BBB Accredited Business since

A+ Septic & Plumbing Service

Phone: (360) 491-2900 View Additional Phone Numbers 7225 Pacific Ave SE, Lacey, WA 98503 http://www.aplusplumbing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers septic, plumbing and electrical services for residential and commercial, no new construction.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A+ Septic & Plumbing Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A+ Septic & Plumbing Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on A+ Septic & Plumbing Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 16, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 01/01/1995 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Teresa Grimsley, Owner Mr. Troy Chabot, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Troy Chabot, General Manager
Principal: Ms. Teresa Grimsley, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning Electricians

Alternate Business Names
A + Electric Service A + Plumbing & Drains A Plus Electric Service A Plus Plumbing & Drains A Plus Septic & Plumbing Service A+ Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A+ Septic & Plumbing Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7225 Pacific Ave SE

    Lacey, WA 98503 (360) 491-2900 (425) 226-3826 (253) 759-6557 (253) 531-3400 (425) 432-1777 (253) 854-3643 (206) 878-6863 (425) 251-6602

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had A+come to fix my faucet he was there maybe 40 minutes,total cost 753.56 ,they said I agreed to this ,this is so much more then what it should be ,I called but there was no resolving it,Technician Lb88,l am complaining because the cost is way more then what is standard l was taken advantage of and later other relatives helped me file this claim.

Desired Settlement: Correct amount for what company did,

Business Response: Customer called A Plus for service. A Plus Tech was dispatched to the residence and inspected the problem that was at hand, customer was given a couple option of what could be done to fix problem and also the option to say no and get someone else to perform work. Customer chose the option to repair the faucet and signed the option sheet full well knowing the price for the service. Nothing was done behind the seen and all pricing and work being done was up front.  Customer agreed to this before work was ever started. Don"t know what else to say. A Plus does everything it can to leave responsibility up to the customer for the service we provide.  

8/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called A+Services because my hot water handle in the bathtub wouldn't turn off. They did come within two hours. Very appreciated. I was charged $417.96 for replacing two stems in the bathtub. Plus Honor Roll Membership was added to my bill without my permission for $99.99. Total cost: $511.67. Invoice No. 144747. I feel that I was overcharged for a $40.00 fix. I am very upset. When I called on July 20th to complain, it was shared with me that they do not have a pricing list. I was told a manager would call me back about my complaint. Not yet. It is July 30th. I want to be reimbursed for $250.00. I feel I was very overcharged for a $40 fix. Plus I asked on the phone if I could see how they charge customers, the person said no. They should have a pricing sheet.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $250.00. I don't feel that I should have been charged $511.67 for a $40 fix. That is outlandish!!! I was in shock and at their mercy since my water wouldn't turn off. I didn't know how to replace stems but I did price them in the store. He only worked for about 30 minutes.

Business Response: This person was given an option sheet up front and agreed to the price and the work at the time before we started. I feel the refund expected on the back end of a job is very  dis respectfulness. Sorry this person had every option to send us on our way before the work was performed. No company would have performed this repair for $40.00. Sorry. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I will never call this company again.  I am not being disrespectful.  I feel you charge way too much.  I even shared that with the plumber.  I called a few days later to ask to see your pricing sheet but was told you didn't have one.  Which is odd.  I was told you go by a book.  Well, I still haven't seen that.  I am just in shock in how much I was charged.  My fault that I didn't ask for the price up front when I called the first time.  My fault that I thought it would be around $250 because two other people I know only got charged that amount for the same problem through another plumbing company. 

This was a bad experience financially for me.  Won't do it again.  Not a good experience whatsoever. 

Sincerely,

******** *****

6/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My in-laws, **** * ****** ****** was taken advantage from Ron B******, Technician of A+ services. Their phone number is ************. I already filed a complaint with L&I for B****** servicing my in-laws toilet without a license. B****** and A+ took advantage of elderly (80's) and disabled people. Incident: In-laws bathroom leaked water at 4 a.m. Called A+ at 7a.m. B****** came by himself. Toilet tank had a 4" crack. In-laws were led to believe that they had to go with a particular toilet (power flush) "due to the low flush system that the State of Washington now requires so it won't back up into their mobile home." B****** said "this" particular one is the only toilet that he installs; giving them no choice or thought there was no choice. Charged $1,085.89 for a Flush Mate bladder & Gerber toilet bowl/tank & Bemis toilet lid. I called A+, they refused me to talk to the owner. Said I had to first talk to "Ken" Plumbing Mgr. Wouldn't give me Ken’s last name or his phone #. Each time I called, I ask for the owner's name and the phone # and they wouldn’t give it to me either saying I had to go through their three mgrs first. I filed a complaint with the A+ receptionist so Ken knew what to say when he called me back 3-days later. He was defensive and argumentative. He agreed that the tech had let his license "lapse," said "that isn't a good thing" and quickly said there were two techs. (I confirmed with my in-laws afterwards that was incorrect. One "Kid" came later to drop off the toilet only). I told Ken I was not calling to argue but to get information as to why my in-laws were not given other choices on toilets and why the one they sold was so expensive. Ken said: 1) these are the only kind of toilets they would sell due to the low flush toilets that the state of Washington mandates now, that the toilets back up and there would be other issues; it happened many times when someone would call them back to pull out the low flush after 2-weeks and to put in the pressurized toilets. 2) it costs him $500.00 for the toilets, not including the bladder ($200+). He also mentioned about their labor cost, vehicle insurance, gas, etc. (in-laws were charged $39.95 for the “Response/Dispatch Fee/Fuel Surcharge." First line on statement). I said I have a hard time believing you would pay $500.00 for a common toilet when I see them being sold from $79.00-$200 at ****** and $149.00 at **** ****** He said, "we don’t shop at ****** and **** ******" I said, "I know, you get them wholesale." After he kept arguing with me and yelling, I finally hung up on him. Ron was going to take advantage of my in-laws again by charging them $195.00 for a shower head because they said they a new one. After they said they couldn’t afford it, because the toilet will cost them over $1,000.00 Ron threw that in for free. This is a common larger shower head that only streams water. They actually don’t like it saying it lightly showers water. (Showerheads with adjustments and a hose cost $35.00 at Costco). $300.00 would have been a fair price for the low flush toilet and service fee to include labor, not $1,085.89. They can take back the toilet, bladder and showerhead for a refund for ripping off disabled, elderly people. Shame on them!

Desired Settlement: Take back the expensive toilet and bladder and charge them for one that is reasonable in an older mobile home. Refund them a minimum of $700.00 or take everything back (including the shower head) and give them a FULL refund.

Business Response: Customers daughter called in and filed a complaint after the work was completed. Plumbing manager and general manager called daughter and explained the price of the toilet and cost of doing business and daughter got upset and hung up. Customer was given option before work was done and was completely in control of choosing another company. I can not refund the amount she is asking for, since the toilet and parts are more than what would be left after refund.... sorry. I also have no use for a previously installed toilet. I am sorry but the price is fair and competitive in the market from any plumbing company of comparable size.  No reputable plumbing company sells a customer a $200.00 toilet and plans on keeping them as a customer. Cheap toilets cause back up problems.    

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a pipe leak in my wall adjacnt to my bathroom which I called A+ Services to come and fix. When the service person came to my door after he had just walked across the muddy and wet grass, the first thing he asks if is, "Do you want me to wear shoe covers?" He then entered my home and went to my kitchen and started to look under my kitchen sink, he didnt ask to do this and I had to ask him what he was doing. He said, "Oh, im just seeing what type of set up you have under here!" I was confused why he would do this or think he could do this when the kitchen has nothing to do with the bathroom. I told him, "That is not where the problem is". I then took him to the bathroom on the second floor of the home and showed him the leak. (the wall had all ready been opened up by me) He shut the water off to the house and told me about this piping that lasts 100 years and he was going to use that. He also told me I needed new shut off valve under the sink. Before he started the work he told me he had 30 years of plumbing experience and I watched him do the work. He looked at the pipes in the wall and was saying which pipe was which. (he never tested them prior to the work) After the work was done, he left with my old parts (I would have liked to have kept them, but they were never offered) I realized later that day that the hot water was coming out of the cold tap. I called the company and a couple days later the same plumber with an assistant came back to fix it. The original plumber said it was piped wrong. I asked him to change the color coded piping to match the pipes and he would not do it! He tried to tell me some sarcastic answer about how he would have to tear out the WHOLE WALL to do it. All I wanted was the pipes he put in to match the color of the water coming through the pipes. He came across through his body mannerisms as threatening to me. I tried many times to call and email this company with ZERO responses to me. They "SAY" they will have someone call, but NOTHING has been done!

Desired Settlement: I want the hot and cold water piping to match their corresponding pipes without leaks, to include the piping going to the new shut off valves. I also DO NOT want the same plumber to come to my home due to his threatening and over powering actions. And for my patience with this matter and their disreguard towards me and my home, I would like for them to change out all of my shut off valves to all my sinks and toilets at NO COST and with full LIFETIME warrenty.

Business Response: A Plus was called out to fix a leak in the wall in the bathroom under the bathroom sink. Our tech arrived and located leak and removed a section of drywall to replace leaking pipe.This bathroom was back to back to a different bathroom and shared the water supply from the other bathroom. When the construction company built the house and the plumbing company plumbed it, they used the same supply line to both sinks in both bathrooms by using a T fitting. This put the cold water on the right side of one sink and on the left side of the other sink because of them being back to back. A plus did not plumb this house when it was new so we repaired the pipe as needed and reconnected the supply to the sink faucet. We did connect the lines incorrectly at time of repair but came back and changed them over to the correct side at the faucet to correct. To fix what the customer is complaining about would require re plumbing the the lines in the wall and we did not do the plumbing to make this incorrect and the customer feels we should fix it at no charge. Im sorry but we are not in business to do work for free. Thanks

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

THe dry wall was removed "prior" to the technician's arrival and the technician was shown the leak by me, after he rudely went to other parts of my house without permission. If A Plus did not plumb the house, then it can only be "assumed" what the builder of the home did when the house was plumbed. I asked the technician, on the second visit, to change the color-coded piping he improperly put on (he put blue piping on the HOT water pipe and RED piping on the cold water pipe) to match the correct pipe because the next owner may find it confusing if the pipe would leak again. The technician was not listening to my request and I am the customer! He was asked to correct what HE DID WRONG, not what he ASSUMED was going on with the rest of the piping in the wall or how thought it was connected. He was asked to fix what he repaired incorrectly with colored pipes. So instead of trying to communicate with me, he just walked out of my house to his business vehicle and left. Such poor cusotmer sevice, and this continued with me contacting the company and being told that I would receive return phone calls. They NEVER happenened!! Nor did my emails get replies. But this company got money for a job done WRONG and I am left with pipes that dont match pipes they are hooked up to and a hole in my wall waiting for them to fix what they did wrong.


Sincerely,

***** *******

2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While my wife and myself (home owners) were on a cruise and unable to communicate, a nonresident family member contacted A+ services to address a septic system blockage. A+ arrived on 22, SEP 2014 and verbally informed her that the egg shell pipe within the crawl space was leaking and had to be replaced. This contradicted what the plumber told me while making a follow-up repair to an improper connector made in which he stated that the "elbow needed glue" to which I stated that why didn't you glue then vice charging over $1500? He then stated that he made the suggestion to replace the pipe in case we were going to sell the house in the future. To which I responded that I would have replaced the pipe myself if it was an inspection issue down the road. Also on the receipt which I read following my cruise return, I noticed that A+ never utilized the clean out to clear the blockage. In addition to the pipe replacement, A+ pumped our tank and charged us (via mother in-law) over $300 in advance to return the following day. A service she never agreed to let alone us as owners allowed them to do. They returned on the 23rd and dug a hole in one section of the drain field, and upon seeing water collected below the drain field pipe, made the determination that the whole drain field was ponding and in a state of failure, then submitted a report to Pierce County Public Health. Again, this time, neither my mother in-law nor us as homeowners sign any paperwork prior to or following this false report. To summarize, my complaints consist of the following: 1. The homeowners never allowed A+ services to come onto our property to perform services. To the contrary, we had scheduled a follow up service with another company that had been out the previous week to route the septic line. 2. The bloated $1561.14 fee for replacing pipe that never had to be replaced. 3. The limited/poor drain field assessment which never included an "As built" review, didn't check other drain field legs, didn't take into consideration another family member's (cousin) impact on water consumption when she moved in a few weeks prior (water usage was double the previous year), the wrong definition of ponding (water was visible below the pipe in the drainfield, not on the surface of the drainfield itself.

Desired Settlement: 1. A realistic rate for the pipe replacement charge. A service that I never authorized. 2. A refund for the limited and biased drainfield assessment as well as withdraw of their report that was submitted to the Pierce County Dept of Public Health. Despite being an incomplete incompetent service, it was never authorized.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/03) */ Services were ordered by the mother in law because the owner was out of town and could not be reached because they had no phone service.The mother in law had approved the work and paid for the work with her own credit card assuming full responsibility. This issue it between Mr. ******* and his mother in law. Services were requested, services were performed, and services were paid for.I do not feel that the lack of communication between the two of them after services were performed should justify a refund to the customer. Thanks Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The business did not address any of the complaints concerning the significant overcharge for an unnecessary pipe replacement nor the incomplete drain field survey which was never requested by the owners nor the mother in law. In addition, the business has ignored my challenge to its poor and incomplete workmanship in the drainfield as well as misleading report that was submitted to the Dept of Public Health. Instead of responding to my complaints, the business commented on the inability to communicate between myself (the owners) and the mother in law as it's defense. To the contrary to the business' statement that "services were requested, services were preformed. . ." 1. The services were not requested by the owners. 2. The pipe replacement was not requested, to the contrary, was unnecessary and involved misinforming the mother in law. 3. The services in the drain field were never requested by any party and is proven on the document's lack of signatures. 4. The (unrequested) services in the drainfield WERE NOT COMPLETED as explained in the initial complaint. None of these items are even acknowledged in the business' response. I also have supporting documents (receipts with mother in law or blank signatures and water bill). Final Business Response /* (4000, 35, 2015/01/27) */ Customer is being issued a refund of $324.76 for the drain field assessment that was performed. This is all that will be refunded. Repair options were given, agreed on, performed, and paid for. customer does not set price and customer was given option to refuse service before work was performed. sorry Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 37, 2015/02/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The customer was mislead which is one of the things that I am complaining about. Also, the customer was significantly overcharged for the unnecessary work performed as previously stated. In addition to this response, I am considering submitting this complaint to ************************ legal office to determine if this company should be added to their list of companies not recommended for business. Such a list is available to all **** personnel and their dependents. The purpose is to prevent unsuspecting customers from paying extremely high prices for unnecessary work.

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had flooding in my basement.I called A+ to come to my home on 11-10-14.I had my friend come over too, as I was busy with my business and couldn't be with the technicians the whole time.There were 2 technicians that came. I believe one might have been in training, because my friend would ask questions and he would defer to the other technician (***** *******) to answer them.My friend took them down to the basement. Showed them that the drain in the outside stairwell to the basement was not draining properly and also to the laundry room where the drain there was not draining properly either.***** told my friend he would use a device called a BACK UP BALL on the stairwell drain.How this is used is, they take off the drain cover,attach a water hose to this rubber ball, place the ball over the drain and hold it or stand on it.As the pressure builds up, the ball expands and pressure builds up in the pipe and hopefully clears the line. They attempted this 2 or 3 times. It didn't work.Then ***** showed my friend that there probably was pipe damage (he pressurized the line again) because now you could see ripples of water coming through the cracks of the concrete around the drain.***** then attempted to snake the same drain. The snake broke off in the pipe. He did snake from the vent on the side of the house to the road.Yes he pulled out a few roots, but the drains in the laundry room and in the basement stairwell were still backed up and not draining. My friend asked what are our options since we can't get the line cleared? ***** told him there were 3 options.One was to dig up around the drain and replace the pipe that is damaged.2) Dig up around the drain and put in a sump to pump out the water,with the discharge hose running out away from the house.3) Didn't really understand the third, but from what I understand it involved a sump pump too, but would be a little more expensive ( around $1500.00) than the second option. They left. My drains still backed up and my pocket book $421.33 lighter. I called *********** to get a second opinion. The first technician came and after running a camera in the line from the vent on he side of the house to the road, said he couldn't fix the problem, that he needed to call out his Jetter.The Jetter came out to the house.My friend took him back to the basement to show him the laundry room drain and the outside drain to the basement. The Jetter went to his truck, ran his hose used for jetting and proceeded to run the hose through the vent on the side of the house to the road.In 30 minutes he had the line cleared and the drain in the laundry room and the outside drain to the basement were draining,and still are to this day. When I told the Jetter from *********** what the technician from A+ Services had done, he just shook his head.He said the problem was with a clog in the line between the house and the road 80 ft.out and not the drain in the laundry room or the drain outside the basement stairwell.Plus he said they never use a BLOW BACK BALL ever, because it can cause damage to pipes and it wasn't necessary anyway because that wasn't the problem.I tried calling the manager to perhaps get a PARTIAL REFUND.Manager returned call. The manager said the technician had advised me about getting a jetter out. He did not! My friend who was with the technicians most of the time, said he was never told anything about a jetter. There is nothing on the invoice recommending one. My friend wasn't satisfied with the answer I got from the manager. He also tried to call, but never received an answer back.I just want this company to do what is right. Give me a PARTIAL REFUND, because I didn't get the service I asked for. I had to go to another company to get the job done right! Thank God for************* and their well trained and technicians. I don't have a problem with the A+ technicians themselves. I believe the technicians for A+ Services may just need better training.

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund,(half the cost of the service provided on the invoice $421.33) because I don't feel like I got the service I payed for.I had to call in another company to do do the job right. And I had to pay them too!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/12) */ A Plus was called out to this customer in June 2 2014 where customer was backing up. customer was cabled and camera ran at this time. Customer was informed at this time there was a problem with their main line and it needed to be repaired. Customer declined repair. A Plus was called out to this same address on Nov. 10 2014 for a backing up problem again. A Plus cabled line and tried many thing to break it free, this could not release line so A Plus technician gave estimate to jet line with water and clean line. customer declined estimate and sent us on our way. customer then called two different plumbing companies for repair, second of the two jetted line and cleared blockade. I do not see where A Plus is in the wrong here. We gave a option to jet line but they did not want to go with it at that time. Sorry

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My elderly parents rent my property in Graham, on 9/13/14 I was notified their septic had backed up & needed attention asap, A + came out 9/14 quoted & charged a fair rate. My prob. stems from not being told they were legally obl. to notify health dept. AND the employee that pumped system was not versed or capable of diag. very simple probs. that often arise.IE; he described high volume & oatmeal substance coming back into tank during pumping from outlet. If he was up 2 speed customer would have been asked how system was working prior/read the soil etc. and NOT suggested a camera/jet crew etc. was needed...into the THOUSANDS of $ Thankfully I was in town as I'm convinced this would have led to a up sale/fear factor for my elderly parents & it makes me sick to think what bill I would have come home to OR what they would have paid if it was their property !The soil is sandy loam & a 5 gallon bucket of water poured on the ground ( no matter what time of year ) would disappear within seconds !Again never haven been told & blind sighted by the health dept. about " high septic volume & oatmeal substances feeding back into the tank from the outlet pipe...I was able to communicate to the health dept. that I am familiar with simple gravity septic systems & able to push 50' + of garden hose down my outlet & @ 5gpm for 20-25 min no doubt if there was an issue it would have backed up & or fed into grey water tank ( there's 32 gal of fluid in a 4" pipe / 50' run ) in other words I filled 200' + without an issue.***** was great BUT I truly believe he has aspirations and or the powers that be promise him a better position in the company IF he can be that guy.... the best salesman of the month........ EVER !Again it pains me to think what might have happened.Again *****... great kid/employee mentioned 3 times anything over 1200 gal was .30 cent a gal & 200 + gals. came from house ( not physically poss. )

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I'd like A+ to commit to educate their employee's in the complete science of septic systems and cease from having them push for the up sale .... ! Not sure how they could commit ??? Maybe pay a fine or donate towards NOT taking advantage of seniors ?Remove any kudos ( although prob. deserved ) for ***** off their site !Post a admission of guilt for what they've done, admit to the error of their ways.... apologize & walk away !! ???

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/24) */ A Plus Services has all licensed technicians from the counties that we service. They are all sent to the same classes that teach them what to look for for problems that occur in a septic system, being gravity or pump systems. The county does require every septic company to file a report on what was found on site when them pump or inspect the septic system. When the technician pumps the system he looks at water level, baffles, water returning from drain field and over all condition of the septic tank and system. sludge in the drain field is a sure killer to a drain field and needs to be addressed. all the A Plus technician did was offer an inspection to see if there truly was a failure or if it could be saved. Customer was given nothing but options. A Plus never forced customer into any repairs.

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 25,2014 I hired A+ Services to drain my septic tank. Once the service was completed,the technician informed me that the floor to my septic tank was caved in and would need to be replaced. He told me that he knew a guy that did that type of work and he would contact him and would have him give me a call. Just before he left,I told my son-in-law to ask him for his contacts number so I could call him and get an estimate. He told my son-in-law that he was not allowed to give out numbers and drove away. We thought it seemed strange so I called two different septic experts who came to my home and inspected my septic tank and both of them Informed us that there was nothing wrong with the tank. The first technician that came out was ****** ***** from ********* *************** (XXX)-XXX-XXXX. The second technician was *** ****** from ************************ (XXX)-XXX-XXXX. Had it not been for these two experts I would have been scammed into spending thousands of dollars for a replacement. Product_Or_Service: Septic service

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund because this company should be held accountable for shady business practices and misleading customers causing them to spend thousands of dollars to replace something that wasn't broken

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/06) */ A Plus technicians are trained and certified by the county. My technician will meet the county health inspector out at this address and show them where the tank has failed. If the health inspector passes *** tank I will amend the report and pay any expenses charged by the other two company's for their inspection. The septic was pumped and the customer paid for the pumping and that is all they paid for. please let me know and I will set up the appointment with the Thurston county heath department to meet us on site. Thanks Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am sending this response on behalf of my father in law. He is currently a patient at ******* ************** in Seattle an will be unable to meet with anyone at the moment due to having a heart valve replacement. We are unsure how long it will take him to recover but he wants this matter resolved. Please allow him to recover from this procedure before closing this case. You can send any response to his email as I will be in charge of checking his account. Thank you Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/16) */ Please contact us when customer has recovered from medical health issues and we would love to meet and resolve this. Thanks

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I urge everyone to stop using this company. Their prices are outrageous and they always find something else that needs to be repaired. They came out to pump our septic without giving us a specific price beforehand even though they had pumped it before. It cost $713.00 to pump the system which was at least $200 more than I expected it to be. They told us that they needed to send a technician to diagnose the problem because the pump was not working. The price quoted for the technician to come was $288.00. That was just to diagnose the problem, not repair it. Since we are senior citizens living on a fixed income, this was very expensive for us. We called a different plumber, he came out and told us the system was just clogged which was a simple repair, the motor was working, and if the clog had been removed we would not have had to have the system pumped. He charged us $50.00. Thank goodness for honest people. I think we were gouged. I have no complaint about the young man who came out. I think it is their business practices that should be examined.

Desired Settlement: I request a refund of at least $213.00 for what I believe was price gouging. Sincerely, ******* ******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/22) */ CUSTOMER WAS QUOTED $345 FOR THE FIRST 1200 GALLONS AND .28 CENTS FOR EACH ADDITIONAL GALLON. ALSO QUOTED $50 PER/FOOT PER/LID FOR UNCOVER/RECOVER. WHEN WE ARRIVED ON SITE CUSTOMER WAS COMPLETELY FLOODED OUT IN THEIR 1200 GALLON SEPTIC TANK AND ALSO IN THEIR 1200 GALLON PUMP CHAMBER. WE ONLY CHARGED THEM FOR 1000 EXTRA GALLONS AT .28 CENTS PER GALLON. CUSTOMER WAS TOLD THIS BEFORE WE STARTED PERFORMING WORK AND GAVE OK TO CONTINUE. NOT SURE WHAT WE DID WRONG HERE. SORRY NO REFUND WILL BE GIVEN. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) What A+ does wrong is not give a set price before they set foot on your property. What should have been a $500 job turned into $700. The disgrace was then they found they had to return for $288 which would have just been the beginning of another outrageous charge. I have since spoken to neighbors who told me this company ALWAYS finds something else wrong with your septic. Their first trip is only the beginning of your septic nightmare. Their $700 rose was not worth it. We also found out that there is a filter on our septic that was clogged. If they had shown us how to clean the filter much of our problem could have resolved itself. If you choose to use them, watch your wallet. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My only response is that I give A+ an F-. The matter is not resolved but is at a stalemate. I don't want anything more from them except that they stop gouging and overcharging their customers. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/09/12) */ Like I said before...there will be no refund. I challenge anyone to call A Plus and ask for the price of a septic pumping. we have professional people that take these calls all day long every day and quote the same thing to everyone for the area that they reside in. A plus does all up front pricing to allow the customer to make the decision if they want to have A Plus perform the work or not. The cost of running a business today is not cheap with fuel prices , insurance , wages, ect. All septic companies in this area are very compatible in their pricing.

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A+ Services installed a new water pump in the well of my beach house on 10/25/2013. It was my understanding that their work was warranted for a year. Too much sand it entering our water system. According to a sticker placed by A+ workers in our well house, the well is 149 feet deep; the pump was placed at 147 feet--two feet above the bottom of the well. An installation manual their workers left in the well house states that the pump should be placed a minimum of 10 feet above the bottom of the well. I have called A+ repeatedly (a minimum of 5 times) to ask if they would raise the pump and whether it was covered on their warranty. The A+ website states, "We always ensure that our customers are 100% satisfied with our business" (www.*************.com). To date (8/18/14), no managers have returned my calls.

Desired Settlement: Correction of the improper installation--placing the water pump too near the bottom of the well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/22) */ called customer and were are going to raise well 8 feet per customers request. if well runs out of water customer agrees it is his responsibility. we will perform work at no charge to customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired A+ Services to replace all plumbing in a Tacoma, WA home. This type of work requires a plumbing permit. A+ bid the job at approximately $6,400. The bid amount included approximately $300 toward the cost of a plumbing permit that A+ was to obtain. I accepted the bid. The plumber completed all work under the bid, and I paid in full. Later learned that the plumber never obtained a required permit. I contacted the City permit agency and learned that the permit actually cost $74. Repeatedly contacted the company and the plumber about the lack of a permit. Company ignored me entirely. Plumber repeatedly lied to me about having obtained a permit and promised to send me the information (confirmed with the City twice that no permit was obtained). Work performed by this company was illegal as not permitted.

Desired Settlement: Substantial reduction in job cost/refund based on illegally performed work and subsequent efforts in securing the necessary permits and City inspection.

Consumer Response: 7/9/2014: A+ Plumbing has appropriately resolved this issue with me, and no further action is needed. Thank you for the complaint procedures you have made available. ***** *******

Business Response: permit was pulled and job passed inspection. the cost of the permit from the city does not include all the phone time and run around required by A Plus. The job was done to code and was signed off by a city inspector.

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They would not give estimate on phone and after waiting almost 24 hours without water they show up and charge $395.00 for 20 minutes of work replacing a small valve on a pipe. The charges are so outrageous and i felt I had no choice because we needed our water fixed.

Desired Settlement: Would like to be charged a reasonable amount for the labor and part.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/23) */ Customer contacted us on 12/10 and set up an appointment for 12/11 between 12-6. On Dec.11 our plumber arrive on site to find that they had a a broken pipe and frozen pipes. Our plumber gave the consumer the price before he started the repair. The consumer signed the option sheet before the repair, also she signed for him to do the work and she signed the invoice stating that she was happy with the service. The consumer was given the option to go with our repair or not, she chose to have us do the work. We our plumber arrived they had no water, our plumber fixed the broken pipe along with thawing of the pipes.

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Initial call to A+ for pricing, was told by "*****" that digging charge was $30 per foot per "man-hole cover". When tech arrived he states its for "all covers" including vent covers. Discussed with A+ office and was told its all the same thing, man-hole cover and vent covers. These are 2 completely different items.

Desired Settlement: Acknowledgement that I was mis informed during initial call for service. Also customer service lacking when they think customers are stupid and they can call any type of cover anything they want for billing.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/11) */ Our CSR's all have the same script to read off of. The uncovering is stated the same way to every customer, uncovering charges are: $30 per a foot per a lid and all lids have to be exposed for inspection for the county report. We do not get into vent lids or man hole lid in our description. Sorry for the misunderstanding. We also state the the recovering Charges are: $30 per a foot per a lid to recover.