BBB Accredited Business since

Lafayette Auto Body & RV Repair

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 864-2344 Fax: (503) 864-4250 View Additional Phone Numbers 204 3rd St, Lafayette, OR 97127 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.lafayetteautobody.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto body and RV repair, including sandblasting, painting, commercial truck repair, spray on bedliners and other accessories.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lafayette Auto Body & RV Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lafayette Auto Body & RV Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lafayette Auto Body & RV Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2001 Business started: 03/01/2001 in OR Business started locally: 03/01/2001 Business incorporated 11/02/2000 in OR
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Grittman, President Mrs. Jacqueline Hayes, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Grittman, President
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service Auto Service - Rust proofing Shops Auto Services Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Accessories

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Debit, Visa, Master Card, Discover
Alternate Business Names
Grittman Enterprises Inc

Additional Locations

  • 204 3rd St

    Lafayette, OR 97127 (503) 864-2344 (800) 222-8230 (503) 864-3294 (503) 864-3994

  • PO Box 146

    Lafayette, OR 97127

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was involved in an automobile accident in November of 2013. A friend recommended Lafayette Autobody and I had always heard good things about them, so I decided to take my car there for repairs. While my car was in the shop, I check in a few times until I got a call saying it was almost done and they just needed to pick it from the alignment shop. I went to pick up my car in December of 2013. I had a friend drive my car while I returned the rental car. After returning the rental car, I drove my car to my home. It was very difficult to drive because the steering was pulling really hard to the right. As soon as I got home, I inspected the car and noticed that the right headlight casing was also a different color than the other one (it appeared that it was painted when it shouldn't have been), I also noticed that a bar along the bumper was cracked. I called Lafayette Autobody and spoke with *****, he said that the bar had been broken previously and so they weren't authorized to fix it. Since I had only had the vehicle since 2011, so I wasn't aware of it, but it wasn't cracked before. He argued with me about it more, and I said fine and then pointed out that the headlight casing was the wrong color. He said that I could bring it in and they would look at it. I, then, pointed out that the steering was pulling really hard to the right and it was very difficult to drive. He said that it seemed fine when (I forgot the name of the person) drove it back from the alignment shop. I said it wasn't like that before and he said an alignment was done on it and offered to contact the alignment shop to be sure. I said okay and that I would bring the car in the following week because my schedule wouldn't allow me to bring it in that week. I received the check from the insurance company and dropped it off chose to drop it off in-person, so they could look at my car as promised. ***** handed me a copy of the invoice and I gave him the check and I was told about the deductible. I told them that the accident wasn't my fault and I had full coverage so my insurance should be paying that. He said okay and followed me outside to look at my car. I showed him the headlight casing and he agreed that it was the wrong color and said they could fix that for me. I asked if he heard back from the alignment shop and he said that they billed him for it, so it must have been done. I told him that it was still pulling hard to the right and it was very difficult to drive. He said I could bring my car back and they would get me all fixed up. I said okay and left. A week or two later, I received and email from ***** stating that since my insurance hadn't determined fault, they wouldn't pay the deductible. I called and spoke with ***** and explained that I only worked two to three days a week and I didn't make enough money to pay the $500. I set up a payment plan for $20 when I could pay. I asked him about fixing my car the rest of the way and he said when I paid the deductible then he would fix it. Months went by and I kept ma**** payments when I could until I got the balance down to $240. I called ***** at this point and asked since I had paid half of the deductible, if he could at least fix the alignment because winter was approaching and I felt unsafe driving it with it pulling so hard to the right. At this point, he told me an alignment was never done on the vehicle because my insurance never approved it. He told me the only thing I could do was take it to an alignment shop and if they could determine the alignment problem occurred as a result of the accident, then I may be able to get my insurance to cover it. I asked why he had been telling me for the past ten months that an alignment was done? and he said that I must have misunderstood. I was positive that I didn't misunderstand him, especially because I had a friend with me two of the occasions that we talked about it and he heard the same thing I did. For the next couple months, I talked to my insurance company, the adjuster, and the appraiser of the vehicle. The adjuster said he wouldn't have "not approved" a repair if the autobody suggested it and judging by the front end/side damage to my vehicle, in his experience, one would need to be done. I spoke with the appraiser whole looked at the vehicle and the quote from Lafayette Autobody and she said she approved it. She suggested I take my car to get looked at by another shop. I took my car to **** **** ******** in Newberg where ***** looked at my bill from Lafayette Autobody and inspected my car. He said that it didn't appear an alignment had been done and they tire had worn unevenly because of it. He said "they owe you a replacement for this tire". He looked at the big and said I was charged for an alignment. He suggested I call my insurance company to see if they would pay for the repairs to be done correctly and then seek reimbursement from Lafayette Autobody. The claims adjuster I was wor**** with had passed along the claim to another adjuster, so it took me about a month to get someone to call me back. I finally spoke with ****, my new adjuster, and he said I needed to go to Lafayette Autobody and get it sorted out on my own just like it was my own money. ****** from Lafayette Autobody called me on January 15, 2015 seeking payment, I explained the situation to her. She asked if I would call and talk to ***** and I said that I would be emailing him because I wanted a record of it since he had changed his story when I talked to him on the phone. She asked when I would do that, I told her I was still waiting on some paperwork from my insurance company and trying to get a quote (on the tire), that it might be a week or two. I was willing to work with them to resolve this amicably, but the next day they turned the remaining $240 over to collections and I just received the notice today. I called the collection agency and left a message describing the situation. And hoping that the better business bureau can resolve this issue for me.

Desired Settlement: To resolve this issue, I would like Lafayette Autobody to fix the right headlight casing so it is the right color like it should have been done in the first place. I would like to be reimbursed 100% of what my insurance company was charged for the alignment that wasn't done. And I would like to be reimbursed for the tire that was ruined. I understand that I am still responsible for the $240, and I will pay that when this is all fixed. However, I will not pay collection fees because that was uncessary on Lafayette Autobody's part, they could have avoided sending it to collection had they just fixed my car how they agreed to in the first place.

Business Response:

When ******** picked up her car it had gotten a 4 wheel alignment. The attached documentation proves that. There is a note on the invoice that says the car was pulling to the right BEFORE the alignment. Our employees picked the car up from the alignment shop and there were no drivability issues. When ******** let us know that the car was pulling hard to the right, we let her know where the alignment was done and told her she could take the car there and have it re-checked under warranty.
******** **** did not have the money for her deductible when she picked up her vehicle. She agreed upon pickup of the car (in Dec. 2013) that she would pay $20/week until the full $500 was paid off. She did not make any payments until March. (attached is a payment list) She also would not answer or return our phone calls. She showed up on a Saturday to let ***** know that the headlight bezel was the wrong color. The reason for that was that the brand new part was not faded out like the old headlight bezel on the other side. ***** offered to paint the bezel to take care of it, but wanted the customer to pay her bill first, as she had already failed to hold up to the agreement that was made.
Regarding the lower valance panel, the insurance adjuster decided that based on the age of the damage it was a prior damage and not part of the accident. Therefore, the unrelated damage could not be included in the claim.
******** has made very few payments still. Now, over a year after the repair completion, and many ignored phone calls regarding payments, she has informed our office manager (******) that she is not going to finish paying the deductible until or unless the repairs on her vehicle were taken care of. She was sent to collections because she failed to meet the payment arrangement that was made.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is the reason why I stopped making payments because the autobody shop kept changing their story and I was afraid that they wouldn't fix my car like promised. They seem to be able to think it's okay to change facts and events to however it suits them. I would have never agreed to pay $20 per week because there's no way I could have done that. I talk to ***** and he tried to get me to pay $50 per month and I explained that I only worked two days per week and I could barely pay my rent. I said I would try to pay $20 per month when I could. I also didn't make any payments until March because the body shop was still trying to reach my insurance company for the deductible and didn't ask me to contact my insurance company for them until late February (which I have the email records to prove it). When I was finally able to reach my insurance company and they said the decision of fault could still be months out, I called and spoke with ***** and discussed payment arrangements. Which I proceeded to pay as much as I could until I reached more than half. At that time, I asked ***** if he could fix my car as promised and he changed his story and said an alignment was never done. I started contacting my insurance and didn't make any payments because I was trying to figure out what my options and rights were. When ****** called me once before she reached me in January and left a message, I didn't call her back because I didn't have all my answers yet. When I did answer the call and spoke with her, I explain the situation to her and instead of letting me submit my information and work with me to resolve this, they sent the account to collections. I assumed at that point my only option was to contact the BBB.

At no point did ****** ever tell me that I could have my alignment checked under the warranty, otherwise I would have done that immediately. And after some time, he told me an alignment was never done. The reason my head light casings don't match, I believe, is because they painted the new one and on Nissan Xterras they are not supposed to be painted, they are just black plastic. The headlights were also not lined up.

Business Response: The facts have and will remain unchanged since the day the repairs were completed on **** ****** vehicle. There must have been a misunderstanding regarding payments. We never would have agreed to $20 a month (when Miss **** could manage that). We would have informed her that she needed to look into getting a loan. There are notes in **** ****** file regarding the numerous messages that were left for **** ***** We repaired **** ****** vehicle. We expect to be paid for our services in a timely manner. We do warranty our work as we have stated to **** ***** We are more than happy to take a look at her vehicle and make the necessary corrections. We simply want to be paid for the work that has already been performed on the vehicle prior to any further repairs. This is reasonable since this customer has not taken care of her balance with us in over a year's time. Miss **** was informed that she could return to the alignment company to have her vehicle checked out. She was told that if the problem was part of the accident we could add the bill to her insurance estimate and it would be covered. At the same time, if the problem was caused by worn out parts or wear & tear items the insurance company would not cover it. Regardless, she would need to take her car to be looked at to find out for sure what the problem was. The remainder of **** ****** issues were cosmetic and could wait until she took care of her bill, or at least make consistent payments. The documents submitted by Miss **** are further proof that we attempted to work with her as far as her deductible, getting ahold of the insurance company, and getting the deductible taken care of. The issue with her headlight was never brought up until after she had gone without making a payment for months. This is where we decided that we would take care of the cosmetic issue after she had made payments. She agreed.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Although they say they said they would look at my vehicle at anytime and it would be covered under warranty now, they never did in the past. After filing this complaint, was the first I had heard of the warranty. Also, the fact remains that ***** specifically told me after almost a year that an alignment was never done. Whether he mistook me for someone else or forgot, I don't know. But when a repair shop starts changing their story it is very scary and I lost trust in them at that moment. At this point, I would be scared to even have them look at my vehicle for fear that they would either make another mistake unintentionally or do something to my vehicle out of retaliation. The fact that I wasn't informed of a warranty until now has cost me a tire which will cost me $215 to replace and who knows what other things were overlooked that will cost me more money down the road. I don't believe they have made any effort to rectify the situation.

Sincerely,

********* ****

5/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service