Download Download


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing and drain and sewer cleaning.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr Rooter Plumbing of Seattle meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr Rooter Plumbing of Seattle include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mr Rooter Plumbing of Seattle
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 12, 1991 Business started: 05/01/1989 Business started locally: 05/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Vincent Sposari, President Ms. Tracie Hawkins, Office Manager Mr. Robert Miller, Operation Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Miller, Operation Manager
Principal: Mr. Vincent Sposari, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Sewer Inspection Water Heaters - Repairing Water Main Contractors Pipe & Valve Fitters Pipe & Valve Fitters - Gas Grease Traps Inspection Devices - Industrial Leak Detection Pipe Sewage Disposal Systems Copper Filters - Liquid Sewer Pipe Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Sump Pump Contractors Pipe Inspection Pipe Line Contractors Pipe Pushing Pipe Thawing Piping Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Mister Rooter Mister Rooter King County Mr Rooter King County Mr. Rooter Pierce County Mr. Rooter Snohomish County Mr. Rooter Thurston County Sposari Inc
Products & Services

We are a full service plumbing company specializing in service, repair, drain cleaning and side sewer replace/repair. We offer 24/7 service and never charge extra for nights, weekends or holidays. Trucks are equipped with State of the a equipment


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mr Rooter Plumbing of Seattle has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2000 S 116th St

    Seattle, WA 98168 (206) 767-5359 (206) 763-9010 (425) 454-1750 (253) 859-9375 (253) 838-6018 (425) 885-2806 (206) 763-4959 (253) 859-0012 (425) 454-8029 (206) 763-5045 (253) 859-3146 (425) 454-8044 (425) 226-7930 (253) 859-5983 (253) 838-1484 (425) 226-4446 (206) 364-1339 (425) 746-6849 (425) 226-0603 (206) 362-7239 (425) 226-2064 (206) 323-3986 (206) 932-5272 (425) 453-1604 (425) 303-8400 (253) 946-2330 (206) 340-0963 (360) 403-3230 (425) 415-1810 (425) 820-6432 (425) 335-5633 (360) 568-9643 (425) 820-0401 (360) 568-4237 (360) 794-8449 (425) 226-0452 (425) 226-0458 (425) 226-0532 (425) 226-0749 (425) 226-5904 (425) 226-4713 (425) 226-5235 (425) 226-4731 (425) 226-1624 (425) 226-2300 (425) 226-1380 (425) 226-0599 (425) 226-0603 (800) 845-3107 (425) 226-5109 (425) 775-6379 (877) 280-0236 (425) 903-3086 (425) 903-3087 (425) 903-3088 (206) 364-3868 (888) 842-7784

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. Rooter was called to fix a water leak 6/19/15. Two leaks were detected by a 3rd party locating service and marked. Mr. Rooter quoted $2700 to fix 2 leaks. After exposing the pipes in the 2 locations, one leak was found and repaired ( 6 inched of 3/4" pipe replaced). Total work took less than 3 hours and I was charged the full amount. I called to ask for a credit because only half the quoted work was done and was offered $500 off on 6/26/15. Reuban from Mr. Rooter told me their normal hourly rate is $175/hr, they offered to reduce the charge to $700/hr.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $1,300; Mr. Rooter would still have made $1,400 for 3 hours of work which is over $400/hr, and is $125 over their hourly rate.

Business Response: Operations Manager Robert M***** reached out to the customer Derik ****** on 6/30/2015. After discussion of the job and work performed, Mr. Rooter and Mr. ****** have agreed on a fair and proper credit. This case has been satisfied and the customers expectations have been met.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

5/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the house end of 2012 and did a lot of work to update the house. I contacted Mr. Rooter because the toilet and kitchen water ran slowly in the house in July 2013. So when their sewer dept said the sewer line was so old and all clogged and suggested me to do a new vinyl pipe sewer line or the issue will get worse, I had no choice and paid $9000 dollars something to do new sewer pipe. However the storm drain was actually merged with the sew line which I had no knowledge at all until this month. When they performed the job, they should leave an opening for storm drain which they didn't. So the storm drain was blocked off after the new vinyl pipe was installed. There was a rain storm hit two weeks ago and caused flood. I called Mr. Rooter on 3/20/2015 and they said as long as the new sewer pipe they installed blocked off the storm drain, they should take care of it as it's warranty issue. Yesterday, their underground dept manager *** called me and refused to do so. I need them to fix it. the new sewer pipe should not block off the storm drain especially they are professional and they should have all considered when they do their job. They should not walk away with their mistake without fixing it.

Desired Settlement: the new sewer pipe should not block off the storm drain especially they are professional and they should have all considered when they do their job. They should not walk away with their mistake without fixing it.

Business Response: April 2, 2015

Mr. Rooter Plumbing BBB Response
Complaint #********
Below is an explanation of the work completed at Ms. ***** **** home and why Mr. Rooter Plumbing is not responsible for any additional work.
 On July 3rd, 2013, Ms. **** requested service because all the drains in her house were running slow. Mr. Rooter Plumbing responded and snaked her sewer line from a pulled toilet and informed her she had sewer problems and needed additional repair work on the sewer pipe outside the house. 
 On July 31, 2013, we  located and dig up the clean out on the south side of the house in order to use our hydro-jetter in an attempt to remove roots and get the line to drain. We were able to get the line to drain which allowed us to use our camera to inspect and locate the sewer line. During our camera inspection and locating of the line we found that Ms. **** sewer was illegally tied into her neighbor’s 4” sewer line. There are two reasons why it was illegal, 1) no permit or easement to tie into neighbors sewer and 2) it is illegal to have two houses run on a 4” sewer pipe. We continued to excavate down to the original sewer pipe on Ms. ****** property, we ran our video camera down that line and found the line to have been abandoned. We concluded they abandoned the pipe due to it being broken and massive root intrusion. At this time we explained to Ms. **** the situation that her pipe was illegally tied into her neighbors pipe and that her downspout lines and driveway drain line were not working because her line was abandoned. We explained to Ms. **** that we have pipe lining capabilities where trenchless technology allow us to line the existing pipe without excavation other than one entry point at the back of the house. It was explained to Ms. **** that the liner would block off the wye connection to the storm drain line. It would cost thousands of dollars to excavate down to tie the storm drains in, therefore she declined and indicated that she did not want to spend the extra money as the drain lines had not worked for all this time any way. A proposal was given and accepted to line the sewer pipe from the back of the house to the house side of the city sidewalk.
August 1, 2013 – Lined pipe per the contract including permit by the city of Seattle. All work was approved and signed off by city inspectors.
March 20th 2015 – We received a phone call from Ms. **** that water was not draining. We sent out a service technician who tried to clear the line and found the line to be blocked. He called out one of our underground managers who was not involved with the original sewer line replacement and unaware that the storm lines were not tied in. We spent several hours on the job at no charge to Ms. ****.
March 23, 2015 – *** ********** the original estimator on Ms. **** job went to the job site and discussed the situation. He reminded her of the circumstances and that she was informed that the storm drain lines were not included in our contract therefore her issue was not something that would be covered under warrantee. Due to the depth of the pipe and the location of it under a large tree it would cost thousands of dollars to try and dig down and tie downspout lines in.
March 25, 2015 – ****** *******, President of Mr. Rooter Plumbing, sent an email to Ms. **** explaining to her that her issue was not covered under warrantee and therefore not our responsibility to repair. However, in an effort to settle the matter he offered to install a sump pump with basin at no cost to her. He outlined what was included and excluded in his email. The sump pump installation offer did not include electrical, downspout tie in,  permit or additional work an inspector may require.
March 27, 2015 – I received an email from Ms. **** stating she wanted to follow through with the BBB and the Attorney Generals office. I informed her that was her right however my offer was in good faith and is now off the table.
Conclusion – Mr. Rooter Plumbing did what we were contracted to due. It was permitted and inspected by the City of Seattle. The down spouts and driveway drain was not tied in before we lined her sewer pipe and she was informed they would not be tied in after we did our repair. The reason she decided to not tie in the storm pipes was to save thousands of dollars. Therefore, Mr. Rooter Plumbing is not responsible to make any additional repairs.
Mr. Rooter Plumbing has an A+ rating with the BBB for taking care of its customers and showed great customer service when offering to install the sump pump at no-charge even though we feel we are not responsible to do anything.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Mr. Rooter is definitely lying on what they said in the letter. They never discussed anything with me about the combined drain at all, who in the world would agree to fix the sewer line and block off the storm drain without doing anything? They intentionally ignored and cheated because I don't understand this plumbing situation. From the city permit, it did show the house has a combined drain so Mr. Rooter was aware of the situation while they failed to do anything or let me know at all. Mr. Rooter underground manager said that they will take care of the permit and inspection so I didn't have any conversation with the inspector or met with him at that time. I won't approve if I was  aware of the situation.

I hope that something can be done further as you are protecting consumers from being cheated with this kind of business.

Sincerely,

***** ****

Business Response: There is no disbute that Mr. Rooter did what we were contracted to do and there is no dispute that Ms. **** did not understand "this plumbing situation" (the scope of work) she signed for (she stated that in her letters). Therefore, we have a clear case of a misunderstanding. That being the case I have informed Ms. **** that even though Mr. Rooter was not at fault, in an effort to settle the matter I have offered to install a basin and sump pump at no cost to her. The offer is very specific in what we are offering and any deviation or additional work would be chargeable. I have given her until Monday May 4, 2015 to decide to accept or reject my offer.

Sincerely,
****** *******

3/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7/21 mr rooter came to home to look @ plumbing issue AT NO CHARGE. it was camera-ed (@ no charge)and they decided a jetter could be run in the line to attempt to remove the roots causing the clog. there was no gaurentee the jetter could remove the roots if the drain was cracked or falling in. i agreed. the job cost 850.00. 7/23 they could not get the jetter down past a 45 degree turn in the pipe abt 16' out so they pulled it out of the drain. this took abt 15 mins. i asked if i was still going to be charged. he said yes. i took issue w/ this as the agreement was i would pay for them to jet the line at the roots which he said could be done but it still may be a bigger problem. he disputed this and said he told me he may not be able to get it down the drain at all. i would not to have agreed to pay 850.00 had i not know the jetting would at least make it to the clog.(i had spent plenty thus far on snaking and another jetter, but mr rooter stated theres was "bigger and better" it was a pull behind machine and not the kind i had here previously. it was bigger. his statement of getting it down the drain did not happen. as he knew i was upset he said he would snake the drain as their snake was once again "bigger and better". he knew it had been snaked already for a total of 11 1/2 hours by others. it felt like he was trying to make up for the botched jetter job. he ran the snake, realized he didnt have enough coil, waited 45 mins for someone to come w/ more, got it down to the clog, saw the roots and pulled it back out again. i asked why he didnt at least try to get them out w/ the snake and he said it wouldnt work. they went off to the truck to write up a bid for the only option left in their opinion and stated if they did the work they would deduct jetting charge from today. i'd heard that sales pitch before! later i realized there was no reciept given for the supposed work they did that day. i was a bit distrusting at this point and let them know i would be getting another bid. 2 other companies came in both saying there was no way to get a jetter that size around the 45 degree bend and he should have known that. they gave me other options, i chose a company. the much less invasive and cheaper option was done w/ great success. attempted to get dispute resolved with ****** ****** from mr rooter and would have settled at paying them 100.00 just to have it over. he wouldnt agree and it seemed just wanted to keep dickering like a flea market.he said he spoke to the owner as well. we spoke one more time and he had another offer which i did nnot agree to and told him i would pursue the refund thru my credit card and file a complaint with the BBB and others.

Desired Settlement: full refund

Business Response: On 7/21/2014, *** ********** responded to a request for service to ****** ****** house for a sewer problem after talking with her over the phone. She had stated that she had several other companies out to attempt to clear her sewer line and that they had given her bids to dig up the line and repair it. Mrs. ****** also explained to *** that she had rented a snake and tried to clear the line herself for several hours with no success. Mrs. ****** went on to state that she was not happy with any of the other companies that had come out to her home in attempts to find a solution to her sewer issue. *** told her that he would come out at no charge and give her an estimate to make repairs at the point the other companies had located the issue to be.
*** and Mrs. ****** met at her home in order to take a look at the problem. After looking at the issue, it was ***'s professional opinion that the line needed to be dug up. However, Mrs. ****** was convinced that the line could be cleaned and requested *** take that approach rather than digging up the line . By this time *** had spent about 1.5 hours with her explaining that she should not spend any more money in attempts to clear the line because she had already spent a lot of money and every company she had out, including Mr. Rooter feel the line should be dug up. Mrs. ****** was convinced that it could be cleaned so *** ran his sewer camera down the line in attempt to locate the directions in which it ran, as she was unaware of the direction that the line exited her house. She told *** that the line came out in a different location than it actually did. After locating the line, *** found the line had 3 turns in it and told her at that time the jetter that she wanted him to run may not be able to get through the line due to the turns and the fact that she has a 6" sewer line as opposed to a 4" sewer line which is most common for a single family home. At that time *** told her it would be $850.00 + Tax to run the jetter and sewer camera and if the jetter did not work he would credit the $850 towards the repair of the line. Mrs. ****** agreed to ***'s offer and they set up the appointment for the next day.
*** and another Mr. Rooter employee showed up with the jetter and sewer camera and attempted to clean the line. After several attempts they were unable to get the jetter out to the clog due to the bends in the line as *** had previously explained that as a possibility. *** then offered to run his cable machine at no additional charge in attempt to get her some drainage and the ability to see the problem that the other companies and herself could not get past. Mr. Rooter continued to run cable machine and got the line to flow, at that point, Mr. Rooter ran the sewer camera and could see a massive amount of roots. *** had already explained to her that the cable machine would not be able to remove the roots due to the fact we were accessing a 6" line through a 4" cleanout in her basement and not able to get a 6" cutter head in the line. Mrs. ****** understood as she had rented a machine herself and the other companies assisting her had reiterated the same information.
*** proceeded to give her a written estimate for the work needed and she paid the $850 + Tax with credit card acknowledging that the work was completed. Several days later, after having spent 5 hours of time and expensive equipment in attempt to help, Mrs. ****** is claiming that the work was never completed. Her complaint came into the main office to Operations Manager ****** ******. Mrs. ****** explained why she felt she should not have to pay the entire bill and Mr. ****** explained to her that he would speak with *** to get both parties explanation of what happened on the job and get back to her. *** explained the same scenario as written above and Mr. Rooter found the work that was done for the amount charged to be fair and agreed upon ahead of time. Mr. ****** called Mrs. ****** to explain his findings; she was not happy and believed that Mr. Rooter was in the wrong.
In an effort of good faith and to try and make Mrs. ****** happy, Mr. Rooter offered to refund $130.75 bringing the total bill down to $800 including tax. Her response was that she would need to talk to somebody and call Mr. ****** back. She called back several days later and expressed that she felt this was an unfair offer and that anything more than $100 was not acceptable. After ongoing talks, Mr. Rooter in an effort to retain a happy customer offered to reduce the bill down to $600. This offering was done in good faith and not with the belief that Mr. Rooter was in the wrong, but that a happy customer is more important than a few hundred dollars. Mrs. ****** again denied this offering. Mr. Rooter feels that all work was thoroughly explained, signed and paid for and that no wrong doing was done on its behalf. At this time, Mr. Rooter feels they should be paid in full at the original agreed upon price of $850 + Tax as Mrs. ****** has not been willing to work together on an agreement.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. conversations have been interpreted to suit the opinions of the company and were not what was said or discussed.
2. as i realized after the fact... the work that was promised by mr rooter by using "bigger and better machines" was not done because it couldnt have been due to the 4" line going to a 6" line and the 45 degree bend which was all seen on the camera the 1st day he came out yet mr rooter stated they could get their "bigger and better jetter machine" down the drain.the jetter could not even begin to get down the drain.i insisted on nothing but excepted that mr rooter as an industry professional for many years would know what they could and couldnt do.
3. i was perfectly happy w/ the scope of work that was done by the other companies previous to and after mr rooter and they were paid accordingly.one company that came out early on stated honestly that their machine couldnt get down the line.
4. an appropriate solution was offered by two companies. one was chosen and the work completed sucessfully to unclog the drain w/ no illusions that a "bigger and better machine" would get thru a 4" line to a 6" and around a 45 degree turn.
5.a full refund is due.

Business Response: Mr. Rooter beleives that everything stated in our original response is 100% accurate. *** ********** the Underground Manager expressed in detail as previously stated everything that happened during this job. We would like to use the arbitration process through the BBB in order to resolve this issue.

Consumer Response: dear bbb,
thank-you for the offer of arbitration on this problem. at this time i will be using other options to resolve the issue.
i do hope the complaint remains available for public viewing.
****** *****

9/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/26/14 I had Mr. Rooter service my plumbing. They had to access my main pipe line; therefore, I did sign a contract with them. Unfortunately, they did not fully do the job indicated on the contract. I discovered they had used materials that are illegal, including they needed to submit a permit from the city of Kirkland for digging down to the sewer line. I received an electronic message requesting I submit a survey, which I did. I received a phone call from Mr. Rooter asking why I was so dissatisfied, I told her of my findings and she abruptly told me that the general manager will call me. I never received a phone call which I waited for. A week ago I received a copy of the proposal/contract including a bill for the work that was not completed. On Monday, I talked with a BBB associate on the phone, and I was advised to send in a complaint letter (I was not able to down load the pdf from BBB website). I received a phone call today from Mr. Rooter requesting I pay the bill or they will put a lean on my house.

Desired Settlement: The proposal was not fulfilled; therefore, I feel I should pay $900.00 rather than $2,190.00. They did not have a permit for the side sewer, nor back fill the excavation, the 2 way clean out is illegal including the box and cover over the clean out. As well as, they charged me for jackhammer my mudroom which they did not do. Thank you for your time, Sincerely, ****** *******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/06/04) */ Mr. Rooter's technician responded to customers' sewer backup on 2/26/2014 and found the main sewer line to be backed up upon arrival. Technician attempted to clear the line from access in the house. Technician found issue in sewer line and called out his supervisor to take a look at the issue. Mr. Rooter video inspected the sewer line at that point and located the problem under a concrete floor in the house. Mr. Rooter then gave the customer a proposal to repair the line and install a cleanout. The proposal included jackhammer of concrete in the customer's house in order to gain access to the sewer line but did not include any repair of the concrete. The Mr Rooter Underground crew arrived on-site and started to excavate the line outside of the house. As they excavated they determined that they could tunnel under the concrete slab with some additional labor and would save the cost of repairing the concrete inside the home, not to mention the inconvenience associated with having a hole inside the home. At this point the repair was done with standard PVC pipe and fittings. Mr. Rooter also installed a 2 way cleanout to access the sewer line from outside the house for future maintenance. The underground crew left the site at the end of the day. The next day the customer called to say that the city told her that we had connected to the wrong line and that the sewer was not tied in correctly. Mr. Rooter sent out the underground manager to assess the job. Mr. Rooter ran video camera down line from the cleanout in home and determined that the sewer line was tied in correctly and that the city was incorrect. This was later verified by the city. At the same time of verifying the proper connection, Mr. Rooter found that the whole sewer line was in bad shape and in need of replacement. Mr. Rooter gave customer an estimate to replace the rest of the line and customer informed Mr. Rooter she would get back with us the following day. At this point Mr. Rooter had not obtained a permit from the city due to the fact that we were unsure of the scope of work. The customer did not get back in touch with Mr. Rooter the following day and did not return several messages in an attempt to confirm what would be done from this point forward. When Mr. Rooter did finally get in contact with the customer she explained that she was going to have us do the additional work but was waiting for a check from her sister as she had to borrow the money. Weeks went by with attempts by Mr. Rooter to contact the customer with no response. When the customer finally did contact Mr. Rooter she had stated that she had already had another company do the additional work and that she felt she should not have to pay the $2,190.00 bill due to the fact that we did not jackhammer her floor in her house. The Underground Manager spoke with the customer in regards to the circumstances surrounding why the floor was not jack hammered. He explained that additional labor was performed by our crew in order to save the customer the hassle and expense of repairing the concrete. He saw an opportunity to not save Mr. Rooter any time or money, but save the customer time and money and decided it would be in her best interest to forgo the jack hammering of the floor. The customer stated that she felt that was not right and that she wanted to hear from the operations manager. The operations manager contacted her back and discussed the work that was completed and the reason for not jack hammering the floor. In an attempt to ensure customer satisfaction the operations manager asked the customer what her thoughts were in regards to the change in work and why it would change the price. He explained that jack hammering of the floor would take the same or less amount of time as the tunneling underneath the slab that was completed, and also leave her with additional expenses that were unnecessary. The customer stated that she wasn't sure what would be fair. In an effort of good faith and to ensure customer satisfaction the operations manager offered to reduce the bill down to $2,000.00, a discount of $190. The customer responded by saying let me check with a few people because I'm just not sure what to do from here and I will get back with you. After several days went by and no return phone call from the customer, the operations manager called and left several messages asking to please be contacted in order to resolve the issue. There was no response from the customer for several more days. The operations manager again called and left a message for the customer in an attempt to resolve the issue. Another offer of a price reduction bringing the price down to $1,850.00, a total savings of $340.00 on the original price, was offered on a voicemail with still no response. After a couple of weeks went by, the customer called and left a message stating that a check was in the mail. A check was received about a week later in the amount of $900.00 and now with complaints about not only the jack hammering of the floor but also that there was no permit, and that we had used the wrong material. Mr. Rooter had not obtained a permit from the city yet as stated in the contract due to the fact the customer kept putting us off and misleading us with information that a check was in the mail. At this point the other company doing the additional work had already performed there duties and backfilled our work so we were never given the proper information or opportunity to finish the project and make things right with the customer. The project however was 95% complete, as all that was remaining was an inspection and backfill to complete the original work order. It should be noted that the only reason we didn't complete this portion was that it made no sense as at that point the customer still need to complete the additional work. Additionally the customer had the advantage of already having the work excavated by us which would have saved her money on the additional work quoted by the other company. In an effort to get clarification on the materials used, Mr. Rooter spoke with one of the public works officials at the city of Kirkland. He informed Mr. Rooter that there is nothing in the side sewer standards that state that a 2 way cleanout can not be used or that any material that was used was incorrect. He gave us the phone number of the inspector *** ****** whom we have called on 4 occasions and left messages in order to verify this information with him as well. To this date, June 4, 2014, we have not received a call back from ** ****** Mr. Rooter feels the customer's best interests were considered in every step of this project specifically by saving the customer money and not jack hammering the floor. The customer would not let us finish our job properly and would not communicate with Mr Rooter properly to completely execute the proposal of work to be completed. Although not required, in good faith, and as previously stated, we have proposed a reduction in the bill from $2,190.00 down to $1,850.00 but have not had a response from the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/06/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) * I contracted Mr. Rooter to access my line to ensure there weren't any blockage. * They discovered that jackhammering the mudroom was not necessary and they changed the contract. They manually excavated outside of the property and discovered the sewer line was tied incorrectly (the sewer line was visible; therefore, tunneling under the concrete slab is not true). We put a hold on the project until I could resolve what to do with Kirkland Public Works; therefore, the backfill was not completed. The same day *** *** ***** (field manager) who drew up the assessment proposal came to my house, and I addressed that jackhammering was not fulfilled. He stated *** the underground manager would arrive the following day and take care of it and left immediately * Should I receive a rebate for jackhammering or does the manual labor equal out as not clearly stated on the contract as well as the backfill? * I brought attention to Kirkland Public Works of the material Mr. Rooter had used and they confirmed their methodology is not legal. * Supposedly Mr. Rooter offered me $1,850.00 to resolve the issue; unfortunately, I do not have a record of this. * Mr. Rooter's chain of communication and time line of events are not entirely true (I have obtained reports of communication). * I'm displeased with Mr. Rooter's extreme harsh behavior towards me, as well as threats of attaching a lien on my property. * I want to be responsible for this, and I intend to pay for their services. * I hope that BBB will encourage Mr. Rooter and I to come up with a compromise on this complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/06/20) */ Mr. Rooter believes as previously stated that all work was done in good faith and any changes to the initial contract have been explained. We are willing to reduce the bill down an additional $100 to $1,750.00 from the original $2,190.00 a savings of $440.00 to the customer. If the customer does not see this offer as a fair compromise we are more than willing to work through the BBB's arbitration process. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2014/06/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I complained about their excessive charges in relation to the work done and we agreed to a $400 refund, plus they were to email me a receipt. It has been seven days and so far I was refunded $361.86 and even after leaving a voice mail to *** ********** there I still have no receipt. I still feel I overpaid for day one, in which the first hour had their crew get their jet hose caught in my lawn drainage system (for $800) and day two which cost me $1500 for them to come out to dig up my yard to retrieve their hose and finish the unclogging my drain pipe. I'm beyond urn satisfied, I'm sill livid

Desired Settlement: I would like the remainder of the $400 we agreed to, $38.14 and a receipt for the services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/15) */ Mr. Rooter Plumbing contacted customer **** ****** on Thursday May 15, 2014 in regards to his concern. We were able to refund the $38.14 which we agreed upon and emailed over the receipt that he requested. Customer is satisfied at this time. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/06/02) */ My account was accredited for the amount requested, but still have not received a receipt. I will try to contact the company again.

11/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service