This business is not BBB accredited.

Realty West Properties Inc

Phone: (206) 242-2627 View Additional Phone Numbers 804 SW 148th St, Burien, WA 98166 http://www.realtywest.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management and real estate.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Realty West Properties Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Realty West Properties Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 01/01/1974 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing Real Estate
2000 4th Ave W, Olympia WA 98502
http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/realestate
Phone Number: (360) 664-6488
realestate@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Boyd Watkins, President Ms. Susan Watkins
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Boyd Watkins, President
Business Category

Real Estate Property Management


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    804 SW 148th St

    Burien, WA 98166 (253) 884-5454 (800) 350-3028 (800) 350-3028 (206) 242-2627

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: unfit house to rent. They rented us a home knowing that it had unsealed windows downstairs. They were also aware that because of the unsealed windows water would get into the house and cause mold.The moisture from the windows allowed bugs to breed and caused a giant spider and beetle infestation. We had to bug bomb the house several times. They rented us a house that had no washer and dryer after saying in their ad that they did. The wires leading to a light in one of the rooms were bare and showing, making it dangerous to turn on the power to that room. The laundry room has faulty foundation that they failed to mention upon showing us the property. The walls had zero insulation in them. It was literally impossible to keep heated. There are drooping power lines that run over the backyard making it impossible to do anything back there without possibly catching on them. Fire place had insulation stuff up in the flute causing back draft smoke to come into the house if you tried to use the fire place. We had to have someone come in and climb on the roof to get it out just to use our fire place. The plumbing was messed up in the kitchen making it back up any time you tried to do the dishes.

Desired Settlement: compensation. 6000. 5600 for the rent paid in, only paid for because we were forced into a lease without being told of the dangers of the house, dangers that the company was well aware of. the other 400 is for the doctor bills that occurred from the mildew and mold downstairs caused by an unsealed window.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/09/03) */ To BBB: We received the complaint from the consumer. When we rented the home to them, we had them meet our manager at the house. At the time, they walked through the home, signed the lease and an initial condition report. My manager felt that the tenants were happy with the condition of the house and happy to sign the lease at the time. Shortly after they moved in, there was a sewage back up into the basement of the house. When we were informed of the back-up, my work crew boss immediately went over to the house to unclog the sewer and remediate the damage. We removed all the wet carpeting and pad, dried out the floors, assessed the walls for damage but found none and finally put in new carpet and pad. This was the only time that we heard from the tenants regarding any damage to the house. We received no written requests from the tenants regarding issues with the house. My work crew boss received no phone calls from the tenants about concerns they had at the house. Until this moment, we were not aware of tenants complaints about the condition of the house. When the tenants were in the process of moving out of the house, my work crew boss stopped by the house to find out what was going on with the tenants. They had not sent us notice they were moving from the house until 8/22/2014, which is a clear violation of the landlord tenant act. The tenant mentioned the window in the basement that was unsealed. My work crew boss has ordered a replacement for it, but was not told that it was an issue prior to this moment. The tenants big concern was being charged for the window in which my work crew boss responded that it was not anything they would be charged for. As they left the house in good, clean condition upon moving out. In regards to the washer and dryer issue, we had several conversations with the tenants both before and after we rented the home about this issue. We advertise all of our rentals with no washer and dryers provided. We utilize ******** and ********** for our advertising. *******s is a website that syndicates to other websites to give us broader marketing coverage. On one of the syndicated sites, ******, made reference to laundry facilities at the house. At the time, I looked up the ****** description of the house so I could verify what the tenant was talking about. On ******'s website, they put a disclaimer out for the data they collect. This is the disclaimer they put: Disclaimer The information in this column combines data from broker listing feeds, user-submitted information, and county records. The information in the 'county records' column contains only what is recorded in county records. We talked with tenants when this issue came up stating we don't advertise that we provide washer and dryer. They signed the lease with no question about the washer or dryer. In our ******* ad, it only states that we provide laundry hookups at the house. I tried at length to explain to the tenants about this issue and where they were getting their information from on ****** is being combined from numerous different sources. Apparently, it is still a hot button issue with them to this day. We feel this complaint is an attempt by the previous tenants to slander our company. If they were seriously unhappy with the way they were treated and the condition of the house, they should have brought these items to our attention sooner rather than after they have moved out of the house. We would have been happy to resolve some of the issues they have talked about, ie the window, the fireplace being blocked, the kitchen plumbing, the exposed wires. This house had been purchased as a new rental and we had gone through the house to solve as many issues that come up when you are working on a remodel project. We catch as many things as our work crew can and fix them, but find that some things come up after a tenant has lived in the house for a little while. The tenants never gave us an opportunity to fix those concerns before submitting a complaint to the BBB without following their responsibilities as tenants to inform us of what is going on is unfair to us. If they truly felt the house was dangerous, we would have be glad to have a conversation about it and if they really wanted out of the lease, my owner is not against terminating the lease. Again, we were never given the chance to address or talk with the tenants about any of these concerns about the house condition or their desire to end the lease. We can provide a copy of the lease and initial condition report for the house to show everyone signed off on the condition of the house.