This Business is not BBB accredited

I Take The Lead Inc

Phone: (503) 691-9909 Fax: (503) 691-7933 View Additional Phone Numbers 11575 SW Pacific Hwy # 124, Portland, OR 97223 http://www.itakethelead.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers networking services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for I Take The Lead Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on I Take The Lead Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 28, 2003 Business started: 12/01/1999 Business started locally: 12/01/1999 Business incorporated: 12/01/1999 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gene Hamilton, President Mrs. Becky Tengwall, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gene Hamilton, President
Business Category

Online Social Media/Networking Business Promotions - General Business & Trade Organizations Coaching - Business Seminar Marketing Marketing Programs & Services


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11575 SW Pacific Hwy # 124

    Portland, OR 97223 (503) 691-9909 (425) 466-6509

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a Loan Originator here in the State of Washington. In my line of work it is customary to "Join" Organizations/Groups that help Sales People increase their business. In May of 2013, I was contacted by a company named "I take the Lead". This company holds itself out to consumers as a Company that offers two kinds of Business referal systems.....Business to Consumer and Business to Business networking groups to aid Professionals to grow their business. In May of 2013, I was unable to join, However, when my schedule allowed in August 19 2013, I contacted " A *** **** ********, CEO, of I take the Lead, to see if there was a avaliable opening in one of their Groups for a loan originator. *** ******** advised me that there was a "Group" that meets on Fridays at ******* in Kent and that I was welcome to go to it. Friday, August 23 I attend the "group" meeting which consisted of about 6 people being present. During the meeting, I was instructed that if I would like to join, the fee would be $350.00 for a year and that for that $350.00, I could also visit other groups who did not have a "Mortgage Person". The People seemed friendly and I thought that I could help build the group by bringing in other professional business people. I hadn't heard anything bad about I take the Lead and I decided to join. The following scheduled Friday meeting was canceled due to the Labor Day weekend. The following Friday, September 6th, I bring a Guest with me hoping to build our group. The person in Charge of our Group, ****, was not happy about me bringing a guest, his wife sells health products and the person I brought with me sells skin care products. Things seemed to settle down throughout the meeting, but I did notice that people were arriving late...1 person was 1/2 hour late for the meeting. I asked during the meeting, where there was another group meeting and I was told that the Renton Group meets on Monday am and that I was welcome to attend. The following Monday, September 9, 2013 (my 3rd visit) I show up at the meeting at 7:20 am (start time is 7:30) I sit by myself until 7:50 am, as I am getting ready to leave, a Real Estate agent shows up and then a person who does computer repair at 8:00am. For the next half an hours I listen to the computer repair lady complain about ****, the leader of the Kent group. There were 3 people including me in this "Group" of people. On Friday, Sept 13, (my 4th meeting)I go to the Kent Group again, and NOBODY is there.....I wait until 8:15 and then I leave. Nobody in the "group" conveyed anything to me about not being present that day, later I find out that two of the members were sick and I don't know what happened to the rest. I came back to my office from the meeting and sent a email to **** ******** explaining the events since the time I joined and asked for a refund to my credit card. He declined a refund, his basis being that the membership form I signed said no refunds. I do not believe that I Take the Lead members involved did not act in a professional was which is a reflection of the company.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of $350.00 Membership fee that was charged to my credit card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/20) */ First of all, as this person (you asked NOT to identify the person) agreed, she signed a contract agreeing to pay iTTL $350 for membership of one year, 100% her choice, she paid the money and part of that contract that she signed agreed that there were NO REFUNDS. That should be the end of the story. This is a simple matter of contract law. We do not have the authority to violate the policies and procedures of iTTL. This person could have paid monthly, semi-annually OR annually, that is evident in our paperwork which this person received with the application she completed for membership and payment, we do NOT hide the fees. There is no right to rescind the contract. 99% of our members pay their membership fees on a monthly basis, so if they quit mid-term, they are not out any money. We actually encourage members to pay monthly for that very reason. You can find this on our website in many places and in ALL of our materials. If she was interested in other forms of payment, wouldn't it make sense to ask BEFORE she joined rather than after??? That was this person's choice. Unfortunately, from there, I have NO IDEA what this person is talking about. If she had a disagreement with a member, she could have aired that complaint to management about the guest she brought to a meeting, however, she chose not to do that. This person has repeatedly admitted that she has my contact information. I have NO IDEA what meeting this person is talking about because we DO NOT have meetings on Mondays and have never had meetings on Mondays. Perhaps she attended a leads group meeting of another leads group organization???? I don't know. AGAIN, if she had a complaint about another meeting she attended and how she was treated, why did she not communicate??? At any rate, other groups and events that people attend are an added bonus and have NO bearing on their membership, so this is a moot point. In regards to this person's meeting being canceled, sometimes meetings are canceled by the membership due to illness, THAT HAPPENS, our people are human. We do not meet on holidays and holiday weekends. So the fact that this person quit iTTL was 100% her choice, she did not have to do that and it seems extremely irrational that she has quit already. It seems she jumped the gun???? BUT THAT IS THIS PERSON'S PREROGATIVE, TO QUIT, AT ANY TIME, IF SHE CHOOSES TO DO THAT. So, unfortunately for ALL INVOLVED here, this complaint has NO MERIT. Asking someone to break the rules or break the law is absolutely ridiculous and that is what this person is asking us to do, break the rules. I am ALWAYS AMAZED at the ABSOLUTE AUDACITY of some people. We have been advised by our attorneys that we should NOT give refunds as that would leave us open to litigation. Since this person has already threatened us with litigation, I have that in the email this person sent to me, this is the end of this case. Furthermore, as this person has already stated, iTTL has an impeccable reputation in the community, on purpose. We have treated this person with the utmost of respect and we treat ALL our customers that way, with respect. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/10/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No matter how iTTL tries to skirt around my complaints,attacking my character,professionalism and grammar, the facts remain. The Company clearly advertises and holds itself out to the General Public as being a Professional Business that aides professional people like myself in growing their business through referrals and networking . That being said, In their organization, they MAY have lead generating groups that are successful and professional, however, that was not MY experience with this organization. In Good Faith, I paid this company $350.00, the annual fee in full. However, the Lead Groups that I attended in my opinion did not perform in Professional manner or in a manner in which is advertised on the Company's website or in emails that I received. **The first meeting 6 people were there.(some were 15-20 min late). pretty significant when the meeting lasts a hour. (Kent location) **The second week was a holiday. **The third week I brought a guest/1 person quit (Kent location) **The following (Tuesday(correction)not Monday)(Renton ) 3 people were at the group meeting, myself and two others, both of which showed up 20-25 minutes late, I sat there and waited and proceeded to listen to one member person bad mouth another for the following 1/2 hour....no agenda. **The following Friday I show up at the Kent location, NOBODY is there or comes, out of 6 people, no one even sent me a email or gave me a call. I waited until about 8:15am I attended 4 meetings in three weeks in two lead different lead groups and Had the experiences listed above. It was enough to tell me that I didn't Want to belong and that it was a waste of my time and money. I also believe that iTTL had experienced other complaints due to the Fact that they fired the "membership director" after I sent my email explaining my experience with iTTL. iTTL indicates in their response that "No company satisfies EVERYONE 100% of the time" and this is true. However, most businesses would OFFER a refund if a customer or member is not satisfied for a legitimate reason in a reasonable amount of time. It is just good business. For the $350.00 I paid, I have received nothing of value, I was mislead by their advertising, their "membership director", and group performance/Professionalism. I am due a refund. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/09/27) */ I will keep this simple, rather than the rambling diatribe this person contributed. In my opinion this person should clean up their grammar if they want people to take them seriously. This person has NO accountability for THEIR actions. A leads group is a collection of individuals that MUST work together to accomplish results. 3 weeks is NOT a good measure of whether a leads group will work or not, period. 1. Even though this person says that her account contains facts, their account is littered with inaccuracies. Some things this person has stated is simple untrue, which can be verified. 2. It appears to me from this person's account that they did NOT like iTTL from Day 1, so why did they join? That makes NO sense. This person CHOSE to join even though, in her estimation, the groups were horrible and dysfunctional. How is that anyone's responsibility but her's???? 3. This person CHOSE to pay for an annual membership instead of paying monthly, in which case we would NOT be having this discussion. That was 100% this person's choice and 100% this person's responsibility, NO ONE ELSE'S. 4. This person makes it sound like iTTL is a HORRIBLE company and everything about iTTL is bad. NOTHING could be farther from the truth. iTTL is a WONDERFUL company and MOST people like us. We have had literally thousands of past members that are completely satisfied with service and thousands who are current members that love how we operate. NO COMPANY satisfies EVERYONE 100% of the time. For that we are sad, we apologize and yet, there STILL is NO MERIT HERE FOR A REFUND. This person quit of her own accord. END OF STORY.