BBB Accredited Business since

Bates Roofing LLC

Phone: (253) 473-0675 View Additional Phone Numbers 5607 S Durango St, Tacoma, WA 98409 http://www.batesroofingllc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general contracting on roof repairs or installation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bates Roofing LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bates Roofing LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bates Roofing LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tom Bate, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Bate, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Gutters & Downspouts


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bates Roofing LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5607 S Durango St

    Tacoma, WA 98409 (253) 848-4643 (253) 473-0675

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bates installed a new residence roof in May 2012. Initial workmanship and clean-up were satisfactory and done on a timely basis. However, by early 2014, it became apparent that leakage at the end of eaves troughs was occurring and staining the exposed ends of rafters and in the case of the North side of the house, dripping onto the deck long after rain had stopped.I called Bates with the problem, and was told that someone would be out to check the complaint. In May, **** and someone else came to the house, took a look and said they would send out a crew to do repairs where roofing met gutter ends all around the house. Sometime later, a crew arrived, did some repair work and installed "diverters" at all the trouble spots.In some cases, this solved the problem. However, the problem was actually worse over the deck on the North side of the house, to the point the deck was dangerously slick outside the slider long after rain had stopped and the bulk of the deck had dried. I called the Bates office and talked to *** several times. She said she would have **** call me, or I should call him directly on his cell phone. I have been calling both numbers intermittently since November 5 and have never had the courtesy of a return call from ****, let alone any attempt to resolve the problem. I get the distinct feeling that **** (or all of Bates) would just like me and the problem to go away.Ends of rafters are going to rot from the repeated exposure to water. I consider Bates workmanship warranty and customer service worthless, and if asked, I would never recommend them for roofing work. It seems to me that guaranteed workmanship means it will be fixed until it works correctly.I would really like to have the problem fixed correctly, once and for all.

Desired Settlement: Stop the leaks through the roof onto the rafters and the deck.

Business Response: Bates Roofing has been out to assess the problem with the roof and determined that the roof is installed properly and there are no leaks. The concern brought up by the customer is with water shedding from the roof and not entering the gutter. The reason this is occurring is that the gable end rafters extend down past the gutters. This is a typical problem with this type of construction. Bates Roofing installed sheet metal diverter's to help alleviate the problem, but unfortunately the only way to completely eliminate this issue is to cut the gable end rafter tails above the gutter line and install new gutters. This is a problem that existed prior to the new roof being installed and was not caused by the new roof installation nor was Bates Roofing contracted to make these changes at the time of the new roof install.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

****** ******

11/11/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May 2012 I had a new roof installed by Bates Roofing at my house located at *** - *** **** Fox Island Washington. The job itself was performed satisfactorily and not in dispute. It is the failure to honor warranty promises that is being disputed. Shortly after the installation in May 2012 was completed I noticed that several nail heads around the roof vents were exposed and not weather protected. The Bates Roofing representative, **** ****** said the nails had rubber gaskets and should be okay for awhile and that he would arrange to have them weather sealed the following year (May 2013) when they would be coming out to do the one year anniversary inspection. I agreed that would be okay and I also asked **** that when, for an additional fee, they return for the one year anniversary inspection he could have his crew clean and treat the new shingles with moss control protection. **** said that yes he could arrange for that. In April 2013 as the one year anniversary date approached, I called **** ***** to set up the appointment we had both discussed and agreed on earlier. After several failed attempts he finally returned my calls and we both agreed to have the work performed anytime during the anniversary month of May 2013 at Bates Roofing discretion depending on their crew schedules, as long as it got scheduled and done during the month of May 2013. It never happened. **** ***** failed to honor his committment. I called **** several times throughout June and July 2013. He was appologetic about not getting the work scheduled as promised and said he will get it scheduled soon. Each and every subsequent appointment that was set up throughout this period was a "no show." By late July **** quit accepting my calls and would not return my messages I left for him. In August I decided to clean the roof myself and apply the moss control treatment, of which I did. While performing this work, in addition to the exposed nails at the roof vents, I also discovered that many of the shingles along the bottom row on the North side were warped and curved upward rather than laying flat or downward to allow the rain water to drain into the gutters. On Friday 8-30-2013 I drove to Bates Roofing office located on Durango Street in Tacoma. I spoke with the office receptionist and explained that I needed assistance with resolving these issues. She told me that she would have **** ***** call me within a few days. Today is X-XX-XXXX and I have not received a call from **** ***** or anybody else at Bates Roofing.

Desired Settlement: My expectation is that Bates Roofing honor their materials and workmanship warranty along their many broken verbal promises in this matter. I want the nail heads weather sealed and the warped shingles replaced. I also want this appointment set up at a time that I am present at the work site (my house).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2013/10/25) */ I'm **** ***** with Bates Roofing. I personally went out and resolved with this matter. I weather sealed the nail heads and inspected the shingles and they were curling up from the gutter guards but in no way were they defective or failing. I explained this to the homeowner and he was satisfied with our response. In addition to being satisfied he said he would contact the BBB and let them know that he was. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/11/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am satisfied with the response from **** ***** of Bate's Roofing.