BBB Accredited Business since

Chet's Roofing and Construction Inc

Phone: (877) 611-1514 View Additional Phone Numbers 26301 79th Ave S, Kent, WA 98032

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential and commercial roofing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chet's Roofing and Construction Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chet's Roofing and Construction Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Chet's Roofing and Construction Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1999 Business started: 06/01/1999 Business started locally: 06/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Helen Chmielinski, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Helen Chmielinski, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Contractors - Framing Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Tile Roofing Skylights Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Contractor - Flat Roof Carpenters Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Leaf Guards Contractors - Gutters Painting Contractors Commercial Painting Contractor Roof Decks

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chet's Roofing and Construction Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 26301 79th Ave S

    Kent, WA 98032 (253) 841-1181 (253) 854-1106 (253) 854-1107 (253) 887-0194 (877) 611-1514


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was issued a 30year warrantee but after 4 years the roof leaks and they say not their fault and settle it through **** *******, took months to get info from them to finally get ahold of ** to get them to resolve this issue, Their comment was "not our fault. We don't need to do anything to help you". They drug their feet not giving me the correct info to get ahold of ** to get this resolved. They have been soooo rude and unhelpful, not showing up when scheduled, putting on awful plastic and not covering the whole house, rude employees that just used the statement "it is just a process" for months and not properly guiding me. Chet the owner called me yelling at me, telling me he didn't have to do anything for me and that he was contacting ** everyday to get this resolved where I found out this was an utter lie. He should have given me **** # right away if he felt it was a product default but he didn't. He drug this on for months! I first contacted Chets in Oct 2014, it took then two months to get out to my house to put plastic on my roof and then they only covered a portion of my house. The roof inspector informed me that this was an insufficient job and the whole house should have been covered. The plastic they put on my house was a flimsy clear and very thin, it has rotted and has blown all over the neighborhood. I clean up plastic everyday. I have a log of calls and time lines for all the time I have spent trying to get my roof resolved to no satisfaction. They have stepped out of the picture and now I am trying to deal with ** on my own and they are not covering $1300 of the needed funds to resolve this issue. Chets has offered no funds yet they say they have insurance and a bond in place. While his crew was here working according to my neighbor who is retired and home most of the day says there was no supervision from a supervisor and the crew seemed hired from the streets. I am asking Chets to come up with the $1300 balance per their warrantee.

Desired Settlement: Pay the difference ** will not cover per warrantee labor and product

Business Response: First off I'm sorry that Mr. ****** is having an issue with the manufacturer's for covering the expense of the alleged faulty materials.  We installed a roof for Mrs. ******* back in 2011.  Three years later she contacted us that there were issues.  We went out and inspected the roof and found no issue with the installation of the roof and was concerned that it may be that the material was defective.  At that time, since she was having a leak issue, we had that portion of the roof tarped.  We contacted the manufacturers and informed them that they needed to inspect the roof and determine what the issue was.  We also had an independent roofing consultant inspect the roof, totally unrelated to our company, and he also confirmed that the material was defective.  At this point the manufacturer became 100% responsible for the replacement of the roof and the cost of the replacement.  That is what their warranty is suppose to cover.  We contacted them several times if reference to this issue to make sure they were working on it, unlike what Mrs. ******* has insinuated.  Mrs. *******, at that time, wanted immediate results but we were not "allowed" to "tell" the manufacturer to do their job or remove her roof without the approval given by the manufacturer that lst they have taken responsibility for the roof, 2nd that they were going to cover the install expenses.  Mrs. ******* could not understand that and just wanted is done.  She also became rude herself to our office staff to a point we had to stop communication. Since we were informed that the manufacturer had taken responsibility and we were not contacted to be a part of the re-install of the new roof.  Now they are telling her that a portion of it is not being covered. Why, we have no information of.  We are not liable for the $1300.00.  If it had been deemed that any part of our workmanship was at fault, which it was not, then we would of course have responsibility.  Lastly, all our employees 100% of the time have a Foreman present. George G*******, was the foreman on this job and had been with our company for over ten years at that time.  Most of our employees have been with us for several years.  Of course they don't wear new clothes to jobsite, roofing is a dirty job. Again I'm sympathetic to Mrs. *******, however her comments are not appreciated and doesn't resolve the issue.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I just spent two hours on my response to send only to have it disappear so I was told to send you a direct e-mail. My response to Chets roofing co.:

I am responding to Chet's comments regarding my complaint. I kept a timeline and journal throughout this horrible process. Chet states "he came out and had the house tarped". I called in mid Oct. to inform them that my roof was leaking. Many calls to Chets with no response.  No one shows up until 11-29 after many calls to them, this man shows up unannounced. Confirms water leaking throughout the whole garage, water on floor, looks around the outside of the house, never comes in or looks into the attic and leaves. Because there was such poor to no response from Chets I placed a call to the ******* *********, they are the ones who gave me their name as an authorized roofer through their program. 

12-8: Called ***** ** (******* *********) ***** calls Chet's to get him to come out. 

12-10: Employee from Chet's shows up again  (no notice) and confirms lots of leaking throughout the whole house. He puts some plastic on part of my house. When he leaves he states "someone will be by tomorrow to cover the garage".

12-11: No one shows up.

12-14: Still no response from Chet's to cover garage.

Date unknown: Chet and ***** show up at my house, confirm leaking throughout the house, Chet's response, not his fault it is a materials defect, that is his opinion. He has nothing to show me that this is fact.

Date unknown: My ins. agent comes out and takes pictures of water stains throughout the entire house. 

Date unknown: I wake up to water dripping into my house (bedroom). I point this out to my ins. agent as well as Chets supervisor.

January ?: Chet's says someone needs to come out to retrieve a section of my roof. A large cardboard shipping envelope shows up on my porch. More time lapses.

That someone never showed up until I called again. Finally a roofing inspector and an employee from Chets show up. Confirms it is a wet mess under shingles, Chets employee takes a section off my roof, they do not use the cardboard shipping envelope that was sent, he just puts it in his truck. Roofing inspector asks why the whole house was not covered, inspector informs me that was not efficient, the whole house should have been covered completely since the whole house was leaking. This never happened. 

Weeks later: An employee from Chets calls me only after I sent them the needed Warrantee Claim Form and asked for the shipping label, I told them I no longer had it as they said they were going to take care of it. No one told me it was in the shipping envelope. 

Weeks later :I have heard nothing, I e-mail pictures of items in garage getting moldy because it was months to finally get my garage tarped.

2-16: I called Chet's to get the status and am told "it's a process" with no other information. I told am employee I was going to get an estimate of damages in my attic due to moisture and her response was "go ahead". She also mentioned to me that "Kristina the project manager "dropped the ball on this case".

2-17: Chet calls me and was very abusive to me. He states he has been calling **** at ** everyday, we have been trying to help you when we could just walk away, we don't need to help you it is all **** fault. Still this has not been confirmed. Chet was getting so abusive someone took the phone from him. I asked for ***** # so I could find out the status and **** states Chets has not been calling him to get this settled. Since that time I have been dealing with ** with much difficulty and shortage on funding for something that is their fault. **** was never sent here to inspect. 

In my opinion Chets gave me a 30 year warranty on product and labor yet did nothing to stand up to this warranty and walked away. I believe they should have offered to replace the roof and deal with ** themselves but that was never an option. I was referred by an employee as "the ******* ********* project person", WOW!!. Chet came off as a gruff, non caring, intimidating individual that feels since he has been paid he is out of the picture. 

I have to take out a loan against my house now for the balance ** is not willing to pay, I am out $1000 for something that is not my fault along with the $ I am out due to throwing things in the trash because I was uncovered for so long. I also want to mention the plastic Chet's put on my house was a very thin clear plastic that throughout the summer has dried out, has crumbled and has been blowing all over my yard and neighborhood. It has been a horrible mess!. 

I have talked w/ attorneys to get advise on the personal damages ** will not cover, I feel the damages would be less if Chets was more timely to get my roof covered. I have also had a conversation with the ******* ********* regarding the treatment I received from Chets and that I would never refer them to anyone. It is now Sept. and I am finally getting my new roof, this should never have taken this long but because Chets walked away, I had to handle everything on my own. In my opinion Chets needs to improve his attitude and responsibility to his customers 1000%. **** *******

3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Chet's roofing to have a leak fixed in my garage. I paid him $350 + tax to ahve him fix the leak. They have come over to my house about 4 times. Each time spending less than 15 minutes. They leak is still there. I thought the last time he was at my house on 3/2/15 rthey were going to put some tarp on the roof as a temporary fix. I called him back on 3/15 about a tarp on the roof and he wants another $400. He says I need a new roof but I cannot do that at this time. I paid him $350 and nothing was fixed.

Desired Settlement: I would like one of 3 solutions 1. Come spend the time to find the leak and fix it.2. Temporary tarp put up without paying any extra. 3. Refund of of the 350 I paid since the leak is not fixed.

Business Response:

We have repeatedly explained to Mr. ***** that he needs a new roof.  Our first service call to his residence was back in March of 2011 for an emergency service call for a leak.  He was informed then that he needed a new roof. He called us again in July of 2012 to clean his roof, again informed he needs a new roof.  March of 2014 again we went out and fixed a leak over rafters, and informed him again that also these emergency repairs are "only" temporary" that he needs a new roof and we can not keep coming out to do repairs cause it's not going to resolve the problem, this is only a temporary fix.  On February 17, 2015 he again calls about a leak.  We again send a technician who tells him again this is only a temp fix.  Ten days later we did not have payment for this service call and when he called to pay by credit card it was declined.  Mr. ***** then pretended to our office staff that he didn't speak English and at 5:30 pm on 2/27/15, called again asking us to do a service call for repair, when he hadn't paid for the last one.  At that point he offered another credit card payment which finally cleared.  Now its the end of March 2015, and he want us to come out and tarp his roof free of charge.  We told him that the tarping (which included the cost of a tarp) was $400 tax included which requires two technicians to install and secure the tarp, but he'd have to pay at time of service with check or cash we were not taking a credit card payment. He got mad and said it should be covered because he paid that last repair call and he still has leaks.  Mr. ***** also keeps telling us he can't afford to put a new roof on.  So I don't know what else to do.  He can apply for assistance with King County Housing Authority.  I'm sorry that Mr. ***** has a deterriating roof issue, but we don't own his house and we can only recommend to him what will resolve his problem.  If he is so dissatisfied with our company then why has he called us for four years to make repair calls.  The resolution to this problem is he needs a new roof. 

10/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues