BBB Accredited Business since

Soreano's Plumbing

Phone: (206) 723-7373 Fax: (206) 723-5447 3704 S Ferdinand St, Seattle, WA 98118 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.soreanosplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and plumbing sales, installation. service and repair. They also offer gas service. This company has a showroom and parts counter.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Soreano's Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Soreano's Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Soreano's Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1945 Business started locally: 01/01/1945 Business incorporated 04/18/1950 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ronald Soreano, President Ms. Debby Mullert, Office Manager Mr. Roger Schoenecker, Sales Manager Lodi Soreando Mr. Louis Soreano, Secretary
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Roger Schoenecker, Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. Ronald Soreano, President
Business Category

Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
Hatfield Plumbing & Heating Inc Soreano's Hatfield Plumbing Heating Inc

Additional Locations

  • 3704 S Ferdinand St

    Seattle, WA 98118 (206) 723-7373

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Between 1/19/2015 and 1/22/2015, I called Soreano's Plumbing at least 4 times to check a possible pipe leak and get an estimate on fixing cost. Soreano was referred to me by *** from ****** ****** ******** (************) who is highly recommended by Mercer Island residents. I had specifically asked from *** *******. The man I spoke to identified himself as *******. I explained to him that it's not urgent and not a problem since we have sump pump. However, if there is a leak, I would like to know the cost and have it fixed. I also emphasized that I work at Seattle and it takes about 15 minutes to drive back. Not once during our conversations, *** ******* mentioned their fees, charges for waiting time, etc. I was left to believe that we agreed for a check on the leak and I would get an estimate after the check, there were no charges involved until the real work - fixing -- starts. On 1/22, when I started to drive back to meet the plumbers, I got a call from my mom that they were already at the house. When I got back, they spent 15 minutes trying to open the sump pump, then another 15 minutes staring into the sump pump, in the end, one of them checked the water pressure. Then, they told me there is no water leak and handed me $219 bill including charges for waiting time. I was shocked and told them this is not what I agreed to. I could not believe they also tried to charge me while they were standing around waiting. Then, they reduced the charge to $175. I recovered a bit from my shock. I told them that I needed to speak to *** *******. They got him on the phone. *** ******* first denied that he had ever spoken to me. When I tried to explain to him what I had communicated in the past and how he never once mentioned any fees and charges for waiting time. Since I did not have any information to make a decision on the fees and charges, I told him I can't pay for things that I was not told of and agreed to. He then threatened to send me a bill and send the bill to collections if I do not pay. Immediately after Soreano Plumbers left, I called *** to explain what happened and how shocked I was after dealing with *******. I told him that I wanted to check with him whether this is normal since he recommended *******. *** asked me to talk with ******* to come to a reasonable solution for a price to pay. On 1/27, I received a bill from ******* for $131.40.

Desired Settlement: I had agreed to a free estimate service by Soreano's Plumbing on 1/22. I was not informed of Soreano's practices in fees and charges for such service. If I had known, I would have not used their service. If I had agreed knowing the full terms on fees and charges, I would have paid the bill, whether it's $219 or $131.40, willingly. However, since I was not informed and was left to believe it's a free estimate, I can't pay for any charges Soreano has claimed.

Business Response: RE; Case # ********: **** *****

Soreano's Plumbing was contacted by **** ***** on January 20, 2015. The call was taken by ***** *********** the office manager. ***** has been a member of our staff for 30 years.
**** ***** describes her problem as hearing water dripping into her sump well when using house water. ***** asked if her sump pump was working. She said it was operating properly. He asked if it could be ground water. Her response was; she only heard the dripping noise when she ran water.
She wanted to schedule a service call to find the source of the water going into the sump well. Being a new customer, ***** explained our rate, which is $120.00 for the first 1/2 hour and $40.00 for each 15 minutes following.
**** ***** was contacted midday on Thursday January 22, 2015 saying that *** our journeyman plumbing technician is being dispatched to the ***** residence. She said she would be there in approximately 15 - 20 minutes.
*** has been on staff for over 32 years and has nearly 40 years of residential experience.
*** arrived to the premises 15 minutes before **** *****. Her mother was there, since she didn't speak English she was reluctant let him have access to the house. **** ***** got home approximately 15 minutes after ***. She let him in and he promptly got to work.
*** proceeded to inspect the complete interior plumbing system to determine the source of the water going into the sump well. He went over all water pipes and waste lines checking for leaks. ***, after a comprehensive examination, his diagnosis was ground water seeping through the foundation and into the sump well.
*** presented a hand written invoice for his labor of 1 1/2 hours ($280.00) plus state sales tax 9.5% ($26.20) for a total of $306.60. **** ***** refused to pay. *** called into the office and was told by *** ******* to deduct the 15 minutes he waited for **** ***** to get home. She still would not pay. He was advised to offer another reduction of time to 1 hour. Again she refused to pay thus *** was dispatched to his next job.
Upon talking to **** ***** on the phone, *** ******* decided to only charge her our minimum service fee of $120.00 plus $10.80 state sales tax for a total of $130.80.
We confidently feel that a service was rendered to **** *****. *** took the necessary time to thoroughly examine the state of her plumbing system and assure her that were no apparent problems
Having reduced her bill to our minimum charge, we feel that this is a fair compromise.





****** ** *******
President

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business has blatantly lied about every aspect of the transaction. They never told me their fees and charges during my several phone conversations with them. I never had a chance to consider whether to hire them based on their fees and charges. I would not have asked them to come if I know of their charges and fees because the issue is not urgent and I would have shopped around. As for the waiting time, I can easily arrange to work from home if I've known they charge for the waiting time. The only thing I agreed is to have a free estimate from them, then, if they are honest and competent, I would hire them to fix the problem.

It also lied about the time that they were at my house and the charges that they have presented to me. The total time they were at my house, including waiting time, is less than one hour. The bill they first presented to me is $219, then, was reduced to $175 after I told them that they never told me about the fees and I have never agreed to this transaction based on fees and charges. They did not leave an itemized bill with me.

During their visit, I was with them every second. My house has two bathrooms and a basement. I showed them where the pipes are. The elder plumber did listen to the sound and checked the two bathrooms while I closed and opened the main water switch. Even with climbing the stairs, this took less than 5 minutes. The elder plumber spent about 15 minutes trying to open the sump pump, which has 4 bolts. He complained that he did not have the right tool and declined to have the younger plumber fetch a different tool. He also rejected when the younger plumber tried to do it. Then, they spent another 15 minutes alternately to lie on the floor and look down to the sump pump. In the end, the elder plumber checked the water pressure.

I had asked to speak to *** ******* and was told it is *******. Later he denied to have spoken to me on the phone.

The dishonesty and lies given by the business are terrifying and abhorrent. As a first-time home owner who has just started to deal with contractors, it terrifies me that business can just lie and charge without letting the customer know and agree to it beforehand. I do not believe it's right for business to do so. I also do not believe it's legal for business to do so. If business is allowed to lie and charge whatever in their advantage, then, no homeowner would dare to hire a contractor or forever wonder whether they can afford to pay when the work is done or not done.

I was not informed of the fees and charges by Soreano. I did not agree to the fees and charges. Therefore, I can't pay for what they have asked. I did wonder why they would spend almost 15 minutes to open the sump pump. Later, I understood it's because they could charge me for it since there was not much for them to do. The most outrageous of all are the lies by the business and the complete and utter dishonesty.

Business Response:

Soreano's Plumbing has been in business since 1946.  We have high standings at the Better Business Bureau and a top rating in Checkbook consumers North West Business guide.

Soreano's has taken pride in our high standards and quality of workmanship.  This diligence had rewarded us in a large and loyal customer base.  We have some customers spanning three generations.

I take umbrage that she accuses us of deceptive business practices.

We run our business in the old fashioned way.  We send out only journeymen plumbers and charge only for the time and materials.  We feel that is the fairest way to charge.

Many plumbing shops use a flat rate system.  They have set charges for specific task.  These charge are generally set very high.  They also use high pressure tactices to sell-up a job to maximize their profits.

**** ******, in her naivety to new home ownership, does not understand about service work.  We tried to explain our "time and material" billing, but she failed to grasp the concept.

Since she didn't understand, we have reduced her invoice to the minimum charge of $131.40 (this includes 9.5% state sales tax).  This is the final compromise we are offering.

 

***** * ******

President