BBB Accredited Business since

Axis Roof & Gutter Inc

Phone: (360) 653-7663 Fax: (360) 653-2947 20932 67th Ave NE, Arlington, WA 98223 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.axisroofandgutter.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service roofing and maintenance services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Axis Roof & Gutter Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Axis Roof & Gutter Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Axis Roof & Gutter Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 2010 Business started: 07/01/2001 in WA Business started locally: 07/01/2001 Business incorporated 05/22/2007 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Cheri Groves, Operations Manager Mr. Casey Groves, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Cheri Groves, Operations Manager
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Pressure Washing

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8am - 5pm
Method(s) of Payment
Credit Cards (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, AMEX), check, cash

Additional Locations

  • 20932 67th Ave NE

    Arlington, WA 98223 (360) 653-7663

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Axis on Tuesday October 8 2013 for an estimate to repair my sagging gutter. I was told by **** that she would call me back on Wednesday or Thursday with a quote. I made sure that I did not need to be at the house and I told her that the house was currently unoccupied, and currently residing elsewhere. On Monday October 14th, I used their online contact form to remind them I had called a few days prior for an estimate. I did mention, if the job was too small, to please let me know and I would find another company to do the work. **** emailed me back, and said "sorry we didn't have an email address for you, but do want your business" and attached an estimate which included pictures of the sagging gutter with the 2x4 we have that is currently supporting it. I looked over the estimate, and agreed to the replacement of the fascia board and new gutters for $250 for the time being-depending on the work, we were thinking about having them do a yearly maintenance and cleaning. **** replied back on the 14th and said she would check her schedule and get back to me in the morning. I emailed **** again on the 17th as she did not give me an appointment time as promised. On Friday October 18th, **** emailed back that she had scheduled the repairs to be made on the 22nd after a job they had in Camano Island. I emailed back saying that was great. On Monday October 21st, I received the estimate **** had sent to my unoccupied house (it took over a week to get forwarded to my current address), I read over the checklist that was included, and called on Tuesday morning to give them my credit card information. On Wednesday October 23rd, I went to go check on the work-it was not done. So I called and spoke to ***** and said, "I thought the work was supposed to be done yesterday?". She blurted out, "No, that work was scheduled for today" since I did not have my computer in front of me I just went along with her lie and said, "Oh I'm sorry, I guess I must have mixed up my days". On Friday October 25th, I drove back up to the house, and the work was still not done. I called and spoke to **** (she said she was the one who took care of invoicing). I explained to her the situation, and said, "I was told Tuesday, I have the email. Then was told Wednesday, and now it's Friday and nothing is done, and my credit card has been charged" **** said she just found out that morning that the work wasn't done, and was going to find out why, refund my credit card, and get back to me as soon as possible. **** returned my call a few hours later, and said that they found something else wrong and needed to put together a new estimate, and would get back to me on Monday the 28th. Around noon on Monday, I still had not heard from anybody, my credit card had not been refunded, so I sent **** and **** an email informing them of the situation, and what was going on. I got an email back saying "our estimator is out of the office until Wednesday, we will get back to you then". On Wednesday, they sent an estimate for over $600 saying that the plywood and fascia needed to be replaced. I am extremely frustrated at this point, nobody took ownership of the situation, nobody seemed to care, I have a cell phone, I can be contacted at any time. I'm sure the workers have a cell phone, if there was an issue then someone should have contacted me right away. As a customer, I shouldn't have to tell them my credit card needed to be refunded, they were more than happy to charge it right away. I shouldn't have to call and ask why the work was not completed. Did the first person who went out to the house and take pictures not really inspect the roof/gutters? Is the job too small and they are now trying to 'make the job worthwhile'? I'm not even sure if I should trust them to do the work at all. If this is how they run a business-honestly, I am afraid of what their workmanship is like.

Desired Settlement: I would like the plywood and fascia to be repaired and gutters to be re-hung per their estimate, clean-up included. With all of the hassles I have gone through, I believe a fair price would be $350-tax included. I also have an (almost) full square of roof shingles leftover from the roofing job I had done last year I can leave for them so it will match.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/11/25) */ The customer tried to Retract this complaint and she was unable to do so; are you able to call her? We are pleased that we were able to take care of her; please call her she does not want to post this complaint

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Scheduled a roof cleaning with driveway cleaning and exterior window cleaning. We prepared for the job, no one showed up. Company initially said that the roof cleaner will leave Marysville at 7am and will be in Sammamish however long traffic takes. The morning of our scheduled cleaning which was Friday, April 26, 2013, no one showed up. I called at 9:40 am to find out where the roof cleaner is and I was informed that their roof "guy" left at 8am, will gas up and should be at our place soon. First of all, if he left at 8am, he should have been at our place by 9:40am. I had to be at an appointment so I couldn't be at home to wait for this guy. Later, found out from my husband who stopped by around lunch time that nobody is there. I came home at 1pm to indeed find out NOBODY showed up. When I called the company they claimed that the "roof guy" went to a different house and cleaned a different house. I find that very hard to believe. When I called at 9:40am, the company should've known something was not right and should've resolved the issue right at that time. They should've followed up with me to see if their roof guy indeed showed up. I received NO Phone calls whatsoever. When I called at 1pm, while I was complaining, ***** hung up on me that she later claimed "we got cut off". It was clear what I heard, she said "thank you" and hung up. I cannot believe this company existed for 13 years.

Desired Settlement: Would like to know the name, address and phone number of the other homeowner that they ended up cleaning (roof) instead of our roof. Need to verify that their claim was truthful. Would like to know how much the total bill was with the other homeowner. Would like a truthful explanation of why they did not contact their "roof guy" at 9:40am to find out where he's at and why did not follow up with me.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/05/31) */ Case ID:********* ****** **** Dear BBB, We are very sorry to hear the complaint of ****** ****. We strive to please our customer’s everyday as you know with out rating. That being said I have attached all communication with this customer from 2012-13. We treat a roof clean just the same as we treat a roof replacement; with Homeowner checklist; what to expect and a complimentary courtesy call. Attached you will see there is **** **** that was scheduled in Sammamish on the “same day” as ****** ****; same day, same city, same services. (What are the odds?) Part one of the miss hap is our Regular scheduler whom is wonderful was in the hospital; a bookkeeper stepped in and pulled up the wrong information; that Friday the bookkeeper was let go and the New hire had started that following Monday; well she is wonderful and she kept looking at the schedule and saw “****” in Sammamish and thought the guys were in route there (which normally they would be) however in 13 years this was not the intention to upset, disrupt, or cause chaos to Mrs. ****** ****’s life. She was far too upset to explain anything on the phone; an email was sent out trying to explain what happened as she wanted no part of it. We always strive for perfection and in life we never plan for mistakes we certainly offered a significant discount for her to re-schedule again if she would ever entertain the thought of giving us a second chance; however that was not in the cards. She also mentioned she would tell everyone we were the worst ever. In life if we make mistakes how do we correct them? Our new-hire learned the biggest lesson her first week at work and I can PROMISE you names, all names are double, triple, checked to make sure something like this would never happen again to a customer. The off thing was the other customer that kept calling throughout the am had “*******” on the caller id phone number (for **** ****) and that is ******’s husband’s name so I also could see how the new girl could get confused when you pull up ****** on the County Property Assessor’s site. The other customer “****’s” came home later and was amazed by their cleaning services. Please let us know if there is anything else we could do. Best Regards, Axis Roof And Gutter INC ***Supporting documents redacted by BBB***

3/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues