This business is not BBB accredited.

WinePress Publishing LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 802-9758 Fax: (360) 802-9992 View Additional Phone Numbers 1730 Railroad St, Enumclaw, WA 98022 http://www.winepresspublishing.com

! There is an alert on WinePress Publishing LLC !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a Christian custom publishing company.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on WinePress Publishing LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 25, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mike Owens, Publishing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Owens, Publishing Manager
Business Category

Publishers - Book

Alternate Business Names
Annotation Press Notation Group Pleasantword UpWrite Books

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1730 Railroad St

    Enumclaw, WA 98022 (800) 326-4674 (360) 802-9758

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 428

    Enumclaw, WA 98022

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Numerous contracts with this company were breached upon sudden closure of the business without notice. Contract violations include unpaid royalty payments in the amount of ~$1100(company has not filed bankruptcy), book inventory in warehouse not returned, continuance of book property being sold with no compensation to the author (me) and transfer of website domain inaccessible upon request. All complaints were attempted to be addressed multiple times in multiple ways without response.

Desired Settlement: 1) Print book royalty payment of $983.54 in accordance to their own records 2) E-book royalty payment of $154.66 in accordance to their own records 3) Return of remaining books in inventory (14 in accordance to their own records) stored in the company warehouse 4) Transfer of the website domain www.**************************.com to me or a designated company. Also the files of the current website created by WinePress Publishing that I paid for.

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into a written contract with WinePress Publishing in Oct 2013 to publish a Christian childrens book. I paid them $2850 in full for the services on Oct 16, 2013. They worked with me on the publishing project and I met all my requirements and deadlines. They edited the manuscript and the next step was for them to send it to typesetting once my illustrator completed illustrations. I had already started paying my illustrator for his services. I tried logging in to the WinePress site to contact my publishing manager for him to review some of the illustrations and to discuss them starting on the book cover. The site was down. I tried calling them multiple times with no response. I tried emailing them. I am not able to contact them at this time. On the WinePress website is a note from 16 Jan 2014 stating they are closing their business. I was not notified of this by them and had to find out on my own. They have not provided the full services they promised and I am left holding an unfinished project with no options at this time and am out $2850 that I have no idea how to recoupe.

Desired Settlement: I just want my $2850 back so I can attempt to seek another publisher to start the process again to have my book published.

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into contract with Wine Press Publishing in June of 2012. I've been working with them for the last 18 months to independently publish my book, **********************. 1.)I filed a complaint with them in November of last year because they were far over the original predicted time of publication. A manager was put in charge of my project and said it was now on the fast track. 2.)Early January they asked for another $3000 because they said I was ready to go to print with the manuscript. I've paid them $11,272.40 so far and we were in the finally phase of printing my manuscript. 3.) I have received no communication from them regarding a bankruptcy or business closure. 4.) I cannot email, call, or fax the company. 5.) I sent a certified letter requesting information on Friday (1-17) and have not heard from them. Objectives: 1. Minimally find out what happened to the company 2. A refund for breach of contract.

Desired Settlement: There's no way they can give me back the last two years of my life ... I've waited and worked with them in good faith to produce a book. They have a 'no gossiping' policy in the contract which kept me from filing a complaint with BBB much sooner. I kept my end of the contract but they did not I would like to a full refund of all fees paid $11,272.40. And I would like to know the status of my rights regarding the book as it stands currently. (Can I take the manuscript to another publisher or am I still bound by the contract I signed in June 2012?)

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WinePress Publishing has withheld royalties from the sale of my book. They also went out of business suddenly without providing adequate information to it's authors, me being one of them. There are multiple issues with the company.

Desired Settlement: I simply want people warned not to do business with this company. They will lose money and not see their contract honored. If there is a class action lawsuit in the future, I would be interested in being a part of it.

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WinePress Publishing closed without any communication to their authors, but to make madders worse, they are not giving me any of the royalties I have coming on my book. I spend thousands of dollars with them to publish the book in the expressed written contact that they would pay me royalties.

Desired Settlement: At the very least, I would expect all royalties to be paid in full, both paperback book and ebooks, and all money allocated out to restart the publishing process with another publisher.

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $9,000 or more to have a book re-write, edited, a bar code/#, and many other service...and to get the book published (with 30 copies free) and other services. I received a very poor re-write....but nothing else. Now I find that they are suddenly closing....with no money back, no book, etc. My friends paid for this book because of my dire health situation. Now their money is all lost and no book.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back...or the services I paid for. Since they suddenly are closing, I know I would not get my services and book. So I would like most of my money back. It was close to $9,000 US.

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a publishing contract with this company. I have tried to contact them via website, phone and email and none of those avenues are working now. According to Enumclaw Chamber of Commerce, the rumor is that WinePress has gone out of business. I have not been notified of that. They do owe me royalties on books sold. I cannot order more copies of my book.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know if it is true that WinePress Publishing has closed their doors and what recourse I have against them.

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WinePress was to publish my book titled **************. Suddenly they closed down the ways of contacting them. I had paid them over $1700.

Desired Settlement: I want either to have my book published, along with the other services such as help selling it, which they had promised,or I want my money returned.

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ENTERED INTO AN AGREEMENT FOR WINEPRESS PUBLISHING TO PUBLISH A BOOK THAT I HAVE AUTHORED. WE ARE CURRENTLY IN THE PUBLISHING PROCESS. I ATTEMPTED TO LOG INTO THE THEIR CO-CAPTAIN WEBSITE WHICH I USE TO MANAGE THE BOOK PUBLISHING PROCESS BUT IT HAS BEEN TAKEN DOWN. I ATTEMPTED TO CALL THEIR OFFICE TO FIND OUT WHY THEIR WEBSITE IS DOWN AND THEY WILL NOT RETURN MY CALL. I WENT ON THEIR FACEBOOK PAGE AND OTHER AUTHORS ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEMS. THERE IS SOME AUTHORS SAYING THAT SOMETHING IS GOING ON WITH THE COMPANY. I LOOKED IN MY MAILBOX TODAY AND FOUND A CD WITH MY BOOK FILES ON IT THAT I RECEIVED BACK FROM THE COMPANY BUT THERE WERE NO OTHER INSTRUCTIONS. I WOULD LIKE TO FIND OUT WHAT IS GOING ON. I HAVE PAID MY MONEY FOR THEM TO PRODUCE/PUBLISH MY BOOK BUT IT APPEARS THEY HAVE DISAPPEARED. ANY HELP YOU CAN GIVE ME WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

Desired Settlement: PLEASE PROVIDE ME WITH AN ANSWER AS TO WHAT IS GOING ON WITH THE COMPANY AND IF THEY HAVE SHUT DOWN OPERATIONS WHAT I SHOULD DO ABOUT THIS.

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an author contracted with WinePress. It has been reported by other authors contracted with WinePress that WinePress has gone out of business and is not honoring contracts. WinePress owes me royalties for previous sales of my book SALUTE. All attempts to contact WinePress by phone or email have been unsuccessful. I have been unable to log in to my account. The server cannot be reached.

Desired Settlement: Acknowledge that royalties are owed to ******** ** ****** for her book *********** and pay those realities as agreed.

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Winepress Publishing has apparently gone out of business without warning me, an author, who has invested a good deal of money to have my book published and distributed. Communication just stopped at the beginning of 2014 with no more responses to my messages or phone calls. My book was soon to go to print. I did receive a CD with some author files on it (with no explanation) which I appreciate. However, I do not know if all the files will open and it seems some of the files do not contain my most recently updated information, meaning I may need to pay someone to reproduce them. I am especially concerned that I have not received my website files as this will harm my book sales if my website goes down unexpectedly. I would greatly appreciate if Winepress would transfer these website files to me so I can upload them to the new web hosting site.I do understand that going out of business was probably not the intention of Winepress, but some advance notice would have been helpful in order to allow authors to get their files transferred more smoothly. Product_Or_Service: Publishing Agreement

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like all files transferred to me for book, cover, website, video book trailer, publicity materials(press kit, bookmarks, business cards, postcards)so they can be edited and printed as I need. I would like to have the rights to turn these files over to another printer immediately so that I can get my book printed now. I would like a refund for the services Winepress did deliver that I paid for, such as marketing coaching services, audio interview, and e-book production.

11/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues