BBB Accredited Business since

Beaverton Plumbing Inc

Phone: (503) 643-7619 Fax: (503) 643-7620 13980 SW Tualatin Valley Hwy, Beaverton, OR 97005 http://www.beavertonplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Beaverton Plumbing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Beaverton Plumbing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Beaverton Plumbing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 12, 1997 Business started: 10/01/1973 Business started locally: 10/01/1973 Business incorporated 10/24/1973 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Colleen Knighton, President Ms. Sue Dean, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Colleen Knighton, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Heaters - Repairing Bathroom Remodeling Water Heaters - Dealers Backflow Prevention Devices & Services Drainage Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Additional Locations

  • 13980 SW Tualatin Valley Hwy

    Beaverton, OR 97005 (503) 643-7619

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This plumber failed to be forthright in disclosing travel time policies and failed to respond to my inquiries in a timely manner. The plumber who arrived for the repair was courteous and on time; however, he left me with a broken handle on the bathtub, noting that a screw was stripped. I did not hear anything for more than a week regarding the part and phoned to leave a message, which was unreturned. I placed a second call to their office to discuss the status of the part and to review the travel time that I later noticed on my invoice. I am five minutes away from their brick and mortar location, and it was my understanding based on discussions at the time of booking that I was charged travel from their shop to my home. This was a concern that I had addressed in my initial contact. In a discussion with *** at their Beaverton location this afternoon almost a month later, he bantered with me over the travel policies, which I firmly believe were not properly discussed or disclosed. He was argumentative, abrupt and insistent that I am ignorant regarding plumbing dispatchhe suggested that I do "my homework" in calling around to his competition to request their travel rates. I advised him that I had already spoken with professionals who confirmed that their practices are not completely routine. I had been charged 20 minutes of travel time despite being within a five-minute drive. I have no control over their dispatching and routing and should therefore not be obligated to pay for the travel time from their last destination to my home. Were this disclosed upfront and expected, I would have been more understanding. I also would have been more understanding had the plumber returned my phone calls earlier and had *** made an effort to remedy the situation or arrive at an agreeable compromise. The disrespectful and questionably dishonest approach has certainly deterred me from using them again for the repair of the faucet handle.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the extra 15 minutes in travel time that I was charged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/05) */ February 5, 2015 Better Business Bureau Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX) To whom it may concern: My name is ******* ******** and I'm the owner of Beaverton Plumbing, Inc. I would like to start by saying what our travel policy is. We have a 1 hour minimum which includes travel time to a customer job. (Travel time starts from the previous job to new job) There are exceptions to this policy. For example if the plumber is coming from Gresham back to Beaverton we adjust the travel time down to make sure the customer is not penalized for excessive travel charges. After the first hour our charge is figured in 15 minutes increments. I would like to apologize to Ms. ****** if there was any confusion of how we figure our travel time. This should have been explained to every customer at the time they schedule their job. I would like to address Ms. ****** conversation with ***. I do agree *** did not handle this situation up to Beaverton Plumbing customer service standards. I have spoken to *** about this conversation and have used your complaint to refresh not only *** but all of my employees on what Beaverton Plumbing standards are for Excellent Customer Service. Even though our charges were correct based on our travel policy I feel with the miss communication and the poor customer service Ms. ****** received we need to make an adjustment to her charges. We charged Ms. ****** 20 minutes of travel. I would like to propose Beaverton Plumbing refunds Ms. ****** $25.00 towards her travel cost. I hope this will be satisfactory to Ms. ****** and I hope she will accept my deepest apology on any stress this has caused her. Please let me know. If you have any question please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******* ******** Owner Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/02/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate and accept the acknowledgement and refund of $25.00, which I would like to have directly credited to the card on which services were purchased. To ensure that verbal communication is not the sole means by which policies are relayed, as this can lead to like disputes, I would highly suggest that all policies and rates be added to the company's web site for reference. Thank you. **** ******