BBB Accredited Business since

Big Country RV Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 330-2495 Fax: (541) 330-2496 View Additional Phone Numbers 63500 N Highway 97, Bend, OR 97701 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bigcrv.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and service of new and used recreational vehicles and campers. This company offers sales and service of new and used recreational vehicles and campers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Big Country RV Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Big Country RV Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Big Country RV Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 11, 2002 Business started: 12/01/1997 Business started locally: 12/01/1997 Business incorporated: 12/21/1997 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Craven, President Mr. Rick Breeden, GM Ms. Suzanne Kelso, CFO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Rick Breeden, GM
Principal: Mr. Gary Craven, President
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Big Country RV Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3111 NW Canal Blvd

    Redmond, OR 97756

  • 63500 N Highway 97

    Bend, OR 97701 (541) 330-2495 (800) 537-7841

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family purchased an RV from Big Country RV located in Redmond, Oregon and the subsequent dealings took place at the Bend location. We agreed on a price ($10,000) and placed a $2,500 deposit with no discussion of add-ons, but we were assured that the standard cleaning and equipment checks would be performed. After financing was secured, we returned to sign the loan papers and found they had added $2,500 to the loan without my consent (increase of 25% over the agreed upon price). The $2,500 add-on was for something called the "Pro-Pack" detail package. The Pro-Pack was to have included a special, expensive coating to protect the exterior as well as a special cleaning and coating of the interior. It should be noted that the RV in question is a 2001 and the decals are faded and cracked. In other words there is no exterior finish left to protect. I told the person completing our paperwork that I was sorry, but I was never consulted about a Pro-Pack and never agreed to such a thing. The closing lady said that unfortunately the job had already been done and got her calculator out and proceeded to try to get us to agree on a discount on the Pro-Pack. We disagreed still and I told her we didn't ask for the service and refused to pay for any of it. She reluctantly reprinted a new contract without the Pro-Pack. Once that stressful situation ended, we proceeded to pick up the RV at another of their locations. When we entered the RV with an older gentleman that was there to do our "walk-through" we were met with stained carpet that was hidden by a plastic covering earlier when we first looked at the RV. Also the vents were covered with dirt. We asked the man if it had been detailed or if he knew anything about a Pro-Pack. He said nothing had been done yet. NO DETAIL OR PRO-PACK WAS DONE! To have had such high pressure applied by the person completing our paperwork, I was shocked to find the RV in the same or worse condition that when I originally inspected it. The salesman that was also with us going through the walk-through was embarrassed and acted upset that their walk-through man had made such a big mistake in being honest. The salesman turned and walked down the stairs, leaving the RV before we could ask him how such a gross miscommunication could have occurred. We then proceeded to tell the walk-through man about what they had tried to do when we were signing our papers. He acted like it wasn't the first time he had heard such a thing. It was very dishonest! When they hooked up the RV to the delivery truck, the salesman asked if it had been de-winterized. The old man said he knew nothing about it and after checking they found that it still had antifreeze in the system. The delivery man apologized and said it would take about 30 minutes to get it ready and wondered if we minded waiting. So they got it ready and moved it to *******************. To re-cap: I was told by the person closing my sale that I had agreed to a Pro-Pack detail package (I did not) and that it was already completed, only to find that the RV hadn't even had the de-winterization completed by their maintenance technicians, let alone any detailing. From my point of view, Big Country RV tried to pressure me into agreeing to a $2,500 price adder at signing, with the hope I would agree AND their employees wouldn't have to be paid to complete the detail package. Once the RV was set in place and we were moving in, we thought we noticed the smell of LP but we didn't worry too much as the LP alarm was not going off. Fast forward about three weeks to when the gas delivery company comes to hook up a larger tank for us to use for the winter. Before they can hook up their line he is required to do a search for leaks. He found two leaks. One seemed to be coming from under or around the stove and the other was around the water heater. At that point he says something must be wrong with the LP detector as the leaks are plenty to have caused it to activate. He proceeds to check it and FINDS THAT IT HAD BEEN DISCONNECTED! Instead of fixing the gas leak, someone unhooked the sensor. He fixed it for us and then deactivated it as it went off sensing the LP in the air. He was kind enough to fix the leak under the stove but couldn't do any more as he had already fixed the LP detector and had spent too much time. He said by law they have to check these things and was surprised to see the leaks along with a disabled LP detector. He said we would have to get the leaks repaired before he could hook us up. This was all happening when the first and only real cold snap had hit Bend. Temperatures were well below 0. I had to keep unhooking the small tanks and getting them filled at the gas station almost daily to make it until something could be done about the leaks. It was a nightmare. So our purchase included dishonesty by adding on something we never asked for and adding it to our loan only to find out later it was never even done, and then the negligence in relation to the LP sensor and leaks that have put my families safety at risk. The Sales Manager (**** *******) has been condescending and rude throughout the process, letting us know that any form of restitution is "OUT OF HIS BUDGET"! I have video of Big Country's repair man coming to deal with the leaks. In these videos, the repair man does not say there is a gas leak, rather he says "well, there are bubbles coming from this connection, but it's fixed now". BUBBLES indicate a leak! You check for gas leaks by spraying a soap and water solution onto the connections and checking for soap bubbles caused by escaping gas. After being pressed for further information, he admitted someone dropped the ball on this one. It should also be noted that more gas leaks developed soon after the Big Country RV technician "fixed" the leaks. I was informed by neighbors in the RV park that they had witnessed flames emanating from the side of the RV, leaving a black burnt residue roughly one foot in diameter. When I called Big Country to have the leaks addressed, I was told that there was no one available to fix them, and that I should just open the roof vents and the gas would vent. Keep in mind my family lives in this unit, and the gentleman I spoke with was aware of this. I hesitate to call anyone stupid, but to say that opening the roof vents will allow the propane fumes to rise out of the RV is absurd. LP is heavier than air (50% heavier), and it will pool in low points. I will be posting the video of the technician's visit on YouTube. I will also seek a lawyer in addition to this complaint if reasonable restitution is not offered. Big Country RV has been dishonest and negligent. In addition to endangering my family, I have wasted no less than two full working days in trying to negotiate a reasonable settlement. I need to be made whole again. Thanks for any help you can offer.

Desired Settlement: Full refund plus reasonable settlement for time wasted and negligence

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/09) */ May 6, 2014 Better Business Bureau Case # XXXXXXXX This letter is in response to the complaint filed by *******, ****. On November 16, 2013 *** ******* ******* came to Big Country RV and purchased a 2001 Dutchman Fourwinds 5th wheel. On November 23rd, 2013 *** ******* ******* did a walk thru of his 5th wheel with our service department and we delivered the unit. December 17th, 2013 is the first time Big Country RV was aware of any issues with *** ******* 2001 Dutchman 5th wheel. On December 17, 2013 we received a phone call from Mr. ******* saying there was a gas leak. We in turn immediately sent a service technician to address any problems. Our service technician did a leak down test and found a fitting at the water heater that needed tightening. After our technician tightened the fitting and installed a new LPG leak detector he rechecked the gas test. The repair passed *** test. On December 31, 2013 *** ******* and his father **** called and stated that they could have been blown up and they wanted restitution. When we asked what they were thinking they stated that we are not going to play that game and open up your check book. We then again asked what they wanted and they stated they wanted Big Country RV to payoff their loan and let them to keep the 5th wheel. We felt this was an outrageous demand and at that time Big Country RV has offered to give *** ******* ******* his money back in lieu of the 5th wheel. *** ******* ******* and his father stated that, that was the dumbest thing they had ever heard, as they were staying in the unit and needed somewhere to stay. Again we offered that we would give back their money. When they stated giving them their money back wasn't an option we then proceeded to offer to trade them out of there unit and into something else. We made a verbal agreement that Big Country RV would sell them a unit of their choice at our cost and give them all their money back on their previous purchase. They chose a 2006 Landmark 35ft quad slide 5th wheel and asked what the cost would be and what the difference would be. Our wholesale cost was $25,000.00 dollars and we were giving them their full purchase amount on their trade. They felt the numbers were good however; they wanted to make sure the unit worked for their family. On January 9th, 2014 *** **** ******* sent was an email stating they decided that the 2006 Landmark will best suit their needs and they were comfortable with the final price $25,000.00 but would like the following issues addressed: Replace 6 tires, Install washer/dryer unit, Shower door repair or replaced, Install fireplace in living room, Apply new decals, Install diamond plating to cover wrinkling on front exterior and Inspect bowing on underside and address if necessary. After reviewing *** ******* demands we came to the conclusion i.e.: Replace 6 tires, Install washer/dryer unit, Install fireplace in living room, Apply new decals would cost well over $6,000.00 dollars. After telling Mr. ******* that we would sell him the new unit at our cost and giving him all his money back on his trade we felt this was an unrealistic demand since when he called we immediately fixed his initial problem. Big Country RV advised Mr. ******* that we would replace 2 tires not 6 and that we would not be installing a washer/dryer unit, not installing a fireplace. We would however repair the shower door, install diamond plating to cover wrinkling on front exterior and inspect bowing on underside and address if necessary, as well as contact the manufacture ********* for decals. If the decals were available we would purchase the set however Mr. ******* was to install them. Mr. ******* came in on February 14th, 2014 to do a walk thru on the 2006 Landmark. Before we started the walk thru we took Mr. ******* back to our service department and parts department so they could explain our finding about the graphics package with ********** At that point he was advised that ********* no longer makes the graphics as it was a 2006 unit that was 8 year old. Mr. ******* stated he wanted all new graphics and we advised him we wouldn't do that but, we would find out how much they would cost from an outside source and get them if he put them on. Mr. ******* got mad and he started yelling profanities and became outraged. Mr. ******* wife asked him to calm down. Mr. ******* started yelling "that is ******* ridiculous". Mr. ******* calmed down and went into sales office where **** ******* told him if this was not the right unit for him we had a bunk model 5th wheel. Mr. ******* wife wanted to see it however Mr. ******* said NO. We didn't think they will ever be happy and will always be trying to get something for nothing. **** ******* spoke with Mr. ******* on February 17th, 2014 @ 3:45 pm telling him that the Landmark was ready once again. We changed the slide-out topper with a new one, shampooed the carpet and furniture and contacted a graphics company to come out get give an estimate for new decals. Mr. ******* stated that he wanted to not come in to get the unit until the graphics were installed on the unit. **** ******* reminded Mr. ******* that we agreed that we would only get the decals and he would put them on. Mr. ******* starting yelling and cursing once again and said that he knew that is what we were going to do and if that was the case he wanted 8 batteries. We told him that we were all in with what we had already done. Mr. ******* started yelling again and said he was going to turn us into the Better Business Bureau. **** ******* stated that he would be more than happy to give him all of his money back and all his payments made to date and take their original purchase price back in full. **** ******* reiterated that we agreed to supply the graphics and he was to put them on. Mr. ******* then changed his story and said he wanted to see how much the graphic set would be. We told him once we got the estimate we would forward it to him. Mr. ******* said that would be fine. The graphic quote was forwarded to Mr. ******* on February 20th, 2014. Mr. ******* replied on February 20th, 2014 stating that the graphics company must not need the business and that maybe we should contact a different graphics company. Mr. ******* wanted to return when his son can be with him. Mr. ******* also wanted to show some kind of a video he had on his phone. **** ******* replied to Mr. ******* email on February 20th, 2014 again telling him that he didn't have to purchase the Landmark and that we were just trying to make him happy as that is what our goal is and has always been. Summary: Mr. ******* Sr. has yelled, screamed, threaten 3 or more of Big Country RV's employees. Big Country RV has made numerous attempts to give this customer back his money in full and has also tried to trade him into another unit. With nothing making Mr. ******* Sr. happy. Regarding the consumer's desired resolution: A full refund this has been offer multiple times to Mr. ******* as far back as of December 31, 2013. We have even tried to trade him into another unit with a full refund on his XXXX Xth wheel and a refund for all his payments made on his loan. As for the time wasted we feel there should be no settlement as we have tried to meet all his demands. As for negligence we feel there is no negligence on Big Country RV. We sent a service technician to his location as soon as we were called about the gas leak and made the appropriate repairs. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Before getting into the specifics of why Big Country's response is inaccurate, below is a list of the issues: -Unauthorized addition of the Pro Pack detail package to my loan. -Insistence by Big Country sales staff that the Pro Pack had already been completed, when the service department (who would oversee or complete the Pro Pack detailing) stated that no such detailing had occurred. -State-mandated LP system integrity checks were not completed. The manufacturer-installed gas leak detection system was found to be disconnected by ******** ****** (LP supply company) when they came to connect a larger LP tank to the RV. -The Big Country service technician that repaired the gas leaks discovered by ******** ****** attempted to hide the fact that he did discover and repair leaks in the LP system. -I agreed to trade the RV I originally purchased, the 2001 Dutchman, for a 2006 Landmark, with the caveat that the following items would be addressed: replace tires (all very near or past the wear indicators), install previously removed washer/dryer unit, repair or replace shower door, install fireplace (optional equipment for the model), apply new decals (current decals were cracked and faded from UV damage), install diamond plating to cover wrinkling on front exterior, inspect bowing on front underside and address if necessary, replace the 8 leaking batteries that service the existing solar panels, and replacement of the damaged slide out awning. A verbal agreement was made with regard to the above items, and upon inspection of the unit, the agreed upon repairs were not made. The inverter had even been removed from the solar panel system. Big Country has overpromised verbally on multiple occasions. -We were not offered a "full refund" for our unit. We were told that the loan would paid off in full. Having made multiple loan payments and placing a $2,500 cash down payment, having my loan paid off was not an option. Via email we were promised a "full refund", but this promise was hamstrung with caveats once the deal was discussed verbally. Big Country's claim that they were only notified of issues approximately 3 weeks after delivery of the unit is correct. My family assumed that the gas leak detection system (located on the interior of the RV next to the entrance) would detect any leaks and the smell of rotten eggs must be a remnant of the previous owners. Had we not contacted ******** ****** to install a larger LP tank, we may not have discovered the leaks until someone either became ill from propane inhalation or a fire or explosion occurred. After being pressed, the service technician who arrived to repair the gas leaks admitted that "someone dropped the ball" on the gas leak check and the disconnected gas leak detection system. The issue is not Big Country's response time, but rather that they were negligent in not completing the state-mandated inspections that would have uncovered these issues before the RV came into my possession. Negligence is defined as a failure to exercise the care that a reasonably prudent person would exercise in like circumstances. Because these inspections are required by law for businesses like Big Country RV, it follows that Big Country was negligent in not completing them. Big Country is quick to point out my family's, and specifically my father's anger in trying to reach a reasonable agreement for restitution. Our interactions have always begun in a calm and respectful manner. Any reasonable individual would be angry after the Pro Pack incident. In an effort to be reasonable, neither myself nor my father made a scene over the unauthorized Pro Pack addition, OR the fact that it was purportedly completed when it was, in fact, not. Tempers only began to flare when it was discovered that my family could have been killed due to the propane leak. My family's proximity with death or serious injury is not an exaggeration. Big Country called our demands for restitution "outrageous", and yet they continually pressed us to tell them what we wanted, rather than make us a reasonable offer. This is a very standard sales technique. Why make an offer if the customer is willing to put out the first number? If the salesperson is lucky, the customer may be expecting a fraction of what the salesperson would have offered. Of course our first offer is going to more than we expect to get, that's what negotiation is. Instead of making a reasonable counter offer, Big Country simply replied "that's not going to work with my budget". If my offer is unreasonable and the other party will not make a counter offer, the negotiation does not move forward. Only after I made several suggestions was any sort of restitution offered. After some actual negotiation started occurring, myself and my father handled the interactions with Big Country in a calm, respectful manner. Tempers flared again when verbal agreements were broken. Big Country stated that the bowing present on the front underside of the unit offered for trade. Later we were told that the unit was ready per our agreement, only to find that Big Country had only completed the portions they felt were sufficient. A Big Country service technician stated that the bowing was actually delamination caused by flexing around the hitch connection. The service technician told us that Mr. ******* should not have told us it could be repaired, because it couldn't be, and that he "doesn't know his head from his ***". From my perspective, this indicates that Mr. ******* makes a habit of promising things that he may not be able to follow through on. No threats have been made by myself, or my father, other than promising to get the word out that Big Country RV's sales team took lessons in selling RVs from ******* ** **** as ***** ********** in the movie Fargo. It's just like the "special undercoat and paint protection" that was so popular at car dealerships in the 80s and 90s. Rather than waging a social media war against the whole company, we tried to reach an agreement in a civil manner. I've been treated as though my time is worthless; like I'm a free rider "trying to get something for nothing" as Big Country put it. Big Country told us that their sales people are instructed to treat each customer as though that person is their grandmother. Just thinking of that statement and the way I've been treated makes the bile rise in my throat. Any one of the complaints I listed at the start would be enough for a reasonable person to demand restitution, let alone all of them taken together. A full refund including payoff of my loan, the payments made thus far, and my cash deposit is an unacceptable minimum. Instead of skirting the issues, Big Country needs to tell me what they're going to do to make this right, as I've given them many options. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/03) */ June 2, 2014 Better Business Bureau Case # XXXXXXXX This letter is in response to the complaint filed by *******, ****. Big Country RV, Inc. has made numerous attempts to please Mr. **** ******* regarding his 2001 Fourwinds. We have offered to refund his money, payments, repair his unit and help Mr. **** ******* find another unit to fit his needs. After numerous attempts in trying to come up with a solution for Mr. **** ******* Big Country RV, Inc. feels sorry that there is nothing we can do to please Mr. **** ******* and resolve this matter.

3/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service