, 2014/06/18) */ Somehow I did not get their response...but I am still unsatisfied with Interstate roofing and the damage they have done to me. Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2014/06/18) */ I just now got the message the co sent you....I have responded to Brad by Email and he has taken exerpts out of my emails and put them in his email to you for his benefit.He is completely wrong on all counts regarding the deck and the mold/ventilation issue I am still getting bids on as I told him in my Email on the 13th of July..when I also notified you that the issue had not been satisfied. I have not received any solution from him. The deck was cut by the workers cutting shingles on it..I tried to mitigate the cuts when I discovered them.The pressure washing had nothing to do with anything as the damage was done long before that was done.He uses it as an excuse.No where else on the deck is there a problem-if it was "old" as he claims--it'd would have these "cuts' all over and it doesn't--Its just where they cut the shingles and went through the membrane of the deck . Brad put his finger through the membrane and then said and I quote" now that is where your leak is"--and he also said "water doesn't run"...I only included this to indicate his lack of logic and proper responsibility....The bids I'm getting are as much as $1200 for the deck refinishing...and $2700 for the mold remediation...The proper ventilation quotes I'm still trying to get as we speak. I have pictures of it. Obviously the deck cannot be fixed until the weather has completely dried the area out...I look forward to a response and a phone number from BBB. I'd like to talk to a real person Thanks.. Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/06/27) */ There are no slits in the membrane. You do not have a membrane. You have a coating (that is approximately 15 years old) and is very much like paint. The "slits" you are seeing are not slits or lacerations, but the vertical wood grain in the plywood below, as Brad has pointed out in his email of 5/21/14. The quotes used for Brad are inaccurate. I believe the best course of action is to continue with the appointment we have set for next Thursday. We will have a very qualified member of our staff look at everything. If Interstate holds any responsibility for any of the issues you are having, we will absolutely take care of them. We will not, however, pay for work to be done that is not the responsibility of Interstate Roofing. Consumer Response /* (-5, 24, 2014/07/03) */ I have set up a meeting with an employee of the co rather than the VP of the company to see if they will offer to pay for the repair of the damages they have done to my property. I will post you the results if any when I get them. Consumer Response /* (-5, 25, 2014/07/03) */ Thank you for your input..I have set up a meeting that is finally going to happen on the 3 of July with an employee of the roofing that time I will show the documents I have to him and deal directly with him---if they do not offer to pay for the damages I will again contact you to intercede or see what my legal options are. Are you the one that called me yesterday/ If so you were on my list of people to call.....thanks again...G Consumer Response /* (-5, 26, 2014/07/03) */ The business has NOT satisfied our complaint and I have set up a meeting with one of their employees for this coming Thurs to discuss the matter and hopefully resolve it.....I will let you know what transpires at that meeting. Hopefully they will take responsibility for their damaging actions. Consumer Response /* (4200, 28, 2014/07/15) */ I am extremely disappointed to report to you that I met with Mark( employee of Interstate) on Tthursday the 3rd, He admitted to the company being responsible for the lacerations on the decks and the lack of ventilation put in the attic when they roofed it which then caused the mold problem that lost us the sale of our house. He said he'd go back to the company and recommend fixing all of the issues at their cost. He said he'd be in touch with me by phone on Monday the 7th and come and possibly measure. I stayed home all day Monday waiting to hear from him.--I did not hear from him or anyone from Interstate . My husband send Mark an email confirming our discussion including reimbursement for the remediation, we in a timely manner, had done.As of this morning we have not had a response or a plan of action to get things resolved immediately...I may have no other choice but to take the company to court.. I of course would rather mediate than litigate...but they don't appear to care.....I had great faith in Mark and am surprised that he has not done what he said he would.. I am extremely frustrated and disappointed with this company and I cannot recommend that anyone use them... Business Response /* (-10, 32, 2014/07/22) */ Ms. Olson finally accepted our offer to meet. Although we still strongly dispute her accusations, we are now working directly with her and it looks like we will be able to handle this outside of arbitration. Thank you for the service and we will be sure to let you know if we need it in the future. Consumer Response /* (-5, 33, 2014/07/22) */ Thank you for your input...I will read this material after this weekend as I am just now leaving and will be back to my computer on Monday. I have a meeting this Friday ( tomorrow) at 1 with Mark of Interstate roofing and I will know better after that meeting just WHAT( if anything) they are going to do about the mold remediation costs ( incurred by me) the lack of appropriate ventilation and the laceration of the decks. and the loss of the sale of my house due to the mold issue. This whole thing has caused me unbelievable stress and fru

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) Interstate sold and installed defective Oakridge Shadow shingles in 1999. Even though the shingles had a 40 year guarantee, Interstate has refused to honor the guarantee and replace the shingles free of charge. 2) We found out about the shingles as a result of an inspection by prospective buyers. This caused the buyer to rescind the offer. This has caused us loss of money and significant emotional distress. 3) The problem with Oakridge shingles is subject to a class action law suit involving Owen Corning and, as a result, must be a well-known defective shingle in the industry. Interstate falsely denied any knowledge of the problem and thus has caused a delay in rectifying the problem, so that we can put our house back on the market.

Desired Settlement: We want Interstate to replace the roofing free of charge by August 16, 2013, so that we can put our house back on the market by next week. Second, we want an apology from Interstate about their deceptive practice of concealing well-known information about a defective product. Third, Interstate should inform all customer, who purchased Oakridge products.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/20) */ I believe that there has been a miscommunication between the ******* and Interstate Roofing. Unfortunately, shingle manufacturers are not perfect. Although it is rare, ALL manufacturers will have a defect at some point. However, Interstate would never install a product that we believed to be faulty and we would never knowingly mislead a customer. I absolutely believe that our sales representative, **** ****, had not seen a shingle crack in that way, as he explained to the ******** Of the thousands and thousands of homes we have roofed, I have only seen a handful of claims from any manufacturer. Although claims are not unheard of, they are certainly not common. Interstate Roofing has taken samples of the shingles and submitted a claim to the manufacturer. Unfortunately, the customer asking Interstate to replace the roofing for free is unrealistic. Interstate issued a labor warranty that would protect the customer from the faulty installation of material. Owens Corning issued the material warranty. Interstate will certainly do everything we can to help the customer through the claims process. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 13, 2013/09/12) */ Interestate has satisfactorily address the issue we had. Once we were put in contact with right person at Interstate, things went smoothly.

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Interstate Roofing Inc. 15065 **************** Portland, Oregon ***** Gentlemen: I have not received a response from your company - my letter dated March 26, 2013. I requested a status report envolving damage to my property - roof. Copies of all documentation and photos have been sent to: 1. Oregon Contractors Board Re: CC55485 2. Channel KATU 2, Portland 3. Re: Investi•gations of Elder Abuse, False Advertising Better Business Bureau ~ Re: My Compliant I repeat - WHAT ARE YOUR INTENTIONS

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, ****/05/01) */ Interstate Roofing roofed Ms. *******'s home in May of **** and provided her with a "lifetime" workmanship warranty. The "lifetime" referred to is the life of the shingle. Ms. ******* purchased a product with a 25 year life (and warranty), as stated in her contract and her invoice. Ms. ******* contacted Interstate in year 18. We inspected the roof and suggested that she turn in a claim under her manufacturer's warranty, as the shingle granule loss is covered under that warranty, not her Interstate workmanship warranty. Interstate has facilitated that claim (receipt from the manufacturer attached). Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 8, ****/05/14) */ May 7, I was asked to volunteer, another year for a local fundraising - Accepted. I have decided that your operation doe not meet my code of ethics and never will be resolved. I would rather spend my time planting mustard seeds with my money and energy. They sent their instructions which consider another "song and dance". This matter has been nothing but negative. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 11, ****/05/20) */ Ms. *******, This is in response to your letter dated·April25, ****. In that letter, you requested that all future correspondence be in writing. I am guessing that is why you have not returned our numerous phone calls? I can assure you that we are not trying to take advantage of you in any way, and I apologize if there has been any miscommunication between us. In October of **** you contacted us with a request to wash your roof. Upon observation of your roof, we noticed that there was granule loss on the shingles spora,dically throughout the field of the roof • surface. At that time we determined that washing your roof was not the best course of action. As a service to you, and at no charge, we then took a sample shingle from your roof and sent it to ************* for laboratory testing. Enclosed is an email from the local territory representative from *************, Eric Johnston. The email has information regarding the claim number and other information regarding the laboratory testing. We should have results within two business weeks. After we receive the claim information, we will contact you with how to proceed. . I do believe it is important to mention that your roof is 18 years old, and the shingles have never had a leak problem. The only issue with the shingles now is sporadic granule loss, which is not currently causing a leak. I am confused as to why you are contacting the CCB, BBB, and KATU. To this point we have serviced you very well. We notified you of a problem with your shingles, collected a sample, sent it to the manufacturer, and did not charge you. We also cleaned your gutters and treated your roof at no charge. Again, I apologize for any confusion on our part. I hope this letter helps to clear things up. We will contact you as soon as the laboratory results on your shingles come in. It would be very helpful if you started accepting our calls, or provided us with an email address. If not, please feel free to contact me any time. My cell phone number•••••• Sincerely,