BBB Accredited Business since

The Pipe Guys

Phone: (253) 537-2830 Fax: (253) 952-2523 10417 11th St E, Edgewood, WA 98372 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers non evasive trenchless solutions for sewer and water pipes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Pipe Guys meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Pipe Guys include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Pipe Guys
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 24, 1998 Business started: 09/01/1999 Business started locally: 09/01/1999 Business incorporated 08/01/1999 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Daniel Grossruck, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Grossruck, President
Business Category

Pipe Line Contractors Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Drilling & Boring Equipment & Supplies Pipe Locating Equipment Pipe Pushing Equipment Sewer Pipe Drainage Contractors Drilling & Boring Contractors Excavating Contractors Pipe Inspection

Alternate Business Names
A Priced Rite Rooter & Drain The Dirt Guys Inc

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pipe Guys came out to do a pipe burst repair from my basement out to the city line. They had quoted a contractor (******************) in writing $3200 + the cost of the permit. They agreed to work directly with me for almost the same price - $3400 + $450 licenst and then agreed to take $4,000 even. The repair work was initially done the first week of December, however an enormous hole was left in my yard for 2 full weeks due to one of the workers being ill. Mid December they came and filled in the hole and my basement immediately began flooding. At this point I have raw sewage flooding my basement, possible damage from mold, and a biohazard due to this botched job. I will need to call the city to confirm myself that a permit was actually obtained, and possibly deal with home insurance issues if I have a mold issue. Pipe Guys refused to give me any receipt for their work, and they are using this as an excuse to absolve themselves from responsibility. *** did a site visit in early December to review the work being performed, and acknoledged to myself and my fiance that he was aware of the work performed, but since they had refused to give me any documentation we would not be able to hold them responsible. The response to this has been dishonest and unethical, and all I requested that they do is finish the work correctly. *** came out to me and quoted me $2000 to fix the remaining 8 feet of pipe, which is absurd because the complete job was 70+ feet of pipe quoted at $3200. *** acknoledges that the employee that did the work did not give him money from this job, but I believe that is an issue with *** and his employee. *** claims to have taken disciplinary action against his employee but still refuses to correct the work.

Desired Settlement: I want the remaining portion of this job completed, I want my basement sanitized, and I want the materials contaminated with raw sewage due to this disposed of.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/11) */ Our company has 2 work orders for this person dated June and September of 2013. One of those repair orders includes a written estimate for $6900.00 to renew the underground pipe. The management of the company was made aware of several request from this customer to do the work cheaper, which we could not accomodate. In early december of 2013, It was discovered that some of our equipment was missing on a weekend. Upon investigation, it was discovered that a couple of our employees had used our equipment to do a cash job for this customer. No proposal was written, no funds were recieved, no reciept was given by anyone acting in any official capacity as a representative of our company and this customer knew it, as evidenced by the fact that she went along with it, even though the history shows all other work performed and paid for by this customer was in writing. After much harrasment, the owner of the company communicated these facts to this person, who refused to accept thier responsibility in the conspiracy. Against better judgement and trying to make the harrasment stop, the owner of our company performed an onsite visit in early February and forwarded a proposal for repair of the final pipe section, which was met with more harrasment and angry denuciations. At this point, we have contacted our attorneys in order to take actions against this person to stop attempting to extort services from our company and take responsibility for thier part in the conspiracy to steal from us in the first place. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2014/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have never received any written estimate for the replacement of the underground pipe from this company for $6,900. In fact, the only written estimate that I ever saw was for $3,200 directly to a contractor that I was considering working with. Pipe Guys' employees agreed to honor this price working directly with me. The owner of this company is blatantly lying in the response above. I do not know why, but he fully acknowledges that he was aware that his employees performed this work for me. In fact, the owner came to my house personally - while the equipment was in use and on site - and inspected the work being performed. My boyfriend, my roommate and I were all home when *** was here and no mention was made of the equipment being "missing". No police report was made, which frankly would be shocking if *** was truly not aware of what was being done. Also curious is how *** would know exactly where the "missing" equipment was if he had no knowledge of the job being done. I never heard from the owner about this until after I lodged two complaints about the work being performed incorrectly. At this point, *** stated that since his employee refused to give me any documentation he was not responsible - although he was fully aware of the work that was done by his employees with his equipment in his company's uniform. I have never threatened or tried to extort anything from this company, all I ever asked them to do was correct the work that was originally done wrong. The response above mentions a "conspiracy" but given the facts it seems more likely that the owner is conspiring with his employees to perform work under the table to avoid being taxed, which is literally the only explanation I can think of - especially considering that the employee involved is still working for *** after allegedly stealing money directly from the company. I have transcripts of my conversations with *** and with the employee. I have bank statements showing the money withdrawn to pay the Pipe Guys. I have txt message transcripts from his employee stating that his boss would get involved if the work was not corrected. I have witnesses that can attest to all of the above should it come to that. In the meantime I have scheduled an appointment so a city inspector can come look at the work this company performed. I have a basement that is completely flooded, and an enormous hole left in my back yard from when *** and his employee were here looking at this last week. I have called another plumber to come look at this and quote me on correcting it. I cannot argue against an unethical business or business owner. I cannot argue with blatant lies. I am not sure what else to do, however I will be taking this company to court should I have to pay someone to fix their mistake, and I will be filing a formal complaint with their license and bond holder as well as with the city. Again - the response is dishonest and completely unethical. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/02/24) */ On the invoice of 7/23 the customers signature appears on the line above the $6900.00 estimate-the one she claims no knowledge of. In the second sentence of her complaint, she refers to a price quoted by our company to another company, who had asked us to share in the work required to perform a complete repair (not to perform the entire repair). In the third sentence of her complaint she states "employees agreed to honor this price working directly with me. With this statement, the customer acknowledges hiring Pipe Guys employee, not the Pipe Guys itself. Later in her complaint, she states that I came to her house personally and inspected the work. At the time, I was traveling with a Chaplain Major in the United States Army, who also happens to be my brother; who was helping me to investigate where my equipment might be being used when I became suspicious of the story given by my employee as to where the missing equipment was. While my brother waited in the car, I looked through her back gate for about thirty seconds and saw my equipment. I made no attempt to contact the customer, simply shaking my head in disgust. I did not inspect work being performed, I just ascertained where my equipment was being used. Each time the customer would call our office-I simply told the employee to "solve his problem' and do not involve our company. After an angry mail from the customer to our website, I spoke to the customer in late Jan. or early Feb (a search of our phone records would detail the date)and agreed to investigate what was needed for a final and proper repair. After much hesitation on my part, I had a meeting with her boyfriend at the property who showed me what work had already been performed. I forwarded a proposal for what I believed to be a solution to repair a section of failing pipe under her back porch, that was met with an angry phone call from the customer about finding someone cheaper and threats to tarnish our reputation. A search of phone records could establish the customer contacted our employee directly, without contacting the company.We are now responding to this matter under the advice of our attorneys. We have told them we have no desire pursue this investigation and instead allow for all parties involved to realize their mistakes and move on. To summarize, Pipe Guys made temporary repairs for the customer in June and September 2013. Pipe Guys quoted a figure for permanent repairs, which the customer rejected. Unbeknownst to Pipe Guys, she then hired a Pipe Guys employee who used Pipe Guys equipment without permission on a Saturday to commence the repairs. The customers beef is with that employee who was not operating within the course and scope of his employment with Pipe Guys. She hired an unlicensed person to do repairs in order to save money. Pipe Guys does not do work without written contracts. there is absolutely no paperwork related to the job the customer complains about, which is proof that she did not contract with Pipe Guys. Pipe Guys has made a proposal to complete the work needed to solve the problem, which the customer rejected. As far as Pipe Guys is concerned, this matter is now closed. Respectfully, ************* owner, Pipe Guys