BBB Accredited Business since

Emerald Moving Inc

Phone: (541) 343-6155 Fax: (541) 688-9566 4630 Cloudburst St, Eugene, OR 97402 http://www.emerald-moving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and residential moving, storage, and office relocation services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Emerald Moving Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Emerald Moving Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Emerald Moving Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1999 Business started: 04/01/1998 Business started locally: 04/01/1998 Business incorporated 04/19/2006 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jon Giffin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon Giffin, President
Business Category

Moving Services - Labor & Materials Piano & Organ Moving Storage Units - Household & Commercial Movers

Hours of Operation
Monday-Friday: 8am to 5pm
Saturday: 10am to Noon
Closed Sundays

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Emerald moved and stored my personal contents (art and furniture) into two wooden storage pods on their premises. The contents have been stored and paid for for over seven years. Billing issues (inconsistent timing, inaccurate record keeping) persisted over the entire time. The owner was always unavailable for any communication and personnel at the reception/billing position were constantly changing. Starting in February 2015 I tried to obtain access to my contents in order to remove them from storage. I was constantly told that it wasn't enough notice, I could not come on a weekend, and they just didn't have enough staff to get my two storage pods from their location within their warehouse. Finally I wrote an email and sent a persona representative and said that I wanted access to the pods on Friday, May 29th, accommodating their weekday requirement even though I lived 2 hours away. When the pods were opened, I discovered that they had packed the expensive Italian leather furniture (sofa and love seat) incorrectly. The sofa was on the bottom of the pod with everything piled on top of it, including the love seat - seat facing seat. There were no moving blankets on them or between them for a moisture barrier. As the furniture was pulled out, the leather furniture was covered with a white/gray substance and the seats were discolored. The company personnel when shown the damage shrugged and then ran to get a cloth with water to try to clean the damage. I insisted that was inappropriate and the damage was due to their own packing method. Shortly the office manager appeared and said that all she was prepared to due was pay the moving claim rate of 60 cents per pound for the damage. She determined what she thought the weight of the furniture was and gave me a check for $90. I said that was unacceptable and that I was taking the furniture, took pictures and would be filing a complaint or other actions for restitution of the damages.

Desired Settlement: Portion of seven year storage fee reimbursed for the two damaged items and/or additional compensation for the damage.

Business Response: To whom it may concern, 

*** ********* did have her belongings stored with us for quite some time. She paid on time. We are not sure of what she is talking about when it comes to the billing.
We send out invoices every month. Sandy spoke to her on several occasions and at one point *** had not updated her address with us for billing.  We do require 2 days notice to access pods for we are not a self-storage unit. We are a warehouse that stores pods on top of each other, they have to be located in the warehouse then use of a fork lift to bring them to the floor.  We have over 100 pods so you can see why we tell our customers a 2 day notice when they move in to our storage.  *** did come to get her belongings on the date she wanted to even though she only gave us 1 day notice we accomindated her.  There was some discoloration damaged to a sofa and love seat.  One of our staff explained to her that is was residue from whatever chemical protectant she had put on the leather.  Our staff got some cleaner and showed *** how easily it was removed.  She insisted on us paying for damages so we gave her the .60 cents per pound that she originally had opted for when she moved in. We gave *** a check for $90.00 for the weight of the sofa and love seat.  If you need any further information we do have her signed bill of lading for the items we picked up and signed when she picked them up from us as well.  
Thank you 
Emerald Moving