BBB Accredited Business since

RJ Property Management LLC

Phone: (360) 828-5164 Fax: (888) 598-5688 PO Box 820385, Vancouver, WA 98682 http://www.rjhoamgmt.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management for associations.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that RJ Property Management LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for RJ Property Management LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on RJ Property Management LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 16, 2012 Business started: 09/01/2005 in WA Business started locally: 09/01/2005 Business incorporated 05/09/2011 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Robert Saleg, Member Mrs. Judy Saleg, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Saleg, Member
Business Category

Property Management Residential Property Managers (NAICS: 531311)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 820385

    Vancouver, WA 98682 (360) 828-5164

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in April 2014, we received a mail about the drainage issue in our neighborhood and our retaining wall (built in 2011) was suspected to be the cause of the flooding. We took action immediately and had both drain expert and building officials from the city of Camas to investigate the issue. Rounds and rounds of site visits and studies have shown that it is not our problem, e.g., no water from our property is running onto neighboring property. Later on it turned out that no area drain was found in our adjacent property and their water flows over to the neighboring properties including ours. This problem was fixed by installing a catch basin on their property in November. During this process, we mentioned to our HOA that if the cause and responsibility couldn't be clearly identified, we were willing to chip in with the neighbors to share the cost, as a courtesy. Then in December, we received a billing notice from RJ property management that asked us to pay all the cost of the project. We were very surprised and when I asked **** to explain, she came back to us with three unfounded and false claims: 1. She said we put up the wall without ACC approval and we were told to stop during the construction. The truth is: when we built the wall in 2011, there was no HOA in our neighborhood. We check with the city building department about the permit and were told that we didn't need one since the wall is less than 4 ft. The claim that "they told you to stop" is completely out of nowhere. 2. She claims that our wall damaged the drainage system without any proof or evidence. Instead, we have already shown that our wall has nothing to do with the issue with an drain expert and the city building official during their onsite investigate in May. And we have communicated all the information clearly with the president of our HOA. 3. She said County rules stated that you cannot cause water from your property to be diverted onto another Owners property. However, any surface water from our property finds its way into the drain rock and into the drain pipe attached to the HOA drain. We were very offended by these unfounded and false accusations, and the bill she sent us without any solid proof or evidence.

Desired Settlement: We need RJ management to withdraw this unsubstantiated billing and apologize.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/13) */ We are sorry to see that the complainant is under the misunderstanding that this is Rj Property Management trying to collect funds on our behalf. We are a Property Management Company and we work for the Association and take our direction from the Board, yes we do give Boards advice but the final decision or actions are directed by the Homeowners Board. The Associations Board as well as the homeowners have to follow guidelines that they were given at time of closing and once purchasing their property agree to follow. These guidelines are State RCW's (HOA and Non-Profit), Associations CC&R's, Associations Bylaws and ACC Guidelines and these guidelines give the Board the power and the process on how to handle each case. In this case the complainant had put in a retaining wall without ACC approval and they happened to put the retaining wall over the existing drainage system that was installed by the Developer. By putting the retaining wall where they did on their property it caused water (rain water and irrigation water) to run down on to the neighboring Owners property. This also caused the neighbor to have standing water on their property. The Association took all the appropriate steps by having independent drainage experts come and investigate the cause of the standing water. They all came up with the same solution and cause, so the Board then got bids on fixing the problem, and with the help of the drainage experts were able to give the Association the breakdown of which Owner should pay what or how much of the bill. During this process the Board President was in communication with the complainant letting them know what was found and how it would be corrected. Needless to say the Association had the work done to correct the water problem and had Rj Property Management (the Management Company for the Association) bill out the costs per the approved breakdown of the charges. (See the attached documents) the billing date was 12/3/14. The Complainant was given time to pay the invoice or to contact us for any needed information, in fact on 12/28/14 an email was sent in response to the complainants email on 12/23/14 where the complainant was offered the right to ask for a hearing and to provide in writing why they did not agree with these charges. The complainant did not contact us any further they did contact the Board President (see copies of their emails) and the complainant decided to pay the invoice and on their part do further investigation. The Board and Rj Property Management do not know why this complaint was lodged against our company since we take our directions from the Board and were following the Associations Governing Documents. The Board is willing to do what is needed by the BBC to back up our report of events. Please let us know if you need any other information or documents. Please review the attached documents that include the original statement and email correspondences between Board President (***** ****** Complainant and Property Management (**** *****). ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The bill and the letter were directly from RJ Property - the statements in the letter as well as this response (that our retaining wall blocked the drainage system and caused water to run down...) were never confirmed by any evidence - instead our investigation showed that all the water from our property ran into the drain pipe - that's why we filed this unsubstantiated billing complaint. RJ informed the HOA board about the complaint and the president told us it was wrong to file this complaint. Then they gave us a very short deadline (9-hour) to decide on the payment. We asked for the itemized invoice from the drainage company (which was not provided with the initial bill), and paid the amount. This experience with HOA and RJ Property was very unsatisfactory and we believe we were treated unfairly. We are now seeking further help, both technical and legal, to protect our right. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/03) */ Do to family health issues i was unable to send this until today. The first thing that needs to be understood is we are the Agent for the Associations Board of Directors. We have no power over the association or the Boards decisions, we take our direction from them. We have asked them to bring this before the Board to Discuss this issue. They have not requested a hearing but have setup one for the 28th of this month to discuss this. If you need to see a copy of our Contract with the Association we can provide that for you. Please understand that we are directed directly from the Board of Directors on all actions concerning this issue. All letters and correspondences with the owner on this topic have been directed and approved by the Board - as is all the topic sited as to diagnostic and resolution of the water problem. The Only true resolution according to their Governing Documents that are recorded with the County and the owners when purchasing there property signed to is to have this problem resolved with the Board of Directors at a hearing. My Company is only acting on direction of the Board of Directors for the Association and is charging what the Board of Directors have directed us to charge.