BBB Accredited Business since

Alkota Plumbing & Heating, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (907) 332-5325 Fax: (907) 332-0433 6189 Debarr Rd Ste 100, Anchorage, AK 99504 http://www.alkotaphi.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing and heating services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alkota Plumbing & Heating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alkota Plumbing & Heating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alkota Plumbing & Heating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 1997 Business started: 07/13/1984 Business started locally: 07/13/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Department of Commerce Community & Economic Development
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us
Phone Number: (907) 269-8110

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534
don.habeger@alaska.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Gervais, President Mr. Matt Gervais, Office Manager Mr. Todd Jedlicki, VP - Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Gervais, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Todd Jedlicki, VP - Operations
Business Category

Plumbers Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 6189 Debarr Rd Ste 100

    Anchorage, AK 99504

  • PO Box 222412

    Anchorage, AK 99522 (907) 332-5325

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alkota Plumbing & Heating installed a high efficiency **** Combi Boiler in 7/10/2009. There were 6 service calls for no hot water in the first year; plus ongoing & unresolved installation, heat & HW issues. **** Boiler history is attached. Other plumbers are only willing to look at this system. Alkota Manager **** ******** rarely returns my phone calls or follows thru on what he says: 1) Provide me with claim forms for cost of reinstalling inadequate Z vent gaskets & elbows two times in six months in July & December of 2012. I called **** many times for the claim forms. 2) Alkota & ******* responded to my "online request for complaint resolution" 2/2013 to fix or replace **** with a functional system; that maintains heat at -20 degrees outside. 3) This winter 2013-2014, **** is unable to maintain heat at -20 degrees. Alkota Manager **** ******** has not returned my calls. 4) 12/21/13 Alkota Manager **** ********* said he would contact ******* *********** to fix my heat & HW issues. Alkota Manager **** ********* has not returned my phone calls. HISTORY:7/2009 Installed high efficiency **** boiler with direct hot water; so I would have a dependable boiler and not have to go in the crawl space to turn up HW or Boiler. **** boiler HW system has been unreliable & inefficient for heat & HW since installation: 7/10/09 for $10481 when I wrote on invoice "Erratic HW temp, Hot water not acceptable & "NO" satisfactory completion" No HW 6 times in first year! 8/13/09 Erratic HW temp cycle from too hot to too cold. Alkota told me to replace my shower faucets & shower head; helped but water temp still vacillating from too hot to too cold for shower; I shower at gym. 8/14/09 NO HOT WATER 8/15/09 Boiler Water in crawl space 8/16/09 NO HOT WATER 8/ 17 & 20/09 NO phone response from phone msgs left for Alkota Mgr **** ******** 8/ 22 & 29/09 Phone msgs for Alkota Mgr **** ** unanswered 10/ 22&29 /09 Called Alkota re Heat & HW issues 11/12/09 NO Hot Water Alkota fixes HW (air bubble) 11/9/09 Restored NO Hot water again (Could not meet with ******* rep Father dying & attending Funeral 11/18/09 Heat loss: Thermostat temperature falling from 70 to 65 degrees, (set at 70 degrees) 12/15/09 NO HEAT, Alkota restored heat 12/16/09 NO HEAT or HOT WATER, Alkota restored (replaced circuit board)x1 12/20/09 NO HOT WATER Alkota restored 12/21/09 Replaced circuit board, stops lockout reset p valve outdoor sensor, adjust HW, check & heat 12/1/10 Reported Boiler noise to Alkota 4/7/10 Adjusted HW again: shower temp vacillates from too hot to too cold. removed shower head restrictors 4/ 1,13,18,25 /10 Reported repeated Boiler Noise to Alkota. 7/13/10 Heat check cleaned burner & ignition flushed condensate, limited, controls 7/3/12 Service & WATER in crawlspace : Replaced disintegrated vent gaskets vent pulled from roof $316 11/29/12 WATER in crawlspace Replace relief valve, & inadequate **** expansion tank with ****** tank repair guy said: "**** tank not adequate" Replaced relief valve AGAIN $397 12/17/12 WATER in crawlspace Indoor temp falling from 72 to 65 degrees 12/19/12 WATER in crawl space Tank pressure too high replaced relief valve again by Alkota $129 Replaced Z vent elbows & replaced gaskets again, adjusted heat cycle again 12/20/12 Left 2 more msgs for Alkota Manager **** ********** UNANSWERED re: my cost of reinstallation inadequate venting system & gaskets twice & my cost of replacing inadequate **** expansion tank. 12/28/12 NO HEAT at 20 below & Boiler stuck in repeating purging cycle 1/29/12 Alkota **** replaced *circuit board replace for second time. 2/21/12 Called Alkota re heat issues 3/29/12 Shower & tub water just lukewarm Alkota adjusted HW temp again 12/18/12 Alkota Mgr &******** Rep responded only after I filed an online legal complaint; to extend the warrantee to get the heat & hot water working at Alkota's & ********** expense to customer satisfaction. 12/29/12 Alkota mgr **** ********* and ******* rep RESPONDED: said warrantee extended to fix **** Combi 3/29/13 HW temp too cold for tub. Alkota man said only I could turn HW temp above 120 degrees. $67.50 4/6/13 ******* rep *** ******* & Alkota Mgr **** ******** repairs 2-4pm 6/13/13 Annual Service plus flush & decalcify heat exchanger, Tub water now OK at 118 degrees! 1/25/13 Heat loss -20 temp Alkota adjust circuit board,Boiler cycling 181-187 temp indoors thermostat holds 1/26/13 -20 below Heat not holding Boiler temp cycling 173-158 degrees thermostat temp declining 1/27/13 zero outside Heat loss inside Boiler temp cycling 173-158 degrees thermostat temp declining 11/21/13 Spoke to Alkota Manager **** ********* re heat issues 11/29/13 NO HEAT new power head, but HW tub still too cold 2 days for heat to get back up! *Alkota Mgr. **** ********** said "he would contact ******* Rep to fix" No response from **** ********* Alkota Manager Inadequate HW & inadequate heat 12/21/13 Called Alkota Mgr **** ********** said "he would contact ******* rep to fix." 1/16/14 Left msg again for Alkota Mgr **** ********* to call 1/16/14 Spoke with **** at ******* and left msg for ******* Rep. *** ******* 1.16.14 **** Boiler Hot water system unacceptable performance for 4.5 years. Must be replaced immediately with a new functional boiler/hot water system: at ******* & Alkota's expense; and be repaid for parts & repairs to **** Combi Boiler, vents & gaskets twice, & ****** tank that I have paid. 1/17/14 Sent email to ** at Alkota & *** manufacture rep to fulfill their 6/13/13 visit agreement to get heat & HW at next time there are -20 degree temperatures. 1/16/14 Left msgs fot Alkota mgr **** ** to call me 1/16/14 Called boiler manufacture left msg for Rep *** ******* to call me. 1/17/14 Talked with *** at ******* twice to resolve ongoing heat & HW & Alkota Manager **** ********* not returning my phone messages to call me back. Alkota & Boiler Manufacture rep unable to resolve ongoing **** boiler & HW issues. Other plumbers only willing to look at boiler. With lack of response from Alkota President & Vice President to resolve this; I am seeking professional advisement. Boiler history shows repeated & ongoing non-performance. Alkota has been good about answering their phone and taking messages, but Manger **** ******** rarely responds adequately or in a timely manner, which has drawn out this non performance issue.

Desired Settlement: 1) Immediately Fix or Replace **** Combi Boiler with a Boiler Hot Water System that can maintain heat at -40 degrees outdoors and extend the warrantee to cover adjustments, parts & repairs for 5 years. 2 ) Immediately Refund my cost of parts & labor to reinstall inadequate z vent elbows & gaskets twice with 6 months in 2012: $742 3) Immediately Fix bath water temperature hot enough for bath after tub is filled; and Fix varying shower water temperature or replace **** hot-water system with a side arm hot-water system.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/03/14) */ Just to give you an update on what is going on. ***** was contacted on 2/21/14 to have a meeting at her home. Outside temperatures were around -10 this morning and 10 above when I was at her home and the temp in the house was at 70 deg. She said the temperatures have been steady. The boiler was on and running at around 173 deg. the burner was modulating up and down normally. I did a quick heat calculation on the home and measured all of her baseboard, at the 173 deg output of the boiler she is short around 6000 btu of baseboard. My infrared heat gun also showed areas of walls under 60 degrees showing bad insulation. One thing I did find was the outdoor reset sensor is actually being heated by the heat loss through the outside wall and making it off by 12 deg, we will insulate behind the sensor or put spacers behind it. I also tested the domestic hot water and it was running with a 79 deg temp rise at right at 4 Gpm. her shower has doing the same with no fluxuation. She thinks the water should be at set temp right away and not fluxuate as soon as it comes on, I informed her that she needed to let it run for 30 seconds after she felt the first hot water come out again as it is an on-demand system and needs time to stabilize. The boiler is operating just fine and has nothing wrong, the old cast iron boiler used to be in the crawl space and I'm sure that is what heated the house with the extra Btu she needed. She also said when temps were below zero she used to turn the old boiler up to 200 deg., this she can't do now with the high efficiency stainless boiler. The insulation was added to the outdoor sensor and I have had no complaint issues with the customer and all is operating normally. The manufacturers Rep has been involved with this whole process and agrees with the boiler diagnosis

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Terrible!!!! Poor workmanship causing more problems than they fix. Just replacing 2 fittings cost me $1,000 dollars and 2 additional visits. After the first visit we had no heat upstairs. After second visit they broke my thermostat "????why !!!! and when he was gone we had several leaks. Anyway after 3rd visit I'm keeping my fingers crossed hoping they didn't break anything else. Will never call them again. Hard lesson learned.

Desired Settlement: Price Reduction

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/03/14) */ I had an on-site meeting with Mr. ***** on 1/29/14 after the second appointment at his home. We went over what work was performed and issues with that work. We were called by Mr. ***** to repair a bad heat line on the initial visit 1/23/14, our technician replaced the bad section of heat line, hard piped the unit heater in the garage, installed a new boiler fill valve, boiler auto vent and expansion tank that all needed to be replaced. The system was filled and purged with new water and was cycling normally. Three days later were called out due to no heat upstairs, our technician tested the zone valve, it tested good and then tested the thermostat, while testing the thermostat a screw was lost and tried to be replaced but could not find the same thread so a new digital thermostat was installed at no charge. The technician then tried to purge the zone but the gate valve had failed so he cut out the old valve and installed a new one, purged the boiler and all was operating when he left. So after talking this over he and I noted some other issues that needed to be taken care of and that the new fill valve piping was not square as I expect from our technicians. I told him we would come out and install a new boiler drain that was dripping, incoming water shut off valve that was leaking, repair a leak on his water heater and repipe the fill system which was not square at no charge to him. We scheduled a technician to go out on 1/30/14 and all was taken care of. The $1000.00 bill was for a lot more than replacing two fittings, his boiler is over twenty years old and was in need of a lot of maintenance which was done, as he and I were not happy with the looks of some of the work that was done we did extra work for free and corrected the other work.

1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9 Sept. 2009, Alkota Plumbing was contracted to winterize my home at **** ***** *** Anchorage Alaska 99504. The Discription of worked stated that winterized home and added Glycol to all traps washer and Dishwasher. Boiler and all water lines are blown down with air and left open. Upon bringing the house out of winterization on 26 Mar. 2013, another company ****** ***** ******** *** ******* **** that was present noted on their invoice "found burst pipes near boiler, main valve broken when I tried to open it. Replaced bad circ pump, burst pipe on boiler feed and broken valve. Alkota plumbing arrived and I left. Bottom loop was froze." Alkota arrived because when my son and his plumber found the leaks, Alkota plumbing was called since they winterized the home. I spoke with the Alkota's plumber at that time and he indicated that normally the valves are closed and it would have been filled with glycol. Obviously this was not done and I incurred an considerable expenses because the house was not winterized correctly. Alkota subsequently billed me $318.88 for the house call on the 26 march 2013 and $623.25 for additional work that was required. I agree to and have paid the $623.25 but refuse to pay the $318.88 for them to tell that the winterization was not done properly in the first place as indicated by the warrenty work noted on the invoice totaling $623.25. I have made serval attempts to resolve this issue with the operations manager to no avail. He has yet at this late date chosen to return my calls leaving me no choice but to file this complaint with the BBB

Desired Settlement: Reverse the $318.88 charge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/26) */ BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX In response to *** ****** complaint we would like to clarify the conditions at the time of the de-winterization. I have attached the link to the actual weather readings on the date of de-winterizing which show the high temperature was 18 deg F and the low was 3 deg F at the Anchorage airport, this home is on the east side of Anchorage which is usually 10 deg colder. ******************** had the utility company turn the water on to a home which was approximately 10 deg F in the home which will cause instant freezing of incoming water into the home. When I arrived at the home the technician with ***** ************** was trying to fill the boiler with water but was having difficulties. I informed him that the water was freezing faster than he could get the boiler operating to create heat and keep the water moving. Ice was forming on exterior components where water had splashed on them because his own hose was frozen shut. My technician and I started to turn on faucets in the home to get water moving all water on exterior walls was already frozen, ie. garage sink, baseboard, downstairs tub and boiler feed. The technician with ***** ***** changed out the pump that was frozen and left. My technician and I used a torch to warm the fill valve for the boiler and got water into the boiler and the garage unit heater as quick as we could to start warming up the area, the down stairs loop was completely frozen and we were able to slowly add hot boiler water to the upstairs loop and get circulation. We informed the person on site to get electric heaters or propane heaters in the home as quickly as possible to warm the home up to stop the freezing of the waterlines. When we were ready to leave the upstairs loop was radiating heat, the garage unit heater was blowing and he had a friend bring over heaters for the basement and had informed them to leave all of the water running slowly and keep the boiler isolated until the home was warmed up and then e could come back to get it fully running and repairs made. We came back on the 28th and got the boiler fully operational and warranty repaired one hose bibb line which was still isolated but had freeze damage. The boiler work is not warranty. Procedures for de-winterizing a "cold soaked" home require you to pre-heat the home for at least one day before turning on any water. If the winterization was not done properly all of the plumbing would have breaks and drainage fittings would be cracked in their p-traps if glycol was not added. All of the damage was caused by adding water to a freezing cold house and not pre-heating it, other than the hose bibb. *** ***** still owes us the $318.88, which was for only one technician not the two of us there for the boiler and plumbing work to get the system started after they caused the damage by adding water to a freezing cold system. Thank You, Alkota Plumbing and Heating Inc. http://www.accuweather.com/en/us/anchorage-ak/XXXXX/march-weather/XXXXXX Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/07/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Bottom line Sir is your technician simply made a mistake and my home was NOT winterized correctly. But to your technician's credit, he advised me to have a plumber present when the water was turned on in case there were any issues that may develop. I passed that information onto my son and he choose to call his plumber instead of Alkota and then called Alkota after the issues surrounding the improper winterization of my home became apparent. The fact that your technician made a mistake doesn't bother me. What is appalling to me is your refusal to accept responsibility for the error and place the blame on ***** ***** ********* Furthermore, what is appalling to me is just as you have stated above: "If you would like to talk with me personally call my dispatcher and he can set up an appointment time so we can speak together at the home or wherever." This is the very reason that this matter has escalated to the point it has today. I have called your office, your dispatcher or your billing manager asking for you to return my calls and you never have. Instead your company have responded by on sending me bill after bill. We have not been playing phone tag, you have chosen simply not to return my calls. I can understand that you are busy and may have someone screening your calls. As such, you may or may not have gotten my messages. I am very busy too and have sought respectfully to resolve this matter. But again I am appalled that my attempts to contact you have been ignored prior to contacting the BBB. If you want to talk call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/06/28) */ I had talked with your son at least twice and left voice messages for you to get an e-mail address as we were both playing phone tag trying to get in touch. If you would like to talk with me personally call my dispatcher and he can set up an appointment time so we can speak together at the home or wherever.

1/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues