This business is not BBB accredited.

Whatcom Windows & Gutters Inc

Phone: (360) 927-2557

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers roof cleaning, moss removal, gutter cleaning, window washing and pressure washing services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Whatcom Windows & Gutters Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Whatcom Windows & Gutters Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 31, 2013 Business started: 02/01/2013 Business started locally: 02/01/2013 Business incorporated 03/01/2013 in WA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Sarah Dorsett-Felicelli, President Mr. Jordan Shaver, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sarah Dorsett-Felicelli, President
Business Category

Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Pressure Washers Window Cleaning Gutter Cleaning

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday
8:00am - 6:00pm

Additional Locations


    Bellingham, WA 98225 (360) 927-2557


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear BBB Staff - We engaged with the following company and believe review of their business practices is required, due to deceptive Sales and Marketing techniques we experienced. Whatcom Windows and Gutters **** *****************, *** Bellingham, WA XXXXX ************ The final cost of service was 34% ($365) higher than original quote sent, and the final contract was provided only after services were completed. The going rate in Bellingham for the services rendered is ~$550, after 10% discount. Rate at Whatcom Windows charged us for same or similar service is $952. (43% more than going rate). Owner, ***** ******* claimed that they provide a singular moss removal service, because they physically remove moss from roof. However, photos taken after service show that moss is still present in many areas on roof. Interior skylights were not cleaned, contrary to agreement. Owner was unwilling to negotiate when contacted. Further, she told us that it took 11 hours to do the job. 3 men came to the site from 9:15 AM - 8:15 PM on a Friday night. Interior windows were done last, and since we were home from work and trying to have dinner, we knew that two of the men were being trained on the job. Any resolution you might facilitate is more than appreciated. Sincerely, *************** ***** ** ****** ***** Bellingham, WA XXXXX ************ *******

Desired Settlement: Requesting more competitive pricing for services rendered.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/06/06) */ We had sent ****** ***** a bid with the itemized services requested. ****** had also inquired about additional discounts/ packages that we offer. I explained to him VIA e-mail that we could offer a 10% discount if we were to schedule all the services requested or we offer a 4 seasons package which includes 1 roof cleaning & prevention, 2 gutter cleanings and 4 window cleanings. The package is a year contract and is a 15% discount off of what the total costs of services would be. I have all the e-mails from the ***** and we have reviewed them with our lawyer. He is well aware of their concern but does not feel their was any miss communication. In regards to the moss removal, we have serviced almost 500 clients in the last year and a half and have yet to have a customer complaint about moss still on the roof. Many clients confuse algae with moss. We would appreciate the pictures if there are any.We will remove any moss growth free of charge, if their is any, as we guarantee no moss for 1 year. I have attached the e-mails along with the original estimate and final invoice with 10% discount added. Notice they agreed to a 4 seasons package before viewing a separate estimate. In addition, I had explained the 2 different discounts in the same paragraph regarding the original estimate we had sent them. There was no reason for them to assume that the estimate automatically reflected the discount/package they decided to go with. We strive very hard to maintain a healthy, honest relationship with our customers and we feel this was an honest miscommunication. We went ahead an honored the 10% discount off the total cost of work. They still owe us a remaining balance of $609.05 out of $958.29. We provided roof cleaning and moss prevention, a gutter cleaning and interior & exterior window cleaning for them. The interior skylights were not completed as my partner did not have the proper ladder with him. Though the interior skylights were not included in the original bid,, we were willing to offer it to them free of charge and had discussed coming out at a later date to finish. However, we have not rescheduled due to their wishes. We charge a $60.00 hrly rate.We had 3 men their for 11 hrs, this equates to 33 hours. Two men were training,but nonetheless we put in an extra 15 hours of man labor.My partner and I have been in this industry long enough to know this was a competitive price for the amount of labor performed and services provided on their property. We do not know where they received their bids, but we are familiar with many of our competitors and are aware most of them are not properly licensed/insured or do not provide the quality that we do. We can guarantee the "competitive" bids they received are lacking credentials. Please see attached documents. I am happy to answer any further questions or concerns. ***** ******* Owner/Marketing Manager Whatcom Windows & Gutters INC #WHATCWG870KC Cell: ************ ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

2/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Your business is advertised on your website as being owned and operated since 2005, but in reality Whatcom Windows and GuttersGutters, INC has only existed since October of 2012. This is false advertising and misleads customers to believe Whatcom Windows and Gutters has been a local business with long-standing presence in the community. I contacted you about this concern and received the following response:"Thank you for your concern *****. My partner has been a licensed business owner in this industry since 2005 and has been providing service in the field since before 2005. Have a great day!"I replied with the following and have not received a response."Thank you for your reply. I understand your reasoning, but still find it a bit misleading to state: 'We are Whatcom Windows and Gutters Inc., locally owned and operated since 2005. Our reliable, thorough and professional technicians have been serving your outdoor home cleaning needs for eight years.' If Whatcom Windows and Gutters has only existed as a business for a little over a year, it is a misrepresentation to imply that your company has been in existence, serving customers since 2005. I believe it would be more accurate and transparent to reword to something such as: We are Whatcom Windows and Gutters, locally owned and operated since 2012. We employ reliable, thorough, and professional technicians who have experience serving home cleaning needs in the local community since 2005.' Just because your partner has owned a business since 2005 does not mean that THIS business has been in existence servicing the local community for eight years. It is unfair to make that claim, in my opinion. I would urge you to please reconsider the wording on your website."The false advertising may cause customers to confuse their busines with another local business with a very similar name which in fact has been in business legitimately since 2006.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like Whatcom Windows & Gutters to remove the false advertising on their website which claims that their business has been owned and operated since 2005. I would like their advertising to reflect the truth - the actual time that their company has been in business- a little over one year, not eight years.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/11/25) */ We will have our website manager edit the phrase within two weeks. Please note the owners have been in business and operating in the industry since 2005 under a pre-existing business. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/11/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) If website phrasing is edited to reflect the longevity of the current business for which the website was created to promote- Whatcom Windows and Gutters- not the owners' previous business, then this resolves my complaint. I understand that the business owners are saying that a preexisting business has been in operation since 2005, but that is not reflected in the current advertising on their website. The current advertising incorrectly states that Whatcom Windows and Gutters has been operated since 2005, which is confusing and misleading to consumers. A consumer looking at the current website wording does not know that the reference to 2005 is in regards to a different business, nor does the consumer know what this other business is, whether it was a window and gutter business or a business of some other kind, etc because no name of business or other identifying information about the other business has been provided. A rewording of the phrase which clarifies the timeline of the business Whatcom Windows and Gutters as being owned and operated since October of 2012 will satisfy my complaint.