BBB Accredited Business since

C C & L Roofing Company

Phone: (503) 774-0928 View Additional Phone Numbers 3319 SE 92nd Ave, Portland, OR 97266

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers roofing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that C C & L Roofing Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for C C & L Roofing Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on C C & L Roofing Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1981 Business started: 08/01/1978 Business started locally: 08/01/1978 Business incorporated 09/10/1984 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Danny L Cornwell, President Mr. Michael G Cooper, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael G Cooper, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Danny L Cornwell, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors

Alternate Business Names
C C and L Roofing Company

Additional Locations

  • 3319 SE 92nd Ave

    Portland, OR 97266 (360) 695-3719 (503) 774-0928


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Roof leaking after extremely low quality repairs were performed

Desired Settlement: Repair the area in question at no additional cost as originally expected.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/12) */ BBB Case ********* **** ******** December 12, 2014 To whom it may concern; Our records show a proposal dated 11/15/2012 by our sister company ******* **** ******* to **** ******** for roof repairs (see attached). ******* **** ******* is no longer an independent company as of August 2013 and now operates as a division of CC&L Roofing Company. After inspecting the repair work completed in **'s proposal, we agreed that the valley portion of the repair was poorly done and that the incorrect valley was installed. We calculated the cost of the other items on the repair that were done correctly, and offered *** ******** a discount on a new valley replacement using the correct valley and replacement aluminum shingles as needed. Doing the valley repair correctly is far more expensive than the original repair bid by *** due to different materials being used as well as more labor involved. We sent this new repair bid to *** ******** on 11/26/2014, noting what we found and noting the discount offer. He responded that he wanted us to do the additional repair for free. Before we had decided how to respond, we received the letter from the BBB notifying us of the complaint being filed. I am inclined to just refund *** ********'s money from the ** repair, as the cost to complete this repair with the proper valley flashing and the associated labor far exceeds the cost of the first repair that ** performed. We did try and offer a compromise in the proposal dated 11/26/14 but it was rejected out of hand. Please note that I will abide by whatever the BBB decides on this issue. Sincerely, **** ****** Vice President of CC&L Roofing Co ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

12/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: leaky roof since November 2012.It was leaking down my kitchen fan/light fixture,They fixed the leak they thought. It then began to leak through my kitchen window and they came back and put a tarp on roof...I started to bug **** ****** again in February because the weather was getting nicer. **** came over and told me the leaking came from condensation. I told him that couldn't be so otherwise it would of still leaked with the tarp they had on my roof which it did not. **** agreed to replace the entire back of my house. Next rain came and it started leaking in my garage. I called **** and he sent a worker to put another tarp on the entire back part of my roof that they just fixed. I have called **** on a regular basis to let him know Im still have a tarp on my roof and would like to have my roof fixed. The rain season is almost upon us and I need roof. I have finally come to the point that its time to say something for all to beware of **** ****** and standing behind his workmanship.

Desired Settlement: I want my roof fixed, my ceiling where it leaked through fan/light fixture and the area around my kitchen window.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/27) */ I have talked to ********** ******* numerous times over the last year. I have spent many hours of time and money trying to make her happy; I am currently in contact with her about her current leak which is in another section of her roof, not the section we have already replaced. When we first looked at her leak, we could not find any obvious cause of the leak. So at her request we replaced one section of her roof. When we got the roof section off, we noticed that the nails were rusting from underneath. We investigated further, and found her bathroom fan vent disconnected and a large volume of warm air spilling into the attic from the attic space over the garage, which had been converted from a garage to living space. We reconnected the fan vent and advised ********** that it appeared to be a condensation problem. She does not believe it is possible for this to happen and told me so. When she called with a new leak on another section of roof which is over her converted garage (not the area we had just replaced), I sent a crew over to tarp her roof to prevent any interior damage. I have spoken with her and told her the next step is water testing the roof to isolate the issue, so that we can solve this problem once and for all. Although this process has taken some time, we will continue until this problem is resolved. **** ******, Vice President CC&L Roofing Company Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 38, 2013/12/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) **** is correct, we've had SOME rain, but not the kind that comes down in bucket loads where you could have leaking from. I also agree, I do not want him to fix my ceiling until I know Im not going to have anymore leaks due to it costing him more money to redo my kitchen again. Thank you for your support in this matter and thank you **** for standing behind your workmanship... Final Business Response /* (1000, 36, 2013/12/04) */ I am glad that *** *******'s roof has not leaked so far, as we have had some rain. I understand her wanting to wait for more rain. As soon as she is satisfied that the roof is not leaking, i will arrange for her ceiling repair. Thank you, **** ******