BBB Accredited Business since

South County Plumbing Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (425) 775-7377 Fax: (425) 778-0470 View Additional Phone Numbers 18609 76th Ave W Ste F, Lynnwood, WA 98037

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers plumbing repair, remodel and new construction services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South County Plumbing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for South County Plumbing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on South County Plumbing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 25, 1991 Business started: 09/01/1980 Business started locally: 09/01/1980 Business incorporated 10/30/1980 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Rick Mustard, President Mrs. Diana Mustard, Secretary
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Diana Mustard, Secretary
Principal: Mr. Rick Mustard, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Additional Locations

  • 18609 76th Ave W Ste F

    Lynnwood, WA 98037 (425) 775-7377 (800) 481-7733

  • PO Box 6157

    Edmonds, WA 98026 (206) 363-0094


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had called this business to move a bathtub drain over three inches. ***** from SCP gave us a verbal estimate of $300, but said he couldn't be sure til onsite. *** came to work on it and didn't have anyone else with him, but seemed to require help. So he enlisted my brother's assistance in doing what his company was supposed to be doing. He also utilized our tools and not his own, including plumber's tape and sealant. At the end of the job we were handed a bill for just under $1000, triple the estimate given. There had been no communication that the fix was going to more than triple what we'd been told, and then they wanted payment after ***** had been specifically told on the phone that we were tenants and the landlord requested he be billed. When *** phoned the office, ***** agreed to let us postdate a check since we were unable to reach our landlord on the fly, but he also denied ever stating the $300 estimate. My brother called and spoke with *****, after *** had gone, and asked him if it were common practice for a plumber to come out and require both customer assistance with the job and the customer's tools. *****'s response was to quickly change the subject and hurriedly end the call stating that there would be no change to the bill.

Desired Settlement: It would be nice if a reasonable adjustment were made to the bill and a refund of those charges returned to us. My brother did half the work and provided the tools for the job. That should be taken into consideration and if that is this company's common practice, they should place those constraints in their advertising for others in future.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/20) */ My name is *****, and I took this call. The customer called and asked how much we would charge him to move a bathtub drain about 2" and solder a piece of copper on a tub tree. He said he would have everything exposed and ready for us. I told him if everything was as he claimed it could be done in about (2) hours. When I dispatched the plumber out to the job, I explained exactly what I was told. My Plumber arrived and went to work on moving the drain and soldering a stub out of copper on the shower tree. I received a call from my plumber stating that the job had changed, and stated that the customer know wanted him to install a waste and overflow that was in bad shape. My plumber said that they needed a new one because the shape that the one the customer wanted us to install wouldn't seal. We were not scheduled to install a waste and overflow so my plumber did not have one on his truck, so he had to leave and get one, for which he was not charged for the trip to get one. Our plumber went back and installed the waste and overflow, and the customer said as long as your here, will you install the bathtub? My plumber called and asked if he had time to do that. Usually that is a two man job. My plumber stated that the customer would assist him in the installation. So I gave him the O.K. to proceed. My plumber took longer then quoted because he kept adding things for my plumber to do. If the customer had explained what he ended up having my plumber do I would have sent two plumbers out, And when my plumber thief to collect the customer asked if we could bill the owner. My plumber stated your not the owner, and he said No! My plumber called me to ask if I knew that the customer wasn't the home owner. I said no if I knew that I would have had discussed it with the owner before we sent anyone out. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/01/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In response to case ID #XXXXXXXX: I know that the BBB's suggestion toward reconciling this complaint is to find middle ground, but South County Plumbing leaves no room for that avenue. There is very little truth in *****'s response to this complaint. He did, indeed, take the call and admits that; but doesn't admit that he was specifically told that we were the TENANTS and that the landlord requested the billing be sent to him. Also, the waste overflow was indeed an "add on" as we were unaware that ours was damaged and we would be unable to use it because it would not seal properly. *** did, indeed, leave for an hour to obtain a new waste overflow from their supplier and we were billed $100 for that part but not for his time away from the job. That's about where the truth ends in *****'s rebuttal. The waste overflow required both *** and my brother to install. At no time during this job were we made aware that the job would triple the initial, verbal estimate ***** had given on the phone of $300. I would think that a successful company doing business on the up and up would give their clients that information. *** did not arrive with a "P trap", which would have been necessary for the drain relocation. *** and my brother had to immediately travel to the local hardware store to buy one at our expense. *** absolutely DID NOT help in any way in installing the tub as it had to be in place for proper drain placement AND *** was under the house at that time. Towards the end of the work time, *** went under the house to work without taking any parts or tools, thus adding valuable time to the job at hand, and also requiring my brother to have to pass him the necessary tools and parts. He did not bring a proper light or extension cord with him, so we provided a bulb and extension cord to him. He broke the first bulb so we provided a second one which he took with him when he left. *** soldered the pipe and proceeded to lay hot pipe pieces on our newly installed vinyl flooring. When called on his misstep, he proceeded to place the hot pipe pieces in a plastic bowl that was being used nearby without asking permission to do so. Also during his soldering of the pipe, the heat/sparks melted the rubber gaskets inside a brand new faucet cartridge causing it to leak persistently. We had to waste quite a bit of time and effort in order to figure out where the problem was (without calling ANOTHER plumber) and then buying an additional cartridge for over $20. Though *** was kind, we question his credentials based on his professional decisions, time management and interaction with my brother. My brother spoke with ***** at length, after *** had gone, regarding their business practices, verbal estimates and the communication of any changes, and the use of both client tools and client persons for a job we hired THEM to do. ***** deftly dodged any wrongdoing, any proper answers and said he had never given a verbal estimate nor had he at any time been told we were tenants. I heard the five phone calls my brother made to other plumbers to find the best price and the soonest availability; he said the same thing to each company and that information was in every call. We do know verbal estimates are just that, estimates. But once the scope of the job had been seen, communication of the potential price SHOULD be given to the client. It would be just good business as well as respectful of client financial availability. All that aside, the steps I would suggest be taken to resolve this case are as follows: * The bill should be split in half since we provided not only the tools for the job, but also half the manpower. * ***** needs to "man up" and admit he knew all along about us being tenants and that he did indeed give a verbal estimate even though we all know that is not a binding contract. * South County Plumbing should revise their business practices to included communication with a client should their verbal estimate be exceeding that total by any more than say $100. * They should revise their advertising to include the information that client tools will be needed, client resources could be needed and client help may be required. Not everyone would have the tools we have on hand. * Businesses are made or broken on customer word of mouth. I have no problem making sure everyone I know will never utilize this company and telling them why they should not. I have a large pool of local home owner friends. That is not a threat, but a truth in action if this complaint is not addressed respectfully and completely by the SCP. Belatedly we found out about a site called, which gives info regarding various companies and customer reviews. SCP had five reviews, prior to my own, and three of those were negative; one was almost identical in that ***** had given a verbal estimate only to deny it later and that communication was disrespectful to the clients when they raised any kind of question. I did leave my own review, which was the same wording as in my initial BBB complaint. I only hope others will find that site prior to engaging this company. Sincerely, ****** ******* Final Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2014/02/18) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************** February 17, 2014 In response to BBB's case ID #XXXXXXXX On (please insert date) I, *** ** was given a work order by ***** the dispatcher of South County Plumbing. ***** proceeded to tell me before I left to complete the work order that he had spoken to the owner who assured him that the drain/pipe was fully exposed and ready to be moved only two inches. ***** did tell me that he had quoted the man he spoke to $300 to $400 for the above stated job ONLY and was clear that the amount was a rough estimate being that he was not there to see it personally. Upon arriving to the job site the customer (man) let me in and we walked over to the bathroom. I soldered a piece of copper for the tub spout that was ON THE WALL. I then asked him very clearly where he wanted to move the drain (two inches) to being that after it was moved I would not be responsible if the drain didn't match the tub. I informed him that he would be charged extra for my time if I had to move the drain again. After giving it consideration he then asked me if I would be able to help him set the tub in place to ensure it would match up with the drain. I agreed and explained to him that it would be an additional time charge. I also informed him (client) that this job required two people and that I would reschedule for a later day. He asked if he would help me if it could be done that same day. I said that would be fine if he assisted me. He then showed me the waste and overflow for the tub. After looking at it I informed him that it was unusable as it was completely bent out of shape and would never seal. I let him know that I needed a new one and he said it was fine for me to go bring one from our supplier. The client was not charged for the travel time. After picking up the over flow I arrived and installed it. Once that was done and we were ready, the client helped me move the tub into place to see where the drain would be moved to. The next step was to get into the crawl space which the client did know where it was. We both looked around the house and were able to locate an entrance, unfortunately this was not a usable entrance. We continued to look and were able to finally find another entrance under the deck; this is the one that was used. As I was heading to my truck for an extension cord for my light, the client informed me that he already had one there and being that he had been helping me throughout the tub installation I went ahead and used his. I entered the crawl space to check it out. I was to cut a piece of a galvanized drain pipe and extend it using a coupling but after seeing the conditions of the p-trap I recommended it be replaced as it was in awful condition. I told him that I needed to leave the site again and get a p-trap form my supplier. The client insisted that we go to *** ******** store where he could buy one himself ( the reason I did not have a P-trap was that my original work order didn't require it, same thing with the waste and overflow). I accompanied him to the hardware store and came back to install it. We moved the tub again in order to have access to the space where the drain was to be moved to. I then went outside, took my saw to cut the drain out as well as my abs fittings, glue, and pipe wrench and proceeded to got into the crawl space and fixed the drain. Finally, we were able to move the tub and install it. Once the job was done the client seemed happy and was grateful to have his tub installed. He continued to be pleasant and I went outside to create the bill for him. I then presented the total bill to him at which point the informed me that he would pass it along to the owner who would then mail us a check. I was surprised that I had been dealing with a tenant and asked him if he had informed ***** that he was NOT the owner. The client hesitated and his response was "I think so". I called ***** once again who also seemed completely surprised that he was not the owner. He then asked me to go back inside and inform him that the bill must be paid and that they would have to handle that with the owner at a later time. After complaining that he did not have the money for this he finally agreed to give us a postdated check that was to be cashed until the 1st of the following month. Please note that throughout the whole process, I did not see or deal with anyone other than the gentleman who helped me. The only other person whom was there to my knowledge was the mom who only appeared at the end to sign me the check. That is as far as I went with the client. Next thing I know, I am being asked to write this letter in response to a complaint that I personally think is unreasonable and with no grounds. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 21, 2014/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Re: Case #XXXXXXXX, South County Plumbing, Inc. We read the last response from SCP's employee, *** ******* and found it to be a bit enlightening. In his first paragraph, he confirmed that *****, his boss, did indeed give a verbal estimate of $300 to $400 over the phone. ***** denied it in his own response, yet his employee confirmed it. Seems to me that that proves ***** was not telling the truth in his response. If he lied about this particular point, it shows he could, and would, lie about other points as well. That being said, and returning to ****** response. He did need to know where to position the new drain and in order to do that, the tub needed to be in place. Never once did he ever even touch the tub, as my brother had it in place prior and then *** needed to be under the house in order to place the drain. I assisted my brother in taking the tub out when it was necessary and returning it to its position when necessary and *** was still under the house. *** never saw me, or interacted with me as I had a migraine and was in my room during his visit. But since *** was under the house at the time, my brother needed help in setting the tub so they could determine the proper drain placement. *** did tell us he needed to know where the drain would fit and it would cost extra if he had to move it again, but he never assisted with the placement of the tub in order to ascertain where proper placement would be. He did solder pipe in the wall and the heat and sparks of that action melted the rubber in the brand new cartridge, causing problems after he left. We replaced that cartridge and installed it ourselves. The waste overflow was deemed to be unusable and had to be replaced. After purchasing a new one, my brother and *** replaced it. Once *** was under the house, he realized he would need several items he did not take with him, and so my brother passed parts and tools to him through a small opening under the tub. *** even admits in his response that a "gentleman helped him". I got up to use our other bathroom during the work on the main bathroom and saw my brother passing tools down to **** I even asked him what he was doing and he said that *** did not have some tools, parts and supplies needed to do the job when he arrived and so my brother offered him use of his own tools in order to expedite the job completion. Not once, throughout the job at hand, was money discussed until *** handed my brother the bill. If *** was aware of the initial estimate, and he admits he was, then when his work surpassed that estimate it would make sense that some discussion with us would have been necessary to make us aware of the extreme jump in price. We do realize the verbal estimate was not binding, as they needed to be onsite to see the extent of the job, but *** was aware of what we were told by his boss on the phone. ***** was, indeed, made aware through the initial call, that we were tenants and that our landlord requested to be billed since he was unable to be onsite when the job was being done. My brother made at least five calls to plumbers that day and gave the same information each time. I heard those calls and the content of each. They were all made aware that we were tenants. Since it seems we are the only ones trying to come to a consensus and suggest terms on which we'd like to settle this matter, my previous suggestions remain the same. We would still request that some of the bill be lowered and the sum returned to us as soon as possible. As for the other items requested, they would help SCP in future business ventures, but are not necessary for the close of this claim.