BBB Accredited Business since

Bell Anderson & Associates LLC, AMO

Phone: (253) 852-8195 Fax: (253) 854-4831 View Additional Phone Numbers 10615 SE 256th St Ste 201, Kent, WA 98030 http://www.bell-anderson.net



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bell Anderson & Associates LLC, AMO meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bell Anderson & Associates LLC, AMO include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bell Anderson & Associates LLC, AMO
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 11, 1994 Business started: 08/01/1963 Business started locally: 08/01/1963 Business incorporated 09/01/2002 in WA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Vickie Gaskill, Member/Broker Ms. Jennifer Corp, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer Corp, Office Manager
Principal: Ms. Vickie Gaskill, Member/Broker
Business Category

Property Management


Additional Locations

  • 10615 SE 256th St Ste 201

    Kent, WA 98030 (253) 852-8195 (800) 755-5397

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ******* was our property manager, she was rude and difficult to work with. We found a new tenant to take over since I had to leave the lease early for my job transfer. I gave 30+ days notice I would be leaving. I found the tenant and **** told us that a new lease was signed and that we would be let out of our lease and all of the terms. I vacated the property on July 9,2015 and left all the keys in unit. I received a final balance owning with hidden fees I do not agree upon. I contacted **** via email about my concern and she revised the final balance but when I received the revised balance it had increased by $150 dollars for HOA Renewal fee which I should not be paying a.k.a another hidden fee. This a bait and switch situation. I was never informed about any of the fees when leaving my lease. None of the fees where disclosed to me at any time. I have not received a move out report. I feel they are taking advantage of me because I moved out of state and cannot be there in person to dispute the charges. The hidden fees are excessive.. There were zero repairs to be done since there was nothing hung on the walls during the lease and no paint damage. Also, there is another hidden fee for keys/repairs which is labeled different on each of final balance owing reports. I have proof of these documents proving she is changing how much I owe. I paid a $1000 deposit and the rent for half of July came out of that and the cleaning fees but somehow she found a way to up charge and I still owe $575. I only owed $424 on the first final balance report. This is a SCAM. **** ******** Property Management is SCAMMING people out of there money and making up hidden fees. Late Fee for April 2015 $30.00 Rent for 7/1 - 7/16 $690.66 ( New tenant moved in on July 16) Rent $264.98 Lease Comm- Lease Break $150.00 Cleaning $119.00 Repairs $109.40 Advertising fee- lease break $60.00 HOA Lease Renewal $150.00 I shouldn't have a balance because they have my $1000 deposit to cover the fees

Desired Settlement: Excessive charges removed. Balance should be even because of $1000 deposit. The deposit should cover half a months rent and cleaning fees. **** ******** is a unprofessional property management company and needs to train their property managers better.

Business Response: It's always a disappointment when we have a dissatisfied client. Here at Bell-Anderson we attempt to always give good service to those we are working with. I’m sorry that Ms. ******** feels that we are “scamming people out of their money” or that we use “bait and switch” tactics. Everything we do at Bell-Anderson is in compliance with state and local statutes as well as our company policies and procedures. I have had the opportunity to review Ms. ********** lease agreement and supporting addendums, of which she and her roommate signed. I also reviewed the move-in/move-out paperwork. I did find an error in the accounting on her move out and will be crediting her $150.00.

I have also spoken to the property manager, Dawn H******. Dawn said that the tenant contacted her via email on June 3, 2015 with her intention to break her lease 9 months early. When the tenant does not fulfill the full term of the lease there are multiple sections of the lease agreement where it states that the tenant is responsible for all rent and fees associated with the home until it is re-rented. When first notified by the tenant, Dawn asked the tenant if she could start advertising the home for rent. At that time she was told “no”, they would advertise and show the property themselves. They didn’t want to incur the advertising expenses. On June 15, 2015 after a couple weeks of not being successful on re-renting it on their own, Dawn was asked by the tenants to advertise it for them. A new tenant was found to move in on July 17, 2015. Dawn asked Ms. ******** if she could perform a pre-move out inspection in order to determine what needed to be done in the unit prior to them moving out. Ms. ******** said “no, you are not to come into the house prior to her and her roommate moving out” because Ms. ******** felt that that would be harassment. Ms. ******** said she was going to be out by June 6th but ended up not moving out until the 9th. She did not give Dawn a forwarding address. At this particular property, all leases must be reviewed by the HOA Board at a cost $150. This is a fee that Ms. ******** is responsible for per the terms of her lease agreement along with rekeying and cleaning that she failed to take care of. We forgave the $30 late fee and took off one of the $150 for the HOA Lease Review Fee (she was unintentionally charged twice).
 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I reviewed my lease and I am not responsible for the following charges:


1. New tenant change over fee of $150.00. It's NOT stated in the lease that I would owe a new tenant change over fee if I left the lease.

2. Re-Keying fee of $109.40. The lease states that I do NOT owe a re-keying fee if I return the keys, which I did. It does NOT state that I would need to re-key if I left the lease.

3. Excessive carpet cleaning fee of $264.98. The unit is only 900sqft and was stained upon move in. We only lived in the unit for 5 months. I questioned Dawn upon move in about
carpet even being cleaned or not and she responded that the carpet was 10 years old and that the owner did not want to change it.

4. Advertising fee of $60.00. I had talked to Dawn and she told me directly it would only cost $30 per month to advertise the property on her site not $60.



As per our lease we moved in the first week of February 2015 and moved out on July 9, 2015. The new tenant moved in on July 16 , 2015. We moved out 5 months into our 13 month lease, which is 8 months early not 9. 

The fees I am being charged for keep changing and are labeled different things on each report I've received. We should be even on the balance owed due to my $1000 deposit and my $600 pet deposit.





Sincerely,

***** ********

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


Dawn told us over the phone that if we found a tenant and the tenant moved in with no gaps in the lease , we would be released of all the responsibility's of the lease. She also stated that once the new tenant signed a new lease that we would be receiving our security deposit back

Also, I believe clause 42 of the lease does not completely apply to us. I returned the keys and garage remote , therefore I should not owe a re-keying fee as per clause 42 of the lease states. As stated before , the charges are overly exaggerated and were not made clear when breaking the lease. The fees are not consistent on the final balance owing document.I have received more than 3 final balance owing documents and the charges are labeled differently on each one. I was not made aware of any of these fees before or during the lease.



Sincerely,

***** ********

Business Response: Response:

8/12/15 Complaint
 
1. $150.00 change over fee - Ms. ******** received a copy of the ******* ** ******** HOA community documents (Clause 36 of her lease).  In Article 8 of their Rules and Regulations it specifically states that there is a $150.00 lease review fee for all new leases within the association. The owner paid Ms. ********'s fee when she moved in.  However, because there was another fee incurred when Ms. ******** broke her lease, the 2nd fee was charged to her as "costs incurred as a result of the breach" for breaking her lease.

2. Clause 42 of lease -Breach of Contract - "...Tenant agrees to reimburse landlord for all costs incurred as a result of the breach..."  Ms. ******** did not return the keys to the Bell-Anderson office.  She left them locked inside the unit that she vacated.  A locksmith had to be called in order to gain access to the interior of the property.

3.  Carpet Cleaning - This amount is what was charged to clean the carpet.  Clause 24.C states that the tenant is responsible to have the carpets cleaned professionally, using a truck mounted cleaning system.  Ms. ******** provided no evidence that she had had that done.

4.  Advertising - Here again, Clause 42 of lease - Breach of Contract - "...Tenant agrees to reimburse landlord for all costs incurred as a result of the breach..."  In speaking with Dawn, she said that she didn't say that it would be $30.


8/14/15 Complaint

In speaking with the property manager, Dawn H******, she said that she did not tell Ms. ******** she would be getting her security deposit back.  And yes, there were a couple of adjustments done to Ms. ******** security deposit accounting because there were some funds returned to her.

This whole matter is the result of Ms. ******** breaking her lease.  There are ramifications for doing such and they are outlined in various clauses of her lease. 

We are sorry that she felt the need to file a complaint, however, we feel we acted honestly and professionally in dealing with her account.




11/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bell Anderson has been our property management for 2 years. Tenants signed lease March and received a reduced rent to sign. The broke the lease in August, gave us 10 days notice. New renters moved in Sept 15 approximately, maybe earlier. Bell Anderson said I agreed to pay all fees related to tenants lease break. I DID NOT. I said I would not charge extra 250 for breaking if we had a new renter. Which we do. NOW, Bell Anderson is withholding my October Rent from NEW TENANTS. Refusing to disburse MY rent, charging me all these fees that should go to the tenant who broke the lease. I did not agree,************* said I did verbally, FIRST I didn't, secondly, she is PAID to represent me, who in the world would agree to not get rent of up to 1500 in fees? No one, nor would she even suggest it. They are holding my rent illegaly and they broke the contract by not giving me my money AND their fudiciary duty is to me, not tenants. Also, they arent' to go over 300 without approval and DID.

Desired Settlement: October rent and refund of all related charges. Also, refund of all fees, and out of the contract with them and all of our related contracts due to their illegal activity without charge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/10/25) */ Bell Anderson has been in business for 50 years and we continually strive towards excellence and exceeding our client's expectations. In fact, we are often praised for our communication and thoroughness. At one point, we were even acknowledged by ****** ****** for our great service. Although, *** ******* feels she was not represented fairly, the property was re-rented in a timely manner, no maintenance was done without approval (via emails from her), and funds were properly dispersed to *** ******* Bell-Anderson's management and oversight has been done in compliance with state law, the management agreement, and the lease agreement. Presently we have legal assistance reviewing all the steps that have been taken with this property and will be getting back with *** ******* to resolve this matter to the satisfaction of all parties.