BBB Accredited Business since

Passadore Properties LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 292-8595 Fax: (503) 961-7877 13560 NW Springville Rd, Portland, OR 97229 http://www.passadoreproperties.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential property management.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Passadore Properties LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Passadore Properties LLC include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Passadore Properties LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Passadore Properties LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 26, 2012 Business started: 03/01/2008 Business started locally: 03/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Real Estate Agency
1177 Center St NE, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/REA
Phone Number: (503) 378-4170
orea.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Megan Nickelson Mr. Eddie Passadore, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Megan Nickelson
Customer Contact: Mr. Eddie Passadore, Member
Business Category

Property Management

Hours of Operation
9:00am - 6:00pm Monday - Friday
Closed Saturday and Sunday

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Passadore Properties LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1109 Acacia Ave

    Garibaldi, OR 97118

  • 13560 NW Springville Rd

    Portland, OR 97229 (503) 292-8595

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **See attached documents** See Multifamily NW Oregon Rental Agreement and related supporting documentation. I had my property (my house) rented out for a year and the tenant that lived there caused extensive damages, for which I spent $3500 (out of my pocket) to repair. The tenant belonged to the Home Forward program, which allows reimbursement to owners up to one month's rent. Upon the tenant vacating, I kept asking Passadore Properties (the property management company) if they had opened a case with Home Forward for reimbursement. They told me that Home Forward takes before and after pictures and they are doing their job. I asked for the details of where this was at in the process, asked for receipts on the charges they identified on their monthly statements, and to provide me details of how communications with Home Forward was coming along. They could not provide me straight answers and never provided me receipts. I did not trust that they were in communications with Home Forward, and was concerned about the time frame to submit a case with Home Forward. I hired a lawyer to draft a letter to help me communicate with them so I could obtain further information and receipts, which allow me to seek reimbursement with Home Forward. (I later found out from Home Forward's email that Passadore Properties had not opened a case with them, prior to me having opened a case, and thus, pictures after the tenant vacated were never taken by Home Forward.) During Home Forward's investigation of my case and upon having provided them all the receipts related to damages, Home Forward discovered that the Multifamily NW Oregon Rental Agreement, which indicates the security deposit is $3,160. Passadore Properties statements indicate the security deposit is $1,710. Home Forward told me that I could not obtain reimbursement from them until I resolve the discrepancy in the security deposit number. When I went to Passadore Properties' office to just ask on the security deposit number, he told me that I was not welcome there and to please leave the premises. Now, he claims that I owe them $703.88 in a Maintenance Item described on his monthly statement, which he has not explained and provided receipts. To Summarize, I have spent out of my pocket about $3,500 for damages done to my rental property, have not received a penny from the Security Deposit and was not able to obtain any money back from Home Forward because I could not obtain information and an explanation on the Security Deposit number from Passadore Properties. Likewise, these 3 Issues Remain Unexplained: (1) receipts to explain and justify charges applied toward Passadore Properties' security deposit number of $1,710, (2) receipts and detail to the Maintenance Item charge of $703.88 and (3) explanation of the difference in the Security Deposit being $3,160 on the Multifamily NW Oregon Rental Agreement and $1,710 as stated on Passadore Properties statements. As far as I am aware and the facts state, I am not owed anything to Passadore Properties. In fact, Passadore Properties owes me the one month's rental reimbursement, which I was not able to obtain from Home Forward because they misrepresented and withheld information from me. It appears to me they kept the full $3,160 security deposit (per the Multifamily NW Oregon Rental Agreement), failing to disclose or explain how the security deposit got allocated and now is charging me incorrectly $703.88 for a Maintenance Item, which cannot be explained.

Desired Settlement: Exact Adjustment: (1) Delete this $703.88 Maintenance Item charge on the statements, unless could provide me receipts and thorough explanation of how this charge is justified, (2) According to the facts and the way it appears, I am still owed from Passadore Properties one month rent of $1,450, as I missed the opportunity to get reimbursement from Home Forward due to insufficient and unclear information regarding the Security Deposit.

Business Response: We have the utmost respect for the Better Business Bureau and have appreciated the contribution they have made to helping resolve disputes in the past. However, we don't feel that this is the right venue to address Ms. Francetich's concerns. We are in an ongoing legal case with Ms. Francetich about these matters and feel that this complaint should either be postponed or resubmitted after the case is over. While we are sorry Ms. Francetich feels this way about the situation, our documents are in conflict with her claims. We believe the BBB is an appropriate venue for avoiding the courts and mediating minor disputes, of which this dispute is already in the courts and, by no means, minor or uncomplicated.

To briefly explain the complexities of this matter, we would like to make the BBB aware that there have been multiple times that Ms. Francetich arrived at our offices with a threatening demeanor and refused to leave. This most recently resulted in a very uncomfortable visit that required the intervention of the Multnomah County Sheriff. It was after this visit, and learning that Ms. Francetich and our president were in elementary school together, that we were advised to file a stalking order and pursue this matter in court.

If the BBB would like further information or more detail on this matter, we would be happy to supply this. However, for now, we are going to let the legal system do its job and let the truth of the matter surface in the courts.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All of Passadore Properties answers are lies. There was no intervention of the Multnomah County Sheriff. I have verified this last week if there was a sheriff dispatch that morning and there was no such incident. Also, there is no ongoing court matter, news to me, as I would know. Also, obviously, there is no stalking order and the fact that we attended the same elementary school has absolutely no relevance to this matter.
This matter has everything to do with the unprofessionalism and dishonesty posed by Passadore Properties. Please refer to the emails and documents provided to the BBB, including Passadore misinforming his own lawyer, double billing on statements, etc.
The only reason for which I went to the Passadore's office was due to the fact that he never provided me with answers to my questions or receipts for statements that he sent. He stated at the time of closing the account that I was owed $1400 from the security deposit but I never received any money from him and due to his lack of any communication I lost the opportunity to obtain reimbursement from Home Forward.
I just received another charge, 3 months later no less, from Passadore Properties, which only states "Maintenance Items" and no backup explanation and receipts to justify this charge. Last month's statement of $700 indicated double billings of some items. I cannot justify paying any charges by Passadore Properties without seeing clear actual receipts of the itemization.
Going back to my last point, Passadore Properties continues to ignore the difference of the Security deposit. Why/where is the difference between Passadore's security deposit of $1,710 and the $3,160, as stated per the Oregon Multifamily NW agreement?
I am not sure how the BBB will help in the matter. I have escalated this complaint to the State of Oregon, whom is currently reviewing all documents and investigating the business practices of Passadore Properties.

Consumer Response: I consider this issue resolved, there has been a settlement reached between me and the business.

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were told carpets in rental would be replaced due to urine and feces stains unable to be removed. After two carpet cleaning companies documented these stains were unsanitary and could not be removed by cleaning, passadore properties has failed to do as promised and replace this heavily solid carpet. This has been deemed a health issue and is currently preventing my family from moving into the home which has been on our possession since August 2nd. There has been little to no customer service or willingness to work through this issue. We are moving across country, our things arrive this Saturday, August 16th. Passadore has been aware of this and has been negligadble

Desired Settlement: Replacement of all carpets in home as previously discussed and agreed to by them. All out of pocket expenses related to my temporary living including meals as we do not have access to the kitchen we are renting from them, full service move and storage until repaired (this is a service I paid for and due to home not being ready will have to pay an additional $2400 minimum. Or full refund of all monies paid to ********* related to this rental expense and all out of pocket fees incited due to their lack of diligence and not fulfilling their commitment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/25) */ This matter was closed by our office shortly after filing of this claim by ***** and ****** *****, to this bureau. Please see the attached settlement and release document. We would like to request that this matter be closed by the BBB as well. Many thanks and please let us know if we can answer any further questions. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Passadore Properties to manage our 6 bedroom, 2400sqft house for 1.5 years. The property was 100% renovated and in pristine condition prior to the tenants move-in. Late during the tenancy, we decided to put the house on the market since we were losing money renting it, and instructed Passadore to increase the rental amount $55/month, from $1695 to $1750. Passadore did not increase the rent, and when we questioned them about it, they offered to pay the $55/month from their management fees for the remaining tenancy, but never did. This amounts to 3 months (March 1st to June 1st) of a reimbursement of $55/month totaling $165. We gave the tenants 60 days notice as required, and agreed the tenants could move out early since the home was receiving offers. There was no mention from Passadore of an early move out, so we expected the tenants to remain through July. We only found out of the tenants departure from our realtor, who happened to do a walk through and found the tenants in the process of departing. We also ended up short 1 month in rental income of $1750. When we confronted Passadore about the move out, they said they did not inform us because we had a realtor whom they had relinquished their management duties to. Although there was verbal agreement for the realtor to organize showings with the tenants, there was never any agreement with our realtor, nor agreement with Passadore to release them from their management duties or transfer them to the realtor. We do of course have record of Passadore charging us their entire management fees for the duration of the time the tenants remained in the house. Passadore has also charged us their management fees for the month the tenants were not even residing in the house. Passadore has also held our owners distribution payment for the month of May, the last months tenancy deposit. We have asked them to release the funds since May, but they have ignored us. This May payment amounts to $1525.50 ($1695 rent less $169.5 commissions). We did a final walk through with *****, the office manager and found the tenants left excessive damage to the walls including: nail holes, mounting hardware, holes in walls covered with plastic plates, botched up hole cover-ups which were not properly filled, sanded, or painted. The tenants tried to paint cover-up spots, but used the wrong color paint. Blue paint stands out on a gray wall, and ultra pure white does not blend with off white. Every room required re-patching of holes and painting, which required a total of 8 different colors of paint throughout. Every inch of the newly installed baseboards were scuffed, dented, and scratched, requiring repair and painting. The new hardwood flooring now has large prominent scratches and gouges, requiring replacement or re-sanding and staining to restore to the original condition. Every interior door was scratched and scuffed, and required re-painting. The granite kitchen counters were scratched and water stained. The Jenn-Air glass top electric downdraft cooktop was broken, with cracked and missing glass in two places, and required repair. Smoke detectors were found broken and laying on the bedroom floors. There were missing electrical wall plates. Bathroom cabinets were found with drill holes, apparently from fixtures that were then removed. The rear entry storm door had been removed and mounted upside down with the glass missing and the retractable screen broken. One bedroom screen had been busted through. The two garage door remotes were missing. We found a replacement external control panel along with a deactivated security system, none of which was ever mentioned, or approved by us. The newly installed carpets had excessive dirt, wear and tear to the extent that ***** ********* recommended we have them replaced. Our initial estimates for security deposit to be withheld from the tenants totaled $3886. After weeks of emails, phone discussions, collecting repair and replacement quotes, and discussions with ***** and ***** *********, we agreed to withhold $2094.49 from the tenant security deposit. Of that $2094.49 security deposit, Passadore would keep $409.49 for carpet cleaning instead of replacement, and we would be returned $1685 to try and restore the house to its original condition. In our opinion, other than with respect to placing tenants and deducting "management" fees, Passadore Properties did not manage the property or tenants. This was plainly clear by the eagerness with which they handed over their duties, yet continued to take commission. If there is any further doubt by anyone who reads this complaint, please review BBB complaint 9-30-2013 in which a tenant was charged for the same types of normal "wear and tear" cited in our complaint. Quite clearly, Passadore will bend the story as it suits in order to avoid doing the "unpleasant" part of the job for which they deduct management fees. In summary, allowing for all concessions and compromises we made with them, Passadore Properties owes us $1525.50 for the last month tenancy, $165 for management reimbursement fees, and $1685 in tenant security deposit that we agreed to with Passadore, totaling $3375.50. We will concede the $1750 for the one month in lost rental income, due to Passadore's negligence of not informing us of the tenant's early departure. Recently, Passadore has returned $2426.80 ($1525 last month tenancy and $901.80 security deposit) to us. However, they still owe us $948.70 in security deposit and management fee reimbursement, which they are not responding to.

Desired Settlement: In summary, allowing for all concessions and compromises we made with them, Passadore Properties owes us $1525.50 for the last month tenancy, $165 for management reimbursement fees, and $1685 in tenant security deposit that we agreed to with Passadore, totaling $3375.50. We will concede the $1750 for the one month in lost rental income, due to Passadore's negligence of not informing us of the tenant's early departure. Recently, Passadore has returned $2426.80 ($1525 last month tenancy and $901.80 security deposit) to us. However, they still owe us $948.70 in security deposit and management fee reimbursement, which they are not responding to.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/31) */ When we received this complaint, we were very surprised because we've had ongoing, steady and positive communication with the owners of this unit, ******* and ******* ********. Further, many of the most pointed complaints the ********* make are easily refuted by emails they've sent us. Fortunately, upon review of this complaint, we believe we are able to clear up and resolve nearly everything. Nonetheless, we look forward to the Better Business Bureau's assistance in helping to resolve this matter. The *********' claim that they instructed us to increase the rental amount by $55 a month, after deciding to put the house on the market, is correct. When we instructed the tenant that the rent would be increasing simultaneous to the house being listed for sale, the tenant said they would not be paying the increase and would, in fact, like the rent lowered for the inconvenience of having the home shown during their tenancy. ******* ******** called our office very upset that we hadn't initiated the increase and we explained that we didn't think it was fair to the tenant. We told them that if they were insistent on increasing the tenant's rent by $55 a month, despite the fact that they were inconveniencing their tenant with showings and ultimately displacing the tenant, that we would simply take the $55 a month out of our commissions and give it to the ********* directly. From our point of view, this was the best in customer service, sacrificing commissions we had earned to achieve a compromise and peace between a now inflated and upset tenant and a landlord that, in our view, had unreasonable expectations of how selling a home while a tenant is in it should work. The ********* never formally accepted our offer to pay the $55 a month from our commissions to them, subsequently we had come to believe that they had reconsidered and decided our view on this matter was correct, and as such, we never made this credit. We saw our handling of this issue between landlord and tenant as a large success in our management skills; in that we were successful in not reducing the tenant's rent during the sales process and instead making a compromise that there was no increase. We are sorry that the ********* saw this as a failure. We are happy to concede the $165 that we had offered to the ********* at this time. As the ********* state, they instructed us to give the tenants a 60 day notice to vacate along with the *********' permission to move out early, should the tenants choose to do so. ******* ******** stated in an email on May 1st, "If the tents wish to vacate sooner, we are fine with that." The *********' statement that, despite this instruction, they expected the tenants to stay through July is contradictory to both our phone conversation and their written communication. The *********' realtor, **** *******, was in communication with us and was pleased with the *********' decision to have the tenants move out as soon as they were willing because, in **** *******'s view, a vacant home would be positive in assisting in the successful sale of the property. We categorically deny that at any point anyone from the ********* ****** in any way said or inferred, as the ********* claim, that we had relinquished management of the property to a real estate broker involved in the sale. First and foremost, that would require a new property management agreement and formal transfer of management to a new, licensed property manager. Admittedly, in the complaint, the ********* declare this never took place. The *********' claim that we charged management fees for the month that the tenant was not living in the house- we did not. We did hold the ********* final May payment, as is policy, because bills and other expenses trickle in during the weeks following a vacancy that need to be paid out of the owner's client trust account. Once all outstanding items are paid, we send a final payment to the owners. We processed the *********' final owner charges and subsequent payment on July 15th, 6 days prior to them having filed this BBB complaint. The ********* contradict themselves on this matter both when communicating with us and in this BBB complaint. In paragraph 8 of their complaint, they state that they had received funds prior to submitting the BBB complaint but in paragraph 3, they state they had not received funds. The ********* did originally give us an estimate they created of $3386 worth of damages they believed the tenants caused to the home. They state correctly that we had multiple conversations with them about these charges. Our company believed these charges were excessive and, ultimately, we felt these charges would send both the ********* and us to court against the tenant. We tried to explain, for example, that the damage the tenants caused to the cook top, which was a large part of their claim, could not be charged back to the tenant in full. Instead, the ********* had two choices about how to deal with the repair. They could either have a repairman repair the cooktop the tenants had cracked or they could estimate what the used cooktop was worth and charge that amount to the tenant. We went through all the other damages they had assessed and explained them each thoroughly, as we did with the cooktop. After discussion with us, they approved the tenant charges in an email on June 26th in the amount of $2,094.49. Because of this written approval by the *********, we are surprised to find this item in the complaint. With respect to the ********* citing the BBB complaint on 9/30/13, that only furthers our position in this matter in dealing with their tenants. That was a complaint from a tenant who believed they were charged too much in damages against their security deposit. In turn, the tenants asserted their right to make a claim in this forum and, had the BBB not have assisted in a final settlement, the owners and ********* ***** have been subject to the tenants taking us both to court. It is because of this BBB complaint on 9/30/13 and other disputes, that ********* ********** has garnered the experience needed to deal with these matters. Ultimately, it's in everyone's best interest to try and keep these matters out of the courts. Instead of allowing this dispute between the owners and tenants to continue, we worked diligently to strike a compromise where the tenant paid all of the charges approved by the owners in the email on June 26th, in the amount of $2094.49, minus $585, in exchange for a settlement and release and a promise from the tenant that the matter would not go to court. Of the $585 settlement, ********* ********** also contributed by crediting the ********* $164.10 from our commissions to help settle the matter. The ********* only contributed $420.90. The ********* are accurate when they state they approved $1685 plus carpet cleaning. Ultimately they received, after a $585 settlement with the tenant, $1228.20 instead of $1685. We believe strongly that having put this matter behind them was worth the $420.90 they spent on the settlement and release. We believe the *********' only claim is the $165 in management fees that we offered to cover as an effort to give good customer service - which we would have credited at any time, had they simply asked. We also believe that the skills and experience required to work between the tenant and owner on the disputed charges, and obtain a settlement of 80% weighted to the *********' side in order to close the matter permanently and definitively, demonstrates a big win for the *********. While we remain disappointed the ********* didn't work more diligently to figure out the issues they have listed in this complaint, we appreciate ultimately that they reached out to the BBB and hope that this agency can help successfully mediate our dispute. Despite the disagreement we're now facing, our company does not take for granted the business the ********* sent our way for the prior 19 months and we ultimately feel that ********* ********** was a key element in helping the ********* achieve showings and a successful sale on their property. Although we believe the ********* are undereducated in the Property Management Field and we strongly disagree with their assertions and the direction they took in handling the settlement charges against their tenant, for cooperations sake, we will now offer to pay an additional $420.90 that ********* are out of pocket for the settlement with the tenants. ********* ********** is prepared to offer ******* and ******* ******** an amount equal to $585.90 in exchange for their signing of our standard settlement and release which will permanently put this matter behind us. This offer leaves the ********* at the exact same place they would have been in if the tenants had agreed to all the charges the ********* originally authorized our company to assess. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) While we believe there are still discrepancies with respect to payment received to date we will accept Passadore Properties offer of $585 for security deposit refund although this will leave us short $200 in security deposit and $165 for management reimbursement fee. However, we would like to close this matter as soon as possible and end all involvement with Passadore Properties.

9/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented a home for a period of 3 1/2 years, Passodore **** over as property management a little over 1 1/2 years ago. When we moved out of the home, ********* ******* us 1062.00 for "Touch-up painting", and $201.25 for Comprehensive cleaning. When we moved into the home, it was not freshly painted and feel they are taking advantage of us. We filed maintenance requests with the previous property management company and ********* ** have the home painted, our requests were never fulfilled. We have documentation of all the E-mail correspondence. In August/September ************, the home owner came by and we offered a quick walk through of the house, since she had not seen it in 3 years. We discussed the paint, she also discussed how when she originally painted she did not do it properly, ie all baseboards were not sanded prior to painting, so the paint just scratched right off, the closet doors were done the same way. There were nail holes, places that curtain rods had been removed that left paint chipped from the wall, or were poorly patched, this was all there when we originally moved in. We also discussed the Paint with ***** on the initial walk through in October ************, when management companies were switched. The paint issue was also brought up with Jason (maintenance man) in March of this year, He said if damage is not above normal wear and tear (ie, holes in the walls, that we did patch) there would be no charge to us. We feel they are charging us unfairly for a maintenance job that we had requested in a very timely manner, but they failed to ever take care of, until we moved out. When pressed ********* *** offer to refund us $400 more of the deposit, still billing us $662. We requested an itemized list of what the $662 paid for this was the response we got "We don't have a way of breaking down everything that was touched up in the house. Our painters don't provide a record of all spots they touched up in the house so it would be very time consuming to figure out exactly what was painted." the house is only 834 sq feet. I don't think it is fair business practice to not provide us a list of what we actually paid for, When I don't think we should cover the cost of paint at all. We took very good care of the home, we were excellent renters and took pride in caring for the home. We feel we are being taken advantage of, and not being treated fairly at all, since we did take all the steps to have the home painted way before we ever moved out.

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund of the $1062 they charged us for "touch-up paint"

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, ****/07/10) */ The *****', from our perspective, were good tenants and took relatively good care of the home. As they point out, we took over management two thirds of the way into their time in the property. We believe it is possible that some of their complaints could be valid. However, as we explained to them, the decision of how much deposit to keep when a tenant not placed by our company leaves a home is up to the homeowner, unless the previous property management company did their due diligence and properly recorded the condition of the home prior to the tenants' move in, which the previous company did not. We only helped to determine, based on the landlord's assessment of damages, the amount standard and appropriate to charge against the security deposit. We cannot speak to discussions the tenants claimed to have had with the owner about the quality of the original paint job, which was new when they moved in, but we can tell you that the owner has a different story. We cannot determine what actually happened when we were not in management of the home, but still negotiated on behalf of the tenant a reduction in what the landlord believed was a reasonable assessment against their security deposit for damages. This reduction was nearly 40% off the $1062 damage assessment. Using our own experience, we believe that amount was appropriate to deal with the trim, which the ***** claim was painted improperly to begin with and was the root of their consternation. That leaves only a $662 balance for touch up paint in a house that was inhabited by two adults and two children for nearly four years. As anyone with a property management license knows, normal wear and tear does not include nail holes, scuffs, larger holes and plaster work required to return a home back to the condition it was in when rented. Additionally, the tenants did attempt to patch many of the holes they caused, which they have admitted. This only caused us more work. The holes they patched were not sanded and did not blend properly and when you patch a hole and spread the mud in a large enough area, it becomes impossible to cover it up in such a way that it will be acceptable to the next tenants. In short, our summation is twofold. First, their complaints carried validity. We considered that and offered them an appropriate credit to remedy the situation. Second, they were excellent tenants but horrible handymen and should have left the repairs to a professional, which would have saved us and them time and money. Lastly, it is unfathomable that a tenant could live in a home for nearly four years and think that they would not be charged even a dollar for the nail holes, touch up paint and patching that had to occur after their departure. The *****' request to refund the entire amount of $1062 is simply without merit. After we offered the credit of $400 to the *****', we stopped hearing from them. As a courtesy, and to resolve this matter once and for all, we are willing to refund the additional $201.25 in cleaning charges, leaving a balance to be charged against the security deposit of $662. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 20, ****/09/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ********* *** agreed to cooperate with us. We are very happy that this is being settled. Please remove negative review as the issue has been resolved. Thanks so much! Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, ****/09/13) */ We will agree to the split of the charges but only if the tenants agree to remove the negative review from the Better Business Bureau's website. Since we've come to an agreement, we should not be seen as uncooperative but rather the opposite.