BBB Accredited Business since

Mainlander Property Management Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 635-4477 Fax: (503) 635-6508 3927 Lake Grove Ave, Lake Oswego, OR 97035 http://www.mainlander.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mainlander Property Management Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mainlander Property Management Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mainlander Property Management Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 30, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated 08/10/1982 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Real Estate Agency
1177 Center St NE, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/REA
Phone Number: (503) 378-4170
orea.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Hermanski, President Ms. Bette Durham, General Manager Ms. Kathleen Hermanski, Secretary
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Bette Durham, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Chris Hermanski, President
Business Category

Property Management

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:30pm

Additional Locations

  • 3927 Lake Grove Ave

    Lake Oswego, OR 97035 (503) 635-4477

  • PO Box 2028

    Lake Oswego, OR 97035

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we entered the apartment on Aug 9th, we found a fridge that was leaking water from the freezer into the fridge. The water then refroze in the fridge, broke the lowest shelf and formed an ice block in the drawer designed for produce. Numerous shelves were missing, one in the freezer and at least 3 in the fridge. Maintenance showed up to fixed the leak and replaced the broken shelf. We were told that this model is so old that replacement shelves are not available anymore. The issue we are having with the fridge now is that the entire unit has one temperature dial for both freezer and fridge. There is a plastic dial in the freezer, located behind a screwed-in panel that is supposed to adjust the amount of cold air able to enter the fridge portion. We have tried multiple times, as has maintenance, to adjust the dial so that both fridge and freezer will remain at appropriate temperatures. Maintenance left the screws off so we can get to the knob and adjust it without having to call them every 24 hours. Thus far, none of our attempts, or maintenances' attempts, has worked. We end up with freezer burned items and frozen produce in the fridge or everything in the freezer melts and spoils when we get the fridge to the right temperature. Since the refrigerator is producing cool air, Mainlander is calling it "in-working order" and is refusing to do anything further to assist us. So far we have had to through away hundreds of dollars worth of food due to inappropriate fridge/freezer temperatures. The maintenance person that has come out multiple times referred to the fridge as "old" and "primitive". He stated that based on the design there was nothing more that he could do to fix the unit.

Desired Settlement: A new refrigerator/freezer unit with dual climate settings and an appropriate number of shelves.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/09/12) */ MAINLANDER PROPERTY MANAGEMENT P.O. Box ***** **** **** ***** **** Lake Oswego, Or. XXXXX *(XXX) XXX-XXXX *Fax (XXX) XXX-XXXX Better Business Bureau XXXXXXXX Dear BBB, I am responding to your letter concerning a customer complaint from ******* ***** **** The Property Management team who manages the home has traded emails with Ms **** concerning her complaints. I would like to apologize for the move-in which did not go smoothly. There were several items which should have been taken care of prior to the move-in. Ms **** had a real estate professional view the property on her behalf. This sometimes makes for a difficult move-in since the resident did not view the home personally prior to the move-in. Mainlander Property Management does not own this home. We are an agent for the owner and must adhear to the management agreement with the owner concerning repairs. 1. Refrigerator- Indeed this is an older model but it does work. The repairs were done to the refrigerator as per the maintenance request. The refrigerator repair person noted the unit is working but old. I do understand the older refrigerators do have limitations. Adjustments to how food is wrapped for the freezer and where you keep your produce in the refrigerator may be needed to avoid issues the resident is experiencing. 2. Cleaning- carpets and home. The carpets were re-cleaned. Mainlander refunded the tenant $50 for the cleaning issues and we would have been happy to send the cleaners back to the home if the resident had given us the chance to do so. 3. Dishwasher- The dishwasher will be addressed today. The unit operates but is not secured properly. A maintenance person is scheduled to visit the property today. 4. Window Blinds - Have been repaired or replaced. Sink stopper has been repaired as noted in the resident's letter to BBB. The fan operates and will not be replaced. 5. Management Team- The team which manages this home has managed the home for the owner for several years. I cannot change the team who manages the property. Unfortunately, I cannot meet Ms. **** request for reimbursement of one month's rent. Mainlander will continue to do appropriate repairs/replacement of items which do not function in the property. Sincerely, ***** ****** Broker/Operations Manager Mainlander Property Management XXX-XXX-XXXX ext *** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear BBB, That was a very distressing response from Mainlander, and I do not accept that response. Let me address the reasons in the order that they are listed. 1) Move in. While I appreciate that Ms. ****** agrees that this was not a pleasant move-in experience, it has nothing to do with an agent doing the initial walk through of the unit for us. I was given Mainlander's move-out criteria, and based on the criteria, I had expectations of the unit. A simple walk through by any of the Mainlander staff would have turned up these issues. Additionally, I told ***** in an email, "Please make sure that all appliances are clean (no mold/mildew/dust) and in working order. Please make sure that the windows open/close/seal appropriately and all blinds are in working order." There was plenty of time before I got there to find and address the problems if someone had simply done an inspection of the unit. 2) Refrigerator. The myopic view of the Mainlander staff is most distressing on this issue. Once again, blowing cold air does not constitute 'in working order'. The staff continue to read only what seems to be in their best interest. As for Ms. ******'s comment, "how food is wrapped for the freezer and where you keep your produce in the refrigerator may be needed to avoid issues the resident is experiencing" shows this unwillingness to listen to the complaint. The refrigerator blows only one temperature for the whole unit. If I set the temp so that the fridge portion is correct, the freezer part melts. How exactly would you have me wrap water so that it freezes into ice when the temp is above 32 degrees? How would you have me keep the rest of my food frozen? On the other hand, if I set the temp so that the freezer is correct, now the fridge is frozen too. How do I store my tomatoes so that they don't come out rock hard/frozen when the temp is now below 32 degrees in the fridge? Your comment is honestly, absurd. 3) Cleaning. As for re-cleaning the carpets, I do appreciate having that done. It took 3 weeks for them to come do it though, and I was told it would be done the week I moved in. As for the rest of the condo, please check your facts! It is not that I did not allow you the opportunity; instead, I told you that I had already done the cleaning. There was no point in sending cleaning people after I did all the work. ***** acknowledged this fact in our meeting the Monday after I moved in. I moved in on Saturday. I was not going to live in that dirty apartment all weekend and then move in my furniture before Mainlander's cleaning people could come and do a proper cleaning. Please do not insult me by misrepresenting facts or saying I did something that I clearly did not do. 3) Dishwasher. I am not sure what repair you are referring to on the dishwasher. The last time the repair person was in the condo, he stated that one tab was broken off and unrepairable. That means only one tab is left holding the dishwasher, and in time it will break too. At that point, the dishwasher will need to be replaced. I already had this discussion via email and agreed that as long as it is balanced and attached, I will use it as-is. Why did you send a repair person for something that I did not request and cannot be fixed? Additionally, you gave me no notice that you Ire sending someone. Did you enter the unit without authorization? 4) Blinds. The blinds have been cleaned. I am waiting on the replacements which should have arrived last week. 5) Management team. Why can't the team be changed? Length of time in a position/at a property is not a reason something cannot be changed? If you are unwilling to change the team, that is your prerogative. However, I expect better, timely service from the team. I also expect them to be professional and not use this incident as a point of vindictive response. 6) Rent concession. Why not? You have given no reason why you cannot give a concession. Do you just not want to give one? I understand that, but I did not want this experience moving into a condo. What I am asking for is not unreasonable given all the effort and time I have put into doing the job of your staff. I would love to have a conversation about Mainlander's counter offer, but they have not given one. I am a reasonable person, and I am willing to have a discussion. However, I cannot do that with someone who is unwilling to be reasonable. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/10/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear Ms. ******, I appreciate your apology, but your comments continue to perplex me. I have a 2 bed/2 bath condo with approximately 1200 sq feet. I was able to find 90% of the issues within the first 15 minutes that I was in the condo. What did your people do for 1-2 hours? The dust, dirt, residue and dirty carpets were immediately apparent. As for the appliances, there are not many to check: washer, drier, fridge, dishwasher, and stove. Then there are the five faucets, four vents, heating units, blinds and screens. So can you see why I am so confused when you say you spent 1-2hrs and managed to miss everything we have mentioned thus far? It should have been blatantly obvious. It is not appreciated your trying to involve the realtor as a way to shift blame. They conveyed the state of the condo to me, and I specified stated in one of the early emails to *****, "Please make sure that all appliances are clean (no mold/mildew/dust) and in working order. Please make sure that the windows open/close/seal appropriately and all blinds are in working order and not broken." I would have done the same thing if I had been there in person. My mistake was that I did not assume that I needed to send the realtor back to the property to make sure that you did your job appropriately. Additionally, your move out criteria is very clear as to how the property should be left when people move out, and this unit was the exact opposite of what you specify. So, yes, I did find a property, and then I asked the property management group to uphold its move out criteria for the unit. As for the second point regarding your cooperation with our maintenance requests, if that were the case, I would not have had to do all this with the Better Business Bureau. You have multiple times stated "we are not replacing the refrigerator". That is not cooperating with my request, that is stonewalling me. In other words, you are blatantly changing your story. As for your comment about immediately notifying you upon arrival at the unit, I have one question. Have you bothered to get all the facts about my situation? I moved into the unit on a Saturday. After multiple attempts to get someone to meet us on Saturday to get the keys, do a move in inspection and sign the paperwork, I finally had to arrange with a trusted friend to pick up the keys on Friday because nobody could be bothered on Saturday. Thus, I would have had to call the emergency number to have someone come out and clean the unit. Given the effort of the company thus far, I can imagine what the answer to that request would have been. In light of that fact, are you going to recommend that I should have lived in a filthy unit for 2 days? I notified ***** first thing Monday morning about all the issues I had with the unit. So, I did notify you as soon as possible. I am not sure what you are telling the owner, if you are talking to them at all. If you are talking to them like you have been "talking" with me, I have no faith that you are even remotely representing the situation. The 'comments' of the owner seem way too similar to your initial comments to us. Lastly, it is the responsibility of the management group to make sure the move out criteria have been met (hence the inspection that you are supposed to do). So, stop trying to shift the blame and responsibility to owners or realtors. Own up to the mistakes and give me a month's rent concession for my effort and experience. Your own employee severely blushed and was truly embarrassed by our unit. This is a simple matter of doing the right thing. You are embarrassing yourself at this point. Sincerely, *** Final Business Response /* (1000, 24, 2014/11/13) */ MAINLANDER PROPERTY MANAGEMENT **** *** ***** **** **** ***** **** Lake Oswego, Or. 97035 *(XXX) XXX-XXXX *Fax (XXX) XXX-XXXX November 13, 2014 Re: XXXXXXXX Dear BBB, I am responding to the third letter from ****** ***** ****. As noted in my previous response many of the repairs were completed. In addition the owner approved a new refrigerator which has been installed since the last communication through the BBB. Mainlander does not have owner approval to reimburse the tenant one month's rent as she requested. This is the owner's funds not Mainlander's funds. I believe Mainlander and the owner have tried to remedy the resident's dissatisfaction with the move-in. Sincerely, ***** ****** Principal Broker/Operations Manager Mainlander Property Management XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ***

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented property from Mainlander at XXXXX ** **** ******* in Tualatin. After move out, I was charged for damages already present in the unit when I moved in. Specifically, (Bleach stained stairs/hallway carpet, and painting in dining room and master bathroom). A damage condition report upon move in was filled out by a Mainlander representative that correctly noted two of the damages or condition present. The third, a half-painted master bathroom, was not. I was given a verbal acknowledgement that it would be added to the report and I would be covered. Therefore, when I did my own separate report, I did not feel I needed to add this or any of the previously mentioned damages. I essentially trusted the verbal acknowledgement. (I did however, note damaged carpet in another region of the hallway). Now, three and a half years later, I am being charged for these damages and Mainlander has deducted them from my security deposit. I began by simply placing a follow up call, only to be asked to "talk to someone else" and "write us a letter". I have made known my concerns in writing, only to be ignored by Mainlander.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for an additional refund of $130 from my security deposit. 1) I am asking for the $80 I was charged for the already damaged carpet in the hallway stairs. As I have noted, this damaged was written down and accounted for. 2) I am asking for two thirds of the $75 I was charged for painting. The painting charge in the master bedroom I do not dispute. I do however dispute painting charges in the master bathroom and the brick wall in the dining room. The brick wall in the dining room was turned over to Mainlander in the exact condition as when I moved in. I should not have to pay for them to re-paint it for the next tenant. This refund equals $50. 3) Total $130

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/12) */ Dear ******, The following items have been adjusted from the Deposit Refund Statement: * The revised actual cost of pro-rated carpet replacement has been waived The following remain as charges to your deposit: * Painting charges of $75.00 for the painting of over the green wall in the master bedroom and the painting of the master bathroom wall. As you have stated, nothing was noted in writing about there being any damage to the master bathroom paint when you moved in either on our report or your report. We do have to uphold these charges. I am including in the mail to you our Painting Guidelines which were also sent to you prior to your move-out. The standard charge that we would pass along is $60.00/wall to paint, meaning that your charge could have been $120.00 for the two walls (master bedroom and master bathroom). We were trying to be reasonable in the assessment of these charges, which is why we only passed along $75.00 in painting charges to you. You were never charged for the painting of the brick wall. * Miscellaneous maintenance in the amount of $62.50 to replace the furnace filters and light bulbs in the home remains as in the previous statement. Your revised security deposit refund comes to $962.50, you were mailed check #XXXXXX in the amount of $882.50 on May 23, 2013 and the additional revised deposit refund of $80.00 will be sent in the mail along with a revised statement. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/06/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the response from Mainlander. Although, I am disappointed about still being charged for painting in the master bath, they have made a correct adjustment by refunding me the $80.00 for the hallway carpet. I understand the reasoning on the painting charge since there was no documentation. In retrospect, I should have known not to trust a verbal acknowledgement. Also, Mainlander has now finally given me an explanation to these charges. How was I to know they were being reasonable on the painting charges if it is never communicated? A simple phone call would have alleviated this. I never received painting guideline documentation or any type of information up to move out or after move out. These things must be communicated or confusion is the result. In the future, when tenants move out, it would save everyone a lot of time and trouble if Mainlander would either do the final walk-through with the tenant or make themselves available to go over the move out report. Then both parties would know where the deposit refund process stands and the tenant would at least have an understanding.

6/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We stayed in XXXXX ** Berkeley Ln Beaverton OR 97006 till end of Aug 2012. During my stay at that address, Mainlander authorized me to install a Dish antenna. When the HOA asked me to remove it during a construction activity, we removed it. This happened around February/March 2012. However, Mainlander deducted the charges after we vacated the place saying that there was a HOA penalty. HOA didn't convey to us on penalty and Mainlander were our owners and had always asked us to get their permission for anything. We did get their permission to install the Dish and even removed it when HOA asked us to removing despite being in the contract with the satellite provider. I had been raising this issue with Mainlander for months and I haven't got the refund yet and they seem to have no interest in giving a valid explanation to my issues also. As a side note, we were charged more for the cleaning charges despite us having employed professional cleaners before vacating. While we can't judge this issue now, the issue with the DISH antenna charges needs to be addressed.

Desired Settlement: We need the refund for the supposed HOA penalty on the DISH installation. If at all, Mainlander should be paying the HOA as they gave the permission to us for installing the antenna.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/04/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** *******, P.M. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX **** Contact Email: **************@mainlander.com The tenant's requested to be allowed to place a satellite dish on their rental property, and they were given permission by Mainlander Property Management (the agent for the owner) to install a dish so long as they complied with the rules and regulations of the HOA. They were repeatedly told to verify the approved location of their dish with the HOA prior to installation to make sure they were compliant. They were given the contact information for the HOA and also the rules and regulations for the community. Unfortunately the tenant's failed to contact the HOA and had their dish installed without obtaining prior approval from the HOA for the placement and location of their dish. This resulted in a $200 fine from the HOA which was charged to the owner of the home. We had to remove cable wiring from the siding that was left from the installation of the tenant's satellite dish. After the tenant's moveout we originally assessed the removal charge, and also the HOA fine, to the tenant's deposit to reimburse the owner for their costs as a result of the unauthorized placement of the dish. We reviewed the tenant's dispute letter of the security deposit charges, and we agreed to reverse a charge of $55.00 to remove the exterior cable wiring from the back of the home. However, we could not remove the charge of $200 for the HOA fine. This charge was made against the owner of the rental home, by the HOA, and we have no authority to waive it. The owner has already been assessed and charged this fine. We had numerous communications with this tenant to explain the situation and try to rectify it, and we did offer what concession we could. We regret if they feel their concerns were not addressed, but the charges were levied as a result of their failure to get proper permission from the HOA. Contrary to their statements, the fine was not levied by Mainlander Property Management, it was assessed by the HOA and they were provided notice of the fine from the HOA. Just to clarify - we are not the owners of this rental property; we were the property managers who represented this owner in the management of their rental home. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/06/11) */ Hi, Thanks for your support and follow up on my complaint. ***** from Mainlander was kind enough to talk to me on this issue. It looks like she went thru all the details and agreed to refund the $200 charges and sent a check to me for the same. I consider this issue as resolved with this update. Let me know if I need to do anything further to close this. Thanks again for your intervention and help. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/05/30) */ Mainlander Property Management, Inc. May 29, 2013 Better Business Bureau **** ** ***** *** **** *** *** Lake Oswego, OR XXXXX Re: BBB Case Number: XXXXXXXX Dear Better Business Bureau, The following is our additional response to the original complaint filed on 04/08/2013 (Case # XXXXXXXX). Mainlander Property Management has worked out a suitable arrangement with ********* and have agreed to reimburse the $200.00 withheld from his security deposit. Upon receipt of payment, we would like this case marked 'closed' and kindly request to have this complaint removed. Sincerely, ********* ******* Mainlander Property Management

9/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service