BBB Accredited Business since

Holland Roofing Company Inc

Phone: (907) 344-9911 Fax: (907) 344-9941 8716 Elmore Rd, Anchorage, AK 99507 http://www.hollandroofingco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Holland Roofing Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Holland Roofing Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Holland Roofing Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 14, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 03/02/1998 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-8110

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Michelle Holland, President/Owner Ms. Ashley Christensen, Office Manager Mr. Josh Holland, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michelle Holland, President/Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 8716 Elmore Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99507 (907) 344-9911

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Subject: Complaint by ******* and **** **** about Zinc Strip Installation on Roof of Home at **** ******** Anchorage 99507 On Thursday, September 19, Holland Roofing cleaned the moss off of our roof, applied a moss-kill chemical, and installed zinc strips on all ridgelines and peaks. We are appalled at the poor job that was done with the zinc strips. Here's why. On most of the ridges and peaks, the zinc strips were simply laid across the top of the shingles and nailed on. The nailing was sloppy and inconsistent, with some nails 7 inches apart and others closer to 15 inches apart. No sealant was applied to the tops of the nails. The zinc strip raises up at the ends and along the lengthwise edges so that snow and water can easily get underneath. The zinc strips look terrible and, worse, the way most were applied has resulted in a large number of nail holes through both our shingles and roof through which water could leak. On Friday afternoon, September 20, we talked to **** (the estimator at the company) about our concerns. He told us this kind of installation - laying the strips across the top of the shingles - is normal procedure for Holland Roofing, and that there are no manufacturer instructions requiring a specific method of installation. We found this hard to believe. We researched zinc strips and talked to other roofers here in Anchorage, and there is indeed a correct way to install zinc strips and that is to insert them beneath the shingles and not to nail them on top of the shingles. Inserting the strips beneath the shingles is not only the normal installation technique, but it makes common sense, because it prevents unnecessary nail holes through the shingles, thus, protecting the integrity of the shingles and reducing the chance of leaks. At another point in the discussion on Friday, **** said it was actually not typical for Holland Roofing to put on so many strips but that - even knowing as he did that it wouldn't look good and wasn't necessary - he did so in response to my request. That is a disingenuous statement on his part. When ******* read the initial quote for $825, she wasn't clear about where exactly the zinc strips would be placed; in other words, she didn't know what was meant by "provide and install zinc strip to both sides of roof peaks." After some discussion with Dottie and still not clearly understanding, ******* came upon the idea of having **** mark the locations on the aerial photo of our roof. She emailed ****** this suggestion (see attachment). Once she saw on the photo that **** marked, showing multiple strips on all the ridge lines, she was happy because she thought having so many would provide better coverage. **** never attempted to talk to her about this to explain that it is not the typical installation or provide her with any information at all. Not being an expert in this herself, she didn't realize this many strips is not typical, is not necessary (wouldn't expose more roof to the zinc), that it would look so bad and, worst of all, that it would result in so many more nail holes in our roof. As a professional, **** should have taken the time to explain what is typically done and why. It would have made a difference hearing his professional opinion and we likely wouldn't be talking about these concerns, because we would have gone with what Holland Roofing typically does, which is install the strips under the shingles at only a few key places along the roofline. Finally, during the discussion on Friday, **** informed us that Holland Roofing doesn't know the make or type of zinc strips it uses because it just takes whatever the contractor provides no questions asked. He couldn't tell us the manufacturer or even whether the strips were all zinc or were another metal coated with zinc (there is a difference in effective life). This means that Holland Roofing uses a product it knows nothing about. For all of the above reasons, we are going to have another company remove the zinc strips. This will cost us time and money, but it will get rid of the unsightly mess and also restore to the greatest extent possible the integrity of our roof.

Desired Settlement: We have already paid for the work Holland Roofing did, but would appreciate a refund. We also would like a response from the owner of Holland Roofing to confirm that he/she has read our complaint.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/24) */ Dear ******* & **** ****, I am extremely disappointed that you feel a BBB complaint is your best method of dealing with your concerns. On Friday when you spoke with ****, he offered to send out our installers that same day to do whatever you wanted. You said to hold off and you would call us back on Monday. Instead of calling you chose to complain to the BBB. This is unfortunate because we have a history of working very hard to maintain good customer service. I have reviewed your letters, emails, and the notes from our office, estimator and installers. Anyone who reads the notes from the original work request, email correspondence and signed quote would be able to determine that we did a professional job and communicated well. After you approved the work we provided and installed the material as quoted and discussed. Attached is a fact sheet regarding zinc strip that you may find interesting. The initial bid given to you was our standard installation and what we recommended. ******* wanted more than what we originally offer, which is why we gave her the option to apply the zinc strip to the roof hips, as well as the ridges, for an additional $200.00. This is not standard for Holland Roofing, however, it is recommended by the zinc manufacturers on roofs with hips, roofs with serious moss and algae problems, and for customers who want as much coverage against algae and moss as possible. ******** primary concern was having as much protection against the roof fungus as possible. She wanted more zinc strip than we initially recommended and quoted for, which was her choice, and actually recommended by the manufacturer for roofs with this design. We offered her the additional zinc strip for $200.00 above the original quote price. We also sent a picture showing the exact locations of the zinc strip per her requests. We went above and beyond to communicate the details of this additional zinc to you clearly. ******* approved the work regarding the locations and installation. Her email to us on September 20th clearly states that she understood the amount of zinc to be installed, the placement and was happy to proceed. The brand of zinc strip varies depending on the supplier. We purchase our zinc from ****** ****** ******* and a few other suppliers. The specific brand that each supplier sells also varies depending on their current order. To take **** *******'s response of not knowing the exact brand we used as meaning we know nothing about the product we install, is not accurate. His response to the brand name is more understandable when you know that we purchase a few different brands from several different suppliers. This is something he already explained to you. I believe the issue is that you do not like the way it looks. You chose to install material that is common and effective against moss and algae but did not expect to see it. The method we used to install it is acceptable to the manufacturers of zinc and does not violate any roofing codes or municipal building codes. The quote we provided is clear and was signed. I am disappointed that you two do not like the final product. If you had called as you told us you would I would not be spending this tedious amount of time researching this project, receipts, manufacturers, codes, details and now this correspondence. If you had allowed us to come out Friday, or called us on Monday as you said and emailed you would do, then we would have been happy to work with you. I have decided to not charge the additional $200.00 for the extra zinc ******* requested. This was detail given to ******* verbally by our office and approved, however, based on the way you are handling your issue I expect you did not intend to actually pay that additional $200.00. I am also not going to charge you the $825 for the work she approved. No refund is necessary because to date we have not charged your credit card and you have not paid us for any of the work we have completed. I am very disappointed that instead of calling us on Monday, as you said you would, you have chosen a very aggressive, complaint based way to approach my business. You signed the quote and agreed to pay but are choosing not to pay. You sent emails and spoke to our office about exactly where the zinc would be but do not like the look of the material you requested. Your strong desire to make your complaints public versus allowing me the opportunity to rectify, explain or remedy any issues is an unfortunate approach. Sincerely, ******** ******* Holland Roofing Co., Inc. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/09/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We have different perspectives on what happened, but we accept Holland Roofing's decision not to charge anything to our credit card.

10/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service