BBB Accredited Business since

Jim Dandy Sewer & Plumbing

Phone: (206) 633-1141 Fax: (206) 784-2095 View Additional Phone Numbers 903 N 128th St, Seattle, WA 98133 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.jimdandysewer.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and residential plumbing. As well as Pipe replacement, sewer repair and replacement, new plumbing and plumbing repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jim Dandy Sewer & Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jim Dandy Sewer & Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Jim Dandy Sewer & Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1908 Business started locally: 01/01/1908 Business incorporated 10/20/1983 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Spencer, President Mr. Larry Bellach, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Spencer, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers Sewer Contractors Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning Drainage Contractors Pipe Line Contractors

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm

24/7 Emergency Service
Alternate Business Names
Jim Dandy Enterprises Inc Jim Dandy Sewer Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jim Dandy Sewer & Plumbing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 903 N 128th St

    Seattle, WA 98133 (206) 633-1141

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

Complaint about Jim Dandy- plumbing service and bill of$226.67 at **** ****
****, Seattle, WA 98102 on November 19, 2014

The employees at Jim Dandy made mistakes, used poor judgment, and provided poor customer service
from beginning to end. I wanted plumbing done, and Jim Dandy sent drain cleaning.

I called to schedule an appointment with a plumber for problems at my office primarily with a first
floor toilet and sink. An additional minor concern was the stopper on the new sink in the second
floor bathroom that was installed by Jim Dandy in June 2013. I talked with a receptionist who took
down the information. I learned later that she was careless in the information she took down.

The Jim Dandy service person called ahead and came during the designated time between 1:00-3:00.
After he got his truck parked in the back, he wanted to see the plumbing problems. Here's when the
problem begins from my perspective. He did not disclose to me that he was a certified drain/sewer
cleaner and not a certified plumber, which I asked for, when he came to look at the problems or
before he started work on the stopper on the second floor. He could have asked "where are the
clogged drains" if that is why he thought he was there. Instead, he started on the easy problem on
the second floor, the stopper on the new
sink had slipped. The drain was usable but the slipped stopper was a slight annoyance. Again, he
didn't say anything about what he thought was suppose to be a drain cleaning job, the reason he was
sent. The slipped stopper took five minutes or less to fix including a bit of caulk.

Then, we went to the primary problems on the first floor, the toilet and sink. It took him two
minutes to determine that he was not going to be able or qualified to fix either of them. This is
when he disclosed he was a certified drain cleaner and not a certified plumber. He had been sent
because someone at Jim Dandy erroneously thought the problems were clogged drains. No one at Jim
Dandy called me ahead of time to verify the correct nature of problems

I have not been able to resolve this with Jim Dandy. At the end of the service call, I was asked to
sign a contract by the service person that was on an electronic device. I did not feel comfortable
being pressured into signing it without being able to think about it and to have a paper copy to
read or keep. I do not remember the exact amount of the contract but
it was about $100.00 plus other provisions I do not remember. I did not sign it.

In less than 5 minutes, Larry from Jim Dandy, calls me and wants to talk. I told him that I was too
upset and angry to talk to him. He could not hear this, and I felt more pressure tactics. I had to
hang up the phone on him. A few weeks later I called Larry, and we talked but did not resolve
anything. I asked him to mail me a bill. I was surprised that the bill
came to my home address rather than my business and that the bill was for $226.67. This is just
more errors and may be part of Jim Dandy's confusion. They have done drain cleaning at our home
more than once but it is not a problem the office has.
I feel taken advantage of and feel that I wasted my time. I do not have trust in the services of
Jim Dandy. I feel I did not get anything of value from the service call and now I have to expend
time to get disentangled from it. I could have lived with the sink stopper on the second floor the
way it was. Plus, I have not had the toilet or sink on the first floor fixed yet. I need to spend
time and money to get it fixed since Jim Dandy did not do their job on November 19,2014.

Thank you for your consideration to help resolve this problem.
not a problem the office has.

 

Desired Settlement: Full bill waived

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: Scott S****** President
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ******@jimdandysewer.com
We are one of the very few companies that quote our pricing over the phone. Most companies are commissioned shops and do not pay there employees unless they sell their service. This is under the guise of a free estimate. As with ********, we were upfront and honest about our 1 hour minimum charge on the phone before we even arrived to take care of her concerns.

Our Technician Jason has 15 years experience and fixed her first concern. He told her he didnt have the parts to fix the toilet and would schedule a plumber to come out at continuation rates. She refused to sign her invoice and pay her bill and become agitated with the Technician. Larry, our General Manager, called immediately and told the customer he would give her a credit for the difference between the first repair and the one hour minimum if she would let us send another Technician immediately. The customer informed larry that she was to upset right then to discuss. She said she would call back after she calmed down and then hung up.

After the customer received the bill, she contacted Larry requesting that we reverse all charges. Larry explained that he could not do that and advised that the offer to finish the job at continuation rates still applied. She hung up on us again. Larry attempted to contact the customer twice more and she proceeded to hang up on him again.

After reviewing this complaint, I have decided that Jim Dandy is not at fault, we acted in good faith, attempted to resolve the problem and we were up front and honest with the customer. The customer needs to pay the bill for services rendered. Our offer still stands that we will come out and complete the work at continuation rates.

Consumer Response:

January 8, 2015


To the Better Business Bureatu:

Re: Case #******** Jim Dandy Sewer Service Inc.

I am writing in reply to the letter from BBB of December 31, 2014 in which I have until January
10, 2015 to  answer.

Jim Dandy incorrectly thought there was one sink to fix instead of two because the
receptionist incorrectly put down the wrong information. She put down only sink
to repair instead of two. The primacy sink to repair was on the first floor along with
the toilet on the first floor that didn't work. This sink on the first floor was omitted from her
notes. Both these primary problems Jason could not fix, and he was not qualified to fix them. Jim
Dandy has acknowledged in their response "he (Jason) would schedule a plumber to come out."
Implicit in this was that  Jason was not qualified to do the work that I called in to have done.
Jason was not a plumber. I did not call Jim Dandy because I wanted more than one
appointment, first with a technician then with a plumber. I called because I wanted a plumber to
come to do the work in one appointment. This is what I did not receive.

It is incorrect that "Jason fixed my first concern." Jason fixed a slipped stopper on the second
sink on the second floor.· This sink faucet and stopper were installed new in June 2013 by Jim
Dandy. The stopper worked but not as well as it could. This problem was very minor, and I could
have continued to use it if it had not been fixed. This was a minor repair not a major repair
for a sink and toilet on the first floor that were not useable and had to be repaired.

When Jim Dandy came in June 2013, I was given a paper bill and receipt at the time of the
work. Apparently, they had changed their billing system but I had not been informed. The
receptionist had not told me that there billing system was electronic. Jason knew I was not happy with the service call. Because I was not happy
and before I was given a bill, Jason said he would call the office, and he spent a lot of time in
his van, out of my presence, talking to the office. Eventually, he presented me with an electronic
bill and said another appointment would need to be scheduled with a plumber. No date or time was
given as a possible appointment time for the plumber. The electronic bill amount I was asked to
sign was about $100 plus there was a second electronic written contract that I was asked to sign. I was asked
to sign two electronic documents for which I did not have a copy of either. This is not a good
business practice. It is correct that I did not sign the bill. Also, I felt I was being pressured
into signing these documents. I asked Jason to mail me a copy of both of them, and I would get
back to Jim Dandy. Jason left for his van, and I thought he had gone to his next appointment. This
was late in the afternoon.

I went back to work and while I am working, I get a call from Larry who tells me Jason is outside.
I told Larry that Jason had gone. Larry insisted that Jason was still outside. I said Jason had
gone. I told him I was angry about the poor service and I was too angry to talk with him now. I
said I had to hang up the phone and I did. It is not correct that Larry offered to send another
technician immediately. · That offer was never made by Larry or Jason. Also, it is not correct
that Larry informed me that he would give me the credit for the first repair. The credit for the
first repair was the $100 bill I given by Jason previously not by Larry.

It is not correct that I called Larry after I received the bill. I called Larry because I hadn't
received a bill, and I had calmed down. I apologized for hanging up and let him know that I had
calmed down. We did not resolve anything in this call. I asked Larry to send me a bill. I did
not hang up on Larry at the end of this call that I had initiated.

I have had only the two calls above with Larry. I have not had any calls from Larry since the call I
requested the bill above. This is completely not true that I hung up on Larry twice more. I do
not know who is hanging up on Larry but it is not me, and I am the only one at my phone number. I
do not make it a regular practice to hang up on callers.

Jim Dandy is at fault and did not act in good faith. Jim Dandy was not honest with me. Rather,
Jim Dandy made mistakes from the beginning and was aggressive in dealing with me. Jason should
never have been sent on my plumbing job. He was not a plumber and was not qualified. When he
came, he should have stated initially he was a drain specialist and he should have looked at all
the projects. Then, he should have told me he was not going to be doing them. The receptionist
should have accurately included what needed to be repaired, two sinks and a toilet. Also, the
receptionist should have told me about the new electronic bills.

Before I received the BBB letter of December 31, 2014, I contacted a plumber to repair the sink
and toilet on the first floor, and I do not need the services of Jim Dandy, which I did not receive anyway.

In order to resolve this, I offer to pay $20.00 for the stopper that Jason adjusted.  I consider this a full and fair settlement for five minutes of work.

Business Response: We are one of the very few companies that quote our pricing over the phone. Most companies are commissioned shops and do not pay there employees unless they sell their service. This is under the guise of a free estimate. As with ********, we were upfront and honest about our 1 hour minimum charge on the phone before we even arrived to take care of her concerns.

Our Technician Jason has 15 years experience and fixed her first concern. He told her he didnt have the parts to fix the toilet and would schedule a plumber to come out at continuation rates. She refused to sign her invoice and pay her bill and become agitated with the Technician. Larry, our General Manager, called immediately and told the customer he would give her a credit for the difference between the first repair and the one hour minimum if she would let us send another Technician immediately. The customer informed larry that she was to upset right then to discuss. She said she would call back after she calmed down and then hung up. 

After the customer received the bill, she contacted Larry requesting that we reverse all charges. Larry explained that he could not do that and advised that the offer to finish the job at continuation rates still applied. She hung up on us again. Larry attempted to contact the customer twice more and she proceeded to hang up on him again.

After reviewing this complaint, I have decided that Jim Dandy is not at fault, we acted in good faith, attempted to resolve the problem and we were up front and honest with the customer. The customer needs to pay the bill for services rendered. Our offer still stands that we will come out and complete the work at continuation rates



This was my first response and it still holds true.  The complainant offered now new information?  We have a 1 hour minimum charge which the customer was informed about.  This has now become an issue of principle and bad behavior on the customers part should not be followed with a reward to eliminate our invoice.  Our Technician did resolve the first problem and had a remedy for the second concern and that is when ******** began to behave irratically.  I am still confused as to why anyone would react to the situation in the manner in which she did?  To fly off the handle at a technician because he does not have the parts to rebuild a toilet but offers a solution seems a little odd?

Scott S******
Owner
Jim Dandy Sewer & Plumbing
   

7/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Jim Dandy at night (around 11;30pm) and asked haw much they will charge me to clean my clogged drain (because my toilet and bathtub was backing up with the water and flooded the floor) they said that appearance fee will be $49 and to clean my pipe $237, and total is $313.17 and I agreed. The service men came over and put some part of the snake in the pipe and said that snake is stuck in my pipe and he cannot remove it. He said that his supervisor will come in the morning and evaluate the situation. In the morning around 9:00 AM 2 men came over and they told me that I have a damaged pipe and I have only 2 option 1. They will cut part of the snake and leave it in my pipe or they can properly fix it.They gave me an estimate to fix it for $1,900. I have asked them if they can try to pull the snake out of my pipe they refused. I said to them that I would like to have a second opinion about this situation. They said Ok and left unhappy. I called ***************** (***) ******** about the situation and in a short time two service men came in, and it took them about 2 minutes to take the snake out of my pipe. And they clean my pipe and after that they put a camera inside the pipe and said that my pipe line in very good condition and it still even has a blue original paint on it's side. So they charged my for this service $658.10 As soon they finished this project I called Jim Dandy co. and asked them to pick up their equipment and they did. Then after several days I got a bill from Jim Dandy to pay $313.17 for their service they did not provide. So I called the Jim Dandy company and was transferred to the company manger. His name is ***** and a ph # ************* I have explain him the situation and asked him to remove charges because there was no service provided, he said that my pipe is still broken and his servicemen spend time at night and I have to pay $313.17 And he started threatening me, he said if I do not pay this amount he will put lean on my house or transfer this amount to collection agency. After that I have called him several times to discuss about this situation, and even offer him to pay $49.00 for appearance service men, he refused it. So please help me. I do not want this Jim Dandy company to ruin my credit.

Desired Settlement: The Jim Dandy company did not have provided any services and I do not own them $313.17.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/06/19) */ To Whom It Concerns: The customer called late in the evening and we were upfront and honest about our after hour charges. Our Technician arrived after midnight and attempted to clear his line. The cable was unable to pass a bad spot in the line and our technician advised that there was not anything more he could do at that time in the morning. We had our camera technician arrive first thing in the morning. The Tech attempted to retrieve the cable and could not get it out. My Technician provided a free camera and locate where the cable was stuck, a $250 value at no charge. He showed the customer where the problem was. We provided the customer a bid to dig up the line, pull the neccessary permit, find the trouble spot, remove it, loosen the cable and add a clean-out. The customer declined our service and wanted to think about it or from what it appears, do the work himself. We left the machine on premises until we heard back from him The next morning the customer called ***** and told him that he dug up the line and that the exposed pipe was not broken. Our manager advised him that you cannot tell where the cable was hung up unless you break open the pipe, release the cable and install a clean-out. The customer called the following day asking for a refund since he had *****'s ******** do the work of installing the clean-out and retrieving our cable. It is my position that when we are called out on a service call that we do not take ownership of the customers line. We do the best we can do to resolve the problem at a minimal expense to the customer. We showed up in the middle of the night and then again in the morning. We provided a free camera locate and advised the customer what needed to be done. On his own admission he proceeded to do some of the work himself from our expertise. We need to be paid the full amount of the late night service call. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/06/23) */ Yes, I called Jim Dandy plumbing company late in the evening and have asked the company about the prices to clean my drain. I was told that: 1. Appearance fee (which will include evaluating the situation) will be $49 2. Labor, which includes completely cleaning my drain, will be $237 for a total of$313.17 So I have agreed. The first technician showed at night to work on my drain pipe in the basement of my house, I let him to the basement and left, after a while he came to the house and told me that his snake stuck in the drain pipe and he is unable to clean my drain pipe and also he cannot remove the snake out of my drain pipe. He said that his supervisor will come in the morning to reevaluate the situation and there will be no additional charges for it. I have agreed. In about 9:00 am I met company supervisor, he introduced himself as a ***** ******* and there was also another men. I have asked ***** if they can try to remove the snake before evaluation the situation and he told me that first step he has to do, is to put the camera inside my drain pie to see what the problem is. So I was standing next to them and looking at the computer display while camera was going inside the drain. First we could see dirty water and then nothing. ***** have told me that we do not able to see anything because of much toilet paper inside the drain and they are, covering the camera. So we did not see anything because of the toilet paper. ***** took the camera out of the drain and have told me that most likely I have a broken pipe and that is why snake is stuck there. He did not turn on, their electric snake machine in attempt to try to remove the snake out of the drain. This camera had a locator and ***** was able to show me approximate location where their snake stuck. Jim Dandy company, have mention earlier, that this service was free of charge. After ***** pinpointed the "bad spot" location he went to the vehicle to prepare a bid for me. When the bid was ready, he handles it to me and the amount was $1,900 plus tax. The bid had included this writing. 1. He will obtain the location of underground utilities the sewer. 2. He will excavate up to 3' dirt on SE corner to expose cast iron pipe. 3. He will remove damaged pipe and replace it with PVC pipe. 4. We will install clean out, backfill, clean up and haul away debris for $1,900 plus tax. When bid was done and I got it, I have asked again the ***** what other options do I have. He replied, we can cut the snake and leave it in your drain pipe. When he was handling a bid to me, I have also asked him if he can send a different technician from their company with more knowledge, to try to remove the snake out of my drain. *** ***** said he will. I had specifically asked ****** how soon technician will come and ***** replied, in 1 hour. So while waiting for the technician, I have decided to dig the ground and see the broken pipe by myself to save some money. When I reach the pipe and clean it around I saw it was not a strait pipe it was a concrete elbow witch was between two pipes and connecting them. And this pipe section was in an excellent condition. So I called to the company and spoke with ***** about it, and told him, that I dig the ground around the pipe by myself and the pipe is not broken. The ***** said that I cannot tell just by looking at the pipe, and he said it is damaged inside and I cannot see this damage from outside. ***** said to me, that I still have to break open the pipe to be able to see the problem and to remove the snake or he is going to send a technician to cut the snake out and leave it in my pipe if I will not except their bid. After I finish speaking with ***** I looked at the time and have notice that three hours (instead of one) passed by and different technician, promised by supervisor ***** ******** from Jim Dandy company never showed up. The pipe from outside looked very good and not broken, And ****** the company manager was telling me all the time when I spoke with him, that my pipe is broken from inside and he wanted to fix it for $1900. Technician didn't show up, from Jim Dandy Plumbing company for an attempt to try to remove the company snake out of my drain pipe. And the manager of Jim Dandy Plumbing company *****,was not willing to negotiate about the price reduction, even after I had spent my own couple of hours labor digging the ground to clean the pipe. So then I made a decision to get a second opinion, about this situation and I have called *****'s ********* *****'s ******* ******* has responded quickly, and two technicians showed up. It took the technician name *******, about 2 minutes to remove the snake out of my drain pipe and I by looking on his professionalism have allowed him to do the rest of the job. So in short time he had cleaned my drain pipe, and then he ran the camera inside the pipe while I was watching it on the computer monitor. When he finished scanning my drain pipe with the camera he said that my drain pipe doesn't have any damages inside, and it is in very good condition and it has even original blue paint inside it on its walls. After that I have called the Jim Dandy company and asked them to pick up their equipment and they later did. So on the following day I called the Jim Dandy Plumbing company and spoke with its manager ***** again, and have told him that different company did the job, his company couldn't, and he became very angry so I couldn't speak to him because of his behavior. I have tried to discuss with ***** the bill I have received from his company little bit later for $313.17 and the *****, did not put any afford to resolve this problem instead he was threatening me to put the lean on my house or send the bill to a collection agency. In his responded letter he wrought that his company is trying to resolve the problem at the minimum expense to the customer. He wrought that his company showed up 2 times. 1 In the middle of the night.( $49.00 appearance fee) 2. And the next morning. (Free of charge) So where a charge of 313.17 came from? I do not understand it. So, on the 2nd day Jim Dandy Plumbing company showed up for free evaluation and a different bid, and not to attempt to take the snake out of the drain pipe, but to get more money from the client and also because their powered equipment (snake )stuck in my drain pipe. So when I called first time I was told that, appearance fee (which will include evaluating the situation) will be $49 and this amount you also be able to see on his invoice. And drain cleaning fee after the project will be done is $237.00. The Jim Dandy company did not do, their promised job, to clean my drain pipe and purposely did even worse by living the snake inside my drain pipe in an attempt to collect more money from me and threatening me to cut the snake out and leave it in my drain pipe. Because of Jim Dandy company I have lost much more, my own money, by not going to work that day and pay much more money, to a different plumbing company to do the plumbing job on the right way. So I completely disagree that I owe any money to Jim Dandy Plumbing Company. This company has not provided any promised services to me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/06/24) */ The customer has not provided any new information. If he would like to provide the recording of the video from the other company for my review, I would be more than willing to look at it and determine if there is any new information to render a different judgement. The customer contends that we didn't provide the promised service. No plumbing company promises to clear a bad line with a cable. We can only try to open the bad line with the cable. Our technician did not hide any charges. He was upfront and honest with the customer. The customer agreed to have him get out of bed and drive to his home in the middle of the night to attempt to clear his drain. We are an hourly company and charged the customer the one hour minimum charge plus the service fee. The invoice needs to be paid in full unless there is something else to present than what the customer has already done so. ***** ******* President Jim Dandy Sewer & Plumbing Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/07/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Jim Dandy Sewer and Plumbing co, did not followed their agreement with me, and did not do their job by cleaning my drain pipe and you can see it clearly on their invoice, which I have included. In the invoice you can see that the company left their snake in my drain pipe purposely, and trying to charge me for the service they did not provided for the amount of $313.17

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had been using the services of *** ***** for years as an annual sewer drain cleaning service. It recently came to light that they never cleared the drain from the house to the side sewer line causing years of unnecessary sewer backups and their repeated charged returns to investigate the matter. Further they kept insisting during those years that we needed to replace the main sewer line to the tune of $20,000 plus. I had the city utility come out to investigate the condition of the main sewer on 4/5/11, and they indicated on their note, "running fine at this time." Work Order XXXXXXX. After the discovery that *** ***** had not been clearing the drain from the house at all (this was done by ****** ******* on 6/3/13), I called the owner and he would not listen to my complaint at all. In fact, everytime I asked him what he would do about this issue he would speak over my every word and say, "Why didn't you call us to do the job." My response was that I did and you didn't do the job. He refused to accommodate this matter in any reasonable way. In other words, he rudely ignored my pleas for some sort of reimbursement and would not speak of the matter at all; just kept repeating, "Why didn't you call us to fix it?" I have heard several complaints from others about this company, one by my neighbor up the street who had drainage repair done by them only to discover they didn't seal the pipes leaving water damage throughout her house.

Desired Settlement: I want to be fairly credited for all the visits they made, when, in fact, they were not doing the job needed. Since 2010 alone, the amount of charges amounted to over $2,000. Most particularly, I feel I should be compensated for the last billing that brought about the need to call another plumber; namely their visits of 5/7 and 5/20/13 amounting to over $700. (Invoice XXXXX $183.11 and Invoice XXXXX $492.75.)

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/07) */ I am really confused about the above complaint as I am the owner and I never spoke with *******? I am concerned about your complaint and would like to discuss the details personally.