BBB Accredited Business since

JPM Real Estate Services Inc

Phone: (971) 244-1502 Fax: (971) 244-9664 10626 SW Barbur Blvd, Portland, OR 97219

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers property management services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that JPM Real Estate Services Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for JPM Real Estate Services Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on JPM Real Estate Services Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 31, 2007 Business started: 11/01/2005 Business started locally: 11/01/2005 Business incorporated 09/09/2005 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Oregon Real Estate Agency
1177 Center St NE, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 378-4170

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jack Palmer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Palmer, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate - Rentals by Individuals

Alternate Business Names
J P M Real Estate Services Inc

Additional Locations

  • 10626 SW Barbur Blvd

    Portland, OR 97219 (971) 244-1502


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently moved out of *************************** located in Lebanon, OR. Myself and my boyfriend extensively cleaned the unit for three days prior to turning in the keys. Our on site manager had been in our unit for a walk through as well as seen it at the time of returning the keys and stated each time that it looked great. We received our portion of our security deposit today (2 days before the deadline) but did not receive any specific information regarding the reasons/costs for the charges of $630 for clean, blinds, and carpet replacement. We even cleaned the carpets prior to leaving the unit. The Oregon law states that we are to receive an accounting that specifically states the basis of the deduction however all the paper we received states is "carpet" or "clean". We were provided with costs that we could be charge, and none of these match up, also what kind of company charges $500 to replace carpet, such an exact number. I do not believe this information provided qualifies under ORS 90.300 and am seeking more information before the 31 day deadline to attempt to avoid any court costs.

Desired Settlement: breakdowns of costs, invoices for cleaning and carpet replacement, detailed reasons for carpet replacement including location of carpets to be replaced. Reasons for cleaning including areas that needed to be cleaned. I have emailed the business and am sending a certified letter today regarding this.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/08/15) */ I have received an email from the business stating the following: I have received your certified letter in the mail today, and now your e-mail. I have a copy of the invoice for the blinds, please see attached. The cleaning services is what the vendor charged for the cleaning, and replacement of the headrail. As for the carpet I have been investigating that charge this morning. It does appear that charge for carpet was processed in error. We are also going to refund the $30.00 for repair to the blinds and $100.00 for cleaning. The accounting department will make the adjustment and issue a check ($630.00) today. We do apologize if this error has cause any inconvenience. Please let me know if you have any further questions or concerns regarding your move out. I will monitor for the payment in the mail and appreciate the business working with me.

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was renting an apartment from this company and they failed repeatedly to respond to my requests for assistance with a neighbor that physically threatened my minor son on more than one occasion, a dog barking all night and a lot of the day from being confined to a windowless room, and animal waste being deposited on my property and on myself and my family. This went on for approximately 6 months before action was taken. I had a year lease and was unable to move until my lease was up. From the time we moved in, the person above our apartment would either come down in person or send a much larger male to pound on our door and make threats to myself and my teen son. Since there was no actual physical contact done, the police would not be involved. I contacted the rental company to request assistance. The verbal assault continued and no action was taken. Months later, the same person got a large puppy. They locked the dog in the bathroom all night and the dog would whine, bark, bang the cupboards, etc all night. I made numerous complaints to the management company and no action was taken. They would put the animal on their upstairs deck, directly above ours, and allow the animal to urinate and defecate on the wooden slats. The animal waste would pour down onto our property and any persons that were unfortunate enough to be standing there. This would happen several times every single day for 6 months. The animal owner was aware of this. I made complaints for 6 months to JPM Real Estate about the animal waste and I was threatened with eviction. I chose not to renew my lease and I have the paperwork that shows that I did not renew my lease, JPM Real Estate is knowingly providing false information to prospective land lords that I was evicted. They are also alleging that I owe them money. When I moved out, we had a verbal agreement regarding some repairs that needed to be done and the deposit. I moved out, they have my work number, cell number, my work mailing address and my personal mailing address. They did not provide me with a refund, bill or itemized receipt of where my deposit went. It has been over 2 months and they have 31 days to do so. My prospective land lord called yesterday and was informed (incorrectly) of my supposed eviction and at this time they told her I owed money. Today I was contacted by a collection agency. They had plenty of time to contact me and they failed to even provide me with a itemized receipt of where my deposit went in the lawful length of time. They are retaliating against me now because I filed complaints regarding their management.

Desired Settlement: I want the collections removed and I want the false claims to stop. I want them to leave me alone permanently and desist in slandering and defaming my character.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/19) */ *******'s complaints regarding her upstairs neighbor and the dog were documented and management took the necessary steps to try and resolve the issue upstairs. As a result, the upstairs neighbor was removed from the residence the same week that ******* moved out. At no point was ******* threatened with eviction due to her complaints regarding the dog. We have documentation of two rental references that were given, one signed by ********* ****** and the other by ******* ******* Both rental references stated that we would re-rent if qualified and listed zero complaints against *******. It was noted that there was a balance due and that the unit was not left clean. We would be happy to provide a copy of said references upon request. Prior to *******'s move out, we were aware that at least one interior door had been damaged. When we received possession of the unit we discovered that three of the interior doors had been replaced by the tenant. Unfortunately, none of the new doors matched the rest of the unit and as a result we had to buy new doors and that amount was in turn billed to *******. We appreciate her time and effort in replacing the damaged doors and as a courtesy we are waiving the $225.00 charge for the doors. We have spoken to ******* and told her to have any new potential landlord to contact ********* ****** for a rental reference. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When my potential landlord called the apartment manager and received false information VERBALLY that I was evicted and other gossip that could have only come from the landlord or the maintenance person. I had someone check my references for me and the same false information was given VERBALLY. The potential landlord rented the unit to another person before *********'s offer to "clarify". No written reference was sent. That is a complete fabrication to cover their wrongful actions. I can put you in touch with the people who checked my references. There was extensive damage from a water leak from the upstairs neighbor, we were threatened with legal action if WE did not take care of the damage. That same damage is on the list of charges. I also had to run a dehumidifier for 6 weeks or more because of the leak on my own power. When I asked about compensation for some of that power, it was eluded that the moisture was from my laundry and any compensation was denied. As for the harassment and and the animal waste, it took 6 months of waste disposal on my porch, my property and on myself and my guests in a couple unfortunate cases, before anything was done. It does not take 6 months of photos, complaints, eye witnesses etc to remove a threat to health and safety such as that. I had to go above ******* (the apartment manager) to ********* (with the company) to get any kind of response. Then when I finally got some action against the animal waste disposal, I was threatened with evicted with false complaints. We received multiple noise complaints while we were gone (I can also put you in touch with the agency that has the proof we were there while we received the false complaints). I feel like this was a direct vindictive response to me going over her head to get some action. As for zero complaints, at least one false complaint is lodged with my HUD caseworker, so that is a complete and provable lie right there. I was threatened with losing my HUD after I went over *******'s head to get the dog waste on my property to stop. I can provide proof. The apartment was left clean, I hired cleaners and can provide a receipt as well as photos. The only thing that was forgotten was some boards and a few nice flower pots in the outside storage area (not on purpose, I was upset I forgot that). I am assuming that is what the removal fee is for, and that is completely logical. I am a reasonable person, I just want the additional charges removed from collections, I want the collections retracted and to not show up on my otherwise great credit score, and I want the harassment and false information to stop. I can prove several of their claims as outright lies, and I could probably go to small claims and get most of my deposit back but I am at my wits end and frankly traumatized. I am still homeless because the false information provided lost me the only affordable place I could find near my work. I had to live and move under deplorable conditions. I was harassed, urinated on, defecated on, threatened and defamed. I want all charges and all traces of the collections removed, I don't want to waste everyone's time filing small claims for my illegally held deposit, electricity for the dehumidifier and constant harassment and trauma. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/07/07) */ ******* ******** entered into a rental agreement with ******* ****** ********** on 4/5/13. Which was also a contract with *********** Housing Authority. For housing it is required that a copy of all notices are sent for review and acceptance. Mrs. ********'s contract with us under the special provisions it states unit must be returned in the same, rend ready condition as it was received. (Copy attached) Also attached is a unit inspection report from move in where the tenant stated the apartment was in acceptable condition at move in. Over a three month period from May of 2013 to September 2013 Mrs. ******** was issued five noncompliance notices. (See attached) On January 27th 2014 Mrs. ******** was issued a 60 Day notice of termination, of which a copy was sent to housing and we received their acknowledgement. (See attached) On March 17th a pre move out letter was sent to Mrs. ******** with a schedule date of 3/31/14 to complete all pre-move out actions. (See attached) Regarding the upstairs neighbor and pet, we issued appropriate notices in line with the Oregon Tenant Landlord Law. The tenant vacated in the unit, of which there was not pet damage found. Mrs. ********'s unit was clearly not returned in the same rent ready condition that she received it in. Because of the attempt made to replace the doors we have since removed the door charge in good faith, however the property still incurred the expense to replace the doors with proper materials. Also attached are copies of the carpet, and unit cleaning invoices which clearly shows the unit was not returned in the same rent ready condition it was received. This leaves a balance owing of $189.00 that Mrs. ******** is responsible for. The remaining balance of $189.00 that Mrs. ******** is responsible for will be written off as a bad debt to the property (see attached ledger), further attempts to collect the balance owing from ***** *********** and ******* ****** Apartments with cease which should close this case. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***