This business is not BBB accredited.

Fischer Plumbing

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 337-2141 Fax: (206) 784-4924 View Additional Phone Numbers 1115 NW 51st St, Seattle, WA 98107 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.fischerplumbing.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial custom plumbing, rooter and heating services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Fischer Plumbing include:

  • Failure to have a required competency license

Factors that raised the rating for Fischer Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fischer Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 12/08/1987 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daryl J Miller, President Mr. Terry Clinton, General Manager Mr. Howard Hale, Manager Mr. Bob King, Manager Mr. Bruce D Robertson, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Terry Clinton, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Daryl J Miller, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
A A A Heating Acme Plumbing & Heating Ballard Plumbing Fischer Cleaning The Fischer Plumbing Co Inc Village Plumbing
Licensing

According to Washington Department of Labor & Industries, all of the names by which a company does business must be registered with Labor & Industries. Fischer Plumbing does not have its additional business names -- Ballard Plumbing and Alligator Sewer & Drain -- registered with Labor & Industries. To verify the company's current status, please contact Labor & Industries at (800) 647-0982 or www.lni.wa.gov.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1115 NW 51st St

    Seattle, WA 98107 (206) 203-6142 (206) 203-6143 (206) 274-6236 (206) 279-3322 (206) 285-4081 (206) 322-0424 (206) 337-2141 (206) 365-9053 (206) 522-8602 (206) 523-8409 (206) 784-3552 (206) 932-5021 (253) 852-0504 (425) 406-1231 (425) 406-1232 (425) 406-1233 (425) 455-1310 (425) 455-4773 (425) 635-9456 (425) 775-6690 (425) 786-0096 (425) 827-0172 (206) 337-2141

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    227 Bellevue Ave E # 241

    Seattle, WA 98102

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Company does not provide estimate upfront,thus presents billing with hidden charges, not previously declared. When the plumber was asked for the estimate, he said: "You will be billed". The only thing he disclosed was the price for the new disposal which was supposed to be $140. The company billed me for $174.9 plus $75 for the service call and $105 for labor + tax, total $388.71. About 2 days later I called and left a message with the answering service asking for a call back. Nobody called. Today, 8/19/14,I talked with the owner, Dale?. He responded that that's the way they run their Business. That is not good practice. On their website, they have a logo "BBB A+". How is that possible? Is it legal? I checked the prices for the disposal, most of the companies, charge less than $100, the highest I found was $137.

Desired Settlement: Lower the price for the service call and the disposal, Badger5 1/2 HP; present new invoice. For the sake of other consumers, stop presenting bills with hidden charges, provide estimate upfront.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/08/20) */ Contact Name and Title: ** ****** MBA/CPA, owner Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ****@fischerplumbing.com Our offer to this customer of a payment plan over time, still stands. In addition, she indicated that she is on a fixed social security income. We offered to her a reduction if there is a financial hardship. Because of her claim of a financial hardship, we will provide her with a refund of $50.00 as a goodwill gesture. This is not to be construed as a reduction in price for any other reason. We have been in business since the 1970's. We perform approx 1,000 customer transactions per month, and our pricing is very reasonably positioned within the industry.

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Fischer plumbing to fix my kitchen sink faucets. The person arrived at 10:45 and not 10.15 as stated in my bill. Nobody informed me of the $75service call charge. He told me he would finish the work within an hour and ended up doing it for 3 hours. He also ended up connecting the dishwasher . It was a brand new dishwasher which was not installed properly. When I tried to run it, the panel below broke and fell off. The dishwasher flooded the whole area. When I tried to get ***** to replace the panel they refused warranty saying it was a mistake in installation. I had to pay to get someone who was authorized , to re install it and it still has a broken panel which i havent been able to replace. I have a bill for $830 from Fischer for which I have a damaged dishwasher. The bill is not even itemized.

Desired Settlement: EIther I shall not pay the bill or Fischer would replace my dishwasher with the same****** model and pay for the extra intallation I paid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/03) */ We regret the failure of the ***** dishwasher. However, we did NOT install it. *** ******* left for work or other destination, whereupon her general contractor told our plumber that he would install the dishwasher. Our technician ****** only installed the new angle stop to the wall, and the flex hose to the angle stop, but he did not connect either the water to the dishwasher, or the DW drain to the main drain. Nor did he remove the front panel that she mentions. In addition, we have GPS technology on all of our vehicles. The GPS verifies that our technician arrived at 10:15. We can provide that proof. There was in fact a lag time between his arrival and when he began work, of about 15 minutes, however, because the doorbell did not work, and he had to notify the office to call *** *******, to come to the door and let him in. As owner, I have met with my technician, (who is very skilled), and reviewed each assertion of this customer. In each case there is an explanation. Yes, he provided an estimate of one hour to perform one segment of the work. But then several other procedures were requested after that. And a compilation of all of the work he performed in fact shows he spent an appropriate amount of time for what all was accomplished. I can find nothing performed incorrectly, or improper billing. Finally, therefore, the entire invoice is payable. As a goodwill gesture, however, I will remove 1/4 hour of time on the front end. That would bring the amount that continues to be due as ...... $786.33 ($830.08 - 43.75). This is valid, fair, and reasonable. Thank you, -***** ****** MBA / CPA Owner Fischer Plumbing Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/01/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like to give a detailed account of what happened. I hired fischer plumbing to 'install my garbage disposal and connect the plumbing under my sink'. Dishwasher was not mentioned on the phone or to the technician in person. I had a contractor who was in charge of installing the dishwasher. When the technician came in, he explained to me that the garbage disposal will make it complicated and I asked him to only connect the plumbing under the sink(he mentioned it should take under an hour). It did take under an hour and then he suggested replacing an angle stop and plumbing lines under the bathroom sink for which he mentioned about 15 minutes and I gave my consent. While he started with the bathroom sinks I left for work. The contractor who was working on the appliances and my husband were at home at this point. After completing this the technician as per the account of both the contractor and my husband went on to help out with connecting the dishwasher. He might be very experienced with that but I had not authorise him to do that. His job must have been completed and he should have left once the bathroom sink was done (as he had already completed the kitchen sink plumbing before that). But he came back to the kitchen and spent the rest of the time assisting with the dishwasher. It is totally unacceptable to bill me 3 hours for doing things I had not requested and at the end not even owning responsibility when it faults. My contractor reduced his charges for connecting the dishwasher and told me he let the plumber do it since he seemed very experienced and wanted to help. I do not agree with that either. But since you are a reputed organisation charging a premium rate you should have been professional enough to ask the owner before doing anything. As for the 'perceived ambiguity' in the writing that you claim, I dont see one. I understand there is a DISHWASHER SIDE and HOUSE SIDE to the plumbing. But everything related to the HOUSE SIDE has been listed separately right in the beginning(from installing the basket strainers to angle stops to installing supply lines) and finally he mentions 'CONNECTED DISHWASHER & TESTED' which I think can only be perceived as connecting the DISHWASHER to the HOUSE SIDE. At this point I am very upset with the company for trying to overcharge in the first place and then refusing to own up once there is an issue. I cannot pay you for services that I did not request and that ends up being a disaster. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/12/30) */ We regret the perceived ambiguity in his write-up. But the fact is that in a dishwasher installation, there are two segments of the process. One side is the water and drain connection AT THE DISHWASHER ..... The other side is the water and drain connection AT THE HOUSE SIDE , or THE PLUMBING SYSTEM SIDE. In this case, ** *******'s contractor insisted he would perform the DISHWASHER SIDE connection which he did. Our technician ****** is very experienced, and thus he performed the PLUMBING SYSTEM SIDE connections, under the sink. So, when ** ******* turned on the dishwasher and experienced the panel falling off and the flooding, she was experiencing a failure caused by the general contractor, NOT a failure on the plumbing system, which we were responsible for. Further, the totality of the invoice from Fischer Plumbing includes several other items of service plumbing provided by ****** on his visit and are above reproach. Finally, then, we must respectfully but firmly insist on full payment. We performed. -***** ****** MBA / CPA Owner Fischer Plumbing since 1977

12/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 16, 2013, around 10 am, I got a phone call from ***** ******* of ******** ******** ********** telling me that they sent a plumber to the unit *** below my unit ** ** and it looks like that there is leak from my unit. I was connected to plumbers by the property manager. I agreed to be there around 1:30 pm. When I got there, plumber already was there. He found that the hose from the water tank is leaking, and, offer to replace both of them to be safe, I agreed. It took him around 15 minutes to do that and he left. I got a bill for $313.17 for 15 minutes of work. They charged $75 for service call, $175 for 1.25 hour of labor, $36 for materials, and $27.17 tax. The bill was in the name of ******** ******** *********** which was redirected to me by the same property manager, ****** I called the plumber and tried to pay that bill asking to explain why the bill is so high. I was transferred to *****. I asked why $175 for labor, he said that they were there for 1 hour and 15 minutes, $140 per hour, makes $175. I said that they were in my apartment 15 minutes and according to *** tenant, the plumber was 5 minutes in her apartment - all together is 20 minutes. He said that the plumber was in the *** apartment downstairs for 10 minutes, and, then, when he came back he was there for 50 minutes, from 1 pm to 1:50 pm. (If you add 10 and 50 together you get 1 hour, not 1.25 hour). I told him that I suppose to be there at 1:30 pm, not 1 pm, why should I pay for extra 30 minutes of plumber wait, which does not make sense to me? According to the *** tenant, the plumber came 5 minutes before my arrival, not 30 minutes. She was at home waiting to see where the leak is coming from, and, she saw when the plumber when upstairs. I asked ***** to reduce my bill by 30 - 45 minutes and adjust the amount. He said that he will get back to me, but he never called me back. I left a couple messages to him, and, to the billing department, but I got no response. Per *****, the bill is in ******** name and it is not my responsibility to pay it. I told *****, if ******** pay the bill from the association bank account, my unit will get assessed for that amount which I believe it is much higher than it should be. It looks like a deceptive practice of overcharging homeowners by use of the property manager. There is no control over the plumber by the party who end up paying the bill (homeowner). And, there is no control over the plumber by the property manager. The property manager did not even ask the contractor a question about how much time was actually spent to fix the leak? I called ******** and talked to ****** told her as a property manager she supposed to protect association interest, not contractors. Asked her to talk to the plumbers but, have not heard from her either. Fischer Plumbing is overcharging. Their fees are outrageous. I would not choose the plumber who is charging $75 service fees and $140 per hour. It is too expensive. It was a ******** ******** ********** choice of plumbers, not mine. I had never thought that anyone can charge $300 for replacing hose from the water heater. Fisher Plumbing labor time is out of control. They were there less than 30 minutes, but they charged for 75 minutes.

Desired Settlement: I am asking to reduce the labor time from 75 minutes to 30 minutes (based on actual time of work according to *****), and, correspondingly to reduce the labor charge from $175 to $70 (Fischer plumbing already charged $75 for service call, in addition to $70 of labor).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/19) */ Fischer Plumbing was hired by the property manager to locate and repair a leak. We did have to make two trips out to the building to make the repairs due to access needs. We only charged the $75.00 trip charge one time and treated the work as a continuation to save the customer money. Normally we only discuss charges and work that was done with the party that hired us (****************). We have talked with the Tech. that was out on the site and have looked at our GPS system to verify that we were in fact onsite for the time that was billed. We will however be willing to reduce the invoice 30 min. or $70.00 out of customer service. Original invoice was $313.17, after adjustment $236.52 including tax. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/12/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a blockage in our kitchen sink and we callsed Fischer plumbing. The service person who came was clearly inexperienced, did not know how to use his equipment and did not have the right temperament to fix the problem. He tried using the electrical snake tool and was very frustrated when it did not work. I pleaded him to go into crawl space and check the pipes. He did not have the overalls and respirator to do so. He stepped into the crawl space and came back immediately claiming it has ducts all over and he cannot spot the drain pipes. He made a recommendation to cut wall behind the dishwasher. When I asked him to do it, he said he was not a plumber and that I have to set up a completely different service call with the company. The Fischer serviceman ******* was very agitated, angry and rude when I asked him whether I need to pay the service visit call fee again if called a Fischer plumber to do the recommended work. I also questioned him on the time he spent working on the problem. He stormed out of the house calling expletives. I called another service company who sent a service person, with clearly the right experience. He used exactly the same type of tool (electric snake) and cleared the blockage in no time. In addition he went into the crawl space, and tested all the drain pipes there. He checked all the drains around the house including washing machine and dish washer. He mentioned that the key to using electric snake is to be very relaxed and feel the subtle hints, which comes with experience.

Desired Settlement: The Fischer Plumbing still sent us an invoice for $243.36 for a service that was not performed at all along with a recommendation to cut the wall behind the dish washer to check out the problem. In short they wasted my time, left me stranded and made what could have been a costly error in judgment. I am asking Fischer to retract and cancel the invoice completely, in writing. In addition I recommend the company to run a psychiatric evaluation and criminal background check for the serviceman they sent, because in my experience he can be dangerous especially to women and children.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/06/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******, Owner Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: *********@aol.com We are very concerned to hear of such a negative experience with our technicians. We perform about 1,000 transactions with customers every month, and instead have hundreds of very positive testamonials. Due to the unhappy experience you have had, PLEASE consider that you owe us zero money for this - we will send you a zero balance statement to confirm this. Finally please accept our apology and rest assured that we will meet with those involved in order to understand how such an outcome could ever be possible. Because it is NOTHING like our character or culture or typical customer experience, over these 35 years we've been in business. We are careful in our hiring decisions, with our goal being EXCELLENT TECHNICAL OUTCOMES but equally important - EXCELLENT SERVICE EXPERIENCE. Again I apologize.... -***** ****** MBA/CPA , Owner, Fischer Plumbing Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Fischer response has restored my faith in their business. Thank you Fischer management for your quick and complete response to a customer satisfaction issue. Finally, thank you BBB for facilitating this channel of communication between businesses and customers.

12/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues