BBB Accredited Business since

Great West Management Group Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (253) 539-3814 Fax: (253) 539-1368 134 116th St S, Tacoma, WA 98444 http://www.gwmgroup.org View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential property management services for apartments, homes, multi-plexes associations and condominiums in Pierce County. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Great West Management Group Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Great West Management Group Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Great West Management Group Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 30, 2007 Business started: 12/01/1991 in WA Business started locally: 12/01/1991 Business incorporated 12/18/1991 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Boyle, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Boyle, President
Business Category

Property Management Property Management - Industrial & Commercial

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm
Alternate Business Names
Great West Property Management

Additional Locations

  • 134 116th St S

    Tacoma, WA 98444

  • PO Box 44609

    Tacoma, WA 98448 (253) 539-3814

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have requested & been denied multiple times for this company to provide me with a monthly statement when my hoa's are due. They send out a utilities bill & refuse to add a line item for the HOA dues that are due at the same time. They have changed my monthly HOA's without informing me & then added $100 a month to my bill in late fees. Then they have put a lien on my property. I have gone in & paid all but the late fees & have received confirmation that I would not be getting additional late fees on the balance in question until i had spoken with an attorney & presented my case to the HOA board. *************** chose to take it upon herself to forward my emails to the board & have my request denied without my knowledge & charged me an additional $100 in late fees 14 days after giving them $3000. I have my real estates license & I know these are illegal actions. She is rude. She has violated my rights as well as my privacy. I feel picked on & she has made owning my own home a terrible experience. I strongly discourage use of this company

Desired Settlement: I want my late fees, all $800 put towards future bills. I will be seeking further legal action.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/18) */ To whom it may concern, *** *********'s accusations are false and liable. As you will see from the attached correspondence, Great West Management has gone above and beyond to assist *** ********* in curing her delinquent association dues and utilities accounts, as well as, with other issues that have come up. Great West has been more than accommodating since *** ********* purchased her condominium. There have been several complaints made against *** ********* for noise and disturbance that the Board and Great West have had to take care of because of behavior. *** *********'s dues and utility account has been delinquent for quite some time and per ***** ****** ******* governing documents has been charged late and legal fees. When *** ********* came into Great West to pay her delinquency, she decided at that time to dispute late fees. She is incorrect in her recollection of her conversation with ***** or our office. The governing documents for ***** ****** ***** *********** and the Management Agreement give Great West Management the right to discuss an owner's account with the Board and furthermore, any disputes. As for stating that ***** ********** is "rude", please note the many emails from *** ********* thanking her for sending statements to her, that she falsly claims she never receives. The accusation of changing her monthly dues is false and never happened. The governing documents have to be followed carefully for budget and dues purposes, which are sent to ALL owners, including *** *********. The dues cannot be changed without a qourum of votes at the Annual Meeting, which *** ********* has never attended. We feel that this matter is not for the Better Business Bureau because Great West Management acts in accordance with the ***** ****** ***** *********** and has followed all of their governing documents, policies and decisions. *** ********* is obviously making a feeble attempt to get out of her late fees that have accrued over a span of almost two years. **** ***** Owner/President Great West Property Management ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I resided at Wapato Creek Village for over 20 years. Paid over $140,000 in rent. I moved out on April 1, 2013 after proper notice of 20 days. I expected my $200 damage deposit. Instead Great West Property Management sent me $27.79. I sent them a letter stating I want to be paid the full amount of the deposit. They also took longer than 14 days to send the check. Here is the letter I sent: Request for Deposit Return5/24/2013Great West Rental Trust**************Tacoma, Wa. 98448Dear Wapato Creek Village/****:When I moved out of your rental on 3/31/2013, the unit was returned to its originalcondition minus normal wear and tear. State law says that no tenant should be heldresponsible for normal wear and tear. I have not yet received my deposit nor an itemizedlist of deductions from the deposit, as you are required to give me by law.The Landlord Tenant Act (RCW 59.18.280) says no deposit may be collected by alandlord unless the rental agreement is in writing and a written checklist or statementspecifically describing the condition of the premises is provided by the landlord to thetenant at the commencement of the tenancy and is signed and dated by both parties.Because you collected a deposit without providing me with a written checklist at the commencement of the tenancy, you waive any rights to my deposit.The Landlord Tenant Act (RCW 59.18.280) requires you to refund my deposit within 14days after the day I moved out. If you fail to do this, you waive any rights to my deposit. Todays date is 5/24/2013, and I have received $27.79 , check written on 5/21/2013. Therefore, I will expect my deposit in the amount of $172.21 by 6/1/2013. If I do not receive my deposit by 6/1/2013, I have the right to ask for twice my deposit amount in small claims court. Please mail $172.21 without delay to the address below.***** **********************Tacoma, Wa 98444

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like the $200 minus the $27.79 they have already paid me. So that would be $172.21.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/27) */ *** ******** moved out and turned keys into the Manager of Wapato Creek Village Apartments managed by Great West Property Management on or about March 31, 2013. An Estimated Move Out expense summary was mailed to *** ******** on or about April 10, 2013 to his last known address as no forwarding address was provided upon move out. This was in compliance with RCW 59.18.280 which states specifically: "The landlord complies with this section if the required statement or payment, or both, are deposited in the United States mail properly addressed with first-class postage prepaid within the fourteen days." This move out estimate was never returned by the USPS as undeliverable. On or about May 21, 2013 a final statement with a check was mailed to *** ********** last known address which was XXXX XX** *** ** *** Fife, WA 98424. The final charges were Cleaning $80; Blind Cleaning $34.46; and Repair to hole in bedroom wall $57.75 for a total cost of $172.21. He was mailed a check in the amount of $27.79 which he cashed on or about May 23, 2013. On or about May 24, 2013 our office was contacted by *** ******** in writing about his refund. In this letter he provided a forwarding address. We believe he was having his mail forwarded from his old address since he received the final move out statement and check that he deposited into his personal account as payment for the refund of left over security deposit after normal cleaning costs were deducted per the current rental agreement he signed June 22, 2012. We mailed the following response to him on or about May 30, 2013. ***** ******** XXX XXX******* Tacoma, WA XXXXX RE: Move Out Charges Dear *** ********, I am in receipt of your letter dated May 24, 2013 where you're requesting a full refund of your $200 Security Deposit and claim that we are not in compliance with RCW 59.18.280. Contrary to your claim, we are in compliance. You claim that you never signed an Apartment Inspection Report upon move in. Please find enclosed a copy of the report signed by both you and the current manager at the time and dated January 2, 1993. You also claim that you have not received a copy of the itemized charges. Enclosed, please find a copy of the Estimate of Move Out Charges that was mailed on or about April 10, 2013 showing what charges were anticipated within the 14 day time period and was mailed to your last known address. On or about May 21, 2013 a detailed statement was mailed to your last known address, listing all charges along with your refund check in the amount of $27.79. These monies were accepted by you and deposited into your checking account indicating agreement of the charges. I have enclosed another copy of the statement and cancelled check for your reference. As you can see, Great West Property Management is in compliance with RCW 59.18.280 and has not held you responsible for normal wear and tear of the unit you previously resided in. We believe this matter has been satisfied to the fullest of our ability and that we have followed the law as written.