BBB Accredited Business since

Port Gardner Property Management Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (425) 339-1160 Fax: (425) 303-0257 2907 Hewitt Ave, Everett, WA 98201 http://www.PortGardnerMgmt.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Port Gardner Property Management Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Port Gardner Property Management Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Port Gardner Property Management Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2003 Business started: 08/01/1994 Business started locally: 08/01/1994 Business incorporated 08/01/1997 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Gish, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Gish, President
Business Category

Property Management


Additional Locations

  • 2907 Hewitt Ave

    Everett, WA 98201 (425) 339-1160

  • PO Box 1007

    Everett, WA 98206

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company failed to address tenant disruption issues

Desired Settlement: Terminate lease agreement

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/13) */ The Unit owner notes that she is not satisfied management addressing her concerns with another unit owner's tenants. There have been no other complaints received from other unit owners (including the unit owner directly next to the tenants) regarding the tenants that she refers to. The Condominium Board is aware of the situation and is of the opinion that the complaints made are not reasonable and do not rise to the level where management should take any action other than to notify the complainee that no rule violation was made to address. The condominium board has written a letter stating their position in support of management and I will attach for the BBB records. I am not sure that we will reach resolution in this complaint other than to agree to disagree, however we remain open to communication. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/09/10) */ September 6,2014 Re: Case No XXXXXXXX: Port Gardner Property Management, Inc. In response to your letter dated August 28, 2014, I've discussed with the Management Representative, **** ********** both verbally and by email. I also heard from Port Gardner's President, *** ****, *** In all contacts, they have asserted that I was the problem. They have attempted to isolate me from the community of other 16 homeowners at the complex. Over time, they have basically invalidated my concerns and requests for action and explanation by being discourteous, dismissive, argumentative, defensive, offensive, and have used various tactics that didn't produce a solution to the existing problems and concerns. I had scheduled a meeting to discuss with them various concerns in person at a focal library conference room, and after due notification to them, no one appeared to represent their company. Their basic premise is that they make the decisions and policies about my community; they micromanage the HOA Board to foster actions in Port Gardner's favor and then blame the Board for their decisions. Examples of poor or no follow-up and inaccuracies are as follow: Emailing me scanned copies of another Homeowner Association's bills was a violation of that client's confidentiality. Not paying property taxes on the HOA's rental unit by 3/31/2014 is a violation of the By-laws. Failing to research the new owner of one of the Units for 7 to 8 months when this info was quickly viewable on the County Treasurer's website is gross irresponsibility. Failing to call an exterminator to address an infestation of insects in more than one Unit, forced me to contact the exterminator who then refused to show up; the contractor claimed *** ********* would have to authorize the visit before the infestation issue could be address. This is yet another example of overreach of the Board's and Port Gardner's authority. Very truly yours, ********* ******** ** *** **** Lynnwood, WA 98036-2064 Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/09/30) */ Mrs. ******** is entitled to her opinion. We try our best to be reasonable and sometimes what we think reasonable is not to another. The Board of Directors has indicated that they thought we have been reasonable and acted in the best interests of the association. I am sorry that this is unresolved on her end. If her desired result is lease termination of an association owned unit, that is up out of our hands and to the board of directors to make that decision.

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have emailed******* request the next Board Meeting Date, Time, and Location so we can speak with them regarding the ongoing issue with our unit. I.E.: Rat infestation in our Attic, Tree Trimming to prevent Rats from getting access to the building. The puddle of water right at the steps of the stair way that freezes in the winter time which someone might slip on.

Desired Settlement: Just a simple answer and timely response with Maintenance items. I would like the BBB to obtain a meeting date from ****** and request that he place my issue on the Board's agenda for the above issues. My next door neighbor gets no answer from ******. You are welcome to call him. His name is ***** ************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/25) */ I believe this issue has been resolved and communication and response time between the manager and the unit owner has improved. I have been cc'd on the numerous email chains between the parties and an incomplete performance by a maintenance vendor made this situation more challenging. If I am mistaken and the issue remains unresolved, please let me know so we can further discuss and address. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My other complain Case #XXXXXXXX please read whole complaint requested compensation for the cost of the electricity to run our dryer 5 hours to dry a load of clothing a request for cleaning of my dryer vent was mailed in with our HOA dues November 2013 the HOA Dues check was cashed but the written letter when unanswered. After many requests the dryer vent was finally cleaned in late April 2014 after then cleaning occurred the dryer took less than an hour to dry a load of clothing. My electricity for this Month is no 86 dollars. On average for the winter is 130-150 it was 200+ in January 2014. If compensation isn't paid by Port Gardner we will be seeking a small court case claims case against them. I am willing to submit our power bills for review unless they just want to settle on an agreeable amount. The rodent issue has been taken care of. Still pending the now ongoing request for compensation on the dryer since they failed to clean the dryer vent when requested mid November 2013 Final Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2014/08/13) */ Contact Name and Title: *** **** *** President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@portgardnermgmt.com Port Gardner Management is more than willing to forward to the Association Board the request of reimbursement for mentioned increased utility bills. The unit owner should submit electricity bills to document increased electricity use from previous periods along with the request for reimbursement and we will forward to the Association board for their consideration. If the condominium board will not reimburse upon request, Port Gardner at that time would consider participating in reimbursement. I encourage the unit owner to correspond directly with me to achieve quicker results rather than addressing through third party BBB.

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live in a condo which uses Port Gardner as the property manager, specifically *** **** **. It is their responsibility to make repairs to the outside of the building in a timely manner. In July of 2013 I first alerted *** **** ** to an issue I had with my storage area door. The door is falling apart and is unable to be used. It was investigated and determined that the door was damaged because my upstairs neighbor's deck is improperly sealed and water is coming flowing down the wall onto my door. Nothing came of this. In November of 2013 I followed up with *** via phone and he said he would speak to ******* Construction regarding the issue. I followed up again in February 2014 and he said he would see what he would do to get the door fixed. ******* Construction came out, removed the door from the frame, peeled part of the deck (underneath) off, and left. I followed up with *** again in March 2014 about the door and he told me that it was an issue with the upstairs neighbor and that they would look into replacing the deck and door in summer 2014, but he asked if I was requesting that it be done sooner. Since I had already waited 9 months, I did reply that I wanted it done sooner. He never replied to this. In April 2014 I wrote *** another email asking for a status report, and he has still not replied. At this point, the door on my storage area is completely, and utterly unusable. My items in the storage are exposed to the elements and this is unacceptable. I pay my dues, and in return they are required to keep all parts under their domain in usable condition, which they are failing to do.

Desired Settlement: I would like my storage door replaced immediately. I would also like the deck attached to my unit to be repaired to a condition that is safe and usable.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/17) */ This is a severely financially challenged condominium association with numerous major maintenance needs and little money in reserves to be able to make all repairs as quick as one would normally be able to make. The storage room door has been replaced recently and hopefully this issue is resolved. In this case the storage room door failed as a result of a waterproofing deck failure from the deck above. To repair that deck is in excess of $5000.00 and the Association would prefer to make several deck repairs all at once to achieve cost savings rather than make one deck repair at at time as several are in need of repair. Currently there is about ********** of reserve funds for this association. Changing out the door prior to making the deck repair is not necessarily the best decision, but taking into account the unit owner request, it has been performed. I am sorry that it took longer than desired, but hopefully that helps explains the circumstances.