This business is not BBB accredited.

Port Orchard Pawn Shop LLC

Phone: (360) 443-2600 Fax: (360) 443-2604 637 Bay St, Port Orchard, WA 98366


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Port Orchard Pawn Shop LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Port Orchard Pawn Shop LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 18, 2013 Business started: 09/23/1995 Business started locally: 09/23/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

US DOJ Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco Firearms & Explosives
915 2nd Ave Rm 790, Seattle WA 98174
http://www.atf.gov
Phone Number: (206) 389-5800

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Beverly Yelverton, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Beverly Yelverton, President/Owner
Business Category

Pawnbrokers Surplus & Salvage Merchandise Scrap Metals Coins,Stamps & Precious Metals Dealer Gun Dealers Musical Instruments - Supplies & Accessories


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    637 Bay St

    Port Orchard, WA 98366 (360) 443-2600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited my children for Christmas this year and found a problem with one of my children. which I had to plan to stay longer to help them out. I then pawned an item and just went to collect it and found the most rude operation I have ever in countered. I am not allowed to pick up said item at all. I am 1 week late and most pawn stores who are legit give you a grazing period of 2 weeks to 30 days. Just so they can properly record the value of the pawned itemed. They refused to let me walk into the store and said that if I arrived there I would not find it in a rude and disturbing voice over the phone. That the said item was lost forever and they had no records to prove its insistence and or sell. I am just out of luck. period. Attorney General complaint also, today. Be careful of *** ***** and *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) The replacement of my item.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/06/19) */ ________________ Fax Cover Letter Port Orchard pawn Shop Port Orchard Pawn Shop ************** Port Orchard, WA 98366 ************ Fax ************ ________________ ________________ June 18, 2013 From: Port Orchard Pawn Shop ************** Port Orchard WA 98366 To: Better Business Bureau serving Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington 1000 Station Drive Ste 222 DuPont, WA 98327 Subj: REPLY TO Case ID: ******** Port Orchard Pawn Shop LLC would like to first say thank you to the Better Business Bureau of Washington for your assistance with *********** Complaint. We are happy to have this opportunity to show your office and ********** about the pawn experience. Please find the following letter and evidence of our proper handling of her pawn. Enclosed you will find a signed contract that **************** Signed on the 28 Jan 2013. You will find a highlighted portion of the Contract that clearly outlines what happens to things that are not redeemed by the redemption date. As you can see her pawn must have been redeemed on or before 04/28/13(also highlighted). We are including her account sheet showing the ring was forfeited on the 4/29/13, this was the 91St day. ********** didn't inquire about ring until the 14 of May 2013 this would be 15 days after the redemption date. Now that we have explained the time line we would like to explain the law. We are including for your convenience the complete RCW 19.60.061 which is the governing law with regard to the disposition of items that are not redeemed on or before their redemption date. According to the law 19.60.061 We are under no obligation to account to **********, the plcdger, for the proceeds received from the disposition of that item. Since the 90 day mark was past Port Orchard Pawn Shop has all rights, title, and interest of the item ********** pledged which was the ring. ********** had the obligation to pay back the loan amount plus interest, storage, and preparation fee according to the law or to rewrite the loan on or before 4/28/13. Since ********** failed to do either of these she forfeited her interest in the personal item, the ring, which was held by this shop. We have no further obligation to **********. ********** was informed that the ring was sold and there is no way of getting the ring back. We are sorry that ********** is upset but it is of her own making. Port Orchard Pawn Shop followed the law unfortunately ********** forfeited and lost her property. It is unfortunate she is unhappy with the contract she signed but we have a right to sell any item that is ours legally and we obtained it legally. ***************** Owner of Port Orchard Pawn Shop ************ *****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***** ________________ ________________