This business is not BBB accredited.

Fortuny Roofing LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (907) 345-5986 Fax: (907) 345-5988 3725 Aldren Cir, Anchorage, AK 99517 http://www.roofingak.com ! Fortuny Roofing LLC is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and residential roofing services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fortuny Roofing LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 05, 2006 Business started: 04/01/2001 Business started locally: 04/01/2001 Business incorporated 01/03/2008 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-5200

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brent Fortuny, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brent Fortuny, Member
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roofing Service Consultants Roof Decks Roof Structures

Alternate Business Names
Fortuny Roofing Lockard & Fortuny Roofing LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10241 Nigh Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99515 (907) 345-5986

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3725 Aldren Cir

    Anchorage, AK 99517

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After putting on a new roof, I've never had a phone call or email answered by this company. All phone calls say the phones have been disconnected. Our chimney was never done properly and has been leaking water since it was first put on. Now we have extensive damage in drywall and dripping water during each rain. Have had to contact another company which will charge us over $800 to fix it, then I must call in drywall people to fix ceiling and water damage. We paid Fortuny Roofing in full at the time of the roof replacement 2-3 years ago.

Desired Settlement: I would like the job to be finished, and the leak repaired properly. After an estimate from another roofing company, it looks like it was never completed properly. Also, I now have added costs because of the water damage.

4/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had 9 separate issues with the construction of my roof and leaking into my house. The work performed was sub-par. Currently have 6 outstanding repair issues not address by the contractor

Desired Settlement: Want the repairs completed, sheetrock fixed, and detailed repair report of what was done to the roof and why they had to come back and spent 6 full days repair my roof, and then have it leak in two more locations after the repair

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/03/31) */ The roof that the compliant is referring to is having leaking due to condensation. I did not design the new construction roof. I did install it to specific detail provided by customer to me. The customer has called me several times in the winter and not during the summer: condensation. The fact that we did complete a very large, time consuming repair is proof that we are trying to figure out why there is so much condensation forming in the roof. But even after going in and investigating the issues there is still condensation. I have asked the customer for the original plans and they have not been provided. There are issues within the parapet walls that I did not insulate or build. I have asked for the plans to help figure out why there is so much condensation. He has failed to provide them for me as I disposed of them long ago. My warranty will no longer be upheld because the leaking is occurring from something that my roof did not cause.

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired them to replace shingles and repair damage as needed which they did, but after they finished it rained and I had a new leak by my fireplace which resulted in a stained living room ceiling. I emailed the owner and told him about the problem and he sent someone right out and they put a black tar substance around the chimney. The next rain (which happened to be a down pour) it leaked again resulting in more stains in my ceiling. I once again emailed him and he came out the next day and said the roof is not the problem, it is large gaps in the stone facade of the chimney and gave me the name of someone who could repair it. My thing is that it did not leak before they worked on it and now it does. He also stated in an email "You might not have been getting water in there prior to us and you could be because simply us working up there shifted the horizontal top enough to cause viods in the top portion." They were dropping packs of shingles on the roof and the whole house was shaking. I even hds items fall off of shelves inside the house, luckily they did not break. He does state in an email that he told me in person that the chimney was built over the existing roof and they could not flash it like they normally do and that the base is waterproofed but he does not feel that the stone and flip top portion is. He told me this after I reported the leak to him--not before they started working on my roof. He also said in good will that he would have a contractor come out and paint the small area of stains in the living room. But what good will that do if it leaks? I also told his 3 workers when they came to my door to stay off the carport roof as they were not repairing it. There is some damage to it and I did not want them on it. They totally ignored my request. I was in the carport when I heard them walk across it and throw items into the dumpster. There was also a dirt trail right to the corner of the dumpster where they were walking across it. I have pictures that I took when they left. Also one of them was a smoker and threw his butts everywhere, they were on my driveway, by the curb, along side of my house, in my yard, on the new roof in several places. on the carport and even on the chimney. The owners response was that a lot of people in the industry smoke.

Desired Settlement: I don't want a leaking roof. My thing is that is did not leak there before they worked on it and now it is. Don't think is is fair that they expect me to pay someonse else to come out and fix it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/08) */ I was hired by *** ************ to replace the shingles on her roof and the flat portion, torchdown. I told her when bidding the job that her chimney stack was not your typical wood stack and because it was a stone facade that it may need to be replaced. I also stated that, that was not something that I complete as my license does not allow me to. During the middle of her job there was a significant rainstorm and her chimney leaked. I have offered to pay to have a contractor come and paint that area of her ceiling. She did not respond to that. Often customers do not understand the process by which replacing the roof consists of: it is very difficult back-breaking labor. The bundles of shingles are heavy and some noise and vibration is to be expected. I have pictures that show her stone facade is failing. She even commented to me at one point "I don't even care if you demo that fireplace, I hate it." I have no problem helping her find a handyman to do that, as I already gave her a couple of numbers, but I cannot. I will then come back and flash the area correctly free of charge. I did not know when bidding the project that the stone facade was literally sitting on the shingles, I thought that after we demo'd the roof there would be metal flashing for us to waterproof to, this was not the case. *** ************ did not tell me about the carport being damaged until we were about to start the job. This was the only way to get the old debris across the roof to the dumpster. Had I known that we could not walk on this my bid would have been several hundred dollars higher because we would have had to tearoff to the ground then carry it over. But we did do our best to stay off that part of the carport while performing job. No damage was caused to her carport roof from us. And *** ************'s statement about how I simply said "that a lot of people in the industry smoke" is incorrect. I apologized for his mess and went on to say that I hated cigarettes, their butts, etc. I have that via email also. I have offered to pay to have her ceiling touched up in the small area that it was stained. But I will not paint her entire ceiling and I will not replace her rock chimney or the flat flashing that is on top of it. The rock actually sits higher than the flat top and holds the water like a bathtub.