BBB Accredited Business since

McCue & Associates Inc

Phone: (425) 454-6404 Fax: (425) 250-3508 View Additional Phone Numbers 2020 124th Ave NE Ste C201, Bellevue, WA 98005 http://www.mccueandassociates.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers real estate, community management, and property management services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McCue & Associates Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McCue & Associates Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McCue & Associates Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 1998 Business started: 03/01/1998 Business started locally: 03/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Norman McCue, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Norman McCue, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Services


Additional Locations

  • 2020 124th Ave NE Ste C201

    Bellevue, WA 98005 (425) 454-6404 (800) 418-6404

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 418-6404(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Faulty Roofing Contributes to Condo Ceiling Water Leakage. A NEW ROOF Leaks - McCue & Assoc.'s Failure To Inform Owner Of Roof Warranty.

Desired Settlement: Water Damaged Ceiling/Wall Removal & Repair To Interior Of Owner Condo; Due To McCue & Assoc.'s Faulty Roofing Contracting. A NEW ROOF DOES NOT LEAK ?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/05/29) */ May 23, 2014 Better Business Bureau Attn: ****************** 1000 Station Dr Ste 222 DuPont WA 98327 Re: Better Business Bureau Case *********: ************ To Whom It May Concern: On May 19, 2014, we received your notice of complaint regarding BBB Case #********. In that May 13th complaint, ************ states. "Faulty Roofing Contributes to Condo Ceiling Water Leakage. A NEW ROOF leaks - McCue & Assoc.'s Failure to Inform Owner of Roof Warranty." The *********************************** of Burien, of which ********* (the Owner) is a member, contracted with a roofing contractor in 2013 to install a new roofing membrane on the building that contains his individual unit. Recently, the Owner apparently had a small roof leak during a heavy rainfall that appeared on the ceiling of his condominium apartment unit. McCue & Associates (the Management Company) was notified of the leak and immediately called the roofing contractor, who took care of the cause of the leak in a professional and timely fashion. The leak was not a result of the roof installation but, instead, it was a chimney flashing failure issue. On May 9th, upon the Owner's request, the Community Association Manager provided to the Owner the roofing contractor's contact information so that he could discuss the warranty issue directly with them. The Owner's statement that he was not informed of a roof warranty is erroneous and is not a valid complaint against the Management Company. The Management Company was informed of the leak, a response was quickly made, and the roofing contractor responded in a timely fashion to resolve the issue. Under the Governing Documents of the Association, owners are financially responsible for any cosmetic repairs to the interior of their unit. The Owner appears to want this responsibility to be someone else's. Following the due process procedure established in the Condominium Association's Governing Documents, any further dispute the Owner may have as to who is responsible for repairing the leak damage to his unit's ceiling needs to be addressed in writing directly to the Association's Board of Directors. Yours sincerely, ***************, CPM, CMCA Managing Broker Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The business (McCue & Assoc.'s Property Management) refuses to acknowledge faulty roof issues due to their management of roofing contractor, and continues to attempt to force this homeowner to confront contracted property management failures leading to condo unit damage.

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: McCue & Associates is the property management company for the Condo that I am renting. In early December I complained to my landlord about hearing some animal chewing at the roof. The owner forwarded the complaint to the property management. They said that a pest control inspector had raised similar concerns previously, but they didn't look into the matter. Then on December 20th 2013, the roof started leaking water and the entire kitchen and living area was flooded. I called the emergency assistance number and assistance arrived the next day afternoon.All they did was to fix the roof that day. The actual Water damage control was called in on Monday the 23rd. They demolished the entire living area and kitchen and let it for drying using industrial dryers on 24th. The house was unlivable because the fans were making huge amounts of noise for more than a week till December 31st. The place was declared dry on December 31st, and the fans were removed from the house. So my entire holidays were wiped out because of the negligence by McCue company. I would still be ok, if the house was in a livable condition soon after that. Now, the actual ordeal started. I have been trying to contact them to get the apartment fixed up so that its in a livable condition since then and they are not even responding. I contacted my land lord repeatedly and they are also unable to get a response from the property management company. Now, for more than a month my apartment has demolished walls with exposed roof. exposed raw nails all over the living area and kitchen. Even with this difficult circumstance, i have been nicely trying to contact them to get a timeline of repairs and getting no response in return. This kind of poor living condition has started to affect my work now. I think this is a highly unprofessional behavior from a property management company, because home is a basic need of a human being and anyone who is responsible for maintaining it should be efficient.

Desired Settlement: I would want a quick remodeling of the apartment so that its livable again.I would also want damages for causing unnecessary mental torture for me and my family. I also want to make sure that the complaint is publicly reflected on the company, so that people who hire them should know what quality of services are provided by the company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/02/19) */ To Whom It May Concern; On 2.7.2014 at 1:16PM I called ************ ext. *** in regards to response deadline and left a message for ******* *********** Resolutions Consultant. I am the Managing Agent for the Bellevue Highlands Condominium Association. My responsibility is to inform and assist the Board of Directors. The authority I work under comes directly from the Board. McCue & Associates is also a full service real estate company, however, not engaged to manage the unit rented by the Consumer. Certainly Owners, Members of the Association communicate with me, and at times this may include tenants who communicate and report miscellaneous issues; I take my direction from the Board and serve the Owners within Bellevue Highlands. I have no formal relationship with tenants; however I strive to meet the needs of all 240 Owner/Occupants within the scope of my responsibility. The B-Building at Bellevue Highlands was inspected in November for bed bugs and other pests. Rodent traps were set out as a precaution. To date no rodents have been captured. Pest Control Contractor, ********* Licensed Pest Inspector, ***** ***** ************* He also followed up 2.7.2014 1:30PM and reported no activity. Friday, December 20, 2013 approx. 8PM a call was made to the after-hours emergency service, *** *** ************* The tenant of unit ***** reported a roof leak. 8:46PM I returned to the office and started calling roofing companies (3) were contacted. The type of roof, Duro-Last requires a certified technician to perform repairs in order to maintain the roof warranty. Contact info is available upon request. Although no roofer was dispatched that evening due to unavailability, the repairs were made as soon as possible. During this weather event, first snow in the region, many incidents were reported and vendors were working to service all clients in a timely manner. The actual leak needed to be located and fixed before proper dry out could be accomplished. This all occurred within a reasonable time frame based on conditions. Owners are encouraged to obtain an HO6 insurance policy to cover their individual units/contents and other tangible assets. In addition, tenants should obtain renter's insurance for coverage. The Association has no obligation to provide alternate housing for a tenant. According to Washington Water Damage & Cleaning Services, 253.395.333 the unit is habitable and all appliances are in working order. With drywall removed it may not be aesthetically appealing, but it is a functional unit. The scope of damage created from this weather event included the roof, units **** *** & **** Typically, an insurance claim such as this takes 6-8 weeks to resolve due to the extent and number of units involved. The incident was unfortunate and could not have happened at a more inconvenient time. However, negligence or the failure to exercise due care was not a factor as the Consumer suggests. The Consumer/Tenant has made attempts to communicate, sometimes several emails within one day. He has been instructed by the Management Company of the Association and the Restoration Company all further communication will be with the Owner of the unit in an effort to streamline communication efforts. His distress is understandable and as professionals we deal with these types of events and understand the length of time it takes to reach completion. Attempts have been made to communicate this to the Consumer. Restoration should begin the week of 2.10.2014-2.14.2014 and given the time of year, the holiday season, number of sudden and unexpected occurrences due to the weather and staff shortages due to flu, this project is coming to an end within a reasonable time frame for the scope. The Consumer would be well served to obtain renters insurance and explore the level of coverage available should another unexpected event occur during tenancy in any dwelling. On 2.7.14 at 2:51PM the occupants of **** *** & *** were notified of the time frame above. I agree shelter is a basic need. And each occupant has the right to responsive and competent action, they also have the responsibility to communicate respectfully and cooperate with established procedures. Shelley **************** Community Association Manager for Bellevue Highlands Condominium Association ************ Ext ** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/03/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not agree with the response by McCue and Associates. The Apartment was completely dried out and ready to be repaired on December 31st 2013. I am sure the Washington water damage restoration company would have records to indicate this. I do not agree to the statement that after the apartment was dried out, it was in a habitable condition. I have photos of the apartment between December 31st 2013and February 8th 2014 and can get a legal opinion as to if the apartment was in a safe livable condition. Let me explain the situation for lack of ability to attach pictures: 1. Kitchen floor was exposed base boards with the risk of splintering if you walk bare foot. 2. Stove was hooked up upon request, but the countertops next to the stoves were removed as part of the drying out process. So, yes the stove and fridge were hooked up but in an impractical to use condition. 3. The dishwasher was totally removed and placed in pantry. 4. The whole kitchen and dining area were devoid of any dry walls and had directly exposed switches. 5. Not only the dry wall was missing, but the roof was nothing but exposed wooded boards as well. 6. There were exposed nails sticking out of the walls all over the place. 7. The carpet and entire kitchen area was soo dusty that all my friends who entered the apartment to check up on me had sneezing fits and had to get out of the house within minutes. 8. The lighting from the kitchen was removed as part of the drying process. 9. Due to demolition the entire apartment was very dusty. We tried to get rid of the dust with no results. I would like to know if the Washington state laws consider these conditions as safe livable conditions. Since my wife had sever allergy to dust (Her allergy doctor is ******* ******* and we were consulting him well before the incident. I can provide proof of this on request.), we had to live elsewhere for the duration after the apartment was demolished and not reconstructed. We had to find alternative housing even after paying the rent for the month of January. We were hoping for a professional behavior and a quick fix of the problem. Once the apartment was ready to be reconstructed what would any responsible professional do. Reconstruct it. But the reconstruction work did not begin in the first week of January. I contacted the management to get an estimate for the beginning of reconstruction and end of work for the first time on January 3rd. I did not get the estimate. After this I contacted them many times on the progress and tried to get and estimated delay till January 29th. still did not get an estimate even after multiple requests. When the apartment was not fixed after more than 6 weeks I gave a complaint to BBB. It was only after I submitted a formal complaint to BBB, that I received an estimate saying that it usually takes 6 to 8 weeks to fix such issues. By then 6 weeks had already elapsed out of which nothing was done to the apartment for 4+ weeks with me still paying the rent. Since I am the only bread winner of the family and I have to work to survive, this situation was causing lot of mental stress and started to affect my work. Hence I decided to move to a different housing permanently and moved on February 8th. The reconstruction did not begin till February 24th. I have proof of this because, the reconstruction company gave me a call on February 24th, requesting access to the apartment thinking I was still in the apartment. So, McCue and associates did not even meet their own stretched estimate of 6 to 8 weeks. Since the damage occurred on Dec 20th, February 14th would end the 8 week deadline. The reconstruction work started on February 24th, a full 10 days after the estimated completion time. I am pretty sure the restoration would not be complete even as I write this. When someone's livelihood is dependent on proper living, how could a professional housing management company not repair the house for more than 2 months. I would consider this is highly irresponsible and unprofessional. Some of my friends have also had incidents in their apartments where the roof had leaked. In such situations the entire thing was fixed within 2 weeks. In my case also it could have been done only if the work was being done without delaying. The weather was not unseasonably bad this year. It was just like any other year and I believe that there are enough water damage restoration companies in Washington to handle the load customer requests during winter season. I would like ************ ************* to officially state that the customer load was surprisingly high compared to previous years, so that it can be proved that holiday season and the high demand was the reason for delaying reconstruction for 2 months. The reason of holiday and weather would be feasible if the delay in starting the work was 2 weeks. But the delay in starting the work here is 2 months. The unprofessionalism is also indicated when the requests to get an estimated completion time were ignored for more than a month and all of a sudden the estimate was given as soon as the BBB complaint was raised. I would also like to know the reason behind not giving an estimate till the BBB complaint was received. I incurred lot of mental stress during the 2+ month period. My wife had to suffer through her allergies in a partly demolished home. I incurred considerable financial loss due to alternate housing for more than a month (even after paying the rent.) and then moving permanently to a different costly apartment notwithstanding the unprofessional conduct of the current property management. I also incurred unnecessary moving costs. I had to even pay for the electricity costs of drying the apartment after the roof leak. I would like a settlement for this. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/03/17) */ The bottom line is that we, McCue & Associates, Inc., are hired by the Association to assist the Board of Directors in the maintenance and operations of the Association. If an owner chooses to rent out his unit, this is done at the owner's discretion. Owners are then obligated to work with their tenants. Owners should be sure that their tenants have renters insurance. The Association and McCue & Associates do not work with tenants, only owners. We understand the tenant's frustrations - but this issue should be between the complainant and his landlord. The Association's obligation is to make necessary repairs in a timely manner and we are doing that. It always takes more time to process insurance claims and a tenant should carry renters insurance to assist him with these issues while the Association is working to repair damages. It is NOT the management's duty to assist tenants. The fact that the tenant does not have renters insurance to pay for him to stay somewhere else is not the responsibility of the Association. Again, the Landlord is the only one this complainant should be taking up his issues with, not the Association or McCue & Associates.

9/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service