BBB Accredited Business since

Earhart Roofing Company Inc

Phone: (907) 345-5555 Fax: (907) 345-5522 1321 E 68th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99518 http://www.earhartroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Earhart Roofing Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Earhart Roofing Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Earhart Roofing Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 06, 2006 Business started: 06/01/2005 Business started locally: 06/01/2005 Business incorporated 06/07/2005 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534
don.habeger@alaska.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frank Earhart, President Mr. James Earhart, Secretary/Treasurer Mrs. Rebecca Earhart, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Earhart, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Waterproofing Contractors Contractors - General


Additional Locations

  • 1321 E 68th Ave

    Anchorage, AK 99518 (907) 345-5555

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A) I received a low bid and awarded Earhart for replacing my flat roof with a PVC membrane. I scheduled the work to coordinate tightly with a wall repair so as to avoid any internal damage to the new work. They confirmed the scheduled date of work. One week prior to the scheduled date, they informed me they would not be able to complete the work until mid-August (6 weeks later), thus incurring nearly $1500 in additional costs to protect the wall repair from the elements until the crew arrived. B) Upon finding the upper roof joists questionable enough to consider an alternate course of action, they provided me an estimate for a single-ply roof that would get me through the winter until I can make further repairs ($1500). Now they have submitted an invoice for $2725 telling me the estimate was for only half of the total job itself, although they were admittedly more than aware of the new full scope. (Supposedly, the estimate did not include the tear off and dump fees, replacing damaged plywood and reloading the truck for different work, even though the estimate was given to me standing on the already-torn off roof, with the damaged sheathing removed and visibly needing replacement and the new scope being discussed requiring tar instead of PVC.)

Desired Settlement: Invoicing for the price quoted - $1500.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/07) */ Earhart Roofing's response to the homeowner on July 28th was as follows. "Greetings (Blank), We apologize that you are unsatisfied with your experience with Earhart Roofing Company, Inc... It is our goal to provide excellent service and quality workmanship. We have reviewed the emails we have on record and see some discrepancies in your report to the BBB. We will address them in a timely manner to be sure our side is accurately represented from our standpoint. From a customer's point of view we can see where you were given the impression that the total invoice would be $1500.00, we will honor that price but in light of how the working relationship quickly escalated to such negativity, we feel it would be in both parties best interest to not work together in the future. We hope this resolves the issue. Kind regards," The customer has since made payment for the full $1500.00. As **** ****** would say "Here is the rest of the story". This homeowner requested an estimate for the pitched portion of his roof in September of 2013. On April 19, 2014 he emailed stating "We would like to move forward with scheduling this roof work. Additionally, we have a flat roof we'd like you to provide a quote for as well." Having already told us he wanted to schedule the pitched portion we eliminated some costs such as roof permit, mobilizing to the jobsite from the new proposal because we already had them factored into the earlier proposal. In effect we were trying not to double charge him. On June 2nd the homeowner emailed "We would like to proceed with the work quoted in the attached." "The attached" however was only for the smaller flat portion and not for the larger pitched portion for which he had previously asked to be put on the schedule. Therefore we emailed asking "Are we including the pitched roof replacement along with the flat?" The homeowner replied "No, but thank you" so we wrongly assumed he could not afford replacing both roofs at the same time (which we found out later not to be the case) and chose to honor the flat roof section with the reduced price as mentioned previously. So now we are doing the smaller flat portion at the same discounted rate without doing the bigger pitched portion where we had previously placed the costs for such things as permit, mobilizing to the jobsite, etc.... In the same June 2nd email in which the homeowner asked to move forward with the flat portion he asked to be "penciled in for the beginning of July". Therefore we went down to building safety to pull the roof permit for the flat portion only to find out at the permit office that another roofing company had pulled a permit for the pitched portion! When we found out that he had hired another company to roof the pitched portion, after he had told us he wanted to get on our schedule for the pitched portion, we emailed the homeowner and suggested that the other company might be able to give him a better price on doing both together. We really did not want to work with him after he did not keep his word about the pitched portion. The homeowner rejected this suggestion and reiterated how tight his schedule was due to interior repairs. We attempted to send a crew on July 8th but were informed via email that "I've got the other contractor on site right now. I expect them to be done tomorrow but I don't think you'll be able to work around them." The other roofing company finished their work on July 9th and it rained July 10th so we could not proceed with the work as planned. At that time we also confirmed with him by email that we would be back during the week of July 21st due to prior commitments we had. The customer understood this and had no complaints. We again confirmed dates with him on July 14th and July 18th with no complaints from him. On July 22nd we did attempt to install a new PVC roof on the flat portion of the house as per our proposal. However due to the vast amount of rot found after the roof was torn off and the homeowner not wanting to fix it right then we were not able to install the PVC roof. The homeowner even asked us to just to cover up the rotten trusses and framework! When we refused to do so the homeowner asked what his options were and we informed him that we could install a temporary hot tar roof which would allow him to fix the rot from inside his house at his own leisure. At that time we informed him that the price for labor and materials to install the temporary hot tar roof would be $1500.00. All the work up to that point, i.e. tearing off the roof and replacing two sheets of rotted plywood was part of the original proposal. The new verbal proposal was for installing the temporary hot tar roof. Maybe he did not truly understand the conversation (which we doubt due to his previous behavior), plus the fact that we really did not want to work with him any longer, we revised the invoice to reflect only the cost of installing the temporary hot tar roof. We absorbed the cost of tearing off his roof and replacing the rotted plywood. We also want you to know that we have not closed this roof permit and have informed the building safety division that there is a substantial amount of rot, the homeowner is going to fix it himself, and that we only put a temporary roof on at his request. As noted above we also informed him that we would rather not do business with him again. We have the string of emails available that back up "the rest of the story". Perhaps it is time for businesses to start a BCB - Better Customer Bureau. Emails: From: *** **** mailto:*****@me.com Sent: Saturday, April 19, 2014 6:23 PM To: ****** ******* Cc: ****@earhartroofing.com Subject: Re: *** **** roof replacement Good morning, We would like to move forward with scheduling this roof work. Additionally, we have a flat roof we'd like you to provide a quote for as well. Could you please give me a call to discuss? Thanks! *** **** On Jul 8, 2014, at 4:41 PM, **** ******* wrote: ***, Looks like I will have a few flat crew members tomorrow. I will check the forecast in the morning and let you know if we will be coming or not. Thanks, **** ******* From: *** **** Sent: Tuesday, July 08, 2014 5:01 PM To: **** ******* Subject: Re: Flat Roof ***** I've got ********* on site right now. I expect them to be done tomorrow but I don't think you'll be able to work around them. *** **** From: *** **** Sent: Tuesday, July 08, 2014 5:49 PM To: **** ******* Subject: Re: Flat Roof They're ready to shingle, so I'd be willing to bet they knock it out pretty quickly. I can call you to let you know when they're done? *** On Jul 8, 2014, at 5:27 PM, **** ******* wrote: Well that will complicates things a bit. The weather looks like **** after tomorrow. We are also ready to start our UAA comercial job after the material is delivered tomorrow. I will lose by small crew when that project starts. From: *** **** Sent: Wednesday, July 09, 2014 3:10 PM To: **** ******* Subject: Re: Flat Roof ***** FYI. The pitched roof is complete. Please keep me in the loop on the schedule as I do travel frequently for business. What is your best estimate for completing the our roof? *** **** From: *** **** Sent: Monday, July 14, 2014 8:42 AM To: **** ******* Subject: Re: Flat Roof Hey ***** Checking in with you. Is next week still looking like a go? *** On Jul 10, 2014, at 6:29 AM, **** ******* wrote: Im going to guess the week of the 21st if the weather cooperates. Ill let you know On Jul 14, 2014, at 8:42 AM, *** **** wrote: Hey Mike, Checking in with you. Is next week still looking like a go? *** On Jul 14, 2014, at 9:40 AM, **** wrote: If all goes to plan we should be there Thanks From: *** **** Sent: Friday, July 18, 2014 7:32 AM To: **** Subject: Re: Flat Roof Hey ***** How is the schedule looking? *** On Jul 18, 2014, at 9:03 AM, **** ******* wrote: We should be there Monday if this weekend goes to plan and the weather stays nice. From: *** **** Sent: Friday, July 18, 2014 9:07 AM To: **** ******* Subject: Re: Flat Roof Sounds good. Thanks! On Jul 20, 2014, at 12:47 PM, **** ******* wrote: ***, We will see you around eight am tomorrow morning if the weather is nice. **** ******* Residential Superintendent From: *** **** Sent: Sunday, July 20, 2014 10:07 PM To: **** ******* Subject: Re: Flat Roof Looking forward to it. Thx. *** **** On Jul 21, 2014, at 7:07 AM, **** ******* wrote: ***, I apologize but I don't have a PVC crew today. Not going to go into all the details but I'm down 6 guys. 4 of which are my only heat welders in town. I do not have anyone here today that know PVC/Deck shield. We should be good to go tomorrow....I hope. I do hope you'll be here tomorrow. Since you've yet to come as promised, we've had to pay an ext Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I take exception to the the narrative provided by Earhart which does not include many details, such as phone conversations, as well as many other emails. That being said, I am satisfied that Earhart has chosen to honor their verbal quote and provided a final invoice for $1500 which has been paid in full.