BBB Accredited Business since

Mr Rooter Plumbing of Portland/Vancouver

Phone: (503) 653-5301 Fax: (503) 653-5376 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 789, Gladstone, OR 97027 http://www.MrRooter.com/Portland View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr Rooter Plumbing of Portland/Vancouver meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr Rooter Plumbing of Portland/Vancouver include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mr Rooter Plumbing of Portland/Vancouver
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1999 Business started: 12/01/1999 Business started locally: 12/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 967-6291
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Steve Ferree, Owner Ms. Amy Johnson, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Ferree, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Amy Johnson, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbers Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Sewer Inspection Water Heaters - Repairing Water Main Contractors Pipe & Valve Fitters Pipe & Valve Fitters - Gas Grease Traps Inspection Devices - Industrial Leak Detection Pipe Sewage Disposal Systems Copper Filters - Liquid Sewer Pipe Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Sump Pump Contractors Pipe Inspection Pipe Line Contractors Pipe Pushing Pipe Thawing Piping Contractors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mr Rooter Plumbing of Portland/Vancouver has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 789

    Gladstone, OR 97027 (503) 292-9279 (503) 653-5301 (503) 641-9593

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (503) 292-9279(Phone)
  • (503) 641-9593(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While I was away in uniformed service, my wife called Mr. Rooter about two of our toilets that were having flushing problems. Two Mr. Rooter technicians came and installed two new toilets. They grossly overcharged for the labor and fees to conduct the replacement and installed the exact toilets my wife said that she did NOT want. Yes, there is a signed work agreement. However, the work order is ambiguous. It does not give any identifiable information on the toilets beyond the brand and inches of offset. It is not detailed and does not disclose the amount charged for the labor and fees associated with the installation. And, it does not give the names of the technicians who did the installation. My wife does not understand plumbing, does not know what the fair market value is for the services rendered and was bilked by the professional image of company. The Mr. Rooter representatives did not adequately explain the charges nor adequately describe the toilets that they were going to install, deceiving her. In light of the fact that Mr. Rooter exploited my wife's ignorance and installed the wrong toilets, I called and asked for a refund in full. They refused.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a full refund on the services rendered on the basis that Mr. Rooter employed deceptive business practices, price gouging and installed the wrong toilets.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/03) */ Multiple conversations took place between our customer's husband and I (Field Manager of Mr. Rooter). Throughout these conversations it was determined on my part that there were no steps that were missed by our technician in regards to our protocol. Our technician was up front about our pricing structure and provided the customer with options to either clear the clogged toilets or to replace them in order to minimize probable future issues. The customer made the decision of her own accord to replace both toilets that had multiple issues in the past. She was then provided with the exact cost for the replacement, which was explained to include the cost of parts, labor and a one year warranty. The customer signed our invoice with the provided cost accepting the terms of service without any reservation or indication that there was any issue with cost. Our technician along with one of our plumbers proceeded to replace the toilets. Once the work was completed, our technician collected payment and obtained another signature from the customer as an acceptance of the work completed, again with no indication that there was any issue with the quality or cost of service. This all took place on 06/12/2013. On 06/15/2013 the customer's husband returned home on leave from military service and was made aware by his wife of the work that was performed by Mr. Rooter. He immediately called in to our office and filed a complaint due to pricing. I returned his call as soon as I was made aware of the situation the following Monday morning in attempts to resolve the issue. I listened to his concerns including, but not limited to, his accusation of our technician taking advantage of his wife's "ignorance in plumbing". I responded by telling him that the price was not made up by our technician on the spot, but rather is a set price in our Menu Pricing Guide for a toilet replacement. I also told him that we stand behind our quality of customer service and would like to work with him to reach some sort of solution. At this point he informed me that the only solution that he would accept would be a full refund of our services on 06/12/2013, removal of new toilets that had been installed, and payment for the time that he had put into taking care of the situation himself. He continued by threatening that if we did not meet these demands that he would report us to the BBB, seek legal action for reimbursement as well as lead a negative PR campaign throughout Clark County, Washington with the sole purpose of hurting our business and its reputation. At this point we decided that our best course of action was no action at all. He made it perfectly clear that there was no middle ground to be found. As we had followed and included all steps with his wife throughout the process, it was determined that there was no fault on our side and no refund was given. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/08/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Making money is far more important than customer satisfaction to Mr. Rooter of Portland. When I called to ask for a refund, the first words out of ******* mouth were, "We can't give you a full refund." Not, "Oh, my. Please tell me more about what happened so I can understand more about the nature of your complaint." That is what a professional customer service representative would have done if he was truly interested in service. But, obviously protecting their ill-gotten money is the only agenda this company has. And, they blame the customer as being "unserviceable." Online consumer advocacy sites have multiple reviews complaining of price gouging by Mr. Rooter. Their price menu is the tool of their deceptive business practices. They show an unknowledgeable customer a picture of a product and a lump sum price. They do not give a product description and they hide their outrageous labor costs in this fancy, nondescript catalog of services. In my case, my wife was not even shown this price menu. She was just given a lump sum price on a work order and told what they were going to do. Then, they proceeded to install a product that was the exact seat height my wife said that she did NOT want and charged an exorbitant amount of money for labor. This is an absolutely unacceptable and deceptive business practice and to call a customer "unserviceable" because he wants a refund clearly demonstrates bad faith and pure greed. Customer satisfaction is obviously not a priority to this company. I am glad that this exchange will be publicly posted on the BBB website and that a demerit will appear on Mr. Rooter of Portland's account. Please do some online research and you will see that this company has review, after review, after review of overcharging. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/07/26) */ As previously stated, even though there was nothing wrong done on our part, we were willing to work with our customer's husband to reach some sort of solution. Our Menu Pricing Guide, which prices up front, by the job and not by the hour, is used by our company every day. The reason we use this pricing guide is to provide the customer with an exact cost prior to work started. This leaves out any guess work as to what the total will be once the work is completed. Our track record of positive customer review is a testament to the way we do business. Deceptive business practices and demonstrating bad faith would be a violation of the very code of values that is the foundation of our company. Superior customer service IS our primary goal. However, in this specific case our customer's husband chose to be unserviceable.

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service