BBB Accredited Business since

Apollo Drain & Rooter Service, Inc.

Phone: (503) 239-8801 Fax: (503) 669-8028 View Additional Phone Numbers 2208 NW Birdsdale Ave Ste 8, Gresham, OR 97030 http://www.apollo-drain.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing and drain cleaning services and full service sewer repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Apollo Drain & Rooter Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Apollo Drain & Rooter Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Apollo Drain & Rooter Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated 01/08/2001 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Bird, Owner Ms. Darlene Hall, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Bird, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Darlene Hall, Office Manager
Business Category

Plumbers


Additional Locations

  • 2208 NW Birdsdale Ave Ste 8

    Gresham, OR 97030 (503) 239-8801 (503) 669-0774 (503) 669-3548 (503) 669-3731 (503) 292-6591 (360) 636-1161 (360) 334-6392 (360) 553-3852 (360) 667-3133 (360) 713-0220 (360) 713-0228 (360) 713-0252 (360) 713-0751 (360) 695-0871 (503) 205-0058 (503) 205-3799 (503) 205-3803 (503) 205-3804 (503) 205-3805 (503) 205-3817 (503) 207-2343 (503) 210-5840 (503) 252-5693 (503) 305-2075 (503) 403-0017 (503) 403-0069 (503) 405-9826 (503) 473-0186 (503) 473-0197 (503) 473-0203 (503) 473-0205 (503) 473-0206 (503) 473-0209 (503) 616-5203 (503) 636-1276 (503) 654-8026 (503) 667-5797 (503) 766-3802 (503) 766-3805 (503) 239-8801 (503) 669-0774

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have ********* home warranty that covers water supply and drain plumbing failures. We had a leak on our water main in March. Apollo Drain bid for and was awarded the job and from the start there were problems getting ********* and Apollo to get approvals when the work crew showed up. We ended up putting in a new supply line which ********* paid Apollo $3200. The plumbers that did the work did a very good job. The problem with Apollo is the Billing dept. When I asked for an electronic copy of the work order between ********* and Apollo for City requirements, two weeks later I was e-mailed a contract from Apollo wanting "half of the money now and half upon completion"? What? It was like even after accepting the work offer from *********, Apollo seemed to "forget" that ********* was the bill to and wanted to always send us a bill. Well, here's the Postscript to this story. Today, October 28th, 2014 I received an invoice dated 3/21/2014 for a $48.00 travel charge, and a notice from a Collection company on behalf of Apollo Drain for $75.00. Here Apollo was paid by ********* $3200 for a day's work and now 7 months later they send me a bill for $48.00 plus $4.32 interest along with a notice from a collection company. My question to you the people that run Apollo is "What is going on?" The response I got was "the invoices and statements have gone out". Well, I know that! My input was the information on your invoices is wrong. Seems the person I talked to went into a tailspin after that. Since the person I talked to felt that I was cutting her off in our phone conversation but when I gave her the chance to speak and she didn't have anything to say. Well, here's your chance. Also, when your billing person hung up on me I was quietly waiting on the phone thinking she was doing something on her computer and the line goes dead. Is it standard practice at Apollo to hang up on your customers? Since the people at Apollo feel threatened by my phone presence, perhaps they can respond in a public forum where the big, bad customer guy won't be so mean.

Desired Settlement: Waive the $48 trip fee and the $4.32 in interest.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/05) */ When we originally billed the invoice to their home warranty company, the company refused to pay and informed us that is was the homeowner's responsibility. We then mailed an invoice to the homeowner in our first attempt to collect payment (probably in May or June). Each month thereafter, we mailed a statement to the homeowner. After not receiving a response, we had a collection agency send a letter to confirm they owed the debt. Oddly enough, this is the only invoice that the homeowner claims to have received. When he first called our office, he was "talking" to the A/R clerk. After telling him that she would look into it & get back to him, he continued to complain that he didn't owe the invoice & hadn't received any invoices. She continued to tell him that she would check into it & he kept interrupting her & telling her that he didn't owe the money, and that all our info was incorrect, and how could we send him to collections 7 months later. He claims the A/R clerk hung up on him, which is incorrect, she simply quit speaking because he continued to interrupt her & had begun raising his voice at her. He then called back and was put through to me, the Office Manager. Obviously frustrated, he called back and was very belligerent with the dispatcher saying he wanted to talk to whoever was God down here. By the time he got to the end of his explanation to me, he was yelling at me. I continually tried to tell him that I would be willing to look into the situation but that I wasn't going to be able to help him if he continued to yell at me and interrupt me. At that point, his wife got on the phone. I tried to explain to his wife that it was likely the home warranty had refused to pay the charges so we had begun sending invoices and statements to them. After continued interruptions, I explained that I would be happy to look into it for them because I currently did not have any information on this invoice or the situation. She then asked that would we "call off the dogs" if they sent us the $48? I said we certainly had not sicked any dogs after her for a mere $48 but yes, we would instruct Tek Collect to cease contact. She then said they would mail the check. Once this conversation was over, they began posting negative reviews on Yelp and the BBB, and then followed up with a threatening email which stated in part, "you made the mistake by hanging up on me and if you ignore me, you will wish you hadn't." Once Ms. ***** agreed to pay the $48, we believe the situation had been resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We never received any invoices from Apollo Drain. This one dated in October is the only one we have ever received from this place. They were sending the invoices to **** ******** the whole time, and then 7 months later send us the invoice along with a Collection notice. We would have addressed this issue sooner IF we had received ANY notice that we needed to pay $48. This is such a small amount that it's really not even worth dealing with these people. We will pay the $48 but not the interest. This company is notorious for poor service. I wish I had worked with any other company than Apollo Drain in Gresham. Their office people are unprofessional and rude. Thankfully, I've rarely had to deal with such incompetence in today's business world. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/10) */ Again, after 2 promises to pay, we thought this had been resolved.

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Apollo Drain charged me to replace the pipe in my basement all the way to the main. Which was not done. I also called the city and found out that they never got a permit ! I sent them a demand letter. They still refused to fix my problem. I've been having reoccurring problems since this job was done in May 16,2007. I finally had it fixed by a plumber. I have pictures to show proof of these issues. I also have a picture to show there was not the proper fitting on my pipe and that there was tape to stop a leak. Also the pipe was not installed with proper grade. There were areas with no grade as well back grade. Also have pictures of that.

Desired Settlement: I would like all of my money back from March 7, 2007 to date. March 7,2007 120.95 March 8,2007 265.00 May 16, 2007 3,100.00 May 20, 2008 88.00 Snake rental Dec.13,2009 62.50 January 28, 2013 145.00 to have drain camera by another Co. Total....3,781.45

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/14) */ A review of the correspondence that I attached shows that we tried to resolve the issue. Originally, we asked to see a copy of the video from the other company. She refused. Next, we requested that we be able to perform our own camera since she would not let us review the other company's video. As stated in my email to here, dated 2/15/13, the video clearly shows that we did exactly as stated in our 2007 contract - we replaced the laundry line from the cleanout that we installed, to the mainline connection. Our contract did not include replacing the mainline connection, which we believe is what she is insisting that we failed to do. I tried to explain to her and her attorney that our contract did not include replacing that connection, only the line that ties into it. The last correspondence that we had with *** ******* was a request for our licensing info. Since that time she says that she "finally had it fixed by a plumber." Further she states, "I have pictures to show proof of these issues. I also have a picture to show there was not the proper fitting on my pipe and that there was tape to stop a leak. Also the pipe was not installed with proper grade. There were areas with no grade as well back grade. Also have pictures of that." First, we would like the opportunity to view the pictures. Second, we would like to know what repairs were made. We again request an opportunity to review the other company's invoice with a full description of the work. This would include the location of the fitting, and the location of the tape. Finally, she mentions the problems with her line having little to no grade. My letter to *** ******* attorney references a video inspection we did in 5/08, "....indicates that there is insufficient grade (or fall) of the line approximately 2 feet from the mainline connection. This is due to the mainline being backgraded. We believe this is the section that is collecting grease and buildup and is the cause of the continued problems." We tried repeatedly to obtain additional information from *** ******* but were consistently met with refusals. As I stated in a previous correspondence, if I had been provided with information (from another company) that indicated we had not done the job properly, we would have immediately proceeded to try and rectify the situation. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

10/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 30th, I was quoted by ****** with Apollo of plumbing hourly charges of $110/hour. Apollo came out to my rental on Aug 31st but unable to determine the cause smell in the bad smell in the unit. My tenants were informed that they will call me on Sept 3rd to reschedule an appointment to bring cameras to find the issues. I was charge $65 for Aug 31st service. On Sept 3rd, I schedule with Apollo to come out Sept 4th. I received a call from the plumber with Apollo wanting to charge me over $280 worth of work but still cannot determine the cause of the smell in the unit. Charges were 1.5 hours of labor, over $100 to pull the toilet to look at the drain with a camera, $15 for a wax ring. However, when I confirm the time with my tenant, I was told Apollo was at the unit for about 45 minutes only. I called Apollo and talk to the supervisor ******* but she was not willing to reduce the charges. I am willing to pay the $110 per hour as quoted plus the cost of the wax ring. However, I am not willing to pay for anything beyond that since I was never informed of charges beyond the $110 per hour. I feel this business is very unethical. If charges are different from what I was originally quoted, I should be informed of those extra charges.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to pay the $110 per hour as quoted plus the cost of the wax ring. However, I am not willing to pay for anything beyond that since I was never informed of charges beyond the $110 per hour. My total charge should have been 45 minutes of work or $82.50 plus $15 for the wax ring. Total should have been $97.50.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/11) */ As promised, I reviewed the technicians invoice as well as his time on the jobsite. First, our GPS system indicates he was on the jobsite for 1.5 hours. Second, his charges for pulling/resetting the toilet were incorrect and have been reduced to $45, making the invoice total $205. What I tried to explain to the customer is that we have different charges for different services. When she contacted us the 2nd time (after the plumber had been there), we were not aware that she had been quoted prices, or even what prices might have been quoted. The only system in place for determining if we quoted prices to a customer on a previous phone call would be to go back and listen to that recorded phone conversation. Unfortunately, we don't have the luxury of doing that for every single call or caller. I also explained to her that she did not inquire about prices on her 2nd phone call. Had she inquired about our pricing, we would have gladly shared that information with her. Or, had she mentioned what she was previously quoted to confirm the same price, we would have quoted a different rate to her. Finally, she was quoted $110 per hour for the initial service call and she assumed that all services would be performed for that amount. The first technician only charged her $65 and he was there for 51 minutes. The 2nd tech was there for 1 hour and 37 minutes. So, if we were to charge a rate of $110 per hour for all that time, it would equal $275. As they stand, her invoice totals are $270. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My tenants can witness that the plumber was inside the unit for 45 minutes and was sitting in his truck for a long duration of time. Apollo would need to provide me a video recording as to when the plumber is inside the truck. In addition, the first plumber who went out to the property was not able to find the cause of the issue and told my tenants he will call me to schedule an appointment to come back to the property with a camera to find the cause of the issue. I did not received a phone call from Apollo, so therefore I called Apollo to follow-up. This is a follow-up from my initial service request. Why would I need to ask for pricing again? If pricing change, Apollo holds sole responsibility to inform the customer of that pricing change. Pulling a toilet and using a camera is part of the duties of a plumber. Do I need to ask a plumber every time he holds a screw driver or hold up a plunger to see if the fees are extra? This absolutely ridiculous business practice. Apollo did not even inform me that a different plumber would be send out to my property. The tenant and myself thought the same plumber would come out to the property. I already paid the $65 which the first plumber charge me. That invoice is not to be lump in with the current invoice. I am willing to pay the 45 minutes $110 per hour plus $15 for the wax ring with totals $97.50. Apollo should be ashamed to charge its customers so much money for a diagnostic and still can't even find the cause of the problem. If Apollo disagreed, I will file thru the CCB and will be hearing from my attorney. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/09/24) */ In an effort to settle this and all her other complaints, we have reduced her invoice to $144, which is $99 for the camera and $45 to pull & reset the toilet. I have adjusted the invoice and mailed a new copy to the customer. If the customer wants to contend that she should have additional deductions to equal the 45 mins that her tenant claims he was sitting in his van, I would like to remind the customer that the technician spent approximately 15 minutes on the phone with her discussing what he had done, and what he found. That is chargeable time, whether he is in the house or in his van.

8/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues