BBB Accredited Business since

Auburn Kent Valley RV Center LLC

Phone: (253) 867-0982 Fax: (253) 867-5941 1213 4th Ave N, Kent, WA 98032 http://www.auburnkentrv.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers RV parts, sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auburn Kent Valley RV Center LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Auburn Kent Valley RV Center LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auburn Kent Valley RV Center LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 03, 2013 Business started: 06/01/2009 Business started locally: 06/01/2009 Business incorporated 06/09/2009 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Tami Shoemaker, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tami Shoemaker, Managing Member
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service Recreational Vehicles - Dealers Recreational Vehicles - Equipment, Parts, Supplies

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8am - 5pm
Saturday 9am - 1pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
90 day warranty on labor.
Alternate Business Names
Auburn Kent RV

Additional Locations

  • 1213 4th Ave N

    Kent, WA 98032 (253) 867-0982

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We brought our RV in for repair for a slide issue that we were told was not necessary and then sold additional services based on their recommendations. There were no issues with the mechanical functioning of the engine (24k miles) RV upon delivery and the business admitted that there were no running issues other than a low battery when they were initially handling the vehicle. When the vehicle was received back the vehicle was left running in the driveway by the company and when we wne to take it away noticed running very rough and making a loud clunking sound. Not understanding the nature of the issue we had it towed to a GMC factory certified repair facility who stated that the engine's computer was blown and that the most likely cause was jump starting the vehicle under the hood as opposed to at the battery under the located stairs. The additional work that was performed was (slide stopping issue and repalcement of slide canpoy) were also not completed to our satisfaction with the slide not stopping properly during our first trip after the repair and the canopy unwinding during travel during the same trip. When questioned about the vehicle computer destruction the owner said that there were no issues and that when they drove it to the driveway everything was running perfectly and the issue occured only a the moment we approached the vehicle. We approached the company regarding the issues and they refused to take responsibility for the damage that was caused to the vehicel during their care.

Desired Settlement: Seeking reimbursement of the approx $1,300 in repairs to the vehicle computer caused and repair of the stopping issue that we experienced within 30 weeks of receiving the vehicle back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/06/02) */ Customer dropped his rig and parked himself on a Saturday. Monday morning coach would not start. Used factory installed emergency start system to get into the shop. Adjusted bolt for slide stop and replaced awning fabric. Coach started on it's own when repairs were completed, which took about 3-4 hours, to be returned to parking spot. Customer came in the next day and it was brought around to him and left running in the driveway. It would not start on it's own at that time. Used on board emergency start to get it to pickup area. He went out to rig and returned saying it was running bad and sounded horrible. He left the rig and we advised him to tow it to chassis service center. We don't work on chassis related problems. The next contact we had with customer was on the following Friday saying we damaged his ECU (engine control module)and he wanted reimbursement for repairs.He had already had it replaced and no parts were retained by customer. We did nothing other than the repairs described above and we could be no more responsible for a chassis problem than if the engine went out. It was an unfortunate event for both parties and an electrical component can just go with no prior warning. As for his awning fabric unwinding in travel (during his trip after leaving our facility) that is a condition called billowing which is quite common in cross wind situations. Crosswind creates a vortex when colliding with parallel wind and at 45mph driving speed the wind velocity created can be equal to 90 to 110mph. This will cause the slide out fabric to start unrolling and become a sail. Optional equipment is available to prevent billowing. These are called anti billowing devices. Perhaps this would be a great investment for him. This could be a one time occurrence or he may experience it again. There is no way to predict a billowing instance as all terrain and wind conditions vary from state to state and season to season. I did offer to replace the fabric if any damage was evident. We operated the slide in his presence and it operated as designed. No damage no malfunction. The slide also functioned as repaired and designed in his presence with the exception of a clunking noise from the cable area at the top of the slide which was never mentioned as an issue nor observed when the slide was tested several times during the repair performed initially before his trip. The item he asked to have addressed was the contact of trim on slide to adjoining refer cabinet which was damaging the cabinet. Second slide item he requested was to have the room stop extending before it pulled the inner facia trim off. Nothing regarding the clunking noise that developed after his trip of ten days. In meeting with him after the trip we observed the noise it is possible the slide room has dropped which also would not be unusual after a long trip as the body is in motion and the walls are flexing and bouncing up and down. It is possible as well the slide was left extended out during his stay in such a position it created a cause for another repair. It is unknown at this time. While we are saddened at the outcome and his decision to file a complaint, we performed our job diligently with the same concern we have for all of our customers. We will stand by our repairs and our repairs only. Anything else is purely speculation. **** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/06/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response from the business. The vehicle was only running badly due to their actions when under their possession. They also indicated that in a voice message that the vehicle was running fine before they brought it out and that there were no issues. The business indicated that they do not allow the use of jump starting machines under any circumstances. When the vehicle would not restart in the driveway the first piece of equipment that was brought out to the vehicle was a large and older looking jump start unit which the employee was told to take away immediately. I am speculating that they use it regularly as part of their practice. According to the certified GM dealer that I dealt with that this wouldn't have been an issue if it wasn't connected at the ECU instead of at the batteries which are under the chassis and not under the hood where the ECU is located. I do not accept their response and have a written report form there certified dealer rep for repair and maintenance. I stand by my complaint and expect it to stand with the BBB. The owner tried to tell me that the vehicle was older and that it had over 75k miles and that it was due for this type of repair, however the miles are low and under 26k. Arbitration would be acceptable. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/07/09) */ I will mail the check tomorrow, July 10th 2014 in the amount you have requested which is $653.06. Thank you for the opportunity to find closure for both parties. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/06/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the owners explanation (excuses) for why she thinks she didn't damage my vehicle and do not consider the matter closed and expect my complaint to be noted on their record until resolved. Happy to accept an offer of resolution from the Owner on my $1,300 third party expense, $600 in unsatisfactory service, and the several hours of my time.