BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells plumbing parts, supplies and fixtures, including water heaters to both the public and professionals, as well as providing plumbing contractor services. This company sells plumbing parts, supplies and fixtures, including water heaters to both the public and professionals, as well as providing plumbing contractor services. This company sells plumbing parts, supplies and fixtures, including water heaters to both the public and professionals, as well as providing plumbing contractor services. This company sells plumbing parts, supplies and fixtures, including water heaters to both the public and professionals, as well as providing plumbing contractor services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that George A Morlan Plumbing & Appliance Co meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for George A Morlan Plumbing & Appliance Co include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on George A Morlan Plumbing & Appliance Co
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1946 Business started: 01/01/1927 Business started locally: 01/01/1927 Business incorporated 12/30/1946 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater NW, Salem OR 97310
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/bcd
Phone Number: (503) 378-4133
bcd.webmaster@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Kramien, President Mr. Andy Hilger, Corporate Sales Manager Mr. Alex Kramien, Corporate Vice Presi Ms. Amanda Kramien, Vice President of Customer Relations Mrs. Teri Moothart, Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Andy Hilger, Corporate Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. Rick Kramien, President
Business Category

Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Geo A Morlan Plumbing & Appliance Co George A Morlan Plumbing & Appl Co George Morlan Plumbing Co George Morlan Plumbing Pro Supply George Morlan Plumbing Supply

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

George A Morlan Plumbing & Appliance Co has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12585 SW Pacific Hwy

    Tigard, OR 97223 (503) 771-1145

  • 2222 NW Raleigh St

    Portland, OR 97210 (503) 224-7000 (503) 375-0200 (503) 624-7381 (541) 330-1777 (503) 274-4222

  • 3748 SE High School Dr

    Lincoln City, OR 97367 (541) 994-3880

  • 399 Lancaster Dr NE

    Salem, OR 97301

  • 5529 SE Foster Rd

    Portland, OR 97206

  • 5805 SW 107th Ave STE 1

    Beaverton, OR 97005 (503) 641-3000

  • 61455 S Highway 97

    Bend, OR 97702

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After I was sold a particular sink, the salesperson ***** ***** told me the only way to get the product was to add on a special package that cost approximately $150. The "special package" included two of three add ons (a cutting board, a sink base, or a sponge rack), I did not actually want or need any of those products, but after being sold on the sink, I purchased the package choosing the over the sink cutting board and the sponge rack. *** ***** also told me that he had worked with my counter top installers before and spoke highly of them. The cutting board does not fit the sink. I called many times and left messages, but did not get a return call. I finally got through to a manager who told me that it was the counter top installer's fault and briefly explained "American" installation vs "European" installation. I requested information about how we could alter the cutting board so it could sit over the sink and be useable. After many emails, *** ***** finally said, it couldn't. I expressed my dissatisfaction and asked to exchange the cutting board for the sink base. *** ***** has alternately ignored my calls and emails, or has promised to get back to me and then failed to do so. I have a $150 over-the-sink cutting board that is unusable.

Desired Settlement: An over the sink cutting board that fits, the sink base alternative "special package" choice, or $100 refund. I also would like the courtesy of a response.

Business Response: After speaking with the salesperson in regard to this complaint, his response is as follows:
 
The consumer's first comment stating "the only way to get the product was to add on a special package that costs approximately $150.00" is incorrect. She was informed
the sink was available with or without the accessory package, but was in George Morlan Plumbing's local stock with the accessory package included, so to receive the sink for counter top fabrication quickly the consumer would need to purchase the sink and accessory package from our stock. It was clearly the consumer's choice to purchase the sink with the accessories from our stock.

The consumer's  recall of her salesperson never receiving a returned call is inaccurate. Although he is difficult to reach at times with his large customer base, the consumer and her salesperson did have a couple phone conversations regarding the improper fit of the cutting board. It was determined that the counter top was not cut the manufactures specifications and the cutting board cannot be adjusted to fit the fabricator's specific cut out. At that time the salesperson offered to call the factory to see what could be done and if possibly ****** *** had any other options.  ****** did not. The consumer was not satisfied with the salesperson's or factory response so the salesperson offered to call the local ****** factory representative to see if there was anything they could do. There was not since the sink cut out had been done without using the manufacture specifications. 

The salesperson been selling and specifying plumbing for over 21 years with our company and takes pride in taking the time needed to discuss all options and he is diligent to discuss types of installation of under mount sinks and the different ways fabricators choose to install. He also encouraged the consumer to communicate their expectations ahead of time to their contractor, plumber and fabricator's to eliminate these kinds of situations.

With regard to "American v.s. European" mounting of sinks, there is little difference in the cutting and mounting process.  Unfortunately, the manager the consumer spoke with was in an automobile accident recently and not working at present.  With his injuries, he cannot recall this or many other conversations from the past months.

We sincerely feel the issue is with that of the counter top fabricator and not George Morlan Plumbing.

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing regarding an issue we are experiencing because of the defective nature of a faucet we purchased on 11/4/13 (under name ******* ********). The faucet is KWC 10.181.003.127. We receive good service at the Tigard store and terrible customer service at the NW Portland location where we picked it up that day. But that is another story. The faucet was an expensive purchase for us (at $613.90) but we were happy to pay for what we perceived as a quality item. In the months that followed, we found that spray function didn't work properly and the faucet leaked despite several installation fixes. On March 25, ******* called George Moran Plumbing (GMP) at the Salem location to report the issue and investigate options. He was informed by ***** that we were past the return date. GMP would do nothing for us. He referred ******* to the manufacturer, **** to address defects or other problems with the faucet. ******* called **** he and ***** both spoke with the tech manager, ********* (sp). We discussed options of replacement parts and fixing the faucet. However, upon review of the multiple issues, ********* and ***** came to an agreement that the faucet was, in fact, defective. She explained that we should return the faucet to GMP and they would, in turn, return the defective faucet to *** for reimbursement and recoup the loss of our return. She gave ***** her name and explained we should expect a full refund. ******* called ***** back at GMP to tell him the details of the conversation with ********* at **** He said okay but didn't provide any additional information. On March 29, ***** returned the faucet to GMP at Salem. ******, a customer service person, refused to accept the return. He explained that GMP needed an authorization number from *** guaranteeing that they ***** would pay for the refund. As it was a weekend, no one was available to make that decision and provide the authorization number. ***** was incensed. ***** and **** told ***** about the intention to return the faucet per ****** instruction. If an authorization number had to be obtained prior to the return, that should have been explained in that phone conversation and a plan should have been made to obtain it. Upon leaving GMP on March 29, ***** left a voicemail for ********* explaining that an authorization code was needed. Here is where the issue really lies; GMP, per ******, refuses to accept any responsibility for the leaky, defective faucet. ********* has, according to ******, recanted her statement and denies ever approving a refund for the defective faucet. ***** and **** are stuck with a leaky, defective faucet, owned for a mere 5 months and costing over $600. The faucet has already been replaced. The service in this experience has been abominable. The faucet is clearly defective; ********* at *** agreed in the phone conversation. It has been owned a brief time. Will no one take responsibility for producing and selling an inferior product at an exorbitant price? We have the box and faucet. We request to be able to return the defective faucet for a full refund. We have asked GMP and *** to please consider this case, contact ******* or ***** with questions, and come to a just and timely decision.

Desired Settlement: George Morlan Plumbing and/or ***

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 30, 2014/05/19) */ On may 14, 2014 **** ** in our corporate office spoke with *** **** ******** confirming they had infact, received their refund check directly from the manufacturer of the defective faucet, **** *** ******** did confirm receipt of check and all other issues were resolved. We consider this matter closed.