This business is not BBB accredited.

Reed Painting Company

Phone: (206) 965-0504 Fax: (206) 922-2101 View Additional Phone Numbers 3668 Albion Pl N, Seattle, WA 98103

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential interior and exterior painting contractor services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is in an industry that requires licensing and its license has been suspended.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Reed Painting Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 29, 2008 Business started: 11/01/2006 Business started locally: 11/01/2006 Business incorporated 10/01/2006 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982
On 11/3/2015 BBB confirmed that Washington Department of Labor & Industries suspended the license of Reed Painting Company.

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Randall Reed, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randall Reed, President
Business Category

Painting Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Windows & Doors - Installation & Service Christmas Lights & Decorations Pressure Washing Paint Removing

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Green Man Holiday Lights Reed Painting Co

Additional Locations


    3668 Albion Pl N

    Seattle, WA 98103 (206) 257-0638 (206) 965-0504


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late August and early September 2013 we contracted with Reed Painting to paint our house. They completed the initial job well. Part of the agreement, however, was that they would return after a year to take care of bubbles that appeared. In late August and September of 2014 (one year after the painting was done) I contacted Reed three or four times and was told each time that they "had us on the list" and would do the follow up work soon. They did not keep these promises. Starting in late spring this year, I have made numerous calls to Reed Painting to attempt to schedule the work. I have left voice mail and messages through their office assistant. None of the calls have been returned. On July 27 I sent a letter to Reed Painting's owner complaining about the company's lack of responsiveness and have received to response to it either. I really don't want to take this into the legal system and hope that BBB will help with a resolution.

Desired Settlement: We want Reed Painting to perform its work as promised.

Business Response: Reed Painting Company recently went through a transition of ownership. There were a couple of items we let slip between the cracks during that time, on of which being the touch-up request from ***** ******. Since receiving this notification, Reed Painting Company has settled this matter, and taken care of the touch-up work. We would appreciate this complaint being closed as the issue at hand has been handled.

Thank you!

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** ******

9/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The customer service issues we had with our paint project are too numerous to list here. We just have one issue we would like resolved. We need a final statement reflecting all payments made to Reed Painting in 2013. The first request was made verbally on 11/1/2013. I paid our bill in full and **************** said she would email me a receipt. Second request was made via email on 12/23/2013 - no response from anyone at the company. Third request was made via email on Feb 9, 2014. **** **** responded that he would let the office know. We have not received anything from them. ***** ****, the owner, has been copied on all correspondence and has not responded to my request.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We would like a final statement reflecting all payments made to Reed Painting in 2013.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/07/15) */ ** ****** and **** ********* were provided a breakdown of their payments in their Welcome pack, they were also given a contract with the full amount of their project total included of which they signed off on. There was on "additional work order" of which they were given a copy of upon payment. ** ****** broke his contract and refused payment while demanding a break down of the workers hours and copies of their time cards. I refused this request to protect the privacy of our workers. I did however provide ** ****** a copy of his "scope" which was a break down of his project by hours (which when the work was completed we were under). Once again Mr ****** refused to pay and there was a lengthy back and forth between he and I and our owner ***** **** via phone. It was only when we informed him that we would be ending the project due to lack of payment and breach of contract that he relented and payed what was due for t world already completed. once that payment was in we finished the project. I printed, scanned and emailed ** ****** the copies of his invoices upon request. ** ****** and **** ********** were also provided a EoY statement (as are all our clients) for their taxes. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 17, 2014/07/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Reed painting's statement above does not address the only issue I would like addressed. I have not received a final statement reflecting amount paid or an end of year statement from them. I see in the attachments above some invoices that have been stamped paid. I will print and keep in my file. But let's be clear, we have never received this before and Reed has never responded to my emails requesting such documents. At the least, a business would respond and say " we sent you the documents on a certain date, please confirm your delivery address and receipt of documents" when I kept asking, why the ignoring? And I still do not have a end of year statement that all their clients have received. If Reed Painting would like to get into a bicker session on other topics, we would be happy to post photos of the shoddy work and how we now have to sand and re-stain much of the work done less than a year ago. Perhaps just an end of year statement and we can all go our separate ways? I really want to file this away and do not wish to continue to ask for these things.