This business is not BBB accredited.

Bird Hut Inc

Phone: (503) 254-3390 11249 SE Division St, Portland, OR 97266

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers exotic bird sales and supplies.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bird Hut Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bird Hut Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 04, 2009 Business started: 08/01/1977 in OR Business started locally: 08/01/1978 Business incorporated 10/19/2005 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Brian Van Elsberg, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Van Elsberg, President
Business Category

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Master Card, Discover, American Express, and cash

Additional Locations


    11249 SE Division St

    Portland, OR 97266 (503) 254-3390


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A bird we bought died suddenly a week and a half after purchase. I brought the bird in to find out if I had done something wrong or if the bird was sick. She was extremely rude and just said "birds die". It would have been ok if she had told me they didn't give refunds, but she just stared at me blankly and behaved totally cruelly, very rude. I wanted to buy another bird to replace him but I was so dumbfounded by her behaviour that I left and purchased a pair at *****. ***** was appalled by their response to the situation as well as some wrong information bird hut had given me. The whole situation was heartbreaking.

Desired Settlement: I just wish their policies were clearly stated. A refund would be nice, it was a $50 bird after all!

Business Response: This customer is leaving out quite a bit of the interaction between her and my employee. The customers claim that my employee was rude and just said "birds die" is completely untrue. The customer was asked several questions such as; do you cook with Teflon coated cookware, was the bird located above a heating or cooling vent, etc. These questions are designed to help us and the customer try to figure out what might have happened to her bird. She did bring the bird in for us to look at and was informed that we can't tell what an animal died from by just looking at its body and a necropsy by a qualified Avian vet is the only way to know for sure what killed it. If a necropsy proves we sold a sick bird we would gladly replace it. I must mention here that the other Budgies we have are all healthy and doing fine.
 This customer also fails to mention that the bird was bought for and was cared for by one of her young children. I don't know how closely she watched to make sure the bird was getting fed, watered, and handled properly but I do know with young ones that is a must.
 We get numerous referrals from ***** because their employees admit they don't know a lot about birds. Some of their employees even shop at our store. To say ***** says we're giving wrong information about birds without specifics means very little and sounds a little spiteful.
 This customer did not ask for a replacement, did not ask for a refund, & did not ask what our policies for such were. Her main concern seemed to be what she was going to tell her child about the bird passing. After being asked a few questions she abruptly left our store.  

We love our birds and take pride in selling healthy animals. We do not normally guarantee small birds for 2 weeks as there are a lot of things that can happen in a home in that amount of time but I would meet this customer halfway and offer her a $25 store credit.